X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5348 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The hostel is really well located in the center of London and at walking distance to a lot of nice places like Soho and Piccadilly. There's a safe luggage room, a nice kitchen, the toilets were always clean and there's always hot water when having a shower. The staff was always really friendly and helpful. Two suggestions that could have made my experience better are: - The internet is not so fast, so it could be improved. - The cages under the beds are noisy and could be replaced by lockers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your feedback!! We'll see what we can do to improve your points!! Take care! AM Team

94%

The staff was incredible and the beds were comfortable. Excellent location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! Come back whenever you want and enjoy the rest of your trip!! Thanks for you review!! Take care! AM Team

94%

Amazing location, very clean, comfortable beds, friendly people. Not a very social hostel though, as the common area is rather small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Our hostel is a small one which makes it really cosy our staff is always up for a chat or some outdoor activities! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! Take care! AM Team

86%

A nice clean hostel at a perfect location!

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Glad you enjoyed staying with us! Thank you for your review!! Take care! AM Team

94%

A very short stay, but the staff proved to be welcoming and helpful trying to meet my needs. You can hardly find a nice hostel in the city centre with these conditions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks a lot for your feedback! We always try to keep the highest standards! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Best Regards, AM Team

89%

Great place! Very friendly staff. The dorm room was big and airy, lots of space for you to get comfortable. Bathroom is clean and private. Nice breakfast every morning with a little courtyard accessible from the kitchen if you want fresh air. Made my stay in London very pleasant!


89%

Sehr freundliches und hilfreiches Personal, die man 24/7 fragen kann. U-Bahn Station direkt in der Nähe.

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This Hostel rocks! It is a very nice place, in holborn,that means near to everywhere. The staff is great, so helpfull and kind. I have really enjoy to stay there. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Glad you enjoyed your stay in our facility!! See you again soon!! Thank you for your review!! AM Team

100%

PERFECT !!!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU!!! AM Team

91%

Very good location, walking distance from most places. Nice and clean hostel. Great breakfast for 50 pence.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback!! Come back soon!! Best Regards, AM Team

86%

very clean and safe! the staff come through multiple times a day to clea, especially bathroom. the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. great location! right in the heart of downtown. small facilities, though. the main lounge is small and a bit musty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! We always do our best to give you the best experience in this lovely city! We also just renewed our lounge!! Just so you know for the next time!! Take care!! AM Team

86%

The staff are nice and helpful and the rooms are so clean but don't take too many luggages cause just only have stairs haha and its near British museum so it's cool you can go museum anytime lol

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! We are always up to help you with your luggage that's how we keep our staff fit! :) Just ask the receptionist and you'll get some help for sure! Thank you for your review! Take care!! AM Team

94%

This place was great! It's a few stops away from the tube so you can get anywhere in London very quickly. The staff was super friendly and had everything you could need (adapters, towels, etc.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Glad you enjoyed staying with us on your London adventure!! Come visit again if your in the city!! Thanks for your review! AM Team

80%

A decent hostel in the heart of London and yet in a very quiet area (you can get more central than that!), which explains why the hostel is rather pricey. Decent facilities, bedroom was well-heated, showers were decent, very few bathrooms compared to the numbers of guests staying. The building is fairly old, you can notice that, but overall, the place is run smoothly by the staff. Staff was really good: very welcoming, nice and always helpful, a special thanks to them!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Our is an historical building which have seen many generation of backpackers but always on updates to run with the times!! We have indeed the best location in London for a hostel! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall and thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! Take care! AM Team

80%

The hostel was OK. It is a few steps from the British Museum and very close to St. Pancras Station, which is very convenient. I can only complain about the mattress, which was very hard. Other than that, I think it is a nice place to stay for 1 or 2 nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback!! We just renewed our mattresses from spring mattresses to foam ones which are more anatomic. Next time come and see reception we'll do all we can to find a comfy bed for you. Take care! AM Team

71%

Staff was fantastic as was the location. They did what they could to keep things clean, but I found the bathroom facilities lacking and there was a mouse problem. Female only four person room was tiny and the under bed grates squeeked, but don't know about the other rooms. Would recommend for short stays if you really want super easy British museum access.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your feedback! We are always working to give you the best experience! Next time we won't disappoint you!! Take care. AM Team

100%

the hostel was amazing,the staff where all supper frienndly and all ways went out there way to help,A special thanks to Byron,Sam,Thomas,Tom foley,Simone,Kiran and fiji they all made my London experince a memorable one.Thank you every one

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back whenever you want!! Enjoy the rest of your trip! AM Team

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

it's not the best host i ever seen! but the price is good for the quality. people are very nice and it's easy to do friendship. if ur not a pussy it's the right place;)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for spending some time to leave your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! AM Team

89%

the hostel was awesome, though, most of the passengers where living there. So instead of a hostel, it was just a residence for students and a cheap bed for people who couldn't afford renting an apartment. Because of that, the atmosphere was not the most suitable one. I wouldn`t come back just because of this reason. Everything else was really good


60%

Though the staff was helpful in sorting us in a better room, this hostel does have an issue with rodents. You can see that there are traps in all of the rooms and we did have an issue with one in our room. We had some food in our bags, which really, is not an out of the ordinary thing. The staff was helpful in sorting us out, but honestly, I would want to know about this issue before making the decision to book. Maybe their other locations in London are fine. This was the one near the Brit mus.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are sorry you didn't totally enjoyed your stay with us. We hired the best pest control company in the city that's why you could see trap boxes in the room, we also advertise at reception and all over the building to don't bring food in the room otherwise it defeat the purpose of the traps. It is an unusual situation due to the reconstruction of a tube station nearby. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. AM Team

(3251 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback