X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
9560 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

One of the worst facilities I've ever experienced. Small room with old and broken shower, no enough space to unpack my luggage and no lift! But location was nice for me because I used victoria coach station a lot and staffs were nice. It's too expensive when I consider the facilities but every hostels in london is similar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had enjoyed our location which we consider unbeatable inside Westminster council an on a walking distance from the main attraction. Our staff is delighted to receive such a nice compliment: our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where guests feel relaxed and comfortable! We clean the rooms everyday, fell free to see reception for any concern next time! Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

86%

good but need to clean floor of the room and beds.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're happy you've had a good experience with us overall. Floors and beds are cleaned on a daily basis by staff. We always suggest to see reception for any issue, we're 24hrs available to help and to check all the cleanliness standards. Hope to see you again in the enchanting London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel! Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family

60%

Hostel was normal. Staff replied to email inquiries quickly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. We hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

100%

Simply one of those places where you'll definitely be back! They really care about their reputation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so delighted about your thought and hope to see you back very soon in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria! Our aim is to guarantee the best possible night sleep but also with our daily event we try to create a cozy atmosphere and a pleasant stay. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family

86%

Exellcwnt hostel ever. Friendly staff.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so happy you've found the place excellent and had a great time with the staff! Hope to see you again in the enchanting London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel! Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

86%

great job keep up

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at Astor Victoria! Thank you for leaving us a review. We are always trying hard to improve and ensure guests have the best possible time with us. We hope to see you again in the future and glad you enjoyed your time in London. Lots of love, Astor Victoria

97%

The hostel is in such a good location, 5/10 minute walk to Victoria. The guys at the desk when checking in were awesome and friendly (Zack and another one who was quite happy singing along to Queen). I was gutted I had plans or I would have totally been up for movie night. The hostel is quite noisy so if you're a light sleeper it might not be for you. I will definitely stay here on future visits to London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We love that our location is so close to all the major attractions and transportation venues. Our staff is constantly trying to improve and work hard to ensure our guests have the best stay possible. In regards to the noise level we ask our guests to keep the noise to a minimum after midnight. The hostel has been full lately which may contribute to the noise but feel free to tell reception if it is too loud. Astor Family

97%

We had an amazing stay! The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming and I really felt like I could ask the staff about everything I wondered about. Will absolutely stay ar Astor Victoria again!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so glad you've had such an amazing stay with us, enjoyed the hostel atmosphere. Our staff feels like heaven receiving such a nice compliment. We hope you come to see us again in the magical city of London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel! Lots of love, Astor Victoria x

100%

Brilliant atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hostel's atmosphere. We contribute all together on a daily basis to create the best atmosphere ever with our daily event inside out the hostel and the city of London. Hope to see you back soon. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

77%

Very close to train, tube and bus station. It gets a bit noisy at night and from room 3 you can hear everything going on in the living room and corridor. On the plus side you get a sink in the room. I was just passing through for the night, it is an okay hostel, just a bit expensive for what it offers but location is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you leaving a review with us. We agree that our location is amazing. We apologize if the hostel gets noisy; we close one of our kitchens early and keep the noise level down after 11 to ensure guests get the proper sleep. If you felt you had any concerns never hesitate to ask reception and we will be happy to help you. We also have many free services such as, adaptors, locks, selfie stick, printing coffee/tea and so on. We hope you enjoyed your stay. AV

80%

Location was great if you don't mind walking to go to the touristy destinations. 2 minute walk to a tube station for further destinations. Had a room right off the kitchen which was a bit noisy but still alright. Bathrooms were clean but could have been a bit cleaner. Overall decent hostel for the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we have to say we love our location! 15 min walk to Buckingham Palace and St James Park, 25 min to Big Ben, Parliaments, Westminster Abbey and The Eye. 35 min to Trafalgar square and the National Art gallery. If the cleanliness wasn't up to your standards please never hesitate to tell someone at reception we would be happy to clean it up for you with a smile! We hope your enjoyed your stay in London. Big hugs, Astor Victoria

89%

Clean rooms, comfy beds and while Pimlico might be dull it's right next to tube station and walking distance to few attractions

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy you enjoyed yourself with us. Pimlico is a safe neighbourhood, but it’s anything but dull! With Buckingham palace/ St James park 15 min walk, central London just around the corner, daily events from the hostel going to the best night spots in town there is always something to do here! We are always trying to ensure guests have the best possible time in London. We hope to see you again in the future. Big hugs, Astor Victoria x

86%

The place is very chill and very close to Victoria Station. I would definitely recommend this place but don't expect too much from some of the staff. They are all very nice and helpful but the managers in charge of the resident services has the worst attitude. For someone who's job it is to provide the answers and extra services like towels, detergent, change for the machines of any other assistance, it is quite clear the last thing she wants to do is assist someone.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are glad you enjoyed the location and thank you for the recommendation! We apologize if the staff wasn’t as welcoming as they could be, especially in the summer time when we are fully booked we always try to ensure we give our guests everything they might need to enjoy their experience. With free services such as; adaptors, locks, selfie stick, coffee & tea, free printing and such, we are always happy to assist you in anything you might need. Big hugs, AV

83%

The hostel is so cool, though the staff is really rude and unwilling to help, such a shame for the amazing hostel it is.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As being part of the Astor we are a big family and always are working hard to ensure every guest feels like they are also part of the family. In the future if you ever have any concerns please feel free to come to reception and we will be happy to help you out. We hope you enjoyed the magical city of London! Big hugs, Astor Victoria

100%

Great hostel. Rooms are a little tight and the lack of air conditioning is a problem but still a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We understand how warm it can get in dorms, we have fans to make your stay more enjoyable. Always feel free to come to reception and we are happy to help you with any problems! We hope you enjoyed your stay in the magical city of London. Lots of love, Astor Victoria x

100%

Astor Victoria was the perfect place to stay. It was my first hostel experience and I can't imagine it being better. The staff was inviting and all the guests were friendly. The hostel plans events for each day. Take the time to do them and you will make some great friends. Astor felt like a family and I was sad to leave. Also take the time to get to know the staff. They are so fun and made me feel at home, Erik and Paula especially. Thanks Astor!!!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so delighted you've had a memorable experience during your first time in a hostel, especially because it happened @ Astor Victoria Hostel! We always try to give our 100% to please our guests and we manage events inside and outside the hostel to take advantage of all that a city like London can offer. Erik and Paula want to thank you for being so lovely! Lots of hugs, The Astor Victoria Family! x

57%

Disappointing in pretty much everything except location - near Victoria Station and less than 5 minutes to the Pimlico tube station. The staff was very cliquey, throwing events but seeming to be more interested in getting each other drunk rather than interacting with any of the guests. Would not stay again.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review, we have to say we love our location as well. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn’t welcoming. We have daily events hosted by staff members to involve guests in various activities throughout the week. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns we are open 24/7. We hope you enjoyed London. AV

91%

Great value and great services. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. This is the 4th hostel I have stayed in in London and it's easily the best. My only complaint is that the en suit shower gives out a trickle of cold water. It's pretty pointless in paying extra for the en suit dorm when the shower doesn't work. However, I raised this with the staff and they said that they would get it seen to, so hopefully the problem will be fixed. The location is also fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving a great review. We apologize if your shower wasnt up to par, and thank you for addressing the issue. Please note we are curtently in the process of upgrading many of our showers. We are pleased that this hostel is your favourite. We always try to ensure our guests have the best time and we are so happy you did! We hope to see you again in the future. Lots of love, Astor Victoria

100%

Easy going and friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We're so thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Our aim is to create the best atmosphere ever with our daily event inside out the hostel and the city of London. Hope to see you back soon. Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family!

80%

Excellent stay in London: the area is quiet and we spent a nice time in Astor Victoria. The staff was welcoming and were ready to help for any question (very quick to answer the mails and calls). Also the atmosphere is pleasant with lots of people to meet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so delighted you've enjoyed the location! Close to major attractions and transportation, three minutes to Pimlico station, & ten minutes to Victoria Coach and Rail stations. All the staff want to thank you for being so generous on your evaluation. Hope to see you again in the lovely London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel! Lots of Love, The Astor Victoria Family! x

(319 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback