X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
8395 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

This hostel was disappointing. Out of the 5 hostels we stayed in between Ireland and England, this was out least favorite. It is an alright location, about a 10/15(with luggage) minute walk from the Victoria train station. Once we arrived, however, we had to climb 3 flights of stairs to our room. We booked an ensuite bathroom, but that was pointless- the shower was a drip of water along the wall. Use the shared ones. Wifi doesn't work upstairs. Breakfast is alright but a complete mess.


97%

the best hostel I have been in my trip! I had very nice days there. Thank you!!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I was very satisfied with this hostel, will come back when I'll return back in London

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Looking forward to welcoming you back! The team @ Astor Victoria

97%

I had a nice stay. Nothing to complain about.


80%

I stayed at the Astor Victoria for two weeks while doing a work placement in London. I knew before I arrived that a hostel probably wouldnt be the best place for someone getting up early and going to bed early. However I was surprised how good the experience was. The staff were friendly and helpful, the showers and toilets were clean. It wasn't too noisy which was great for me. Good base for anyone staying in London.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a quite good hostel. The stuffs are really helpful and friendly. Bathrooms and rooms are clean. From the hostel you can easily reach the Big Ban, Leicester Square, Camden Town by 24th Bus which is available 24 hours, the bus stop is very close. Also you can find very good café Pimlico Fresh Victoria with tasty and not expensive food.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing! Will definitely stay here again!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It takes about 20 mins to walk from Astor Vic to London Vic... Pimlico Station is closer. But of coz bus is the most convenient way to visit London. No esculator, a bit harsh to carry luggage to the fourth or fifth floor. Nice breakfast and quite clean... The sockets are a bit far from your bed. Anyway, nice exp to stay in Astor Vic!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I really liked the location. I only had to walk 15 minutes to get to the Buckingham Palace or to Big Ben, two major attractions. We had bins under our beds which we could lock, there was a room to store our luggage on arrival and departure day. The kitchen was small, cleanliness was ok and toilets/showers were individual (shared but only one at a time, instead of many showers in the same room for example).


86%

Astor was a really great hostel in terms of meeting people. The common room and kitchen make it really easy to just chat with other travellers. The staff are really friendly and are always down to help with whatever you need. Cages under the beds are nice and secure. Some of the showers weren't that great, but other than that no complaints.


97%

So good! I have stayed in a few hostels in my time and Astor's Victoria was the best! The walk from Victoria a little far (but not too far, that you can't walk). The staff are the friendliest I've met, and so happy to help,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Grant, thanks so much for your awesome review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Astor Victoria! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best. The team

74%

The staff was very friendly. I almost felt bad for not keeping up with their niceties and smiles. My stay at Astor Victoria was nice and relatively peaceful, except for one night when the fire alarm went off three times in one night. Breakfast was adequate but I have to say that there were too few hooks in the shower rooms as well as all too small sinks in the toilets. Rinsing your face without wetting the floor was quite a challenge.


57%

Little bit disappointed with the service & room overall. Specifically: there were a bunch of people sitting on each other's laps behind the front desk pretty preoccupied and I wasn't sure who to interrupt to let me check in! When I did get to my room on the ground floor the door was jammed open with a fan. It turns out this was necessary because the door was so noisy that whenever anyone came or went it'd wake up the whole room. However, the location was truly excellent.


97%

I enjoyed my stay. no complaints.


80%

This hostel is in a great location, (grocery stores, restaurants and two tube stations very close by) the staff is so helpful and friendly, they have great extras like a movie room with tv and netflix, laundry facilities and rentals like adapters and hair appliances. Sometimes I found that it could be little cleaner, however overall it was great. I would not only recommend but I would also stay again. Co-ed rooms only, (at least that was the only option I was given upon my booking).

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The breakfast was a little lite, but it worked. I felt very safe and was very comfortable. The only issue was not having enough outlets in the rooms.


74%

The showers were so slimy you could easily slip and the room was small as I couldn't open the locker under my bed without blocking the door from opening.


91%

Place was excellent overall, only down side was that the room I had the people already there was in the bed allocated to me

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Tania, thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Astor Victoria! Sorry about someone taking your bed, next time, let us know and we will get that situation sorted promptly!! Hope to see you back soon(: The team

97%

Great hostel! The location is perfect, close to transportation and sites but still relatively quiet. Breakfast was slightly above average, they had nutella! Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. The atmosphere was great. Would definitely recommend.


86%

Good breakfast!


(4822 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback