X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Queensway Reviews

45 Queensborough Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
4588 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very clean, staff are very friendly, close to stations and near great park. Beds were bit small and less space in the room to open suitcase.


77%

Love the staff! They were super friendly and made you feel like you are a part of their family! They also did a good job of planning nightly events for the hostel.


100%

Great hostel in a great location, would stay there again.


100%

Very cheerful receptionists and helpful staff. 5-10 mins walk from the tube.

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff was very helpful if you needed anything. The location was super closer to the tube which was nice and convenient. However, for the hostel itself it was a little outdated and not as social as i thought it would be! Maybe that was just me, but you get what you paid for!

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good experience

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was so friendly. Made you feel right at home, which is a great feeling to come across while on the road. Hostel was very good at organizing things to do every night to meet new people staying at the hostel. The place was always clean and spotless. 1 bathroom and 1 shower per level of roughly 18 people would be my only complaint. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it! The only negatives were that our room's toilet was broken (but there were two right down the hall so not a huge deal) and so many stairs (but they have a luggage storage room so no need to tote your bag all the way up)! The staff were really friendly and the hostel did little social events nightly. About a two minute walk to Kensington Gardens and five from the tube. Highly recommend!

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good location. Just be aware it is an old building so there is no elevator and you may have to lug your stuff up 6 flights of stairs. Quite warm in the rooms.


94%

Only stayed one night, could not have asked for more.


100%

they are kind! The room is clean. I hope to go and see you again.


94%

Location is perfect. Close to Hyde Park and Queensway and Bayswater tube station, in a very pleasent neighboorhood. There is loads of shops and supermarkets around. I stayed with my friends in a a 4 bed mixed room. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was great and clean . The room was a little bit too warm considering the weather in London, which was very hot for the days we spent there. Staff was really really hepful. I totally recommend it.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy that our staff helped you out and that you liked our location. Thank you very much for your recommendations! We hope you have a great travels, Queensway team xxxx

74%

The Astor in Queensway is fairly conveniently located, but it of course depends on what you are after, as London is quite a big city, and different parts of the city are great for different reasons. It is reasonably close to the shops in Oxford St, however if you want proximity to Shoreditch, then I suggest you look for a hostel closer to East London. Public transport is pretty accessible however, so it's not impossible to get around. Staff and facilities here were pretty good.


89%

Great location (close to tube, supermarket and food). Big lockers but old facilities. Great kitchen. Friendly staff. Not a party hostel. NOTE: The top floor is very hot and there's no lift (115 steps to the kitchen, 97 steps to reception / common room). That's a 230 step roundtrip to get water etc.


97%

Very very nice !!

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are very glad you had a good stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review! best wishes team AQ xxx

91%

I had a wonderful stay at Astor Queensway! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the atmosphere they cultivated was lovely to be a part of. The location is great with tons of different restaurants nearby and several tube stops within a short walking distance. My only qualm with my stay was that the rooms get pretty warm on the upper floors, although the hostel provides several fans to alleviate the heat. I will definitely stay here again!

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for staying with us!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and that the staff brought you into our little Astor family! Love, AQ team :)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Very friendly staff, great location. We had a great time at this hostel!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are super glad that you had a good time and liked our staff and location. We hope you choose us again in the future, AQ family :)

91%

I had a great stay - as usual! Astor Queensway is my go to accommodation in London :-)

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That you very very much for your kind review. We hope you come back and stay with us again :) AQ Team! xxx

97%

This was the first time being in a hostel and it was truly a pleasant experience. The staff were very friendly and the rooms (although tight) were very reasonable considering the price per night. Would highly recommend this hostel if you are going to stay in London.


100%

I really enjoyed my time at Astor Queensway. The staff is very nice, very friendly and helpful in every way. I spent 3 nights there, and unfortunately during the first night one of my roommates snored. Which can happen obviously. Although none of my roommates seemed to have a problem with erit, but I did unfortunately. So next day I went to ask if they do refund as it kept me awake all night and they said they are very happy to move me to another room, which was very very kind.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That you very much for your kind review. We're glad that you had a great time here and that our staff did everything to help you! We hope you choose us again whenever your next in London! Safe travels, Astor Queensway team xxx

(2682 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback