X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Queensway Reviews

45 Queensborough Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4588 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Breakfast for £1 👍🏻 Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate the fact that you liked our staff and enjoyed our delicious breakfast! Thanks to your breakfast money, we are getting closer to our charity goal and we are making a big difference to many children's life! Thanks a lot from the Queensway family xx

100%

Staff and other guest were great, very helpful and nice. Location is very central, Underground a few steps away, great breakfast (for just 1 pound!). Best hostel I've stayed in, would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends :)

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Angela! Thank you so so much for your kind words and taking the time to write us both an email and review letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to have you and we hope you come back to visit us again soon!! xxx Astor Queensway family

86%

We had a very pleasant stay and want to thank all of your team members who helped us. The only thing we would like to piont out to you is that our friend wasn´t able to enjoy your breakfast because she is intolerant against gluten. We would suggest you to offer some alternatives upon request. Thanks again for your great hospitality! :)

  • 19th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking some time out to write us your review and giving us valued feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that everyone made you feel welcomed and helped! Thank you for your feedback, next time please do not hesitate to let our receptionist know your allergies and we will be happy to find a solution for you. Alternatively we do have the fruit and yogurt option which are both gluten free! Hope to see you again, Queensway crew xxx

86%

We felt at home! Very nice staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Moltes gracies per la vostra review! We are very very happy you felt at home because we loved you joining our Astor family. We hope to see you again in the future! Love, Queensway xx

100%

We stayed for 2 nights, in a 4 bed dorm. The location is perfect, right across from Hyde park and a short walk to the Tube. The hostel was spotless clean, the shower and toilets always clean and plenty of hot water. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to London on a budget, we will return here the next time we are in London. Thanks Guys :)

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning! Thank you so much for such a beaming review, we really do appreciate it!! We were so happy to have such a nice bunch of ladies like yourselves and we are extremely happy that you loved our hostel so much! We can't wait to see you again and honestly thank you again for enjoying our hostel like it should be done! Queensway Family xxx

97%

Nice stay in the hostel. The staff was really Nice.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there.. Thanks for taking your time to write us a review :)! We are so happy that you liked us and that the staff lived up to expectations. Safe Travels and we hope you choose us again in the future. Queensway Team xx

100%

I love the vibe of this place, very friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey..Thank you very very much for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and your little mini vacation haha! We loved having you here and we really do hope you return and let loose again on our mad pub crawls :)!! Lots of love, Queensway Family xx

91%

+ves: good location, few minutes walk from the station. Very clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Comfy beds. Hot powerful showers. Very comfy lounge tv area. Good breakfast selection and kitchen facilities -ves: not enough power points in the room (only one plug). Breakfast starts a bit late at 8am. Slightly pricier than other London hostels

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review Jing! We really appreciate your honest and thorough feedback! We will definitely take your notes into consideration to make our hostel even better. Thanks again and hope you come to visit again sometime! xx Astor Queensway family

86%

Great location, cool staff, top kitchen. Only downside would be only 2 powerpoints in a 6 bed dorm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!! Cheers for taking the time to write us a review and giving us feedback. We are thrilled that you loved our location and staff, we loved having you too! Next time you visit us please do not hesitate to ask our receptionist for extra plugs if needed or even more convenient places which have outputs. Safe travels from the AQ team xxxx

57%

we went there 1:00 am in the morning to sleep just for a few hrs and leave for the airport again. They said they can't allowed us to stay there that night: our age. They didn't want to give our money back, neither to let us stay!! They said we are not the one who you've made your booking with!! Finally because we had paid for cancellation they let us in. Since they said there have been often cases like our, it has to be taken seriously not to make people suffer.

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. It is extremely unfortunate that you feel that way about your time here. We must note though that due to the company policy which is clearly stated on the Hostelworld site, we do have an age policy which is strictly enforced. Due to the late hour of your arrival however, we allowed you to stay the night to try help you out. We'd recommend in the future to look out for hostel's different policies to avoid situations like this.

100%

Every single staff member is amazing! They go out of their way to help you and look after you and always make you feel welcome. It's a great atmosphere and I'd highly recommend the Astor queensway to anyone looking for accommodation in London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello my love! Thank you so much for such a shinning review, it means so much to us that you had such a good time here and we loved having you here too! Our staff are always here to help and we are always looking for new people to be part of our little astor family like you are now! Stay forever :), loves Queensway crew xx

89%

Clean facilities. Big dinning room. Lack of faucets in bathrooms - bathrooms were were pieces here and there (i.e. a shower stall here, a toilet closet without sink, etc.). Not walking distance to the downtown core, but close to Kensington Park and Portobello Market.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Howdy! Thanks for making time to write us your experience and feedback! We are glad that you like our dinning area and some parts of our location. It is unfortunate that you didn't like the set up of the bathrooms but if you hopefully come in the future look out for the bathrooms on the first, second third and sixth floors because they are all fully equipped! We will look into getting more taps. Happy Travels though from the Queensway crew xxx

66%

Room is too small for 6 persons. Just one socket is in one room. Although there was multitap, it was so uncomfortable to charge my electronic devices.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for giving us your feedback, here at Queensway we take all recommendations very seriously to try to make our hostel even better! It is unfortunate that you didn't have as many as you needed. If we hopefully see you in the future please don't hesitate to coming and asking reception for additional electrical outputs. We have a 24hr reception and we are always here to help for any of your needs!! Safe travels and hopefully see you again! Astor Q's Teams xx

71%

Pros: 1. Really awesome helpful staff 2. Convenient location Cons: 1. Small cramped rooms and ensuites compared to other hostels 2. If you are on the 5th floor it's many stairs up to your room. 3. Bunk beds are small and have no sockets or lamps. 4. Standard locks don't fit on any of the luggage storage or deposit boxes so you have to rent one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Delighted you liked our staff and our wonderful location too! Due to the building being so beautiful and rich with heritage we are unable to have an elevator however our friendly and helpful staff are always ready to help you with anything! Thanks for your feedback and please note that we are currently in the process of installing new sockets and personal lights for each bed! Any other problems in the future please don’t hesitate to come ask our 24hr reception team! Happy Travelling :) xx

100%

I had The most amazing time here, The Staff made me feel right at Home. This hostel is by far the best I've stayed at, everyone is so welcoming and friendly. I loved every minute of my stay here 😊❤️

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there baby girl! Thank you for your perfect review... We are extremely happy that have enjoyed your stay and that you felt the family vibe we want all our guests to feel! Thank you so much for your kind word and you are welcomed to come back anytime. Lots of love, your Astor Queensway family xxx

100%

Best hostel ever with the best staff, lovely people staying there and the location is just amazing! Love this place, will never forget about my stay here

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I was only looking for a cheap place to stay the night before my flight back home the next day. I chose Astor Queensway as it was the cheapest place I could find for the weekend. Surprisingly, it was the PERFECT last night of my travels, thanks to this hostel full of AMAZING staff!Was warmly welcomed by Vanessa who invited me to come to one of the staff's surprise bday party which was SO Much fun!! (haha, put the pictures up!). Mark is great at bringing people together!! Shoutout to Dale, haha!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are extremely happy we exceeded your expectations and you had the perfect last night of your travels. We are going to put the pictures soon in our facebook page. Vanessa, Mark and Dale really appreciated your kind words. We hope you come back to party again with us. Love, AQ Team xxx

100%

Very good!

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! Short and sweet but we hugely appreciate it!! We hope to see you in the future :)! Queensway Team xxxx

77%

I very much liked my stay at the hostel, especially since the shower was very clean (for a hostel) and the staff was friendly and accomodating. I especially valued the fact that there were adaptors and hair-driers, as well as uncomplicated re-booking of a room for a night (as the airport completely shut down and I would've otherwise had to stay at the airport...). Particularly with regard to my previous stay in London (about four weeks ago, in a different hostel), I thought this was much better!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for your review. We're happy that you really liked to stay here and you had a better experience than your previous one here in London. We always try to help our guests as much as possible. Safe travels, AQ team xx

100%

I was travelling solo, and it was awesome. I was staying in a 4-bed-mixed-en suite room and everything was perfect. My roommates were really nice, the staff was great, the breakfast was good mostly carbs but it gives you the energy to start the day:) They have everything you need: lockers, adapters, hair dryers, lockers and so on. It was my first time staying in a hostel, and travelling all by myself but it wont be the last for sure, thanks for the experience.

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for your amazing comments and taking the time to write us a review! We are extremely happy that you had a great stay and that we could accommodate you with everything that you needed. We are glad that your first hostel experience was with us and that you had such a pleasant time! We really do hope that you visit us again! Lots of love, Queensway family xxx

(176 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback