X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
9569 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The place is really nice, on arrival the receptionist Jordan was very helpful, I was looking around later on after checking in and she shown me around the hostel after her shift. I was very tired after a long day, but she got me involved with the evening activities during my stay at astor and I thoroughly enjoyed them! The staff were very friendly and very involving, I would recommend staying and also getting involved with the staff working at the hostel.


74%

was good overall. shower was a bit strange with the glass door

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We always have in mind to guarantee the best night sleep to our guests and we're very happy to hear you've had a good experience with us. If you could be more specific about the strangeness of the shower with the glass door, that'd be helpful. Hope to see you again in the enchanting London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

69%

The location was great (a few minutes to Pimlico, about 10 minutes to Victoria), but that was probably the only good thing. The shower never had hot water in the morning and was very small. It wasn't clean every day (the drains didn't work well sometimes, too). The bedrooms had really gross carpet; bring some shoes to wear inside. Also bring earplugs because people will be taking their heavy suitcases up and down the stairs at all hours. I would not recommend staying here, personally.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed our location. You could be more specific concerning which shower was without hot water in the morning, we have showers all over the hostel and we're 24hrs available to help people out and fix little problems. We hoover on a daily basis all the room, we suggest to report any inconvenience to reception, for the next time. Hope to see you again in the future, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. The team

89%

Location is unbeatable: only 3 mins walk to the Pimlico subway station and 30 mins to Victoria Coach Station. Breakfast is simple and good, only costs £0.50! However, the wifi was quite slow and unstable.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the positive review! We agree our location cant be beat, close to two stations, Buckingham palace , St James Park, Big Ben, The Eye and so much more! We do apologize for our wifi was down in all of pimlico due to water works. We hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in magical London. Lots of love, Astor Victoria

80%

Lovely staff, very confortable room, nice atmosphere... There is an ATM inside the hostel and one vending machine. The Staff is multingual and very friendly, always ready to help you. The location is very good near Pimlico and Victoria stations. From there you can go walking to buckingham palace, London Eye, Westminster Abbey...

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. Our aim is to guarantee the best possible night sleep and we're very delighted you've enjoyed the room, staff and atmosphere and location! Hopefully we'll see each other's again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

77%

I enjoyed my two nights at Astor Victoria. Staff was friendly and gave me good advice on what to see in London, also cool to bump into another Canadian. Was happy I was able to store my luggage for the day before I left but would have liked to see that room more secure... lockers or atleast a ticket to know whose stuff was actually in there .. maybe only staff should be allowed in?

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave an review. Its always a pleasure to run into people from back home in Canada! Our staff is constantly trying to ensure all the guests are having a great time and our knowledgeable about daily events happening in London. The lugagge room has a camera outside the door as well a sign in book so we know exactly who is coming and leaving at all times, the room is locked 24 hours a day. We have lockers in our reception as well! Big hugs AV

100%

No criticism concerning the hostel or staff, but there were two other ladies in my room and they had no consideration for myself or the other lady sharing the room. Between 10.30 and 11.30pm every evening they thought it was appropriate to have the room door wide open and play around with there suitcases, in which they had all the clothes packed in separate bags. On the third evening I told them that this was inappropriate and luckily they stopped moving the carrier bags around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review! We always try to ensure everyone has a great time here at Astor Victoria, If you ever had any problems please know you can always come to any member of the staff we are always around to help with anything you might need. We hope you had a great time in the magical city of London! Much love, Astor Victoria

97%

Absolutely great. Had a lovely stay here. Staff is very friendly and ready to help, location is the best you could ever find (extremely close to the Victoria Coach/Train Station, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace). Practically anywhere you'd want to visit in London you could go on foot (not that you can't take the tube - there's 2 stations very near). Wi-fi was a bit shaky and I'd suggest personal powerpoints for each bed, but that's all. Breakfast is quite simple, but good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you taking the time to write such a great review! We would have to agree with you, our location cant be beat! Not to mention The Eye, Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, central London and all the amazing markets/night life! We are upgrading our wifi so every guest feels like they can connect at anytime. If you had any problems with person plugs we do have extensions at reception so please at anytime you have a problem come straight to us! We hope you enjoyed London! Lots of Love, AV

77%

Stayed here 3 nights. Found it very good but small common rooms and bedrooms. I found everything else good. Liked it how the staff hosted events throughout the week and it was close to the main attractions

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for you time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so delighted you've found very good here, liked our daily activities. We're sorry for the common rooms, but due to the nature of the building it's very difficult to get more space. Hopefully we'll see each other's again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family! x

60%

Stayed in a 6 bed room on the second floor from the ground. The room had a skin in it which was nice because the bathroom sinks were too small to brush you teeth and wash your face in without making a mess. Washrooms were mostly clean as were the kitchen areas. Never had to wait for the washroom. Good walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and Buckingham palace. Kind of far from the entertainment part of town but close to the tube.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review, We always try to ensure everyone has the best time at Astor Victoria. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time, we are open 24 hours a day!. We also love the close distance to all the major attractions, also we have a bus that runs 24 hours a day outside the hostel that takes you right into the centre of London which is a 15 minute bus ride! We hope you had a great time in London. Lots of Love, AV

86%

Better than we expect.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are glad you enjoyed your time at Astor Victoria, we always try to ensure all our guests have the best time possible. With so much to do, and major attractions at our door step, we also have daily events in the hostel; dinners, pub crawls, drinking games free pancakes and movie nights etc. Free wifi, amazing facilities on site including, a netflix room, laundry, free computer full kitchen and much more. We hope you had a magical time in London, Lots of Love, AV.

100%

Age limit up to 35 only is so unfair. I hope it can be reconsidered to raise it up, as to be fair and more easy to all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, Thank you so much for the positive review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your hostel experience with us. We always try to give everyone the best possible time while staying in London. While we believe everyone is young at heart, our company age policy is for insurance purposes. We loved having you at the hostel and we hope you had an amazing time in the Magical city of London, Lots of love, Astor Victoria

60%

No escalator. Only stairs. Really many stairs to get up to. The room is a little small. Will not recommend it if you need assistance with stairs and you are with heavy and big luggage.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good location, just 10 minutes walk to Victoria station! But not clean and only one toilet worket for first and second floor! It is good place to stay if you are leaving early or arriving late, in other case - not recommend..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We love that our location is very close to major attractions and major train/bus stations. We apologize for any convenience. We are constantly upgrading our facilities to give our guests the best possible stay! If the cleanliness was not up to standards please don't hesitant to ask reception and someone will be happy to clean it up. We do hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Big hugs, Astor Victoria

91%

Very good value for money. In general, it was very good. But there are some things they could do better: - The shower handles are ridiculously hard to understand and to adjust the right temperature; - The shower drains look a bit dirty and disgusting;

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always want our guests to feel like they are getting the best experience at Astor Victoria. Our washrooms are cleaned 3 times a day to make sure every guest has clean facilities. If you feel the cleanliness is not up to standards please inform reception. We will be right down to clean it and make sure it is spotless! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the future. Lots of love, AV

77%

I didn't like that I had to book online, when I was standing there in front of the staff. But all in all I had a good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are glad to hear you had a great experience with us! We apologize if our staff wasn't able to help you accordingly. Sometimes these reasons may be because of walkins; we need a passport and a credit card, but when you book online you have the option to pay cash upon arrival. If you any concerns or problems please feel free to talk to any of the management and we would be more than to help you with your accommodations with a smile! Lots of love, Astor Victoria xx AV

80%

It was good for a hostel in London. It's clean, friendly, and in a decent location. I found it not quite as sociable as other hostels I have stayed at but I've heard that that is a side effect of the city and not the hostel. I was here for 6 nights and for seeing the city it was a pretty good place. They have events every day and the beds are super comfortable. My only real complaint is that the common space was not that large.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback We always try to ensure everyone has the best time at Astor Victoria. That's why we propose events like dinners, movie nights, board games, drinking games and pub crawl to make a connection with people and to offer them more than a simple stay. Hopefully we'll see each other's in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

94%

I loved this hostel! The staff was super friendly and the hostel was very clean.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks so much for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We're really delighted you've had such a great time with us. We always do our best to ensure a very nice stay to our guests. Hopefully we'll see each other's again in the enchanting London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel! Much Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

77%

Great staff, great place to be, maybe doing some works in the room and for the water.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so happy you've had a good time with us and found this place a great one to be. We always try to ensure the best night sleep to our guests. If you're experiencing troubles during your stay come to see reception. We're 24hrs available and happy to help people out. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

69%

Wifi was unstable. Nice breakfast.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for the time spent to leave us a comment. We've appreciated that you enjoyed the breakfast. The Wi-Fi works regularly, if you're experiencing some troubles come to see reception next time, we're here for help and to guarantee the best stay to our guests. Hopefully we'll see again each others in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

(325 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback