X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4418 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I had a pleasant stay. the breakfast was quite good for a hostel. spacious bedrooms, tiny bathrooms though. staff was friendly and welcoming, location is very central.


80%

id go back again!

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is phenomenal and the beds are comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Could be a bit cleaner in the rooms, but the kitchen was spotless and that's really what counts, I think. The only significant downside was that smokers wouldnt smoke outside, but in the hall with the front door open, which made the entrance and front rooms smell terrible. All things considered, I would definitely recommend and personally stay again.


89%

good house for a good trip - it was really great !

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Was in a really good location. The train stop was a 5 minute walk.


97%

This is a fantastic hostel. Most of the members of the staff are super friendly and helpful (one or two were kind of annoying, but whatever), you can't beat the location, and overall it's better than the other hostels I visited in London. It's very easy to get around if you're staying here, and the area is well-lit and nice as well. I would definitely book again.


83%

This hostel has a great location and it is always nice to be there. Nevertheless, you have to take into consideration that it is one of these older hostels. I like it anyway.


80%

Nice, friendly staff. Small, but good common room. Standard breakfast. Good central location for exploring London. Decent room and bed. No complaints.


60%

dirty common areas, they should clean the place better includnig the carpet ..anyways confi and clean beds the staff was sooo lovely always ready to help if there are any issues :)


100%

Very cool place, you can have many things for free like coffee, tea, hot chocolate. FREE WI-FI, which is the best and the staff is awesome, you can interact with lots of people if you want to...it's like being home, watching tv in the lounge area. It's quiet to sleep and I found everything very clean.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I always have a great stay at Astor museum, one of my favourite hostels! Amazing location, great atmosphere and heaps of activities if you're into it, and a pretty good breakfast always helps!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear from you. It's awesome to know you LOVE the hostel and the Atmosphere. It's great to have travelers like you around. Take care, the Astor Museum Team.

100%

100% value for money - Perfect Location right next to the British Museum, 5 mins walk to Tube/Bus Stations. Top city attractions including, Oxford street, Piccadilly, Trafalgar Square are at a 10 to 20 mins walk - you can even walk to Hyde Park and Parliament House (Big Ben). Hostel is equipped with all basic facilities including a huge kitchen (which is the main hang out place, free luggage storage, very clean rooms/showers, good breakfast,. Staff is friendly &,welcoming. Will stay here again.


77%

I stayed in 3 hostels on this trip, this was the first. It's much older than the others but still charming. It's quite a hike to the top if you are on the 4th floor. winding staircases make luggage a bit difficult. Right next to the British Museum, which was incredible. Friendly staff. Much quieter than the other two hostels which had parties till the wee hours. Or I couldn't hear the parties from the 4th floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, it's good to know you enjoyed your stay. We try to please everyone here and keep the party going but also respecting the guests that just want a good night of sleep ; ) Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team.

94%

With 10 friends (Dining in the Dark! week-end, we slept there for 2 days, it was very clean and the young woman who welcomed us was nice, full of advice (the French girl) and other employees was nice and here to help.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback. It was great to have your group staying here, we're so happy you had so much fun in London. We hope to see you on your next visit. Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team.

60%

Great location. One minute to British Museum. Lots of shops and restaurants close by. Walking distance to many neighbourhoods (Soho, Picadilly). The facilities were okay. Showers were nice and big but the beds in the rooms were not the most comfortable. You can see that they are trying to create an atmosphere but it doesn't work if the staff aren't friendly/outgoing...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your message. We're glad to know you enjoyed our location and had a good time. We hope you come back one day and have more fun with us as we're always inviting all guests to join us for the pub crawls, parties, movie nights & more. Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team.

89%

No complaints! Would stay again.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We're very happy you liked it all. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

74%

Stayed here as a couple and loved the location and facilites of this hostel. The reason my score is a bit low is because of the staff - there seems to be a odd carelessness vibe. Although the staff are friendly, they seem to also live at the hostel and you can usually find quite a few lazing about in the common room area..this kinda creates an air of "you're in my house" and I didnt find that inviting at all. Another concern is the outdoor smoke area allows smoke to waft in all windows -stinky!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback traveler. As a youth hostel we try to keep this chilling vibe so people can relax and interact with others. It's a very social and laid-back environment and we always invite everyone to be part of it. About the smoke we'll take a look at our windows. Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team

100%

Friendly welcome by the staff, spacious dorm room. The big lockable drawers under the beds are great for security. The lounge is small but really comfy. Well kitted out kitchen. It's only a 5 minute walk to Russell Square or Holburn stations so really handy location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your message. Being in Central London is a fantastic feeling and we're happy to know you enjoyed it. We're also happy to know you took the most of our facilities. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

100%

Staff very available

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your message. It's good to know you liked our staff and had a great stay. Hope to see you back one day, safe travels, The Astor Museum Team

86%

Good location. Clean bathrooms. Kind of inconvenient that the 4 person dorms are in a seperate building down the street from the kitchen and common room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your message. We're glad to know you liked the location and found everything clean. The other building normally gives people more privacy and space. It's good for having quiet nights. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team

(96 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback