X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
9404 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel. Rooms are a little tight and the lack of air conditioning is a problem but still a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We understand how warm it can get in dorms, we have fans to make your stay more enjoyable. Always feel free to come to reception and we are happy to help you with any problems! We hope you enjoyed your stay in the magical city of London. Lots of love, Astor Victoria x

100%

Astor Victoria was the perfect place to stay. It was my first hostel experience and I can't imagine it being better. The staff was inviting and all the guests were friendly. The hostel plans events for each day. Take the time to do them and you will make some great friends. Astor felt like a family and I was sad to leave. Also take the time to get to know the staff. They are so fun and made me feel at home, Erik and Paula especially. Thanks Astor!!!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so delighted you've had a memorable experience during your first time in a hostel, especially because it happened @ Astor Victoria Hostel! We always try to give our 100% to please our guests and we manage events inside and outside the hostel to take advantage of all that a city like London can offer. Erik and Paula want to thank you for being so lovely! Lots of hugs, The Astor Victoria Family! x

57%

Disappointing in pretty much everything except location - near Victoria Station and less than 5 minutes to the Pimlico tube station. The staff was very cliquey, throwing events but seeming to be more interested in getting each other drunk rather than interacting with any of the guests. Would not stay again.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review, we have to say we love our location as well. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn’t welcoming. We have daily events hosted by staff members to involve guests in various activities throughout the week. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns we are open 24/7. We hope you enjoyed London. AV

91%

Great value and great services. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. This is the 4th hostel I have stayed in in London and it's easily the best. My only complaint is that the en suit shower gives out a trickle of cold water. It's pretty pointless in paying extra for the en suit dorm when the shower doesn't work. However, I raised this with the staff and they said that they would get it seen to, so hopefully the problem will be fixed. The location is also fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving a great review. We apologize if your shower wasnt up to par, and thank you for addressing the issue. Please note we are curtently in the process of upgrading many of our showers. We are pleased that this hostel is your favourite. We always try to ensure our guests have the best time and we are so happy you did! We hope to see you again in the future. Lots of love, Astor Victoria

100%

Easy going and friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We're so thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Our aim is to create the best atmosphere ever with our daily event inside out the hostel and the city of London. Hope to see you back soon. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Excellent stay in London: the area is quiet and we spent a nice time in Astor Victoria. The staff was welcoming and were ready to help for any question (very quick to answer the mails and calls). Also the atmosphere is pleasant with lots of people to meet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so delighted you've enjoyed the location! Close to major attractions and transportation, three minutes to Pimlico station, & ten minutes to Victoria Coach and Rail stations. All the staff want to thank you for being so generous on your evaluation. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel! Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

89%

even there are 4-5 chargers for each room....However, the location of the chargers did not fit all the users in the room. It would be better if there is a charger for individual beds

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. We're always keep an eye on the possible updates and our aim is to provide chargers for individual beds before the end of the year. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

86%

Excellent location, very close Victoria stop. Breakfast was good and the wifi was fast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you leaving a review. We are happy you shared your travel experience with us. We are always upgrading our facilities so guests have the best possible experience at Astor Victoria. We have to agree that our location is hands down the best. Close to major attractions and transportation, three minutes to Pimlico station, & ten minutes to Victoria Coach and Rail stations. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us! Big hugs, Astor Victoria

74%

Great location, 24 hour reception, and nice staff. But the drawer under the bed really make noise at night.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Our staff is always working towards making the atmosphere the best it can at Astor Victoria. We apologize if the cage was a bit noisy, if you ever have a problem like this please let reception know and we will be glad to send someone to fix it right away. Open 24 hours a day we are always around to make your stay the best possible one! We look forward to seeing you again in the magical city of London, Big hugs Astor Victoria

89%

Astor Victoria is a great hostel. Location is good, 10 min walks from Victoria station. Perfect for connexion with Terravision buses when arriving from Stanted airport. Close to underground Pimlico and a london hire cycle point. 15 min walk from Big Ben and the Thames river. Facilities are good: lots of free touristic information, 2 toilets and 2 showers per floor with hot water at any time. There are 2 big kitchens well equiped. Breakfast is great and the staff nice and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving a review. We love hearing our guests had a great time staying with us! We have to agree the location is great for connections to; airports, train stations, underground and buses. A long with all the major attractions. We always try to ensure everyone feels like home when they arrive. We hope to see you again in the future. Lots of Love, Astor Victoria

86%

Such a great hostel with great distance to many popular sites. The staff was great! Would definitely book again.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible. We are close to the major sites, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Green Park & St James Park to name a few. We hope to see you again in the future in magical London! Big hugs, Astor Victoria

100%

My stay was amazing ! For sure one of the best hostel I've never been :D Staff really friendly mainly the french night-receptionist hahaha Activities every night and facilities really clean !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello We really appreciate your comment, mainly the night-receptionist. We hope to see you again in our hostel soon. Kindest regards Astor family

94%

My favorite so far. Staff is friendly (plus they speak various languages), the atmosphere is really comfy, from the decoration to the music. They have a lot of free services you can ask for or borrow in order to improve your stay (like adaptors, selfie stick, umbrellas, free print for boarding passes and such, breakfast for 1 pound donation, and more). Not to talk about the location which is excellent. You can get to Buckingham palace or London's eye / Big Ben just by walking. just the best

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Astor Victoria. We are always trying to ensure guests enjoy themselves and get the most out of London. We have to agree that our location is unbeatable and our staff is always working hard to ensure everyone is having a great time. Thank you for leaving such a positive review and we hope to see you again in the future. Lots of Love, Astor Victoria

80%

This hostel is located in a very nice neighborhood, kind of far from the tourist attractions, but you can walk or take the tube no problem. The room we stayed in was by far the most unclean room I have ever slept in, and you needed a hazmat suit to take a shower. The hostel itself was really nice and the staff was extremely helpful. They plan an activity everyday and are very social with the guests. Overall a great choice, just wish the rooms were properly cleaned!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had enjoyed our location which we consider unbeatable inside Westminster council an on a walking distance from the main attraction. Our staff is delighted to receive such a nice compliment, our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where guests feel relaxed and comfortable and if they need something we will provide it. We clean the rooms everyday and there's no nuclear fusion in showers! AV

100%

Brilliant location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed the location. Inside Westminster council, we know our location is unbeatable within a walking distance from the main attractions! Can't wait to see you back in the enchanting London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

89%

Free wifi Breakfast for donation. Bathrooms and showers are private. The staff was very helpful, and always friendly. Bathrooms were sometimes not working. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've appreciated our free Wi-Fi and our charity program for breakfast. We always try to offer the best possible night sleep and a pleasant stay with us. Our staff is so happy to hear these compliments! Hopefully we'll see each others again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family! x

77%

The hostel is close to Victoria Station and even closer to Pimlico. The rooms and showers were ok! However, the staffs could've be nicer with us. They did'n't mistreated or anything, but they weren't very cordial when we needed them. One of them seemed to be in a huge hangover, actually.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We love that our location is close to all the major sites and transportation venues. Our staff is consistently trying to improve and work hard to ensure all the guests are having a good time! Never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns. We will always be willing to help with a smile. We hope you enjoyed your stay in magical London. Big hugs, Astor Victoria

94%

They are really nice and helpful. And it's clean and very easy to find. You can go anywhere with the metro and the train. But the only small problem is the cages under the bed where our things putted. In front of my cage there was a wardrobe. So I couldn't pull out the cage to put all my things in. Everything is perfect except the cages. It was a nice and pleasant trip to London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had such a great time with us, enjoyed the staff, location and found the place cleaned. We will check the cage in that room to ensure next guests can open it properly. Hope to see you soon in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!!

80%

Friendly and helpful staff, good location, nice area.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're very delighted you've had such a great time here with us, enjoyed pretty much everything. Our aim is to ensure the best stay and night sleep to our guests. Can't wait to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Good hostel for the money, but don't go in with super high expectations. The staff were very friendly and helpful with answering any questions you may have. The place itself is good location considering it's near Victoria station, but it is significant walking to any sites in the city, so be aware of that. The shower was a little dirty, 8 people were sharing it, but the place could have been a little cleaner. Overall a good hostel for the price, but could improve a little here and there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so happy you've enjoyed your stay with us and the location. The place is literally 15 minutes walking from Westminster, Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park Corner, otherwise you can get the landmarks of the city with a very short journey by tube or bus. We have shared facilities which are cleaned 4 times per day and sometimes is a bit up to the guests to leave them as they would find! Hope to see you again. The Vic's

(281 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback