X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
7835 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The hostel was in a nice neighborhood. We stayed in June an the rooms were a bit too warm, even with the window open and fan on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you very much for rating us, we really appreciate it. We are very sorry about the issue with the heating. Warm nights are not usually common in London so normally it's more than enough with just opening the window to keep the rooms fresh. We hope to see you in the near future and will sure everything is perfect for you guys. Cheers. The Astor Victoria Team

100%

Loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone travelling to London within a heartbeat. Free WiFi, use of their locker system and also use of a hair dryer and straightener were added benefits!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you very much. We loved the fact you came back afterwards! Having returning guests is always a pleasure. We hope to see you next time you come to London. Enjoy the rest of Europe! :) Cheers, The Team

91%

Good location, very close to Victoria Stn. Friendly staff. Toilet rooms and showers rooms were a bit cramped. In my dorm only outlets were near door making it hard to charge devices and the fan's power cord was under the door so it unplugged everytime the door was opened.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your comment! We really like to hear what our guests think about the hostel so we can improve it. We will make sure everything is perfect next time you stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers, The Astor Victoria Team

77%

The staff were uber friendly and the place had a good vibe. Apart from the boiling heat (which no one could do anything about) I had a great nights sleep. My only negative comment would be that there was no toilet paper in the toilets on my floor for a few hours even though it was mentioned to the staff. Apart from that - bueno :)

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Also, thank you for bringing that issue to our attention. We apologize that it wasn't replaced promptly. We hope to welcome you back to Astor Victoria in the future. The team @ Astor Victoria

94%

Wifi was weak and hard to stay connected to, but everything else was great!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking your time commenting us! It really helps us to improve the hostel. We are very sorry if you had issues connecting to the wifi, we haven't noticed any problems with it but we appreciate you brought that to our attention so we can have a look into it. Hoping to see you next time you come to London. Best wishes, The Team

91%

The hostel was really cool and they had activities in the hostel, such as movie night or music of your choice in the lounge. The staff was super helpful with everything, providing books, bandaids and takeaway menus for us when we needed them. The toilets and showers were really small but still okay. There were always tons of people in the kitchen to talk with, watch tv, and drink with. Very chill and relaxed.


86%

Wifi is not very stable, however it has a fantastic movie room.


94%

Staff was friendly and had great suggestions, My roommates were really cool too!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Also, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you back here soon! All the best. The team @ Astor Victoria

80%

Had everything you needed, it was just a bit expensive and a bit out of the way from nightlife and central London.


100%

PERFACT!!!!!!!!


86%

The Astor Victoria Hostel is in a good location; being close to Victoria Station and attractions such as Buckingham Palace and Parliament Square. The 24 hour check in was greatly appreciated, given my flight in to London from Lisbon was delayed and couldn't arrive until 1:30 AM. So was the luggage room, which allowed for sightseeing the day of my departure for Amsterdam. The staff were resourceful, breakfast was good, and being there during the World Cup lead to a sociable night atmosphere.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great looking room and beds. Showers are single rooms. Location is in a safe place with a few bars. London bars usually close down at 12pm and nothing is open around the area. No bar in hostel as well.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Had to wait a while to check in No buns left for breakfast if you arrived a 9.30am

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Many thanks,we really like to know what our lovely guests think about the hostel. We apologize if you had to wait for a bit to check in upon arrival. Even though we know we are busy we like to give every guest who checks in as much information as we can about the hostel so they can feel like home. Likewise one of our staff members is always at breakfast time to make sure there is enough bread, cereal, milk etc until breakfast finishes! We hope to see you in the near future. The Team

77%

The location is impeccable, 10+ mins and you would be at Victoria station. well- equipped kitchen, but a bit unclean and messy. The time when i was there, it might just happen, but one of the toilet was clogged. But the biggest problem i had was about the quality of sleep. Regardless of the noise generated by other roommates, which was unavoidable i suppose, the ceiling squeaked every time when somebody on the upper floor walked. As a light sleeper, i found this a bit unbearable.


86%

Location is fantastic - near Victoria station (huge nod for all connections) and for a walking distance to London Eye, Big Ben, TATE, everything along Themes embarkment. Hostel staff is amazing: very helpful and cheerful! Free WiFi, coffee and tea anytime is always a nice surprise. Although I felt as dorms are too tiny, to be hones, and shower cock was giving me a hard time (even though I'm not a weak tiny girl), but staff is always there for you 100%.


89%

The location is perfect: near to Pimlico Station if you don't feel like walking to anywhere but is also possible to go on foot if you want to see the city. My bedroom was a 8 bed mixed and it was really clean, even though there was not enough plugs for everybody. The breakfast was also pretty good, with bread, cereal, nutella, tea, milk.. i just missed some chocolate (hehe). The area is kinda residencial but there are some supermarkets where you can buy food to cook by yourself.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • camilafranco
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

All in all a very good hostel. It's the 2nd time I've stayed here. The 1st I was in a shared form in the basement which there were no issues with. This time I stayed on the 1st floor, the only negative being it was excruciatingly hot in the room, plus trying to move around without disturbing anyone else is an impossibility as the floor boards moaned and creaked with every step. Apart from that it was a faultless night stay where I wouldn't hesitate to stay again


91%

Easy to get to from Pimlico metro station - directions (from Heathrow to hostel) given in the confirmation email helped a lot! Very well located, especially if you're travelling by coach to other places, since it's a few blocks away from Victoria Coach Station. Possible to walk to attractions like the Big Ben and London Eye. Staff were friendly and room was according to expectations. Just wondered why there wasn't a toilet in the ensuite dorm, only a sink and a shower. Staying there again later.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We're happy you liked the location, it really is a great spot in London to be located. We look forward welcoming you back. The team @ Astor Victoria

97%

What a great location! Best staff we've had so far!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Look forward to seeing you when your back in London (: The team @ Astor Victoria

100%

The hostel was perfectly nice, good breakfast etc, all you want from a youth hostel. The only downside was the tiny, tiny bathrooms - there was no where to even place toiletries while getting ready for bed and no towels or hand dryers.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(285 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback