X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Asylum Sydney Reviews

201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
690 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Generally, my friend and I felt happy with the service at the Hostel. The staff is friendly and the location is convenient.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • East Timor
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Worst hostel I've ever been. Very dirty place, rude staff. It's not worth the money.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I would definitely reccommend this hostel if you are looking for a comfortable hostel at a good price! It is a great hostel for meeting people if you are travelling alone, especially if you are planning to stay in Sydney for a while. The location is also very central making it easy to see everything in Sydney. Overall, a great place to stay!


97%

Great staff. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Being allergic to dust the rooms could do with a deep clean - my allergies was absolutely roaring there. Otherwise really good!!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I stayed at in Australia.. Staff where really good and willing to help with any questions I had

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Not the cleanest of places but it passes - mostly due to the food allowance in the rooms. It's a long term hostel, most people know each other from the months they've been there. Nice people though, staff are very welcoming. Easy going atmosphere. Pay for wifi.


74%

Toilets very clean, my room filthy, maybe never ever cleaned

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

cheap backpacker hostel but room a bit small and dirty. not too bad, but only for a short stay. location is quiet, but the neighbourhood is kind of homeless neighbourhood even if it's not dangerous. central city is just 15 min walk.


83%

Staff were friendly and welcoming. Well located. Mattresses were quite thin, and not a lot of storage in the rooms, but over all great feel.


83%

There's a dog staying in the hostel....


80%

Nixe stay, very nice staff. Toilets are very clean, the showers not.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I stayed here for 3 nights. It's basic. All you need is there. The location is good¢ral. Good value for money. The staff was helpful and very friendly and they have a cool dog! ;) It is not the most social hostel I ever stayed in, but I can't say anything bad about the place.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. If you are even a semi experienced back packer / traveller, then you will love this place. No, the carpets aren't the cleanest in Sydney, and some of the rooms don't smell the freshest, but if that's what you want, book into a hotel. This place can offer you amazing friendly staff, close friendships with other guests, lots of involvement and inclusion, and as long as you don't take the biscuit, anything goes. I love Asylum!!


86%

Manager was really helpful and friendly, only stayed for 3 days but still felt really welcomed, would definitely go back.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! We had a fantastic time. Everything was very clean, and cleaned daily. The staff was fantastic, and made us feel at home instantly. The outside are is a great place to chill out, but also great to have some fun. Thank you for a great time Anthony and Liset, and all the rest! X (char)lotte and anne

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent backpacker's hostel with an authentic family feeling where the staff is more than welcoming and friendly. Due to it's smaller size compared to the average Sydney's hostels, a solo traveller would get to meet lots of people as the atmosphere is really chilled and favorize new friendships. There is a basic free breakfeast every morning, free computers with fast internet access and good Wifi for a minimum amount every day. Very clean! This is the best hostel I booked in Sydney (I did 3 ).


54%

Has a nice friendly atmosphere and it's ideal if you're wanting to stay in the Kings Cross area but it's very run down and in desperate need of a make over. Definitely not the cleanest place I've stayed, saw a number of cockroaches in the bedroom and the kitchen, but it's not the dirtiest place I've stayed in either. Kitchen is very small and the fridge doesn't look like it has been emptied in a long time. Also annoying to have to pay for wifi. Very cute dog though!!


46%

I have never been in such a dirty hostel. No matter how hippie you try to be and how laid back, you cannot have such a dirty place, with dirty linen, super dirty blankets... Man, I'm not the kind of person who likes to complain, but change the carpet, linen and blankets and paint a bit the hostal. St least the bathrooms were cleaned several times a day, but that is not all about having a clean place....


94%

I spent a few nights at a dreadful hostel in KX and came across Asylum on Hostelworld. It was infinitely better. Although slightly more expensive it was more fun, secure and definitely more clean. The manager Tony makes you very welcome. The outside area is a good chill out/drinking area. Only downside is that you have to pay for WiFi.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback