X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5160 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The locker under the bed have some problem, I can't lock it. And the power supply I think should be upgraded, there are only one power board in the 16 dorms.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Mal....... no me aceptaron pues dijeron que era mayor de edad para ese hostel, igualmente pude pasar 1 noche.No me desagrado. Ahora cuando cargas la reserva te preguntan la edad en el formulario, no pueden saltar para que no sea un inconveniente más tarde? saludos

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect place to sleep at night while going out and about during the daytime! We had a great stay!

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Très bon accueil 24h/24 et bonne ambiance. Bonne situation de l'auberge. Propre, petit déjeuner à volonté. Très bon rapport qualité-prix. Je vous le recommande (j'étais déjà venue en 2010 et j'y reviendrai)


86%

Bien situé, au coeur de Londres, à deux stations de St Pancras, à côté du British Museum. Bâtiment typique du style londonien (pièces parfois un peu exigues). Le petit déjeuner est correct et conviale. A recommander


83%

Good The hostel is easy to find. Close to the suway, museum, and the neighbourhood is really nice. Staff is friendly.Wifi works throughout the hostel Bad The first night the toilet didn't flush properly. That's kind of dirty. I didn't experience this hostel as there were people wanting to share their experiences. Everyone was quite to him/herself Ugly Staff told me i could get the bus in the morning without a card. Turns out that was not the case. I missed my flight. That cost me a lot of money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry about the misinformation you've been given, we will find out who was and take measures to assure it doesn't happen again. Apologize again. Best Regards. AM Team

89%

Great hostel in great location. Only complaints were the bathrooms should be cleaned a little more often with the amount of people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! We have two cleaning shifts a day and one during night. We are sorry you didn't enjoyed totally your stay with us. Thanks for your feedback, we will see what we can do to improve obviously. Best Regards, AM Team.

100%

Staff is friendly and super helpful!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The atmosphere was awesome and everyone in my room was very friendly, we all went hung out and people were down to talk and be friendly, not just sit on there phones. The people working here were awesome and very helpful. Location was perfect to walk or tube to anything. It was really clean, the cleanest bedding I've ever had in a hostel. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

es muy fácil describirlo. Cómodo ,buen ubicado y con un excelente ambiente. Sin duda uno de los mejores hostels donde me he hospedado. La cocina me resultó muy útil y y las camas muy cómodas. volvería definitivamente.


89%

Genial la buena onda de todos en el hostel!!! Buenisimo el sistema del desayuno!


74%

It's fine, but the staircase is a bit treacherous and the "lockers" in the room aren't very secure, even when locked, because there's more than enough room to remove things through the bars. One thing that bothered me was that they pressure you into making a "donation" for the free breakfast, which is just toast and cereal and instant coffee, and you have to do you own dishes/trust that dishes done by previous tenants are acceptably clean. You can't beat the location, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! The cages in the rooms are for luggage. For little bags or electronic components we have lockers in the lounge that can be used for free. Breakfast is £0.50 that go into charity, not free. Sad you didn't totally enjoyed your stay obviously. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!! AM Team

43%

We arrived at the hostel, waited to be checked in, we were told we would be staying at the secondary location across the street. If you get put here you might as well go to another hostel. There is absolutely no security or hostel staff presence, the door is left wide open because it doesn't lock properly. There is no common space and only 2 bathrooms for all 8 rooms unless you want to go downstairs to the dingy basements at night when the door has been left open - no thanks.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Unfortunately that door has been playing a little bit due to overuse but with a good pull or push it locks, also the rooms are all locked and we are located in one of the safest neighborhoods of London. Staff members actually stay in that building too. Obviously a new lock has been ordered and will be replaced soon.Sorry you didn't enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your feedback! AM Team

100%

Everyone was very nice had a great stay would definitely go back

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best place ever to know London. There was a really pretty blonde girl, really nice and lovely. I will be back.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thank you for this awesome review!! Hope to have you with us again soon!! AM Team

86%

Un séjour d'un week-end dans cette auberge sympathique. Points positifs : Staff ultra agréable, friendly et disponible, petit-déjeuner gratuit et bien fourni, accès à la cuisine commune avec thé et café à volonté, emplacement en plein centre de Londres en face du British Musem (possibilité d'aller à Soho, Covent Garden... à pied), chambres propres et lits agréables (matelas et oreillers de bonne qualité). Points négatifs : Assez peu de toilettes et douches. Mais un séjour ultra sympa !

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The bathroom and toilets were very dirty. But the main problem was the noise : we were not able to sleep more than 5 hours per night .... In two words : very disapointed.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We clean our facility 2 times per day doing our best to keep it clean, and pristine to all guests. We also try to control noise in the building if someone is being noisy in the room you can always complain to the reception which is open 24/7 and we also provide free earplugs if you need them. Obviously we'll try to do better. Thanks for your review. AM Team

86%

Auberge de jeunesse dynamique avec un personnel disponible et prêt a aider ! Pour un petit budget a recommander.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Keep up the good job you're doing guys, I had a very comfortable stay with you. Cheers to the happy and helpful staff, you're awesome, thanks.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI!! Thanks for the awesome review!! Of course we will keep trying to give the best experience to all our guests!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Obviously you're welcome to come back if your passing through London again. AM team

97%

Clean, professional, quiet, good breakfast, great location. The only two downsides are the very poor wifi (but you can use the computer in the TV room) and the fact that some of the lockers in my dorm were in position such that they couldn't be opened, which sucked for the people who wanted to use them. But there's also individual smaller lockers available in the TV room, so ultimately, those were details and I would definitely recommend this hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(141 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback