X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Queensway Reviews

45 Queensborough Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4219 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I had a very pleasant stay at the Astor Queensway. While the hostel seems a fair distance away from the tourist attractions it is very close to the parks and stations. The staff here were amazing, very friendly and helpful (especially during the tube strike). The atmosphere here was pretty laid back. Also the washrooms were cleaned daily!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we are more than happy to read that you had such a good stay with us! All the parks around us are so fun and especially with the beautiful weather we are having recently! We hope you choose us again if you are ever in London. Take care, Astor Queensway Team xx

71%

We were in two different rooms during our stay and both were very warm! The second floor was hot but the top floor was unbearable- it was easily 10-15 degrees Fahrenheit hotter in the room than outside. The limited number of showers in the hostel also seemed to be a problem as lines would form outside them each morning. Also with no air flow the bathrooms were disgustingly humid, hot and smelly. The staff was very nice, helpful, and well informed! Great location!


46%

For my first time in a hostel, I had pretty reasonable expectations and I was fine with a cramped college dorm for the price per night and the location. What I was not expecting were the signs above the faucets in the bathrooms noting the water wasn't safe to drink, or the bathroom door lock that had been nearly pulled out of the door and was dangling by a screw. Next time I'll stay somewhere where I don't have to go down 7 stories to get a drink of water.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a nice hostel near Queensway tube stop. The hike to the sixth floor as a disabled person wasn't fun, but overall a good place.


89%

Traveling solo for the first time and had a few unforeseen mishaps. This hostel was the silver lining! Super helpful, friendly staff and great location, good vibes all around. Would definitely stay again!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for such a lovely review! We were extremely happy to have you and happy to help! We are glad that you felt our good vibes and we hope you visit us again in the future!! Queensway Love xxx

89%

We had a good stay in this Astor hostel, facilities are clean and all is availaible to have a good stay

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved my stay at Astor! I definitely would stay again! Now some of you may see my "average" for facilities, that is only because there was no AC and only one washing machine.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Some things in the hostel could be updated, like the washrooms. But the hostel itself is great, the staff were fun, helpful, and can hold good conversations. The price point was very good. Really enjoyed my stay, and will recommend to friends.


100%

Great hostel, amazing location right in the heart of London. The staff were really friendly and made me feel welcome. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. What more could you want in a hostel?


91%

Great area! Staff were amazing, made you feel really welcome and included, always something going on! I think this was one of my favourite hostels that I have ever stayed in. When I go back I would stay here again.


91%

Had the best stay at Astor will definitely be back and recommending it to others!!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I enjoyed my stay at Astor,the staff were excellent and i had a peace of mind i needed..Perfect.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lesotho
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The location was amazing. Right next to Hyde Park and for Malaysians, Malaysia Hall is just a few houses next to it (if you're craving for Malaysian food in London). The staff was amazingly helpful and the 1pound charity breakfast should not be missed. The only downside was having to climb up the stairs to 5th floor after a long and tiring walk in the day. Otherwise perfecto.


100%

Great to have cages under the bed. Locked luggage storage as well. Location was excellent, right near Hyde Park and two tube stations. Rooms and ensuites were clean and tidy, people were friendly. Staff was able to happily answer all of my questions and offer suggestions of where to go and how to get there. I recommend this hostel and would gladly stay there again.


89%

Friendly staff, communal room which showed movies!!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Check-in belt. Checkout forget belt. Sad pants almost falling. Staff nice. Ben nice. Help find belt. Happy pants no falling today.


97%

It was a brilliant hostel. Very accomodating to any requests we had, and the staff encouraged a very friendly atmosphere amongst the guests. Very happy with Astor Queensway. As one point of constructive criticism though, the bathrooms could have had better ventilation systems.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed 1 night. The staff is super friendly and very helpful! I didn't have to worry that much about my luggage because they have a locked luggage room downstairs and also lockers underneath every bed. It's not the newest or shiniest hostel but it's clean where it matters- showers, kitchen, beds, etc. Quick wifi in all the rooms was great. Would stay here again unless I wanted to try a different area of London.


91%

Nice hostel, friendly staff, good location. it would have been nice if there had been more than just cereal and toast for breakfast (maybe some fruit or yogurt).


69%

Hostel was very basic but the staff were really friendly and approachable.. I liked staying right on the park and it was really close to the tube. Overall, nice stay, maybe lacked a bit of atmosphere


(203 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback