Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
3.4

We arrived late at night and we're starving and tried to get in the kitchen, we did manage but we're 'abruply' told it closed in ten minutes. Two fans in the room didn't work so don't even know why they were left in there. Women's shower was disgusting and clearly wasn't cleaned daily. Wifi wasn't the best and only 15 minutes in reception. The women who we spoke to in the kitchen was just overall rude, she was constantly shouting at other guests which was quite off putting.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.7

Had a great stay in Asylum. Really nice atmosphere and easy to socialise with other backpackers even if travelling solo. The social area is perfect, regular great events and possessions felt safe despite not having lockers in rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Booked 5 nights with my two friends and we are still here..... amazing friendly welcoming hostel with chilled out vibe. Definitely would recommend to stay here. Perfect location within walking distance to town, BYO alcohol and all kitchen facilities to make your own food etc. Honestly have nothing bad to say about this hostel, the staff are all amazing too, especially Joe!!! So helpful and friendly. Fab

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.0

This hostel is really not too bad and for $15-17 Dollars per night! It's clean, the facilities aren't that bad, the kitchen is good, the bathrooms a little old, but again, clean. They have no lockers in the rooms but you can give your values to the reception and they lock it up for you. Only downside was the $50 cash deposit. We had a little problem with our overseas credit cards, so we couldn't pay it the first some hours, but they we're cool with it and waited and let us check-in later.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Loved it, staff were so friendly and there was a great atmosphere in the hostel. Really clean and safe, and in a great location. Ideal place for solo travellers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • silversurfer97
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

Für 17$ pro Nacht ein super Hostel, saubere 5er Zimmer, große Küche, nette Mitarbeiter. Nicht ganz zentral, aber Cairns ist eh sehr überschaubar (10 Minuten bis ins "Zentrum"). Insgesamt definitiv empfehlenswert.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

Ah, such an amazing place to stay! Loved the communal atmosphere, it was so easy to make friends and plan trips and whatnot. First place I stayed in Australia and definitely impacted my entire trip. Don't let the $50 deposit discourage you, most places ask for some type of deposit, so you'd have to make one eventually! Heidi is an absolute gem, Jo is so incredibly helpful and Esther was so sweet and welcoming. Sad I had to leave, would definitely go back to Cairns just to stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Oh man, what an experience this place is. Great atmosphere, very social and welcoming to newcomers. You'll have a good time for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

Wifi is good enough to FaceTime which was good. Common areas are nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marijn_van_houdt2499
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
5.1

Annoyed staff, old crappy dorms, kitchen/living room closes at 9pm, not very clean bathrooms, sometimes cold water/no internet, 50 AUD deposit

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.