Hostelworld.com

Asylum Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.0
Asylum Cairns Located at 149 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Asylum Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 149 Grafton Street
83% 751
-16.9178030 145.7698523
Asylum Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
3.7

Very Dirty place, guests drunk every night, no lockers in the rooms, no cuttlery provided.When they do BBQ the kitchen is closed at 6pm and you have to pay for the poor dinner that they cook. I won't go back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

A great place to stay, the people and events were amazing. Great atmosphere, impossible not to make friends, definitely will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.4

Close to main drag, fun atmosphere, really tries to get the parties going, no locker in my room is only complaint

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2016
9.1

Awesome hostel. Great parties. Fabulous people. Staff are lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
7.4

Very much a party hostel. They turn off the wifi too during Monday BBQs and from 7 pm to 7 am on Thursday night. Also you only get wifi in the common area and it is very spotty. Staff is super friendly though and facilities are pretty clean. Overall good experience for only AUD$15 a night. Also even if you pay for a 10-bed dorm for $15 you get placed in a room with only 4-6 people so save money and buy that one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
8.3

Very good hostel, friendly staff, good localization, security and cleanliness. BBQ party is pretty good, I just missed the pants down party :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Mar 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay a lot. Everyone is welcoming you and I felt like home right away. Super nice big garden area and pool. The parties are really good but you always can get some time for yourself to chill. You can party if you want but you will also get the sleep you need as they take care, that people who party do not disturb others. Best hostel in Australia till now!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Mar 2016
8.9

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and we had a great time. The place is super chilled and the staff were brilliant. The all you can eat hostel bbq on a Monday night is a great little touch to bring everyone together to meet people. This is how we met a few of of the staff and residents, and we had a good night together. Unfortunately we missed the Thursday party as we had to leave but we have no doubt that would be run well. Our room, although basic, was clean and secure. Paula & Ash

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2016
8.6

It's very easy to meet people here because of the evening events. Would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Feb 2016
7.4

I had a good time there but I should have definitely booked a room with A/C (my fault though). People are very relaxed and friendly. Even though I read many reviews saying that it's a definitely a party hostel, I didn't really feel like it is. It was quiet at night. I think it's a good place to stay but maybe not for people expecting a bit more luxury since the facilities are quite old and I shared my bed with some ants ;) Lockers would definitely be a good thing in the room though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to inform your that we are constantly upgrading and it is feedback like yours that facilitate our need to do so. More rooms are being fitted with airconditioning . as for lockers in rooms, there are a few reason we have chosen to provide Safety Deposit facilities at Reception which is armed with surveillance alarms after closing. One being space constraint and the other, the constant need for repair of broken locks. As impressed on your check-in, we are more than happy to help you access your valuable left with us as often as you like and at no cost. We hope to have the pleasure to look after you when you next visit our lovely Cairns, Kind regards, Annie (Owner-manager)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.