Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 865 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 865 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Asylum Cairns Located at 149 Grafton Street, , Cairns.
Asylum Cairns
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 149 Grafton Street
81% 865
-16.9178030 145.7698523
Asylum Cairns
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Oh man, what an experience this place is. Great atmosphere, very social and welcoming to newcomers. You'll have a good time for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marijn_van_houdt2499
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
5.1

Annoyed staff, old crappy dorms, kitchen/living room closes at 9pm, not very clean bathrooms, sometimes cold water/no internet, 50 AUD deposit

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
6.9

This is a great hostel if you want to meet people, go out, get drunk, have a good time. It's decently inexpensive. However, the wifi is spotty, even in the lobby. My phone couldn't connect numerous times. Also, one of the main ladies that works there will see other girls as competition unless you suck up to her. Every conversation with her was uncomfortable as she is extremely cold, but if you are a guy who gives her attention, you are fine. All the other staff was great though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.6

Fantastic place, although the air con wasn't very efficient

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • LucyS22
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Dec 2016
8.0

Bit out of town but not far to walk. Free airport pick up as well. The hostel itself is due a revamp but it's clean and the staff are ace. They put activities on a few nights a week to try and create a hostel family which is great. I asked to be moved rooms to one where folk would talk to me as my first roommates were pig ignorant. Staff moved me straightaway :) Onsite pool, reasonable sized dorm. No lockers but can store valuables at reception. One of the better places I've stayed 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff are really friendly and helpful and there's always something going on in the evenings. The whole hostel is clean and comfortable, communal area is great. Kitchen has everything you need to cook a decent meal. Only thing is there aren't lockers however it felt really safe there and reception will store your valubles if you want. I'd definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure having you and your friend (we can't say names here!) over. Hope we see you again! Cheers, Mojo@Reception

  • chrispanetta27
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.9

Great atmosphere, the staff were really nice and really clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CeSabatini
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
7.1

Lovely staff/volunteers. Location not great. Atmosphere OK. Rooms weren't cleaned often, only sheets changed. Cheap overall but you have to leave a $50 deposit and another one of $20 for plates and cutlery. Insane giving $70 and having to carry everything around til check out. Nice pool area. They close the kitchen when they have an event so you're forced to eat out; if you wanna save money and cook, you can't. They should say this on the website so you know before booking, wouldn't have stayed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you found your stay pleasant for the most part. We're not sure about how often you expect a dormitory to be cleaned as you were only here for 3 nights - we usually clean out dorms after a checkout, or if no one has checked out after 1 week. The refundable $50 deposit ensures security for all guests in the hostel - we feel it's an appropriate alternative to freezing credit cards like most hostels, as you can have the money back immediately on checkout, rather than waiting a few days in the case of frozen cards. The normal dish deposit is $10 and you can return it anytime you like, a $20 deposit would be for more than one person! No matter, we have recently adjusted our systems to require no additional deposit for cutlery/plates due to numerous amounts of feedback like yours! We are sorry about the early closing of the kitchen (which only happens on Thursday nights) - this is another thing we are working on to avoid! Cheers, Joe Management

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Oct 2016
8.6

We had so much fun here! Hostel is fairly basic but clean, has a lovely inclusive atmosphere. Loads going on to get involved with (BBQ/quiz night/karaoke/pant down party) so you meet loads of new people. Staff are really friendly and helpful, get to know you. Free accomodation/discounts if book tours through them. Big kitchen/eating area. Big chill area with wifi. Gates locked at night, no lockers but reception will hold valuable for free. 10 min walk to Lagoon/CBD etc. Air con in rooms. GO MAD!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
7.7

Very friendly staff however they are way too strict and hold a $50 deposit over your head for your entire stay. Pretty far from everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're sorry you seemed to have a bad experience of our rules - if you have a problem and tell us the rules you'd like us to reconsider, we would be glad to give more explanation - you'll find that behind every rule, there is a story! The $50 deposit is our alternative to other hostels requiring a full credit card authorisation - we think $50 is an appropriate medium. We do however try our absolute hardest to return these deposits and only reserve the keeping of them for damaging offences or repetitive annoyances. We are however glad you found the staff friendly and wish to serve you better in the future!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.