Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 919 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 919 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Loved the place and has such a great atmosphere. Made some great friends who I will be keeping in touch with for the rest of my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Apr 2017
6.6

The reception has different opening hours every day witch can be really confusing. The kitchen is closing at 6pm some days witch I think is a pretty bad service. Atmosphere is good but the hostel has a lot of small disturbing things.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We've simplified the opening hours recently, and have a plan in place to allow the kitchen to be open to 9pm on Wednesdays (this was the only day it closed early). We are also in the middle of renovations which will include an overhaul of much of the "disturbing" things you speak of. We hope you will check us out later to see if we have more than just good atmosphere! Cheers & Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.4

Everyone was lovely, Joe and Abi really helped me settle in, and the whole atmosphere made me extend my stay another 2 nights! Would recommend the place to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our last party made us realise how much we miss you (especially Joe)! Take care on the rest of your travels. We hope to see you again soon!

16th Apr 2017
8.9

Great staff of close friends and long term travellers. They helped book a PADI course and liveaboard trip to the reef with a pretty good discount as well. There are quite a few rules and the $50 deposit is inconvenient but as long as you're not being an ass, nothing to worry about. Also the frequent group meals/BBQ are awesome. You can't feed yourself for less and a great way to meet people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! It was a pleasure having you around. Pity you couldn't stay for a real BBQ! Try that next time you're around! Cheers, Management

14th Apr 2017
5.7

Franchement pas top. Correct pour 1 ou 2 nuits mais loin du centre et de tout. C'est pas très propre. Pas une super ambiance. C'est possibilité de trouver mieux plus vers le centre pour quasiment les mêmes prix

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.6

Nice staff, amazing bar crawl on Wednesdays! It was a 10min walk from the city centre though. Rest was awesome:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Apr 2017
3.1

Unfriendly stuff, after check out they do not allowed me to wait Inside for my bus. Also you have to pay Everytime deposit for spoon, fork, pan etc. Very annoying! Beds are dirty and old! Worst hostel ever.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
9.4

Great place for the price! Short walk to the lagoon and restaurants. Great for solo travelers, everyone is really friendly and inclusive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

This is by far the best hostel i have stayed at in Australia. The communal area has lots of sofas and hamocks making it so easy to meet people. One of the very few hostels where you can bring your own alchohol. This makes a huge difference. You can enjoy a drink whenever you want and it brings everyone together. The owners and staff are great; very friendly. This hostel is clean, anyone who says its dirty had a very high expectation of what clean is !! Stay here!!! Aimee and James xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
2.0

The Hostel is very terrifying! The Hostel is surrounded by aggressive and drunken people. It's dirty everywhere, mice run around, in the kitchen is quite nothing but stinky fridges, a dirty microwave, two cooking places and a few broken pans and completly burned pots. There's Not Even cuttlery!! They want 50$ cash deposit for dirty rooms with dirty sheets! There's no 24 Hour reception. We strongly reccomend to Check in another hostel in Cairns!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Nevertheless, we would have been able to deal with almost everything that detracted from your stay if you had come to us with your problems. The fridges, microwaves and fridges are observed throughout the day, and old food is removed daily - the unfortunate thing about shared facilities is that all it takes is one dirty guest to mess up the appearance untli the next time we clean it! At check-in we explain that you are able to borrow cutlery and plates from reception at no extra cost, there are also multiple signs in the kitchen stating this. Your report of mice is the first we have heard in at least a year; although we'd have liked to have handled it during your stay, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. The bed sheets are all cleaned by an outside contractor with stringent quality control - we would have been able to lodge a complaint had we known you weren't satisfied with their condition. The $50 deposit is paid by every guest to cover not just bed linen, room keys, and kitchenware but also the possibility of damages from guests. We hold these deposits as a last resort and try our absolute best to return them to even our most difficult guests. Finally, you will find that 24-hour receptions are almost unheard of in Cairns - the low-price of hostel accommodation makes it unfeasible for smaller properties. I hope you understand this. We once again apologise for your experience, and wish you well on your travels. Cheers, Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.