X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
9378 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

very small room for 6 people, toilets were not always functional on our floor and we had to go down 2 - 3 floors to find a working one, but the location is indeed very good, quite close to the center and the tourist attractions.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize about any maintenance difficulties, we are in the process of upgrading all of our facilities so our guests are receiving immaculate accommodations. We couldn't agree more about how amazing our location is. Close to all the major attractions and transportation from all major airports & train stations. We hope you enjoyed yourself in the magical city of London. Big Hugs, Astor Victoria

80%

The toilets and showers need serious improvement - unclean, smelly, the temperature dials don't work and some are literally scalding. Bedrooms are basic, but comfy beds and bedding, the location is incredible, staff were awesome, daily events planned are great, charity breakfast was a great start to the day and there are plenty of social seating areas!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always want our guests to feel like they are getting the best experience at Astor Victoria. Our washrooms are cleaned 3 times a day to make sure every guest has clean facilities. If you feel the cleanliness is not up to standards please inform reception. We will be right down to clean it and make sure it is spotless! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the future. Lots of love, AV

97%

Nice Staff


83%

I stayed at Astor's Victoria for six nights and my experience was very positive. The free wifi and lockers were excellent and the beds were clean, and so were the toilets and the showers. Very often I would end up going to the toilet just after it had been cleaned up, so I was very impressed. I slept very well even though others in my room went to sleep at different times, and I thought the concept of storing food in the kitchen worked well. There was also storage room in the rooms. Thank you.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're delighted you've had such a great stay with us. Our aim is to guarantee a 5 stars stay to our guests and we do our best to make it happen on a daily basis. Hopefully we'll see each other's in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

83%

Staff were super helpful - arranging for last minute accommodations. Really enjoy this hostel. Would have to say if ONE thing needs an update, it's the stovetop in one of the two kitchens... it's locate directly on stairs so it's a potential danger risk

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for the time spent to leave us a feedback. We're really delighted you've enjoyed your time with us, liked the staff. We have an health and safety inspection every 6 months and everything is in accordance with the law. Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

91%

I loved this hostel. This was my first experience in a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. My friend and I had so much fun. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the people were all so nice. Reception was extremely helpful and gave great recommendations. Location was great and the directions to arrive were easy to follow. Altogether, would definitely recommend and will hopefully stay here again next time I am in London!

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave an review. We try our best to make sure everyone has the best time here at Astor Victoria. With our daily events including, but not all movie nights, dinners , drinking games and nights out to try and ensure there is something for everyone to do at the hostel! We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Astor Victoria

89%

nice stuff

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a review! We always try to make sure everyone has the best possible time here in our hostel, and in London. We hope you enjoyed yourself! Lots of love, The Astor Victoria Family! ^^ x

71%

Overall an average experience at the Astor Victoria. Our room was supposedly on the Fourth floor, but it ended up being more like eight floor. It was very tiring to get back to our room after a long day in the city. The bathrooms are VERY small and not convenient for female travellers (No outlets for hairdryers in the tiny bathroom or by the mirror in the room). The atmosphere was not very cordial.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. Your room is on the 4th floor and we know that is annoying to be in a place without elevator. That's why we always offer an help to carry up the luggage! You have outlets in the bathroom and in the room and you can plug hairdryers. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

46%

Rooms were very small and the lockers under the bed were extremely noisy to open..sounded like an earthquake happening underneath me. No real feeling of atmosphere and the events weren't appealing. Disappointing overall, good location, however.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed the location. Our aim is to offer a good night sleep and our rooms are comfortable and spacious enough in order to guarantee it. We check on a daily basis all the cages and we use to put oil if they're squeaking. They don't sound like an earthquake. Our daily events are made to create a nice atmosphere inside out the hostel! We're sorry if you didn't find them appealing. Hope to see you again.

94%

It was great, when I go back to London I'll stay there again!

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're very delighted you've had such a great time here with us. Our aim is to ensure the best stay and night sleep to our guests. Can't wait to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

83%

Would be great if there was something dairy free, gluten free and sugar free in the breakfast menu. I turned away from the breakfast menu because it was basically unhealthy junk. Sugar, wheat and milk. Yuck! Apart form that everything was great, the rooms were clean, staff super friendly, and I donated £15 to Nepal in your donation box. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review! We understand people have dietary concerns and we try to provide something for everyone. We do have fridges and fully equipped kitchen to use throughout the day. We appreciate you donating money to a worthy cause. We always try to ensure everyone has the best possible time! Big hugs, Astor Victoria

97%

Refrigerator sometimes gets very messy throughout the week. Perhaps suggest people bag everything? Also helpful since I doubt anybody who would want to steal food would look through bags. Still bitter someone ate my left over pizza haha

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for spending your time to leave us a feedback. All the refrigerators are cleaned up 3 times per week. There's no doubt, many people let their food and drink so we always suggest to label the belongings with the name, room number and check-out date. We're sorry if someone stole your left over pizza, next time you'll get one for free from reception! hahahah We hope you've had a great time and we're looking forward to see you again. Lots of Love, The Family!

74%

Clean, pretty good location (close to metro stop), breakfast okay, not very filling but it didn't cost any extra, so we didn't think it was a big deal. Carpet in the room was a little weird and didn't seem the cleanest. Very tops of the windows in my room were really dusty (though tall and hard to reach). Showers were hot and beds were pretty comfortable. Would have been nice to have additional hangout space, maybe a designated quiet area. Overall good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had a pleasant stay with us, enjoyed the location and so on. Concerning the carpet, all of our units are vacuumed on a daily basis and we always check them just to ensure they are ok. We're sorry if the tops of the windows were dusty, we're always aiming to improve our standards of cleanliness so thanks for the advice. The hangout space is what it is due to the nature of the building. Big Hug. The Vic's

69%

Good: central location, fair price; wifi, adapters, hair dryers for free, breakfast for a donation Bad: showers and toilets! just few on every floor (not enough when the hostel is full) and toilets were blocked quite often (hostel staff should look after that more often). The worst thing were the showers cause I just found one that had a regular tap. Most of them had some sort of wheel which was hard to turn & sometimes didn't adjust temperature at all, so I had to shower with boiling hot water

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so happy you've enjoyed the location and what we offer for breakfast. We have showers and toilets all over the toilets, they're cleaned 3 times per day so sometimes it's up to the guests to leave them as they found them. We are replacing all the old showers taps, during these days actually. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

86%

Great location. Things were clean. Bed was confortable. Only negative thing was that the only water safe to drink was in the kitchen (in the basement) so it could get annoying to get some if your room was on the higher floors. Otherwise a great place to stay.


77%

The hostel seemed expensive for what it was but all of the hostels in London are expensive. The bathroom/shower area could have been cleaner. To get drinkable tap water, you have to go all the way to the kitchen in the basement. The breakfast was a great way to save money and quite satisfying. The staff were all really awesome, though! In general, the hostel wasn't anything special but the staff made the stay pleasant.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so delighted the staff made your stay very nice for you. That's very good to hear as well for the breakfast. We strictly believe this place is a good value for what you're paying and we give our 100% to guarantee the best possible stay to our guests. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family! x

71%

Location was good. The room was extremely small and I don't know what for do somebody entered to my room if it was not going to clean it.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed the location. All the rooms are different, we're sorry if you've found small yours. You can always see reception for any concern, we're 24hrs available and happy to help you out! The only people allowed to get in your room are housekeepers (staff) and roommates, so it seems strange if somebody else has gotten in the room. Hopefully we'll see each others again in the lovely London at Vic's! Hugs

89%

The Astor Victoria is a great place to stay that's really close to some of London's main attractions, while the rest are a short tube trip away. The staff is very friendly and will recommend you a place no matter what you're looking for. The kitchen is well furbished to cook and store meals or food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so delighted you've found the location attractive as well as the staff and the facilities. We always give our 100% to guarantee the best possible stay to our guests and a pleasant night sleep. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

60%

There is no hairdryer in the hostel. Toilets are constantly full of water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for the time spent to leave us a feedback. We borrow hair dryers for free! Toilets are shared facilities and we clean them 4 times per day. Sometimes it's up to guests to leave those as they would find them. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

89%

Staff rules :-)

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave an review. Our staff is constantly working hard to ensure you have the best stay possible. We are always here to help with a smile and are glad you felt that way! Hope to see you soon. Lots of love Astor Victoria xx

(271 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback