X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Queensway Reviews

45 Queensborough Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4573 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A really great hostel to stay in. Fantastic, well-equipped kitchen with a decent breakfast (for a £1 donation that all goes to charity. There is no lift to get up to the upper rooms but honestly for such a great location and facilities any climb is really worth it. It is a short walk away from the queensway station of the central line, which runs frequently and is only a few stops away of Oxford St and Shepherds Bush. The area is safe and quite upmarket so is a great option.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing stay and great team, especially the Swedish receptionist. :-)


100%

This hostel is amazing! Everyone should choose here! The really nice homely vibe really makes you feel comfortable. I love the heritage of the building and staff are always at hand to help with luggage up the stairs, or with any questions really. I would 100% recommend this place, all the amazing review really reflects on it and all the small details like the stairs and the building 'looking old' or whatever people need to remember it is a heritage building and it is extremely clean! C


80%

Negatives: tiny and quite old bathrooms, small kitchen, 6 floors with no elevator Positives: breakfast and really nice staff


74%

Close to a tube stop and the park, but not much else in the immediate neighborhood. Inadequate electrical outlets. My 6-bed room only had one on the floor behind a bed with a splitter to provide maybe 5-6 outlets, and even then it would only work if wiggled just right. I left stuff charging at the front desk, but that shouldn't be necessary.


100%

Loved my stay here! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location right near a 24 hour bus stop and two underground tube stations, as well as shops and restaurants! Would come back :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiiii! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review, we really, really appreciate! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our location as much as we do!! Please come back and visit us again sometime!! Much love, Astor Queensway team! xx

100%

Awesome hostel, great staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your short and sweet review!! We really appreciate it, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here!! Please come back and see us again sometime! Lots of love Astor Queensway team

91%

I had an excellent stay at Astor Queensway. The room is clean and comfortable. The shared areas are also comfortable, clean and welcoming. It's in the best location, close to 2 of Londons underground tube lines and a Main Street with supermarkets, coffee, and shopping. The only negative comment I have is that the staff were very loud at night and I found it difficult to sleep some nights. This may be due to post new year celebrations but maybe consider a lock out period so guests can sleep.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for your lovely review.. We are so thrilled that you loved all the aspects of our hostel and that you had such a great stay here, we will 100% take your comments into consideration and keep a check of the volume at night! Thank you so much for your feedback and your good experience. We hope to see you again in the future and safe travels if not! Lots of love, Astor Queensway xxx

100%

The hostel is well-organised. The breakfast costs £1 and the amount is for charity, which is what I like most about the hostel. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Everything in the room and the en-suite bathroom are clean and tidy. We had a really nice time staying in Astor Queensway. I would totally recommend this hostel to my friends travelling in central London in the future!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we hugely appreciate it. We are glad that you liked a lot our Charity Breakfast idea and that our staff was great with you. However the most important for us is that you had a great time in London! Safe travels and Happy New year! Lots of love, AQ family =)

100%

What else can I say other than Astor Queensway is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The family vibe here is amazing and the staffing of Astor is the best I've ever encountered of any hostel. Somehow they always find fun, interesting, honest and genuine employees that create an amazing atmosphere. It's so easy to meet people at this hostel and it has a nice balance between fun and relaxation which is hard to find. Thanks Becky and Vanessa you've made Queensway special. Gosling life!


80%

I only stayed at the Astor Queensway one night because I was laying over in London, so I cannot say a lot about the hostel but it worked well for me. The location was very close to the Paddington train station so it was very easy to get there from Heathrow. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave me suggestions for my morning in London. Things were a bit cramped but everything was clean and I had a comfortable sleep. I would stay here again if I stop over in London in the future!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you loved our location and that the staff were the friendly and helpful selves. We hope you do stay with us again to really get to know our hostel and love it as much as we do! Safe travels from us here at Astor Queensway xxx

100%

Staff helped us out with everything we needed to know. The distance to the next subway stop is ideal and the location next to hyde park is fantastic. Rooms are very cleaned, breakfast is very convenient. I enjoyed my stay a lot. Thank you

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hallo! Thank you so much for this amazing review and remark. It is always a pleasure to help our guests, providing everything that they need. Our staff really work hard to give the best time ever for our guests. I hope you chose us again in the future!! Happy New Year, AQ team =)

100%

Nothing negative about this place. It's a hostel how hostels are. Thumbs up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hallo! Thanks you so much for this amazing review! We're really glad you had a fantastic time here at AQ! Alles gut zum neuen Jahr! xx AQ Team!

80%

Great Location! Short distance to Tube as well as multiple food outlets and grocers.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad to hear that you really liked our location. We hope you choose us again in the future, Astor family xxx

66%

Don't get this system of having separately the cold and hot tap O_o, the mixed tap should be installed for hostel visitors. The next thing is that the staff is constantly checking you while you breakfast, and if it is your last day in the hotel, they check the fridge and use leftovers. :) The third strangeness is that taller guys will experience a problem sleeping on their short beds covering themselves with short blankets and risking to get cold. Experienced a problem to hire a mobile adaptor

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Once I arrived everyone was really kind to me, the staff helped me with everything I needed. Also, they prepare events like pubcrawl, twister nights, tours...where I could get to know some other people (which is always interesting in my opinion). Everything was really clean and the location was perfect since there are different bus stops and the underground 5 minutes away from the hostel. I totally recommend this place to whoever wants to have a funny and not-so-expensive experience in London

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola chica! Muchas gacias, We are thrilled with this amazing review! See you the next time that you come back to London! Lets party more =) !!! Feliz año and Lots of Love, AQ Family

100%

Everything was perfect, the location, the facilities and the staff made my stay very pleasant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for such a great review! I'm glad that you loved everything about our hostel and you had a perfect stay here. I hope you chose us again in the future. Safe travels and Happy New Year, AQ team!

89%

The staff were all very helpful, nice, and helped to create a fun and safe environment. Never felt like we were missing out on anything the nights we didn't drink or like we'd be judged and unsafe on the nights we did.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey girl, Thank you so much for such lovely words. We are extremely happy to hear that you felt the good vibes of our hostel. The staff works very hard to keep the perfect environment for our guests. I hope you come back again to have more fun with us. Safe travels and Happy New year, lots of Love AQ family!

100%

Amazing staff! Amazing location!! Amazing hostel, whether you want time to yourself or to meet new people and friends, couldn't recommend a better hostel in London!!! The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much :):):)

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I love this hostel. I always stay there whenever I go to London, which happens quite often. The staff is very polite and helpful. I had a problem with my reservation this last time and the solved it very quickly and efficiently. The only downside is the lack of lift and the amount of steps you have to climb if you get a room in the higher floors...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey beautiful, Thank you so much for this lovely review! We love to have you here as well. We hugely appreciate that you've noticed our hard work to help our lovely guests in everything. We understand about the stairs but to preserve the beautiful heritage building we are unable to have an elevator! See you at your next time in London, Lots of love AQ family!

(173 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback