X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5158 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Our radiator wasn't working, but it was ok we got a little replacement instead.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I have been at the hostel many times, it's one of the best options in London due to location and price, still it could improve a few things 1 the luggage room is not secure 2 in the night to charge devices you need to leave them far away cause there is usually only one socket in the rooms 3 fix broken boxes under beds 4 get rid of carpet in rooms, dirty and even humid 5 some hostels chose beds with little curtains to improve privacy 6 upgrade rooms and beds when possible 7 wifi downstairs

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.Our luggage room is filmed by CCTV and we take record of each guest getting in,there is also only one key that open it. We have free wi-fi working in all the building, dark spots can be due to other electrical components disturbing the signal but moving a few steps normally fix the issue.We upgrade our facility and furniture periodically, if you choose to stay with us again. You'll probably notice some improvements. Best Regards! AM Team

100%

Perfect location to explore London! Can't really get any more central. Great value for money with everything a backpacker could need.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the comment!!! We pride on being in such an awesome location and how good our prices for where we are at! Hopefully we will have you back here again in the future

71%

I read about this hostel in a guardian top10hostels article, it didn't live up to the hype unfortunately. It has everything you need amenities wise but I didn't feel the layout was conjusive to a hostel atmosphere. The kitchen and small seating area has a clinical feel to it, the lounge is small, cramped, uncomfortable and noisy because of the TV echo. I could hear mice rustling in the room after dark. Maybe the time of year but most 'guests' either work there or live there. I can't recommend...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Sorry we didn't totally satisfied your expectations, being a small hostel we don't have those big common areas but that's makes it unique, helping you to be social we could say. We are always up for a chat or doing something,maybe you just missed out. Obviously we are always working to improve next time we won't let you down! Thank you for your feedback!! AM Team.

97%

I enjoyed my staying in the hostel. For my opinion the room with 12 beds are better then 8 or 6 beds rooms. Very good location, great friendly staff, people from all over the world. Quiet. The kitchen is a little bit small, but in the day you can always find a moment when you can cook and eat peacefully. I like the energy of the hostel, the have little patio to smoke as well. Good luck and prosperity to all Astor hostels!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!!!We are a small hostel but with a great energy just as you said! Come and visit again when you want, thanks for taking some time to leave a feedback. BIG hug from AM team!!

91%

Location was perfect! Just beside the British museum and close to oxford street. It was also very close to most of the musical theaters, walking distance. Staffs were very friendly, clean up bed sheets as soon as people check out. But there was no elevators, no personal lights or plugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Thank you for your review!! We are one of the hostel with the best location indeed!Unfortunately we also have some restriction due to the position and the historical nature of our building, we cannot install elevators but our team is always working hard to give the best experience to our guests, next time give us a shout and we will help you out with your luggage. Glad you had nice stay with us!! AM Team

83%

Great hostel! Friendly staff and lively atmosphere :) The kitchen is also very well equipped. Only negative was that there was mice in the room which got into people's food, but as long as you keep it in the kitchen its fine! Very reasonable price for what you get. Would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for taking the time to leave a feedback. We apologise for the little issue in the room. We hired the best pest control company to get rid of them. It takes some time unfortunately. Next time you come it will be sorted!! AM Team

91%

Brilliant.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Thanks for taking some time to leave a review!!! You're welcome anytime!! AM Team

63%

Friendly staff, cheap, and a great location. It's great if your a budget traveller but as a whole the hostel was uncomfortable and seemed unclean. However you get what you pay for.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was really good except for the toilets which tend to clog way too easily. Being greeted with clogged toilets after having only peed right after waking up, really isn't very pleasing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. Sorry about the clogged toilets. We always take care of any issues as soon as they are brought to our attention. Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

97%

What a pity the max is 35 years old ....

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

66%

Our heater wasn't very effective and therefore it was very cold in the room and at night.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Beware: mice infestation in the dorms.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing breakfast for only 50p so u can pretty much consider the breakfast is included. The location is perfect, in the centre close to the tube stations

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. We love the breakfast too! Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

100%

Great base for your trip in London. Close to all the big attractions and to the underground! Friendly staff very helpful! Rooms are good beds are good! So if you are staying in London for a few days definitely go to this hostel! Stayed at the Astor Hyde park hostel 2 years ago and I could recommend that one as well! Great hostels Astor!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the positive feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. We are very proud of all of our hostels :). Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

94%

My friend and I stayed at the Astor Museum Inn for our first time in London last weekend. The location was perfect- all the sites we wanted to visit were walking distance away, which made exploring the city extremely enjoyable and easy! A basic breakfast is provided from 8-10am, which was a big plus. The kitchen is also available to make meals if needed with plenty of fridge space. If you are concerned about your luggage, there is under bed storage free of charge if you bring your own lock.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location is lovely. Staffs were nice and kind. The atmosphere was comfortable too. But the bed was a little bit uncomfortable.


100%

Great central location, friendly staff, clean facility...I have no complaints!

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Very good location, cleanliness could be better.


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff! Very clean, bed was prepared. The 4 bed room was from my point of view very spacious. No queues at the toilet or showers. Very central location and affordable prices.


(3167 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback