X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5308 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I felt very safe staying here! Great location as well, close to two tube stations which made travelling around the city really easy. Atmosphere felt very chill and casual, but seemed aimed more towards young adults (ages 18-24ish). It got a bit noisy at night but I could still sleep fine. The bathroom/shower areas seemed a bit dirty which is my only complaint.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Spent 1 week and the staff was magnificient. All of them, reception guys and housekeeping :), really helpfull, kind, friendly. The buildings and facilities are clean all the time. Breakfast is great :D. Maybe a bad point was the noisy saturday night, but it´s normal because the guests are young people who came from parties. The young enviroment was amazing. People from all over the world having a good time. I 100% recommend this hotel and for sure I would come back!! Thanks guys!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI!! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We always do our best for every guest to have a good time!! Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon!! AM Team

91%

I had a wonderful stay at your hostel! Great location.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope we'll have to occasion to have you again! Thanks for your feedback. AM Team

100%

All was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI!! Thank you very much for your awesome feedback!! Hope to have you back some time! AM team

100%

I have come to visit this hostel a few times now. I am always happy to see the friendly staff and they do their best to make you feel very welcome and at home. I have stayed in other hostels before, in and around London and have to say that the Astor Museum Hostel is definitely my best choice. I know they have other centres dotted around other locations but the Astor Museum has always been my choice of location and I wouldn't have it any other way. Lovely team and great atmosphere!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI!! Thank you very much for this amazing feedback!! Glad you find yourself comfy with us when you come to London! It's also our pleasure having you here, hope to see you again soon!! AM Team

100%

Loved this hostel. Close to Soho and the British Museum, but not in a super busy area. Close to the metro, giving you access to the whole city. Very friendly and helpful staff. The WiFi was pretty weak on my room on the ground floor, but was better in the rest of the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for the amazing review!! Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to have you back!! AM Team

94%

The staff was amazing (especially the cute Aussie Dean) and very helpful. The location is pretty nice, a tad sketch at night but that's it. I would definitely stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our amazing receptionist! Thanks for the awesome feedback!! Hope to have you again staying with us. AM Team

86%

No complaints. Location was great, staff were helpful, and beds were comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your feedback!! It was a pleasure having you with us obviously you're always welcome if you're passing through London again! AM team

89%

The light in our room wasn't accessible which made our stay that much better: no one could turn the light on at night, and the light from outside plus that of a mobile was enough to make your way around and grab things :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your review!

83%

I think they should have more suggestions of what to see or where to go.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Very good location but very tiny room and common areas. The facilities were not very clean around 9h in the morning. The breakfast was ... ok. Staff very nice and welcoming !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for leaving your feedback The facility gets really busy around 9 due to people checking out and getting ready for the day so the common gets a bit dirty. Our rooms have different sizes, try booking another room type in case you decide to stay with us again. AM team

86%

Great hostel! I´ve been in Astor Victoria last year and this time decided to try with Astor Museum. Location is amazing! Close to the centre, just walking distance. The staff was nice, I slept well, showers were good, no complaints!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us as you did in Astor Victoria! We all keep the same standards even if the vibes is different in each hostel. Looking forward for your return here or in another Astor. Thanks. AM Team

100%

Excellent hostel! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The entire place was clean, including the toilets. Best part was the location! The hostel is within walking distance of some of the best museums and only a short underground trip from the rest of central London. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The location is brilliant and the friendly staff will give you ideas as to what to do during your visit to London. Everything works well and for just 50p you can purchase a breakfast. The neighbourhood is calm and feels safe and there are food shops nearby so if you wish you can cook your own food, which is nice.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent staff. Friendly. Provide all necessary useful info on arrival. Perfect location. Clean at ALL times during my stay. Comfortable beds and pillows. Room was appropriately kept at satisfactory temperature. Neither too cold or hot. Definitely would stay again. Just being picky- Tips for improvement- provide lighting and a small side table for each bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Glad you enjoyed staying with us and thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! We will consider your suggestions on our next upgrade! See you again soon! Take care! AM Team

86%

The hostel was good! Nevertheless we had one problem, because we found a mouse in our room and the staff didn't give us any solution (didn't offer another room, nor sanitize it)


83%

Nice idea to have people pay a small amount for the breakfast which gets donated to charity. Nice location, near British Museum and Russell Square and tube station.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is the best part about this hostel. It is right across the British Museum in the heart of Central London! All attractions in Central London are within walking distance. Moreover, the staff is very friendly and always willing to help :) The building is quite old with no elevators, but the rooms are clean. However, they moved me to a different room in a different building nearby on the last day of my stay, definitely not something which I had asked for. That was the only downside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! We apologise for moving you during your stay, we always do the best we can to keep guests in the same room but unfortunately in rare occasions is impossible. Next time it won't happen! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback!! Best Regards, AM Team

100%

The staff was amazing not only helpful but they truly enjoyed helping me and giving backpackers tips and advice about the city. Within two miles of all the major sites and boroughs that are particularly interesting in London. In paris now and really wish I was still there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the city!! Hope you'll enjoy the rest of your trip!! Always welcome to come back!! Thanks for your review! Take care! AM Team

94%

I've really enjoyed my stay in this hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, just in front of the British Museum and there is an underground station a few meters away. The dorms are clean and tidy as well as the bathrooms and toilets. For just 50p (donation to a charity), the breakfast is good. It is a bit noisy but with earplugs, it is not a problem. It's great value for money. If I come back in London, I'll definitely book here :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for writing your feedback!! Happy you enjoyed your stay with us, always doing our best to give you the best experience in this magical city!! We also provide earplugs at reception, for the next time! See you soon! AM Team

(152 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback