X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4618 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I rated most things with "good" as we enjoyed our stay. I rated the cleanliness as "poor". When we arrived at the room it looked like all beds where taken. Just because the bedsheets all looked like somebody slept already in it. Probably that was tbe case! I already stayed in a lot of hostels and mostly when you arrive, bedsheets are not yet on the bed, but you need to put your own new washed bedsheets on that you receive at the checkin. Luckily they didnt stink and they were not filthy.


83%

Bang for the buck around Central London, very typical hostel. Rooms were clean, staff was awesome, and baggage security seemed effective but hey ya never know... Think twice about whether you REALLY need to be in Central London or not. A couple miles out gets a lot better real fast.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location is great as it's central to everything you need. If you're only staying for a night or two, it's perfect.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very helpful staff and a wonderful breakfast selection. Great use of wifi or free computer usage were a big plus.


94%

Inredible location for the price, 5mn walking to British Museum and 10mn walking to marvellous Soho. The staff is very helpful and flexible. Wi-fi is everywhere available for free (recpetion is less good at the 4th floor). Kitchen is very clean and pleasant. The only drawback is that the hostel is very exiguous, in the stairs, rooms and common places. I hardly recommend this place anyway


49%

Good location, but dirty rooms and facilities. We asked for a clean up of our double room three times, and it was still not done properly.


80%

Very helpful staff and clean rooms

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you :) we try to keep everything as clean as possible, even our staff :P

80%

Nice hostel, nothing too flashy, just great value for the location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was phenomenal. We arrived at 6am and were made to feel so welcome - breakfast, luggage storage, wifi passwords, lounge area etc. The staff (especially John) helped us with everything from our bags, to directions, printing random tickets and anything else you can think of. Rooms and bathrooms were always clean and breakfast was great. And to top it all off, you couldn't ask for a better location - 2 minutes to Holburn and 5 to the centre of Oxford St. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had such a blast here! The staff are great, the vibe is amazing. Ideal place if you're young, people really use the lounge and kitchen areas, not great if you're a light sleeper though, they often stayed up past 1 am. The staff were fantastic, super helpful, tons of fun. I'd come back in a heartbeat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! You two were awesome guests :) a shame you weren't around for the Canada vs. Sweden final! Enjoy Barcelona and the rest of your travels!

80%

Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and very laid-back. Terrific people all around.


100%

I LOVE this hostel so much! everyone is so friendly and helpful and as a solo traveller i felt so at home here. The staff are amazing, they make you feel so welcome in a city that can be a little overwhelming at times. If you are hesitating about booking here then DONT. I promise you wont regret your stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a blast having you! Come back any time.

100%

Great hostel, great staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! You were an awesome guest. Safe travels!!!

57%

The wash facilities were not good at all with plasters found in the shower areas.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

My first hostel experience, and a good one! Not bad as far as hostels go (I understand), good vibe, decent rooms and facilities, only criticism (and really just down to the people there at the time) the breakfast provided is decent, but the kitchen opens on to a tiny courtyard where people can smoke and there can be quite a strong smell coming into the kitchen while people are eating- not the end of the world, but not the most pleasant for non-smokers. Also, really great location!

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you enjoyed your first hostel experience with us! We really try hard to have a good vibe, clean rooms and good facilities. With that said we're sorry that some of the cigarette smoke got into the kitchen while you were eating! We try and make sure that the door is completely closed when people are out there. Happy travels and see you again soon!

83%

Nice location, nice staff, good value for money... I got exactly what I wanted when I made the booking - plus it was great that you get free wifi, adapters and locks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for the kind words :) We try to give everything out for free, as we know how expensive it can be in London :) Come back soon!

89%

The don't have elevator, and the stairs become each time thinner. The kitchen are kind of dirty (because of the people living tere). Breakfast is ok, the location is really good and safe, near the underground and the british museum. Not the best place to stay if you like to get out at night, but a peacefull place to do tourism. Staff is gentil and helpfull and bedrooms are to small, but the locker is big enought (if you don't trip like paris hilton).


97%

very nice hostel; awesome staff, staff was very helpful and caring about the visitors, showed us nice places on the maps, helped us with directions, friendly atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you had a great time :) it was awesome having you!

83%

We loved our stay at the hostel, but we were very taken aback when we saw a mouse in the room! Of course I understand that it's an old building so it's bound to have some rodents, but I feel like the staff could have responded better when we told them. Also, there was a lot of garbage outside our window (room 1), which I think attracted the mice. The mice returned every night and nibbled at our food right through our bags! We had to hang it up by the door to keep it safe.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We're really sorry to hear that you saw a mouse! We try and tell all of our guests not to have food and drink in the rooms as it attracts rodents. We have a big kitchen with lots of cupboards for food storage for this reason. We hope you still enjoyed your stay in London and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

97%

great atmosphere. receptionists were very nice (especially sam and the girl with the red hair). met a couple of really cool people here, who i hope to stay friends with for a while.


(2950 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback