X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Queensway Reviews

45 Queensborough Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4590 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hostel is by far my favourite- the staff at Astor Queensway are the friendliest group of workers and are constantly striving to ensure everything is perfect and everyone's stay is the best it can possibly be. The hostel is in a beautiful area of London, close to Hyde Park, Portobello road markets and two metro stations (Queensway & Bayswater) making it very easy to travel around the city. The kitchen is big, the rooms are comfortable and the staff amazing! Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey hey! Thank you so so much for such a brilliant review, we are beyond thrilled with your kind words and that you enjoyed our hostel they way we want everyone too! We are happy that you liked our wonderful location and that we all made your stay so comfortable! Come back anytime..honestly! We'd be egxtactic to have you back. Lots of love, AQ Team xx

100%

Friendly and caring workers. Fun atmosphere with a comfortable kitchen and lounge.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiiii! Thank you so so much for your lovely review and taking the time to leave us one at all! We're so glad that you enjoyed our staff and our atmosphere, we think it's a pretty comfortable vibe as well! So happy you took full advantage of our comfy common rooms! Hope to see you again soon at the hostel! Lots of love, Astor Queensway team xx

94%

It has been a great experience! The staff, the place, the events, the location; everything has been so nice! except for the size of the room (it's not bad, but it could be bigger) Thank you very much I'll definitely recommend it.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great atmosphere, really easy to meet people because of the common rooms. £1 breakfast was awesome. Bed was a bit short for me and I'm 185cm tall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, it is hugely appreciated and we love having feedback! Thanks for the great shout out about our beautiful common room with it's chilled vibes and our delicious breakfast. We hope you return and we can sure strive to get that 100% experience for you! Thanks, Queensway crew xxx

100%

I absolutely loved Astor Queensway. The staff members were so great and friendly and really added to my trip in a positive way. They were so helpful, with one helping me buy my tickets to the airport and finding the cheapest way possible without me even asking. The common room where you could watch TV was a great way to meet people, as well as the activities run every night such as bowling or poker night. The rooms were clean and well-maintained. I would 100% stay here again without hesitation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello you wonderful person thank you for your perfect review, it is soo great for us to have such marvellous feedback! We are so happy that you really felt the vibe and experience that we are trying to provide to all our wonderful guest! We hope you return to visit and safe travels on the rest of your journey! Lots of love from us all here at Queens! xxx

97%

Best hostel I've stayed at yet. Clean and very friendly environment. They had something going on each night that helps you meet other people. Unfortunelty there is no lift so beware of having to go up to five floors. But it's not bad and doable. The kitchen is nice and the staff is amazing! I will absolutely stay again and recommend to all my friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so so so much for such a lovely review!! You are too kind. We are SO glad you enjoyed our hostel so much! We're so glad you enjoyed the common areas and participated in our events!! The stairs are a bit of a work out, but with these heritage buildings in England, that's just part of their natural charm. But we're happy you didn't find it too difficult. Please come back any time and tell your friends, we'd love to have you back!! Lots of love, Astor Queensway team xx

100%

Hey hey this is the place to stay in London! Staff is really involved in getting everybody together! Ciao for now guys

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!! Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to leave us a review!! We really appreciate it!! We're so so glad you enjoyed the hostel and got involved, we love gathering people in our hostel for a good time! Come back any time! Lots of love, Astor Queensway crew xx

89%

Had a good time, great staff, facilities were old but looked after. Nice and close to 2 tube stations!

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A really great hostel to stay in. Fantastic, well-equipped kitchen with a decent breakfast (for a £1 donation that all goes to charity. There is no lift to get up to the upper rooms but honestly for such a great location and facilities any climb is really worth it. It is a short walk away from the queensway station of the central line, which runs frequently and is only a few stops away of Oxford St and Shepherds Bush. The area is safe and quite upmarket so is a great option.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing stay and great team, especially the Swedish receptionist. :-)


100%

This hostel is amazing! Everyone should choose here! The really nice homely vibe really makes you feel comfortable. I love the heritage of the building and staff are always at hand to help with luggage up the stairs, or with any questions really. I would 100% recommend this place, all the amazing review really reflects on it and all the small details like the stairs and the building 'looking old' or whatever people need to remember it is a heritage building and it is extremely clean! C


80%

Negatives: tiny and quite old bathrooms, small kitchen, 6 floors with no elevator Positives: breakfast and really nice staff


74%

Close to a tube stop and the park, but not much else in the immediate neighborhood. Inadequate electrical outlets. My 6-bed room only had one on the floor behind a bed with a splitter to provide maybe 5-6 outlets, and even then it would only work if wiggled just right. I left stuff charging at the front desk, but that shouldn't be necessary.


100%

Loved my stay here! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location right near a 24 hour bus stop and two underground tube stations, as well as shops and restaurants! Would come back :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiiii! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review, we really, really appreciate! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our location as much as we do!! Please come back and visit us again sometime!! Much love, Astor Queensway team! xx

100%

Awesome hostel, great staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your short and sweet review!! We really appreciate it, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here!! Please come back and see us again sometime! Lots of love Astor Queensway team

91%

I had an excellent stay at Astor Queensway. The room is clean and comfortable. The shared areas are also comfortable, clean and welcoming. It's in the best location, close to 2 of Londons underground tube lines and a Main Street with supermarkets, coffee, and shopping. The only negative comment I have is that the staff were very loud at night and I found it difficult to sleep some nights. This may be due to post new year celebrations but maybe consider a lock out period so guests can sleep.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for your lovely review.. We are so thrilled that you loved all the aspects of our hostel and that you had such a great stay here, we will 100% take your comments into consideration and keep a check of the volume at night! Thank you so much for your feedback and your good experience. We hope to see you again in the future and safe travels if not! Lots of love, Astor Queensway xxx

100%

The hostel is well-organised. The breakfast costs £1 and the amount is for charity, which is what I like most about the hostel. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Everything in the room and the en-suite bathroom are clean and tidy. We had a really nice time staying in Astor Queensway. I would totally recommend this hostel to my friends travelling in central London in the future!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we hugely appreciate it. We are glad that you liked a lot our Charity Breakfast idea and that our staff was great with you. However the most important for us is that you had a great time in London! Safe travels and Happy New year! Lots of love, AQ family =)

100%

What else can I say other than Astor Queensway is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The family vibe here is amazing and the staffing of Astor is the best I've ever encountered of any hostel. Somehow they always find fun, interesting, honest and genuine employees that create an amazing atmosphere. It's so easy to meet people at this hostel and it has a nice balance between fun and relaxation which is hard to find. Thanks Becky and Vanessa you've made Queensway special. Gosling life!


80%

I only stayed at the Astor Queensway one night because I was laying over in London, so I cannot say a lot about the hostel but it worked well for me. The location was very close to the Paddington train station so it was very easy to get there from Heathrow. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave me suggestions for my morning in London. Things were a bit cramped but everything was clean and I had a comfortable sleep. I would stay here again if I stop over in London in the future!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you loved our location and that the staff were the friendly and helpful selves. We hope you do stay with us again to really get to know our hostel and love it as much as we do! Safe travels from us here at Astor Queensway xxx

100%

Staff helped us out with everything we needed to know. The distance to the next subway stop is ideal and the location next to hyde park is fantastic. Rooms are very cleaned, breakfast is very convenient. I enjoyed my stay a lot. Thank you

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hallo! Thank you so much for this amazing review and remark. It is always a pleasure to help our guests, providing everything that they need. Our staff really work hard to give the best time ever for our guests. I hope you chose us again in the future!! Happy New Year, AQ team =)

(175 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback