X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
10142 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location is absolutly perfect you can walk to Trafagar square in 30 minutes and i telt safe walking home alone late at night which was really nice. The bathrooms were not the cleanest but the rest of the facilities were really nice, and the staff are wonderful! Would definitly recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We so happy your enjoyed your time with us and felt safe. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

89%

The wifi was absolutely terrible thoughout the building which was extremely frustrating. You really could only access the wifi if you sat near the front desk.. Which I didn't want to do. There also was a slight issue with bathrooms in the morning, too many people and not enough bathrooms. Also there should be a bathro by the kitchen. Breakfast was great though. Also I wish you didn't have to leave 5 pounds or an ID for a key deposit, you should be able to leave your own currency.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us feedback. The wifi actually works best in the kitchen, but also you can get it both in the rooms and at reception. If are having trouble find the bathrooms you walk just past the stair cases to the kitchen you can find 4 bathrooms and more showers for everyone to use. We hope to see you again in London soon! Lots of love, The Astor Victoria Family

94%

The location of the hostel is amazing as it's super close to victoria station and there is also a bus that stops right in front of the hostel that goes to leceister and trafalga square. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are a bit small but the prices are cheap so I guess that's understandable. The 8 people dorms were a bit tiny so i recommend the dorm rooms with less people. I'd recommend the hostel to anyone! Thank you for a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. Our staff is so thrilled to receive such an amazing compliment! We work hard to ensure you guys have the best possible stay, which means a good night sleep in a positive environment, being aware that if you need something we're 24hrs available and happy to provide it to you! Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

86%

Excelente locación, buen ambiente en general.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, muchas gracias por tener tiempo para dejarnos comentario. Estamos muy feliz que disfrutaste tu permanencia en Londres y Astor Victoria Hostel. Esperamos verte pronto otra vez por acá. Mucho Amor desde la familia Astor!

71%

staff were friendly, but the shower in the middle of the room was weird, especially with glass doors. I stayed there only one night because it was an emergency, location was good, close to the tube, but facilities were poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We believe our facilities are everything a modern traveler needs. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

77%

Excellent location! Good hostel but dirty kitchen.. NO lift! Too many steps..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We do have such a lovely old building with no life, but we have plenty of muscle in our special Astor lift. All our receptionists are more then happy to help by carrying your bags to your room. We hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family

89%

Great atmosphere Staff is awesome Lots of activities at the hostel Definitely recomend iit and would go there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. Our staff is so thrilled to receive such an amazing compliment! We work hard to ensure you guys have the best possible stay, which means a good night sleep in a positive environment, being aware that if you need something we're 24hrs available and happy to provide it to you! Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

74%

Really liked the location - walkable from Victoria train/coach station and easy to get anywhere else on the Tube. Comfortable and felt secure. I wasn't able to participate in any hostel events due to other plans, but loved that they do run events every day. Only thing that was an issue was access to outlets - not enough to go around in the rooms. (And walking up many stairs with luggage wasn't the greatest.) Enjoyed stay overall!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed your stay overall! We work hard to make this place a nice one to stay, providing you a good night sleep in a positive environment, organizing daily events to socialize and being aware that if you need something we're 24hrs happy and available to help you out! Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family! xxx

46%

Absolutely worst place I've stayed in my life !!!!! I would rather spend the extra money going elsewhere . It was an absolute nightmare. Main reason being the bathroom facilities were a size of a cupboard no joke , I was placed in a room full of guys( it was supposed to be mixed dorm) yeah right ! There was no bathroom basin to wash your face . I've stayed at better hostels in Europe for cheaper !!

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We believe that our bathroom facilities are absolutely big enough and workable. The allocation are made considering just the people who book that room type, everything happens in a fairly random mode. The room you've booked is provided with a basin. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

71%

In my opinion i think the hostel is well ubicated, definitely the security of the round area is excellent, you have the underground very near and that is a good option to move in to London. The hostel is in good conditions but the cleanliness is little poor and the staff is not very friendly. In general i will return just in case there is no option.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback! We're happy you've enjoyed our location, inside Westminster council and on a walkable distance from the main attractions we think it's unbeatable! Our bathroom facilities are cleaned up by staff four times a day, sometimes it's a bit up to guests to leave them as they would like to find. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel, with our nice staff! Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

89%

The staff were very accommodating and it was a wonderful experience overall!

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for taking some time to leave us feedback. We hope to see you again once the job is done in the place to be, London! Lots of love, The Astor Victoria Family

74%

It's a small hostel, with no presentious room and bathrooms, but it's really worthy the position, it's almost 4 minutes from Pimlico Station and 10 minutes from Victoria Station. The personnel has been kind and also helped me in taking my heavy luggage till the fourth floor, since there is no elevator!

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We're very happy to hear that you've had a good stay with us, liked the staff and enjoyed our location, which we find unbeatable since we're inside Westminster council and on a walkable distance from the main attractions! We hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

77%

The hostel staff acted like it was a clique, which made it very difficult to talk to some of the staff. However those that were communicative were very friendly and helpful.

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Facilities was very poor. Rooms too small and not nice. Not enough space for clothes.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We believe that our hostel is equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. If there's something wrong with your stay we always recommend to see reception, we're 24hrs happy and available to help you out! Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Very nice and helpful staff. Beds were comfy - no fault of the hostel that I couldn't sleep because of two snorers, which is part of the mixed dorm room's hazard. facilities okay, floor of the room very squeaky. breakfast only for sweettooths! (which I am, so no problem for me. - and the butter peanutbutter is salty, but no savoury options included.)

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We're very happy that you've had a good stay with us, liked the staff and enjoyed your night sleep even with snoring people! We hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

69%

There were no plugs near each bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. Thanks for your suggestion. We are actually really close to now installing lights next to every bed as part of our continued improvement plan for all our hostels. We hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

97%

I would like to recommend to the hostel to set up an individual light per bed. Because during the night is not really useful to have just one main light since people come to sleep at different times.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us feedback. Thank for your suggestion. We are actually really close to now installing lights next to every bed as part of our continued improvement plan for all our hostels. We hope to see you again once the job is done in the place to be, London! Lots of love, The Astor Victoria Family

80%

Cons: The floor of the room and the beds make a great deal of unavoidable noise which makes things very uncomfortable. There was some confusion where my bed got assigned to someone else and it created a weird situation for both parties. Pros: The staff is super helpful and makes up for all the flaws. They were very nice!

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've liked the staff, we're always available to help you guys out! We check on a weekly basis all the beds and floors, especially to reduce all the squeaky sounds. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

100%

Hi, I want to share my opinons. I stayed 5 days in london and I got to lived in london and I felt like my home astor victoria. Staffs are very interested in and friendly. The breakfast room is cool. I could act like my kitchen. And Astor Victoria's view is great, close to central. its safely. I miss there. I hope one day I cancome and stay there. Good work astor team!!

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you a lot for taking the time to leave us a feedback. We're so proud to hear such good words like yours! Our staff is so thrilled to receive a nice compliment, we always work hard to guarantee a good night sleep in a positive environment, being aware that if you need something, we're 24hrs happy and available to help you out! Hope to see you again in the breathtaking city of London. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

69%

I must say, that my staying at Astor Victoria was ok, not much above the average. In comparisson to last year (october 2014), this year was not quite as good as previous. Cleanliness this year was a dissaster at toilets and showers, staff was not so connected to the visitors, wi-fi was down every 2 minutes. In addition to the price I payed, i expected more, much more. For 6 nights and about 250pounds this was not worth of that money...

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for taking your time to leave us a feedback. Toilets and showers are common facilities which are cleaned 4 times a day. We always recommend to people to leave them as they would like to find them. If there's something wrong with your stay we always recommend to see reception, we're 24hrs happy and available to help you out! Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

(219 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback