X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
9013 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

the location is good, and the quality is nice. It's a good choice to live in when traveling around London. The only point I was not satisfied is the bathroom. It's quite small and offer nothing with gel.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for the positive feedback. We're sorry if you find the bathroom small, but we're in a historical building. Waiting to see you again, in the lovely London. Big Hugs. Astor Victoria Family

74%

Staffs are very nice and good location and breakfast too. The door is too noisy whenever it closes and sometimes toilets are not properly flushed. It's too narrow for big luggage. Even though there were some small problems, the staffs were really willing to help me. It covers all drawbacks. Recommended this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Also, thank you for bringing the door and toilet issue to our attention. We have had our maintenance fix those issues! Hope to see you next time you are in London. All the best, the team @ Astor Victoria

77%

The good thing was breakfast included. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was a bit squeaky but still comfy. One window in my room didn't have any curtain so it was very bright in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your feedback! We care about the opinions of our guests for having the ambition to always improve! We didn't know about the window without curtain, we will provide soon a new one! Thanks again and waiting for you soon in the beautiful London. Astor Victoria Family

89%

Really good hostel, super friendly and helpful staff, breakfast included, central location for a good price (for London), what more could u ask for!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for the great review. Our staff is always here to help whenever needed. Our location is perfect and close walk to most London attractions! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back next time you're in London. Lots of love, the team @ Astor Victoria

91%

This was a great hostel in a great location. The stairs didn't bother me and the bathrooms and shower were fine for a hostel. Our door lock broke and they kept trying to fix it but never succeeded so we couldn't shut our door completely which was my only complaint but I'd definitely stay here again!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

hot water doesnt come out from the sink from any toilet or room.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for the feedback. I really suggest you to talk with the reception for any issues you may find during your stay! We're here to solve those! See you next time in the lovely London, here @Astor Victoria. Lot of love, Astor Victoria Family!

86%

Lovely staff! Everything was pretty clean. I personally enjoyed the breakfast with the different cereal options and rolls. The location is great! It's just a few minute walk from Victoria or Pimlico, and you could even see the top of the London Eye and the Houses of Parliament from my window! Overall a great say.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for the fantastic feedback. we have always in mind to guarantee the most for our guests staying. Can't wait to see you again in the lovely London @Astor Victoria. Lots of love. Astor Victoria Family

97%

It would be nice to have curtains in every room because in the morning the sun is very annoying. It's my second time at Astor Victoria and definitely I'll be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your feedback, we hadn't realized that there was curtains missing in that room! We have done a full sweep of the building and are putting new ones in every room! Looking forward to seeing you in beautiful London on your third visit! Lots of love The Family @Astor Victoria

86%

The shower didn't work very well. Apart from that everything was fine. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was simple, but well organised. The location is excellent, only a 10 minute walk from the coach station were we arrived and 5 minutes from the underground and train stations. The athmosphere was relaxed, we slept in a mixed, 6 person dorm, no problems at all with the other guests. Well worth the (low) price.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for the positive feedback. For the next time, if you have any issues, please pass to the reception, we're always available to fix every little inconvenience that could happen! Waiting to see you again! Astor Victoria Family.

69%

The hostel was nice due to them letting us hold our luggage in the hostel prior to checking in, and after checking out. The facilities are smaller than I thought. The bathrooms are only 1 per floor. I was expecting more of a communal type. Also there were no outlets in the bedroom, but it was okay since the lobby had an extension cord where we sat and charged our phones. It was crowded at breakfast with only a selection of cereal and bread (if you were lucky enough to snag a piece). It was OK

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! thanks for the positive feedback, for us it's very important to know what people thought about their experience here. We constantly try to improve to guarantee our best. Waiting to see you again in the lovely London, here @Astor Victoria Family!

77%

Tiny shower rooms and toilets that block. Very poor breakfast served with 30min delay

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. Thanks for your feedback. We apologize for any issues happened during your stay. However, here at the reception we're always available to help our guests with any troubles. See you soon in the lovely London, here @Astor Victoria! Big Hug, Astor Victoria Family!

74%

All in all we had a nice stay but what ruined the experience and the quality of sleep was that they couldn't fix the damn window in our room. We stayed for five days and on the second day I had informed the staff about the problem. The case being, the street we faced has traffic until the late of night and party people are constantly loud in the weekend. So we ended up being constantly tired and somewhat sick thanks to an open window during our stay.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thanks for the feedback, and we're terribly sorry if you had troubles during your stay. For the next time, please specify at the reception what's wrong on a daily basis. We will be glad to offer a perfect stay. Big Hug, Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Very good location. Near from underground st ( pimlico ).

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey!! Thanks for the positive feedback. Hope to see you again here @Astor Victoria Family!

83%

Hostel in great location, worth its money (very good price for the location). I enjoyed the bread rolls with pb&j for breakfast :) Bed was comfy, enough space to store away your luggage in the free storage "cages" underneath each bed. The only little 'complain' I have concerns the "bathrooms" - a bit weird to not have everything in 1 room (sink inside bedrooms, small toilet room and 1 other room where you could find 1 shower...but I guess that's because of the old-style buildings, so that's ok)

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thanks for the nice words about Astor Victoria. We're so happy that you had a pleasant experience here, waiting for your next time here in London, @Astor Victoria Family!

97%

Everything is perfect in hostel astor victoria but one thing made me little bit disappointed. It is a Faucet in the shower room (Not in the toilet). Every faucet in the shower room except 2th floor is very hard to turn off and on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate it. Sorry about the faucet issue you had. We have had our maintance man take a look at the handles and he has resloved the issue. Hope the rest of your travels are going good and see you next time you are in London!! All the best, the team @ Astor Victoria

57%

The hostel was quite noisy; thin walls, old creaky floors, the only way to close the door properly was to slam it. 2 relatively sleepless nights here. The front desk people were really nice, the hostel just needs updating. The cages under the beds were super squeaky, need a good oil. Some cages were broken and couldn't lock my stuff properly. Lots of little things adding up to make it not so nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We have gone into that room and put oil on the door and on the cages so they aren't squeaky anymore. About the floors we do apologize but this is a historic building and unfortunately there isn't much we can do about that. As well we have replaced all of our cages in the entire building to ensure our guests can lock up there valuables safely. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Lot of love, Astor Victoria Family!

86%

The bedroom area for bathing is to small. Staff awesome!!! Very helpful!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I loved being there. It's a friendly atmosphere, and I will come back if I will need again of a Hostel.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! we're glad that you had such a good time here! Can't wait to see you again in the magic atmosphere of London. The best, Astor Victoria Family

86%

Not a good atmosphere to chat with strangers. The location is good. The shower room is small and breakfast is not good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for you feedback. For the next time, if you want to report any issues at reception, we will be glad to help as much as we can, as our aim is to guarantee the best for our guests! Wait to see you again in the lovely London, here @Astor Victoria! Big Hug, Astor Victoria Family.

94%

I was impressed with how clean the hostel is, even with so many people moving up and down the stairs, and using its facilities. Also, the breakfast was basic, but nice, especially the warm bread rolls. The shower is great, and there are clean toilets in every floor as well. Maybe the only problem would be that the room was small for four people, but it should be fine if you get along with the other guys.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the fantastic review. We're glad that you had such a good time here. Waiting to see you again in the lovely London. Lots of hugs. Astor Victoria Family

(5041 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback