Hostelworld.com

Asylum Cairns

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.9
Asylum Cairns Located at 149 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Asylum Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 149 Grafton Street
81% 768
-16.9178030 145.7698523
Asylum Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
8.0

The people and atmosphere were great, it was very easy to find friends. Kitchen, showers, toilets were old, but worked, usually clean too. You have to pay 10$ deposit for dishes and on Monday and Thursday evenings the kitchen is closed because there are hostel events with food which you have to pay 5-15$ for. There were a lot of things you have to pay extra for, there's no free airport shuttle, can't leave your bag there after checking out without paying, laundry costs etc. Overall a nice stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel!! So helpful and in such a good location! Staff are amazing!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
2.6

They loose my cb, then havn't been arrangeant at all. You have to pay for everything. 50$bond they gonna take as soon as they can.. Bad strict mentality

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
8.9

Probably the opposite of a hotel....in all the right ways. Far from royal luxury, but the staff make sure you've got company the best they can, and it resuts in an electric party atmosphere most of the time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
7.4

This hostel needs some major upgrades. The dorms are very primitive and not very inviting; they look a little run-down. Have this weird policy with paying a deposit for silverware, plates, etc., however, this is not uncommon in Australia, although not common anywhere else in the world. They offer free coffee throughout the day, however, the big coffeecups can not be taken to the kitchen or lunch area area, only the small cups. Really weird.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Asylum was a blast! Loved the staff and clientele, such a great atmosphere. Toilets/showers could be a bit better, but otherwise, it was lovely, totally worth it and the Pants Down party every Thursday night was fabulous. Love this place!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Awesome place to meet people and party. You will feel at home in no time! The staff is super nice!! If you are very particular about room quality though, I gotta warn you, the beds are not the most comfortable and rooms look little rough around the edges

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

Maybe it's good for Australian standards, I don't know, it's my first here, but after so much time in Asia, it really did feel close to an asylum than a hostel. At least where the bed was concerned. The staff were nice, the kitchen and bathrooms clean, and they had free wifi so they did do things right. But something felt off.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
3.7

Very Dirty place, guests drunk every night, no lockers in the rooms, no cuttlery provided.When they do BBQ the kitchen is closed at 6pm and you have to pay for the poor dinner that they cook. I won't go back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are continually working on the cleanliness of the hostel, but sometimes high usage by guests adds up during the day. I don't know who told you the kitchen was closed on our BBQ night on Monday - the kitchen has always remained open on that evening. We provide cutlery and crockery in exchange for a refundable cash deposit. We have tried providing this in the kitchen with no deposit, but that proves to make things dirtier as you have criticised about the hostel. As for our guests - they have the right to bring their own drinks on the property and as long as they're not destructive, we see no reason to deny them that right. You'll find on our description that we are a party-oriented hostel, so I'm not sure what you expected from peoples' behaviour. If anyone made you uncomfortable in any way, we are powerless to deal with it if we aren't told about it. All that aside, we still wish you well on your travels and would like to hear more from you on how we could have improved your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

A great place to stay, the people and events were amazing. Great atmosphere, impossible not to make friends, definitely will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.