X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5236 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very good location, walking distance from most places. Nice and clean hostel. Great breakfast for 50 pence.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback!! Come back soon!! Best Regards, AM Team

86%

very clean and safe! the staff come through multiple times a day to clea, especially bathroom. the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. great location! right in the heart of downtown. small facilities, though. the main lounge is small and a bit musty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! We always do our best to give you the best experience in this lovely city! We also just renewed our lounge!! Just so you know for the next time!! Take care!! AM Team

86%

The staff are nice and helpful and the rooms are so clean but don't take too many luggages cause just only have stairs haha and its near British museum so it's cool you can go museum anytime lol

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! We are always up to help you with your luggage that's how we keep our staff fit! :) Just ask the receptionist and you'll get some help for sure! Thank you for your review! Take care!! AM Team

94%

This place was great! It's a few stops away from the tube so you can get anywhere in London very quickly. The staff was super friendly and had everything you could need (adapters, towels, etc.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Glad you enjoyed staying with us on your London adventure!! Come visit again if your in the city!! Thanks for your review! AM Team

80%

A decent hostel in the heart of London and yet in a very quiet area (you can get more central than that!), which explains why the hostel is rather pricey. Decent facilities, bedroom was well-heated, showers were decent, very few bathrooms compared to the numbers of guests staying. The building is fairly old, you can notice that, but overall, the place is run smoothly by the staff. Staff was really good: very welcoming, nice and always helpful, a special thanks to them!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Our is an historical building which have seen many generation of backpackers but always on updates to run with the times!! We have indeed the best location in London for a hostel! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall and thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! Take care! AM Team

80%

The hostel was OK. It is a few steps from the British Museum and very close to St. Pancras Station, which is very convenient. I can only complain about the mattress, which was very hard. Other than that, I think it is a nice place to stay for 1 or 2 nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback!! We just renewed our mattresses from spring mattresses to foam ones which are more anatomic. Next time come and see reception we'll do all we can to find a comfy bed for you. Take care! AM Team

71%

Staff was fantastic as was the location. They did what they could to keep things clean, but I found the bathroom facilities lacking and there was a mouse problem. Female only four person room was tiny and the under bed grates squeeked, but don't know about the other rooms. Would recommend for short stays if you really want super easy British museum access.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your feedback! We are always working to give you the best experience! Next time we won't disappoint you!! Take care. AM Team

100%

the hostel was amazing,the staff where all supper frienndly and all ways went out there way to help,A special thanks to Byron,Sam,Thomas,Tom foley,Simone,Kiran and fiji they all made my London experince a memorable one.Thank you every one

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back whenever you want!! Enjoy the rest of your trip! AM Team

86%

it's not the best host i ever seen! but the price is good for the quality. people are very nice and it's easy to do friendship. if ur not a pussy it's the right place;)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for spending some time to leave your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! AM Team

89%

the hostel was awesome, though, most of the passengers where living there. So instead of a hostel, it was just a residence for students and a cheap bed for people who couldn't afford renting an apartment. Because of that, the atmosphere was not the most suitable one. I wouldn`t come back just because of this reason. Everything else was really good


60%

Though the staff was helpful in sorting us in a better room, this hostel does have an issue with rodents. You can see that there are traps in all of the rooms and we did have an issue with one in our room. We had some food in our bags, which really, is not an out of the ordinary thing. The staff was helpful in sorting us out, but honestly, I would want to know about this issue before making the decision to book. Maybe their other locations in London are fine. This was the one near the Brit mus.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are sorry you didn't totally enjoyed your stay with us. We hired the best pest control company in the city that's why you could see trap boxes in the room, we also advertise at reception and all over the building to don't bring food in the room otherwise it defeat the purpose of the traps. It is an unusual situation due to the reconstruction of a tube station nearby. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. AM Team

91%

Please tell new travellers that they should not have food on the ground or in your open bag because there are mice which come at night and eat everything they can find.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

You can go to Camden, picadilly, Oxford circus... on foot which is perfect! People who work there are funny and always ready to help you even if their shift is over! And rooms are really nice and spacious! Definetely a good place to stay!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the kind words in your comment! We do try our best to make ensure you're having a great stay even if we are off the clock and as for the location, it doesn't get much better or central then here! Thanks again for the comment and hope to have you back here AM Team

83%

Excellent place for those who want to party, have fun, meet other people, ... Clients were between 20 and 25 yo.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we do our best to make sure its a friendly atmosphere for people to meet and make new friends, even though it does get a bit on the wild side at times but thanks for the comment and hope to have you stay with us again in the future!! AM Team

86%

Our radiator wasn't working, but it was ok we got a little replacement instead.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I have been at the hostel many times, it's one of the best options in London due to location and price, still it could improve a few things 1 the luggage room is not secure 2 in the night to charge devices you need to leave them far away cause there is usually only one socket in the rooms 3 fix broken boxes under beds 4 get rid of carpet in rooms, dirty and even humid 5 some hostels chose beds with little curtains to improve privacy 6 upgrade rooms and beds when possible 7 wifi downstairs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.Our luggage room is filmed by CCTV and we take record of each guest getting in,there is also only one key that open it. We have free wi-fi working in all the building, dark spots can be due to other electrical components disturbing the signal but moving a few steps normally fix the issue.We upgrade our facility and furniture periodically, if you choose to stay with us again. You'll probably notice some improvements. Best Regards! AM Team

100%

Perfect location to explore London! Can't really get any more central. Great value for money with everything a backpacker could need.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the comment!!! We pride on being in such an awesome location and how good our prices for where we are at! Hopefully we will have you back here again in the future

71%

I read about this hostel in a guardian top10hostels article, it didn't live up to the hype unfortunately. It has everything you need amenities wise but I didn't feel the layout was conjusive to a hostel atmosphere. The kitchen and small seating area has a clinical feel to it, the lounge is small, cramped, uncomfortable and noisy because of the TV echo. I could hear mice rustling in the room after dark. Maybe the time of year but most 'guests' either work there or live there. I can't recommend...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Sorry we didn't totally satisfied your expectations, being a small hostel we don't have those big common areas but that's makes it unique, helping you to be social we could say. We are always up for a chat or doing something,maybe you just missed out. Obviously we are always working to improve next time we won't let you down! Thank you for your feedback!! AM Team.

97%

I enjoyed my staying in the hostel. For my opinion the room with 12 beds are better then 8 or 6 beds rooms. Very good location, great friendly staff, people from all over the world. Quiet. The kitchen is a little bit small, but in the day you can always find a moment when you can cook and eat peacefully. I like the energy of the hostel, the have little patio to smoke as well. Good luck and prosperity to all Astor hostels!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!!!We are a small hostel but with a great energy just as you said! Come and visit again when you want, thanks for taking some time to leave a feedback. BIG hug from AM team!!

91%

Location was perfect! Just beside the British museum and close to oxford street. It was also very close to most of the musical theaters, walking distance. Staffs were very friendly, clean up bed sheets as soon as people check out. But there was no elevators, no personal lights or plugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Thank you for your review!! We are one of the hostel with the best location indeed!Unfortunately we also have some restriction due to the position and the historical nature of our building, we cannot install elevators but our team is always working hard to give the best experience to our guests, next time give us a shout and we will help you out with your luggage. Glad you had nice stay with us!! AM Team

(133 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback