X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
8510 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Really nice situation, you can visit almost everything walking ! The staff is friendly, rooms are clean ! I'm really happy in this hostel.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were so friendly and helpful, felt like talking to old friends. It's also got a great atmosphere, everyone staying was friendly and fun! Had such a great stay! Loved the movie room - great way to relax and ease into making friends if you're shy (like me)! Location was close to all the big ticket items in London and they give you map on check in. Rooms were good and had lockers, my bed was comfortable and clean. Overall was a great stay - would recommend!!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Good local. Good steff. It is good choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is very central and convenient. Our staff is always here to help you! Hope to see you next time you're in London! Cheers, the team @ Astor Victoria

83%

I love staying at the AV. The only downside is that there is no longer a 10 pm curfew and in general the ventilation of the rooms in summer. The fans are great, but impossible to use during the night. But that's more due to the character of the building and not the hostel's fault.


86%

The hostel was clean and nice. It would be a bit better if the lockers underneath the bunk beds didn't make that much of a noise. A bit small but was ok. The best thing was about its location, near to literally everything in London and very safe indeed.


86%

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is very near a major train, bus and tube station so you can get anywhere in London quickly. The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were clean but the laundry facilities were not as clean and we were a little grossed out by the very dirty blanket that was hiding inside the clean duvet cover. Maybe it's time to clean/ detail the clothes washers and replace the gross duvets? Otherwise it was a great experience and we would stay there again.


91%

Had such a good time! Common area, kitchen and staff were awesome. Rooms, beds and bathrooms are really small but it doesn't matter, you never in them because your having too much fun downstairs :) good location, not right in the city but easy to get to walking or metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We loved having you here. Glad you enjoyed everything. Hope to see you again next time you're in London. All the best, the team @ Astor Victoria

40%

This hostel is in a very nice location, close to the tube, coach & train station, but that is the only positive. My first impression of the hostel was perhaps marred by the dozen or so smokers packed together and blocking the entrance. Once inside I wanted to hire a towel but was told I needed a cash deposit for this and the room key, which I didn't have so had to walk back into the night with my luggage to find a cash machine. Pre-warning in booking email or own website would have been nice.


77%

High recommendation, everything was great. Thank you for your assistance in all ways. I 'd like to come again next time ;)

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, it was our pleasure making you feel comfortable and assisting you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time you're in London (:

86%

We'll located, well priced, room was a bit on the smelly feet side, but hey it's a hostel.


71%

Hard to find amazing hostels in London, but this was pretty good. Nothing super special about it but nothing bad either. Excellent free breakfast however is that's a plus!!!

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Stayed one night as we had an early flight, was easy to get to gatwick airport from here. Was perfect for what we needed, A quick stop over. Stayed in an 8 bed dorm, no issues.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. It is very convenient for us being located near Victoria Station. Makes it easy getting to most London attractions and airports. Hope you had a safe flight and hope to see you next time you're in London(:

74%

Stayed here for one night and pretty average. But worth it due to location, mediocre otherwise.


94%

I liked this hostel ,i travel for a month in the UK, I stayed in this hostel for two night ,lovely n friendly staff,they are very nice ,and have good housekeeper,Although the toilet n shower room is small but clean,tidy kitchen,Nice breakfast,fast wifi in room , my room a little bit hot,but they have fan in room is ok,location is great near the main station,i recommend it to everyone:-)!after check out i stay in this hostel to 6pm,n i gave a lucky coin to the staff,freeluggage storage,love it~

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us.Thanks for the coin it is now up on our wall at reception(: We hope to see you next time you're in London! All the best. The team @ Astor Victoria

69%

Peaceful location. Good environment. Cleaning must be improved.


86%

Really good security, location and staff. But if you have to go upstair, just go on your foot. They don't have elevator...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you very much for taking your time rating us, it really helps us to improve the hostel. We are very sorry if you found annoying not having an elevator although it is advertised on the website that we do not have one however we are always happy to help customers with their luggage upon check in/out. We hope to see you next time around. Enjoy your travels, the Astor Victoria Team

94%

Would love to have one plug per bed. The place is really nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all the feedback, and are always looking to improve our guests experience. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you're in London. All the best, the team @ Astor Victoria

89%

It's a nice youth hostel very well located, not too far from the tube and just few steps from the bus stop ! My friends and I were in a 6 beds dorm and the room was pretty clean as for the toilets and showers, There was enough place for each of us in the room. The staff is just awsome, very helpful and nice. The atmosphere is pretty cool with good vibes and good music when you come in. The only negative point would be the breakfast a) not real juice b) not enough choice c) not enough refill.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for bringing the breakfast to our attention. We are constantly trying to improve so we appreciate that. We will inform that issue to the breakfast team and ensure it is always filled. Hope to see you next time you're in the city! The team @ Astor Victoria

83%

Cool hostel, great for meeting people. Standard facilities/bathroom and wifi connection but clean and friendly. Breakfast was good, cereal and toast. A couple of common areas and about a 5-10 min walk to one of the main stations so easy to kick off from.


86%

Everything you need. Good staff. Really good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We'd love to have you back next time you're in London. All the best. The team

(284 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback