X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4616 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

With 10 friends (Dining in the Dark! week-end, we slept there for 2 days, it was very clean and the young woman who welcomed us was nice, full of advice (the French girl) and other employees was nice and here to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback. It was great to have your group staying here, we're so happy you had so much fun in London. We hope to see you on your next visit. Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team.

60%

Great location. One minute to British Museum. Lots of shops and restaurants close by. Walking distance to many neighbourhoods (Soho, Picadilly). The facilities were okay. Showers were nice and big but the beds in the rooms were not the most comfortable. You can see that they are trying to create an atmosphere but it doesn't work if the staff aren't friendly/outgoing...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your message. We're glad to know you enjoyed our location and had a good time. We hope you come back one day and have more fun with us as we're always inviting all guests to join us for the pub crawls, parties, movie nights & more. Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team.

89%

No complaints! Would stay again.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We're very happy you liked it all. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

74%

Stayed here as a couple and loved the location and facilites of this hostel. The reason my score is a bit low is because of the staff - there seems to be a odd carelessness vibe. Although the staff are friendly, they seem to also live at the hostel and you can usually find quite a few lazing about in the common room area..this kinda creates an air of "you're in my house" and I didnt find that inviting at all. Another concern is the outdoor smoke area allows smoke to waft in all windows -stinky!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback traveler. As a youth hostel we try to keep this chilling vibe so people can relax and interact with others. It's a very social and laid-back environment and we always invite everyone to be part of it. About the smoke we'll take a look at our windows. Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team

100%

Friendly welcome by the staff, spacious dorm room. The big lockable drawers under the beds are great for security. The lounge is small but really comfy. Well kitted out kitchen. It's only a 5 minute walk to Russell Square or Holburn stations so really handy location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your message. Being in Central London is a fantastic feeling and we're happy to know you enjoyed it. We're also happy to know you took the most of our facilities. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

100%

Staff very available

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your message. It's good to know you liked our staff and had a great stay. Hope to see you back one day, safe travels, The Astor Museum Team

86%

Good location. Clean bathrooms. Kind of inconvenient that the 4 person dorms are in a seperate building down the street from the kitchen and common room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your message. We're glad to know you liked the location and found everything clean. The other building normally gives people more privacy and space. It's good for having quiet nights. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team

83%

One of the best Hostess I've ever been. It's clean the breakfast is really good. You can choose toast, cereal, coffee, milk, tea... It's right next to the British museum...so Perfect to go into town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your message. It's so good to hear you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast. We're always working for everyone to have their best experience. We wish you all the best on your future travels, The Astor Museum Team

77%

location is perfect, not too far for every where, you can even walk to the site.however, if you can't bear the noisy apartment, you have to do another choice. this is really an old building and each room beside another, so it is usual that you hear the noise. but generally it's a good choice to stay here with this location, breakfast, wifi and the price.

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your message. We're very happy to know you enjoyed our Free wi-fi and breakfast and also had a great time. And thanks for letting us know about the noise, sometimes travelers can be a bit noisy. We have our night receptionists controlling this issue so next time it will be very quiet for you. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

80%

A really good hostel. Location is perfect, next foot to Brit Museum. Bathrooms could've been cleaner but really nothing to complain about. Definitely would recommend it and go back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Traveler, it's good to hear you had a good time and liked the British Museum, it's an amazing place. We appreciate your comments and will work on our bathrooms ; ) Hope you definitely come back. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team

89%

This place is right across from the British museum and only 5 mins walk to holborn station-the location was perfect. My only complaints are that the cages under the beds would creak and groan loudly when you tried to open them and my bed wasn't by an outlet. If you want to charge your phone unattended you have to lock it in one of the cages that's near an outlet. Overall tho it's definitely one of the best hostels I've been to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. It's great to receive enthusiastic travelers like you. Unfortunately we can't provide too many outlets due to safety reasons as in London all buildings have so much history. But next time you can leave your phone charging at reception so we'll keep it safe for you. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

80%

I really liked my stay there ! It's very well located, clean, nice breakfast, and secure. The bathrooms and showers are enough and always clean. If you want a place to quietly rest at night while you do tourism during the day, this is a great place to stay ! I'll definitely come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your message. We are happy to know you enjoyed everything and had an amazing time. We hope to see you back some day, take care on your travels, The Astor Museum Team.

77%

Staff at the reception should have taken a more proactive role in welcoming us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your message, it helps us improve. We hope you come back one day and we'll work on that welcoming ; ) Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

100%

Free Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi, Free Coffee, Tea and Hot Chocolate all day...Staff very cool...lots of benefits in the price.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much Ballint!!! We try to offer as much as we can to our backpackers, most of our services are FREE. We hope to see you again some day. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team

71%

About 5 minutes walk to the tube. Not much in terms of atmosphere here, mainly just the staff sitting around ignoring everyone. I got in late one night (~4am) and couldn't remember the code for the door, I was berated and treated like a 5 yr old by one of the staff despite having 'no curfew'. Facilities are okay. Bathrooms are dirty but not the worst I've seen. Kitchen is okay. Lots of stairs. Lockers under the bed were broken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the hostel. Indeed there's no curfew and if someone stopped you was for security reasons since you didn't type the code ; ) Safe travels, the Astor Museum Team.

100%

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Very clean, and well kept, and very good value for money. Location is perfect, only 5 min walk form the Underground. Staff were very friendly.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya, Thanks for the message. We are delighted to know you enjoyed it all. We hope to see you again. Safe travels, The Astor Museum

89%

The overall atmosphere of Astor is positive. The staff made sure to help you and make your stay fantastic. The Haloween party they threw was fantastic and very diverse group of people from every country in Europe. It was a 5 minute walk to the underground tube and 10 minute walk to Thames River. Plenty of pubs and bars near by.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are so happy to know you enjoyed our party. It's amazing when everyone gets together and have a great time. All the luck on your travels, The Astor Museum Team.

91%

The best hostel in London! Everething was good ;) for the next time I'll stay there again

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Cleber, Muito Obrigado. It's good to know you had a wonderful time. We hope you come back soon. Safe travels, Astor Museum Team.

86%

Good choice! Real good vibe and full of likeminded travellers. Your typical back packers hostel...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your message. We love to see all the backpackers having fun here @ the Astor Museum. We are glad you stayed here and contributed for this great atmosphere we have going on. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

100%

Really good hostel. Good staff. Perfect to meet new people and have a good time in London. Also very well located, 10 mins by walk to the center! I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are glad you met new people and enjoyed your stay. That's what our hostel is all about, enjoying the backpacking feeling. Safe travels, The Astor Museum Team.

(2949 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback