Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Risyadrwibowo
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.4

A great hostel! The staffs are helpful, the hostel is clean, free coffee and tea with biscuits, good value for money, large hangout area with hammocks and sofas, good music and not too loud too. The location is a 10 minutes walk to the esplanade and in front of the Munro Park! Had a very good stay for 3 nights here and already extend it for one more week now. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
4.3

Venue was messy and super sketchy Rooms are dirty and bathrooms are disgusting

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, the bathroom nearest to your room had sprung a leak about the time of your stay. Major plumbing works were required to address the leak, which resulted in the bathroom looking less than presentable. There were also renovations in progress in the new office area which again resulted in a less than perfect presentation of our new lounge area. We will however take your other comments on board and trust you enjoy the remainder of your travels.

10th Jul 2017
9.4

Awesome staff Awesome atmosphere Their nightly events and meals are all at great rates

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
8.6

Fantastic hostel! All staff were amazing made you feel so welcome. The Boss goes above and beyond to help you out in any way she can! Great atmosphere hope to return one day 😁 Highly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
26th Jun 2017
9.4

Absolute loved our stay at Asylum, ended up coming back for another two nights. The friendly people and chilled atmosphere make this place a winner. There is always people hanging out in the common area of a night having some drinks and keen to go out. Our room was simple and all we needed, never had any problems finding a free shower or toilet. Cheers for a great time in Cairns guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such a positive review. It was our absolute pleasure and an honour to have looked after you during your brief but adventurous stay in Cairns. I hope to be able to sit down for a game of UNO next time your travels bring you this way. Be safe & Stay Happy! Anne Lee-de Costa Owner-Manager

  • IzzysTravels
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, really is a home away from home. The staff and other 'inmates' made me feel so welcome from the first minute of checking in, which can be a little daunting being a solo traveller, but that disappeared as soon as you get chatting to everyone. Great atmosphere, good location (about 10-15 walk to the lagoon, shops etc). I've already extended my stay once and thinking about extending again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is an absolute pleasure having you at Asylum. Your warmth and friendliness is the other half of your having a great stay here. And those qualities will ensure that the next solo traveller we receive, feels welcome and cared for during their stay. We try to facilitate new friendships being made and in some cases, lifelong. We are glad that you have extended your stay and are honoured to be given the opportunity to look after you during your stay in Cairns. If you can think of any ways that we can improve, we are all ears. Enjoy the rest of your stay! Anne Lee-de Costa Owner-manager

  • nathan_lynch981134
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Best hostel we have stayed in great atmosphere everyone's really friendly and great value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Loved the place and has such a great atmosphere. Made some great friends who I will be keeping in touch with for the rest of my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such a positive review. It only affirms what we are doing is appreciated and it inspires us to keep it going. Be safe & Stay Happy! Anne Lee-de Costa Owner-manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Apr 2017
6.6

The reception has different opening hours every day witch can be really confusing. The kitchen is closing at 6pm some days witch I think is a pretty bad service. Atmosphere is good but the hostel has a lot of small disturbing things.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We've simplified the opening hours recently, and have a plan in place to allow the kitchen to be open to 9pm on Wednesdays (this was the only day it closed early). We are also in the middle of renovations which will include an overhaul of much of the "disturbing" things you speak of. We hope you will check us out later to see if we have more than just good atmosphere! Cheers & Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.4

Everyone was lovely, Joe and Abi really helped me settle in, and the whole atmosphere made me extend my stay another 2 nights! Would recommend the place to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our last party made us realise how much we miss you (especially Joe)! Take care on the rest of your travels. We hope to see you again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.