X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5025 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Great location and good for the price. The atmosphere isn't great for meeting people and it could be a bit cleaner but for this hostel is a great choice for the location!


86%

I stayed in the AMI for the third time. It is perfect Located to explore London. The Staff is friendly and helpful. The Breakfast is Okay. The house is old but for a short stay fair enough. It was my first stay in a Dorm and i missed readinglights. If i go Back to London i will return for sure...


100%

I spent quite a while in the Astor Museum and it has been one of my best travel experiences yet. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and will make you feel extremely welcome while you are there. The location is excellent - The British Museum is literally across the street. All the touristy areas and nightspots are within walking distance or a short ride on the Barclay's bikes. Loads of nice pubs, restaurants and supermarkets within a 5 minute walk. Excellent kitchen area too!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a nice stay at Astor Museum Inn! It is just behind the British Museum, in a wealthy residential area of London, Bloomsbury (one of the most luxurious in London!). You could reach any part of London just by walking: 30 mins to the Houses of Parliament, 20 mins to Piccadilly Circus, 30 minutes to Camden Town, 10 mins soho, and so on. Under the bed you have a nice locker for your suitcase, padlocks are provided.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! glad you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful location! Thanks for your review!! Astor Team

94%

Great hostel, would def recommend it!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a hostel so nothing great, but not a terrible place either. The kitchen is small, but nice. The staff is really friendly and the beds are comfortable though the pillows are terrible.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your feedback!! Astor Team

97%

Great staff who were super helpful! Clean beds and good facilities. Loved it so much I came back again and would recommend to anyone else heading to London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay!! Tanks for your review!! Astor Team

83%

Good hostel. My room was very small. Breakfast is nothing special, but it was appreciated. Staff was nice. Bathrooms were ok. Location is pretty good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Astor |Team

89%

My friend and I stayed in a 12 bed dorm for three nights & it was great! Quiet room, high ceilings, a fan, could open windows, comfortable beds & clean bathrooms. We never had any issues sharing the bathrooms, our showers were hot and water pressure was good. Breakfast is cereal and toast, but there are plenty of cafes nearby if you want more options. Location was amazing and getting around was easy. Staff was friendly & helpful. Wifi worked well enough, and we loved the patio. Would stay again!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Glad you had a nice enjoyed your stay with us!! Thanks for the review! Astor Team

100%

Really good. Great atmosphere, kind staff, nice that padlocks etc could be hired for free

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI!! Glad you had a nice stay and thanks for your review! Astor Team

74%

Staff was very kind and helpful. Unfortunately room too small and hardly any air-circulation. Also, it was very noisy at night (even though I got myself earplugs). This problem comes probably from the fact that the door of the room didn't fully close. Breakfast was alright, toast and cereals. I wished they have had proper coffee, not just the instant version. Asides, kitchen and common room were nice and clean but could have been bigger.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your review!! We'll inform our maintenance team about door. Astor Team

71%

Spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff. only 1 shower/toilet per floor and small things like tap didn't work but no one seemed to care to do anything about it!


89%

The hostel is definitely a sight. The building is beautiful, it's right down the street from Hyde Park, very clean. There was a lot going on but it was still a very relaxed atmosphere.


83%

very cheap hostel, in a really great location. Get what you pay for. I would probably stay there again due only to its location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Glad you had a nice stay!! Thanks for your review!! Astor Team

74%

Friendly staff and hostel in a great location. You can visit some points by walking. But the hostel are divided in two old buildings. This result in a bad first impression, although the rooms are large and comfortable. Specially the rooms at Litter Russell St. Unfortunately the negative point is the toilets are constantly smelling bad (mainly because they are in the basement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for your review, we'll try to sort out the bathrooms issue ASAP!! Hope to see you back!!

74%

The staff was super friendly. And the others staying at the hostel were very nice and outgoing and liked going out together, so if you're a single traveller, this is a great option for meeting people. Location-wise, you're smack-dab in the middle of London, very convenient. That said, the rooms were pretty small and sparse. And the internet was pretty weak in the bedrooms. But hey, it IS a hostel, right? All we're looking for is a place to rest our heads and a hot shower!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi glad you had a nice stay!! Thank you for you review! Astor Team

91%

It was my first experience in a hostel and I must say I loved it. Staff at Astor are lovely, they were very helpfull when I asked questions. Next time I'll be in London I won't think twice to book at Astor. Good value for money with an excellent location!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi glad you had a nice stay!! Thank you for your review! Astor Team

83%

Great location, close from museum, market, tube, nightlife and restaurants. Good beds, but cleanness of the dorms needs get better. Some staff are really friendly and helpful, like Ines and Daniel, but not everyone. Good kitchen, spacious, and also is the meeting point in the hostel.


97%

It was great, thank you.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice staff, clean rooms and bathrooms thank you! Vibe at the hostel was energetic and friendly - but quiet enough when it came time to rest. I rated poor on facilities because the kitchen is in dire need of work: microwave not working, refrigerator filled with old/frozen food that has been cleaned in a while, and an extension cord on the ground surrounded by water. Not safe!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(3112 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback