Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Asylum Cairns Located at 149 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Asylum Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 149 Grafton Street
82% 796
-16.9178030 145.7698523
Asylum Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.1

Great little hostel for the price, staff were friendly and fun, and the manager was aces - wish i'd had longer to stay and get to know them all a bit better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.9

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! Staff friendly and helpful, organised really good events,- bbq Monday, quiz Tuesday, pub crawl thursday, great atmosphere and really easy to meet people. I was only planning to stay a couple of nights but stayed over a week longer! Top stuff guys, keep up the good work!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
7.7

I loved the whole ambience..Everyone was really kind..I did not use a lot of facilities but overall it was a value for money in everything.Thx guys ..will cu soon asap..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Loved the welcoming staff, and the group activities - the more the merrier 😉

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
8.6

Facilities are old but clean and the staff will make your day if you have a heart. Outside areas were quiet most nights for a party hostel but i guess that's more on the guests than the hostel. Strong family vibe, if you're trying to stick with your crew and not let others in, this is the wrong place to be! There is a good balance of arranged activities - bbqs on Mondays (this was huge), quiz night on Tuesdays and a pub crawl on Thursday which i unfortunately couldn't attend! Overall, good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.4

This is what atmosphere really is! The crew are always up for nightlife, even if some of the guests don't seem to be. Sometimes you get a tough crowd, I guess.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
10.0

I stayed at this hostel 3 years ago and it's just as good of not better than before. The bathrooms have been done up and you can always be guaranteed a hot shower! Staff are incredible, free tea and coffee to help you socialise. I was supposed to stay here 2 nights but can't help to stay longer. There are lots if hostels in Cairns but this will always be my fav. Thanks Asylum team

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brandon101
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
7.1

Really Strange vibes from this hostel. The longer term guests seem to all know each other and really like here while new guests have no idea what's going or who everyone is and don't socialise as much. There's not much to do in terms of group activities like a pool table, tv for movies or board games (that I know of).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.6

A great hostel with friendly staff and a good atmosphere. Would stay again definitely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
7.4

Eclectic people, and a different but chill vibe. Loved the BBQ

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.