X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Victoria Reviews

71 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
7338 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel and location. The rooms where nice and big. Price includes free lockers, adaptors, luggage room, breakfast, and wifi. Best hostel for its value that I have been too.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good energy and willingness to help. The breakfast could be more diverse (namely in terms of the fruit jams available. A better knowledge of the area, regarding for example where to eat late in the evening for those who arriving after 10 pm.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your feedback, it helps us to improve the hostel. We do offer a few options in terms of jam flavors (strawberry, raspberry, blackcurrant, peach etc) as well as another sort of spreads. Unfortunately there's not many places where you can have food in London after that time but take-aways are always an option! We hope to see you next time in London. Enjoy your travels, The Astor Victoria Team

89%

Location was excellent, I could walk 10 minutes at 5 a.m. and catch my bus to London Stansted. My room had 6 beds and small shower and sink. It could be more places to plug electronic devices, otherwise I would not need to charge my mobile in the corridor. Internet was working just downstairs, or to be sure, it was not working on 3rd floor, so I had to go out from my room, but at the reception area was quite nice. There were free maps and staff were very helpfull. Well, I'm very satisfied.


89%

I enjoyed the environment, it was comfortable, easy to get to and in a very good location. The staff were helpful and informative. Thank you for a good night stay.

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

One bad thing was that the breakfast didn't have butter or anything salty, just sweet things.


100%

I literally cannot say enough about how much I love this hostel! Great location really close to the Pimlico tube station (zone 1) and in a beautiful area too! The staff ROCK. Super friendly, fun, and helpful, especially Pete!! Seriously, if you're coming to London, stay here!

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The location and the price are really good and it´s located in a niceand safe area. It´s possible to walk to all of the important sights. The two negative things where that the bathrooms are really REALLY tiny, it´s barely possible to brush your teeth, and that there weren´t enough spoon, knifes and forks for the breakfast. But except from that- totally recommenable :)


91%

I loved the atmosphere.HOWEVER, not everybody was socialising and it's awkward when you sit next to someone and don't even say hi.I loved the breakfast time, though one morning somebody burned something in the microwave and it smelled everywhere.Yey,I'm not the worst damage in the kitchen.One thing that I would suggest is to fix the internet as it was slooooow and the showers which were clogged and had low water pressure. Next time I come to London, Astor Victoria you better have a place for me

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good vibe. Good staff.

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great & comfortable stay!

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Astor Victoria. Hope to see you next time in London! The Astor Victoria Team

69%

I think it should have more plugs in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for leaving a comment with your rating, it really help us to improve the hostel. We are looking into that matter since it's an issue of health and safety but we will hopefully get more power points in every room. We hope to see you next time in London. Enjoy your travels, The Astor Victoria Team

86%

Really good location, clean, maybe only breakfast could be better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your feed back, it's very appreciated since it helps us to improve the hostel. Our Free continental breakfast includes fresh bread rolls, a good variety of spreads (peanut butter, jams, butter, chocolate spread etc) as well as cereals, muesli, coffee, tea and hot chocolate which makes it very complete but we are open to suggestions so we can make it even better. Enjoy your travels! The Astor Victoria Team

63%

Excellent location! Only a block and a half from Pimlico Underground station, and about four to six from Victoria. The wifi doesn't work in the rooms, however, only at reception and in the kitchen, and only if there aren't a lot of people using it. The bathrooms were very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for taking your time leaving a comment with your rating, we really appreciate it. At the time you were staying with us we were in the middle of changing wifi providers so we are very sorry if you could not use the wifi in your room. Although it's been fixed now so you'll be able to use it in the whole building if we have the pleasure of having you staying with us again. Enjoy your travels! The Astor Victoria Team

69%

The toilets and the showers were a bit dirty. The rest is ok.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for leaving a comment with your rating, it really helps us to improve the hostel. Our staff cleans the toilets and showers at least twice a day to keep them good for all the guests so we are sorry if you did not find them immaculate. Although we will work hard to raise the standard so it will be perfect if we have the pleasure of having you with us again. Enjoy your travels! The Astor Victoria Ream

89%

we'll definitely come back ^^

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you next time in London! Enjoy, The Astor Victoria Team

94%

Great staff, very helpfull!

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for the feedback. Our staff is 24 hours available to help you so we are glad you received the treatment that you wanted. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you next time in London! The Astor Victoria Team

83%

We really enjoyed our stay, and thought it was perfect that it was located so close to the coach station that we took the bus to the airport from. After staying at a really bad hostel where the rooms were full and crowded, coming to Astor Victoria was like a sweet relief. The atmosphere was friendly and I would recommend it to anyone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for taking you time writing a review, we really appreciate it. We are glad you guys enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next time in London. Enjoy your travels, The Astor Victoria Team

63%

This is really an unpleasant stay because we don't get what is promised. The concierege has made some mistake that causes us a unpeaceful moment with the roommates. It is really sad to experience this.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a great stay here. I was traveling alone and felt very safe. Staff was very friendly. Showers and bathrooms were clean. I read that people complained about there not being anywhere to put your things but the hooks on the walls work just fine in keeping things dry if you angle the water properly. I was only around for breakfast one morning which was good (coffee, tea, cereal, bread) but very crowded which I expected at 9:30am. There was always someone at the front desk to help.


91%

Astor victoria is less people than another hostel and price is almost the same. it means cheaper than another hostel. I've stayed this hostel 2 years ago. something has changed a bit. toilet is more clean than before. Just staff was less friendly than before. other things for hostel is almost perfect! laundry machine cost is cheap. walk able to victoria. there is another tube station near by the hostel. comfortable bed. would like to stay here again.


(211 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback