Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Asylum Cairns Located at 149 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Asylum Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 149 Grafton Street
82% 853
-16.9178030 145.7698523
Asylum Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff are really friendly and helpful and there's always something going on in the evenings. The whole hostel is clean and comfortable, communal area is great. Kitchen has everything you need to cook a decent meal. Only thing is there aren't lockers however it felt really safe there and reception will store your valubles if you want. I'd definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure having you and your friend (we can't say names here!) over. Hope we see you again! Cheers, Mojo@Reception

  • chrispanetta27
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.9

Great atmosphere, the staff were really nice and really clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CeSabatini
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
7.1

Lovely staff/volunteers. Location not great. Atmosphere OK. Rooms weren't cleaned often, only sheets changed. Cheap overall but you have to leave a $50 deposit and another one of $20 for plates and cutlery. Insane giving $70 and having to carry everything around til check out. Nice pool area. They close the kitchen when they have an event so you're forced to eat out; if you wanna save money and cook, you can't. They should say this on the website so you know before booking, wouldn't have stayed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you found your stay pleasant for the most part. We're not sure about how often you expect a dormitory to be cleaned as you were only here for 3 nights - we usually clean out dorms after a checkout, or if no one has checked out after 1 week. The refundable $50 deposit ensures security for all guests in the hostel - we feel it's an appropriate alternative to freezing credit cards like most hostels, as you can have the money back immediately on checkout, rather than waiting a few days in the case of frozen cards. The normal dish deposit is $10 and you can return it anytime you like, a $20 deposit would be for more than one person! No matter, we have recently adjusted our systems to require no additional deposit for cutlery/plates due to numerous amounts of feedback like yours! We are sorry about the early closing of the kitchen (which only happens on Thursday nights) - this is another thing we are working on to avoid! Cheers, Joe Management

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Oct 2016
8.6

We had so much fun here! Hostel is fairly basic but clean, has a lovely inclusive atmosphere. Loads going on to get involved with (BBQ/quiz night/karaoke/pant down party) so you meet loads of new people. Staff are really friendly and helpful, get to know you. Free accomodation/discounts if book tours through them. Big kitchen/eating area. Big chill area with wifi. Gates locked at night, no lockers but reception will hold valuable for free. 10 min walk to Lagoon/CBD etc. Air con in rooms. GO MAD!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
7.7

Very friendly staff however they are way too strict and hold a $50 deposit over your head for your entire stay. Pretty far from everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're sorry you seemed to have a bad experience of our rules - if you have a problem and tell us the rules you'd like us to reconsider, we would be glad to give more explanation - you'll find that behind every rule, there is a story! The $50 deposit is our alternative to other hostels requiring a full credit card authorisation - we think $50 is an appropriate medium. We do however try our absolute hardest to return these deposits and only reserve the keeping of them for damaging offences or repetitive annoyances. We are however glad you found the staff friendly and wish to serve you better in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
6.9

Decent location, nice air conditioned rooms, wifi available in lobby and common area . Work for accommodation staff nice but manager extremely rude and unprofessional. Kitchen clean. $50 damage deposit seems steep though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we're sorry about your experience with management and if possible would like to know more about the situation so we can fix it. We're glad you found the rooms nice and are continuing to upgrade the property. As for the deposit, most other hostels require a credit card authorisation which they can hold you liable for any amount. We think $50 is a more appropriate medium - and we rarely ever keep it, in fact keeping a full deposit is an absolute last alternative for us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and that you'll give us a chance to improve on your last stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Oct 2016
9.1

Nice BBQ, fun people, always people in for drinks or activities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
7.7

Not too far the town centre. Staff were nice and they try to remember your name which adds to the personal touch. They also try to make the environment fun by organizing parties, bbq etc. The kitchen is not open til late night and need to deposit money to borrow plates/spoons etc. Also need a $50 deposit (cash only) which I got charged $2.50 at the nearby atm as I was using a different bank atm card. Apart from that enjoyed my stay very much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We have been addressing the inconvenience of the security deposit and the deposit for the dishes too and have come up with a system that includes dishes/cutlery in the security deposit. We're sorry about the inconvenience it caused you but we always need to hold a deposit from all guests to ensure a smooth stay for all guests! Wishing you well on your endeavours!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Oct 2016
10.0

Best hostel! Such friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere on event nights & super chilled in the day. I feel at home in Asylum Hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2016
10.0

Ive stayed at Asylum for nearly 4 weeks after planning to be here 4 days. I have had the time of my life and made friends for life. I cannot thank Heidi, Joe and Annie enough for making me feel like part of a family not just a guest. Everyone knows everyone at asylum so its great making friends and going out to party! I stayed in a 3 bed dorm which was great. Free hot drinks in common area and a swimming pool! Im gutted i have to leave and wish i could stay here forever. Love to my asylum family

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.