Hostelworld.com

Asylum Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 871 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 871 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.0

This hostel is really not too bad and for $15-17 Dollars per night! It's clean, the facilities aren't that bad, the kitchen is good, the bathrooms a little old, but again, clean. They have no lockers in the rooms but you can give your values to the reception and they lock it up for you. Only downside was the $50 cash deposit. We had a little problem with our overseas credit cards, so we couldn't pay it the first some hours, but they we're cool with it and waited and let us check-in later.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Loved it, staff were so friendly and there was a great atmosphere in the hostel. Really clean and safe, and in a great location. Ideal place for solo travellers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • silversurfer97
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

Für 17$ pro Nacht ein super Hostel, saubere 5er Zimmer, große Küche, nette Mitarbeiter. Nicht ganz zentral, aber Cairns ist eh sehr überschaubar (10 Minuten bis ins "Zentrum"). Insgesamt definitiv empfehlenswert.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

Ah, such an amazing place to stay! Loved the communal atmosphere, it was so easy to make friends and plan trips and whatnot. First place I stayed in Australia and definitely impacted my entire trip. Don't let the $50 deposit discourage you, most places ask for some type of deposit, so you'd have to make one eventually! Heidi is an absolute gem, Jo is so incredibly helpful and Esther was so sweet and welcoming. Sad I had to leave, would definitely go back to Cairns just to stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Oh man, what an experience this place is. Great atmosphere, very social and welcoming to newcomers. You'll have a good time for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

Wifi is good enough to FaceTime which was good. Common areas are nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marijn_van_houdt2499
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
5.1

Annoyed staff, old crappy dorms, kitchen/living room closes at 9pm, not very clean bathrooms, sometimes cold water/no internet, 50 AUD deposit

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
6.9

This is a great hostel if you want to meet people, go out, get drunk, have a good time. It's decently inexpensive. However, the wifi is spotty, even in the lobby. My phone couldn't connect numerous times. Also, one of the main ladies that works there will see other girls as competition unless you suck up to her. Every conversation with her was uncomfortable as she is extremely cold, but if you are a guy who gives her attention, you are fine. All the other staff was great though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.6

Fantastic place, although the air con wasn't very efficient

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • LucyS22
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Dec 2016
8.0

Bit out of town but not far to walk. Free airport pick up as well. The hostel itself is due a revamp but it's clean and the staff are ace. They put activities on a few nights a week to try and create a hostel family which is great. I asked to be moved rooms to one where folk would talk to me as my first roommates were pig ignorant. Staff moved me straightaway :) Onsite pool, reasonable sized dorm. No lockers but can store valuables at reception. One of the better places I've stayed 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.