X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
9262 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Friendly and helpful staff, good location, nice area.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're very delighted you've had such a great time here with us, enjoyed pretty much everything. Our aim is to ensure the best stay and night sleep to our guests. Can't wait to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Good hostel for the money, but don't go in with super high expectations. The staff were very friendly and helpful with answering any questions you may have. The place itself is good location considering it's near Victoria station, but it is significant walking to any sites in the city, so be aware of that. The shower was a little dirty, 8 people were sharing it, but the place could have been a little cleaner. Overall a good hostel for the price, but could improve a little here and there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so happy you've enjoyed your stay with us and the location. The place is literally 15 minutes walking from Westminster, Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park Corner, otherwise you can get the landmarks of the city with a very short journey by tube or bus. We have shared facilities which are cleaned 4 times per day and sometimes is a bit up to the guests to leave them as they would find! Hope to see you again. The Vic's

97%

It was a brilliant place put together by great staffs and activities. I would stay here again if i swing by and would definitely recommend this to my friends

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave an review. We're so happy you've had such a good time with us, enjoyed the staff and the daily activities we run only for you guys! Our aim is to guarantee the best possible stay to all of you. Hopefully we'll see each other's again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of love, The Astor Victoria Family!

97%

I loved the hostel, especially the atmosphere. People friendly all over the world. I think the breakfast could be better, maybe some fruit will be nice. I think I'll back soon. Thanks

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so delighted you've had a great time here and enjoyed the atmosphere. Hostels are places where you literally meet the world! We have fresh fruit 2 times per week during breakfast and everyday you have a nice fruit cocktail. Hope to see you soon in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

77%

We slept in Room 1, which was the 8-bed-room downstairs close to the kitchen facilities and I must say that it was way too loud there. We saw notices everywhere that said "No noise allowed after 9 pm" but nobody cared for them (even not the staff!!!). It was not possible to sleep before 1 am or even later because there were so many people sitting in the kitchen talking and listening to very loud music (including several staff members). We really did not like that!!!

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so sorry if you couldn't experience a good night sleep. Generally we ask to all people for noise reduction after 9pm. Any form of noise is not tolerated after midnight. We always suggest to see reception for any issue that could happen, we're 24hrs available for help you out. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family! x

86%

Good place. Has a nice TV room. Showers could use some cleaning. Beds are firm. Clean linens. Close to a metro line. Safe neighborhood

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a review. We're so happy you've enjoyed the location and had a good time with us. Toilets and showers are cleaned daily by staff around: 5am 10am 2pm 8pm. Since all of them are shared facilities, we ask to all our guest to leave them as they would find! Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel! Lots of love, The Family! x

86%

Perfect, nice atmosphere, good location, the staff is very very friendly and helpfull.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave an review. We try our best to make sure everyone has the best time here at Astor Victoria. With our daily events including, but not all movie nights, dinners, drinking games and nights out to try and ensure there is something for everyone to do at the hostel! We hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Family!

69%

Overall we had a good stay. Beds were comfortable enough. Close to bus stops and Pimlico station. While the hostel was in a primarily residential neighborhood there was a street with a bunch of restaurants a five minute walk away. One problem was the number of outlets. There were 2 outlets for an 8 bed room, which is really inconvenient. There were power strips in the sitting area by the lobby but those filled pretty quickly. It would be nice if they added power strips to the rooms as well.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had a good stay overall, enjoyed the location and so on. We checked the room you stayed and there are 2 outlets and one one of them is plugged with a power strip! Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big hug, The Astor Victoria Family! x

100%

Close to underground, good kitchen, daily events, cool staff. Highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave an review. We try our best to make sure everyone has the best time here at Astor Victoria. With our daily events including, but not all movie nights, dinners , drinking games and nights out to try and ensure there is something for everyone to do at the hostel! We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Astor Victoria

77%

An hostel To have Fun all toghether, even if you travel alone. I reccomend it, excellent value for money :)

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review! We always try to ensure everyone has a great time here at Astor Victoria. We're really happy to hear you consider a good value for the money you've spent. We hope you had a great time in the magical city of London and we look forward to see you again always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Much love, The Family! x

86%

We had a great stay here as we explored London! I would definitely stay here again!

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're very delighted you've had such a great time here with us. Our aim is to ensure the best stay and night sleep to our guests. Can't wait to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Decent hostel. Nice people. Good location, close to major public transit. Cons: Bathrooms are a bit small, and the sinks are even smaller. I'm short and I couldn't sit up in the bottom bunk bed. Decently clean, but showers had a bit of mold. Also we were on the top floor - we asked to be moved because there were a lot of stairs and the wifi wasn't working in the room, only in the hall. (Wifi worked in the new room) Pro: nice kitchen, cool common room, decent location, nice staff Will stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We're so proud you've enjoyed your time here with us, found the place decent and the location attractive. Unfortunately there's nothing much we can do concerning the building, since we're in a historical hood with the majority of buildings from the 19th century. Our aim is always to improve our standard of cleanliness so thanks for your tips. Looking forward to see you again. The Victoria's Family! x

77%

+ excellent location + nice staff, 24h reception + nice atmosphere Some negative aspects that could be easily resolved: - No Curtains for the huge windows in the sleeping rooms, so there is light coming in all night (street) and from early morning on. - Doors in sleeping rooms shut very loudly.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write an review. We are sorry about the curtains many of the rooms the curtains are getting replaced to ensure every guest has a good nights sleep. If you had any problems please never hesitate to come to reception and we could have come up with a solution! We always want our guests to have a comfortable stay. We hope you enjoyed your time at the hostel. Big hugs , Astor Victoria

66%

very small room for 6 people, toilets were not always functional on our floor and we had to go down 2 - 3 floors to find a working one, but the location is indeed very good, quite close to the center and the tourist attractions.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize about any maintenance difficulties, we are in the process of upgrading all of our facilities so our guests are receiving immaculate accommodations. We couldn't agree more about how amazing our location is. Close to all the major attractions and transportation from all major airports & train stations. We hope you enjoyed yourself in the magical city of London. Big Hugs, Astor Victoria

80%

The toilets and showers need serious improvement - unclean, smelly, the temperature dials don't work and some are literally scalding. Bedrooms are basic, but comfy beds and bedding, the location is incredible, staff were awesome, daily events planned are great, charity breakfast was a great start to the day and there are plenty of social seating areas!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always want our guests to feel like they are getting the best experience at Astor Victoria. Our washrooms are cleaned 3 times a day to make sure every guest has clean facilities. If you feel the cleanliness is not up to standards please inform reception. We will be right down to clean it and make sure it is spotless! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the future. Lots of love, AV

97%

Nice Staff


83%

I stayed at Astor's Victoria for six nights and my experience was very positive. The free wifi and lockers were excellent and the beds were clean, and so were the toilets and the showers. Very often I would end up going to the toilet just after it had been cleaned up, so I was very impressed. I slept very well even though others in my room went to sleep at different times, and I thought the concept of storing food in the kitchen worked well. There was also storage room in the rooms. Thank you.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're delighted you've had such a great stay with us. Our aim is to guarantee a 5 stars stay to our guests and we do our best to make it happen on a daily basis. Hopefully we'll see each other's in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

83%

Staff were super helpful - arranging for last minute accommodations. Really enjoy this hostel. Would have to say if ONE thing needs an update, it's the stovetop in one of the two kitchens... it's locate directly on stairs so it's a potential danger risk

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for the time spent to leave us a feedback. We're really delighted you've enjoyed your time with us, liked the staff. We have an health and safety inspection every 6 months and everything is in accordance with the law. Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

91%

I loved this hostel. This was my first experience in a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. My friend and I had so much fun. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the people were all so nice. Reception was extremely helpful and gave great recommendations. Location was great and the directions to arrive were easy to follow. Altogether, would definitely recommend and will hopefully stay here again next time I am in London!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave an review. We try our best to make sure everyone has the best time here at Astor Victoria. With our daily events including, but not all movie nights, dinners , drinking games and nights out to try and ensure there is something for everyone to do at the hostel! We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Astor Victoria

89%

nice stuff

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a review! We always try to make sure everyone has the best possible time here in our hostel, and in London. We hope you enjoyed yourself! Lots of love, The Astor Victoria Family! ^^ x

(248 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback