X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Asylum Cairns Reviews

149 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
560 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved my stay found it so hard to leave! Great value for money love the endless cups of tea available. It's a shame the kitchen closes so early though.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Cool staff !!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice and very helpful happy staff, fun loving non-commercial vibe, great relaxed atmosphere . And yes, the building is old and not everything is hospital clean, but hey, you cannot expect 5 star luxury with these cheap rates :)

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

There's no lockers in the room and the kitchen needs new equipment!


51%

This hostel had decent ratings; I don't understand. People partied EVERY night until the wee hours of the morning. Loud music, shouting, banging of metallic things. And the mattresses were horrendous. But at least they gave us clean sheets (which has a 4$ charge if you only stay one night). The facilities were broken down, dirty, and unlocked... common things like lights, locks, doors, were broken. Kitchen is locked after 8pm. Overall: terrible stay, but super cheap with hidden costs.


97%

We love this hostel!! We only planned to stay for 4 nights but we extended our stay to more than a week because we didn't want to leave, great location and amazing staff, best hostel ever!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Only come to this hostel if you're looking for a SUPER FUN TIME! The whole atmosphere at Asylum is designed to get people to meet each other and have a fun time. It's not the most luxurious, and the rooms aren't the nicest, but the staff is fantastic, the Thursday party and Sunday barbeque were SO fun (the food was SO GOOD!) , and\ hanging out on the couches outside the lobby is great. There's a very cute and friendly dog and cat that call asylum home, and the hammocks were an excellent touch.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place.


91%

Amazing place! Keep it up!


80%

We booked to stay here 2 nights, we've now been here a week and still dont want to leave yet! The staff are great, really accomodating and the atmosphere is amazing!! The rooms are basic, what you expect for the money, but everything else makes up for that. Would reccomend it to any travellers!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Very cheap hostel but still reasonably clean and not far from town centre of Cairns. Staff are very friendly and want to get to know you as a person and not just a customer. Facilities are ok - nothing amazing but nothing to complain about either.


100%

Brilliant stil here after 3 weeks best hostel staff I've met


89%

If you like partying this is your place and the staff is the best ever!


83%

really friendly staff would happily stay here again


97%

Fantastic hostel. Cheap, great people, and fun environment.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved this place and the staff. They were so friendly and helpful especially when I needed an early check-in....thanks Joe! For the price you pay it's great value for money and would definitely stay here again. Some of the rooms need a bit of tlc but it was nothing too major. :)

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Cheap and clean , 16 $ a night for a 4bedrooms. The Staff is helpful and nice The 4$bbq is great WiFi little bit expensive for the first day 7$ but the other days it's 2$ and it's work fast!!.


77%

Cheap dorm room, but worth the extra couple dollars to upgrade to a room with air conditioning. Ask for the room with single beds.


74%

This place with a few upgrades could be a gold mine. I can only say about the room i stayed in so not sure about the dorms as i was in a private. The rooms are very basic which is fine but the mattress was so old that it was just laying on hard springs to tell the truth, no air con, did have a ceiling fan but that just moved around the very hot air. Had to pay to store our bags the day we left .Mika though was an amazing person, He really did make the stay there much more entertaining.


97%

A great place that is a true hostel. Everybody hanging out in the common areas together. A fantastic mix of short, medium and long termers assisted by brilliant staff that ensure you are always entertained. Give this place the chance it deserves and you will be suckered in extending time after time. Located close to all bars, shops and the esplanade you couldn't ask for anything more. Make sure you stay for the amazing $4 BBQ and the Moon Party!


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback