X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Asylum Cairns Reviews

149 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
531 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very cheap hostel but still reasonably clean and not far from town centre of Cairns. Staff are very friendly and want to get to know you as a person and not just a customer. Facilities are ok - nothing amazing but nothing to complain about either.


83%

really friendly staff would happily stay here again


97%

Fantastic hostel. Cheap, great people, and fun environment.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved this place and the staff. They were so friendly and helpful especially when I needed an early check-in....thanks Joe! For the price you pay it's great value for money and would definitely stay here again. Some of the rooms need a bit of tlc but it was nothing too major. :)

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Cheap and clean , 16 $ a night for a 4bedrooms. The Staff is helpful and nice The 4$bbq is great WiFi little bit expensive for the first day 7$ but the other days it's 2$ and it's work fast!!.

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Cheap dorm room, but worth the extra couple dollars to upgrade to a room with air conditioning. Ask for the room with single beds.


74%

This place with a few upgrades could be a gold mine. I can only say about the room i stayed in so not sure about the dorms as i was in a private. The rooms are very basic which is fine but the mattress was so old that it was just laying on hard springs to tell the truth, no air con, did have a ceiling fan but that just moved around the very hot air. Had to pay to store our bags the day we left .Mika though was an amazing person, He really did make the stay there much more entertaining.


97%

A great place that is a true hostel. Everybody hanging out in the common areas together. A fantastic mix of short, medium and long termers assisted by brilliant staff that ensure you are always entertained. Give this place the chance it deserves and you will be suckered in extending time after time. Located close to all bars, shops and the esplanade you couldn't ask for anything more. Make sure you stay for the amazing $4 BBQ and the Moon Party!


71%

no cleaning of the rooms at all

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It's unlikely that the atmosphere of any other hostel in Cairns will match that of Asylum - staff are very helpful in helping with bookings for tours, whilst maintaining a casual and friendly attitude towards everyone. They also know everyone's names. The promise of making new friends was fulfilled - everyone staying here is sociable regardless of background

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very chilled out place, chilled atmosphere. Couldve been a bit cleaner but when we only paid 150 each for a double room (me and boyfriend) you cant expect much (very cheap for private room)! Staff were cool, helpful. 15-20 min walk to lagoon and woolworths. Dont have high expectations if you're gana stay here and you'll be happy.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Originally booked three nights and ended up staying a week. The guests there were real characters which created the best atmosphere. Free coffee and tea in the common area, encouraging people to get out of their rooms. Just need a some hot water in the hand wash basins. Loved my time here, will stay again. Joe Albert Nick and Camille went the extra mile


91%

On my way back to Brisbane, all bunch of memories come to my mind after all these special days at Asylum! Once u enter, u become a new member of the family! An amazing staff that help you and SHARE THEIR EXPERIENCE in all the ways you can imagine!! :) Clean, hippie, funny as, wonderfull guests.... So far one of the best hostels I have never been. I will miss you Asylum!!!!

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

it was very chaotic, loud and dirty. the internet is not really free, you can use a computer for 15min. in the common room but wifi is pretty expensive and not available in all rooms. it was also kind of complicated to get the key deposit back since i left before the reception opened.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Me and my friend are nothing but happy about our stay at Asylum in Cairns. We strongly recommend it for other travellers!

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A excelent place for backpackers. The staff is all the time very helpfull with erverything and ready to party. You will find many new friends here. I just liked it.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I ended up staying in Asylum almost a week and had a really good time! Really good common areas where everyone hangs out together, it felt like having a big family to hang out with for a week! The staff is amazing.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good value for money. The material control such as tableware, towels and other stuff is pushing down the atmosphere and creating stress, anyway the receptionists Joe and the swedish guy were very gentle and doing a very good job. More activities guys!!!

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Most friendly and open hostel in Cairns. Great location. Hostel should have REAL coffee, $1 per cup

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good staff & atmosphere.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback