X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Asylum Sydney Reviews

201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
747 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great little hostel to stay in. Staff were friendly and extra accommodating. Not super clean as the building is a bit older but still comfortable to stay in. Highly recommend this.


91%

Just loved being here. Friendly and a great atmosphere!

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Amazing staff, even better people. Everyone gets along and does their best to make you feel at home. Also helps they have a big screen tv with about 300 movies to choose from. The hostel itself is very dirty however and you're guaranteed to find a cockroach or 12 in your room.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, the owner welcomed me very well, the bathrooms were clean, the BBQ is an excellent idea to gather people, I will definitely recommend this hostel to someone else.


100%

The best hostel I've stayed in, in sydney. Great managment and staff. Really relaxed, friendly vibe. Will definitely return.


91%

Nice and friendly staffs, cute dog Bella , everyone is nice to the new people~ And very close to the station! Last but not least ~ the toilet is very clean , just like they mentioned in the website! they do try their best! if u r looking for a hostel, u should really try this one! Bernie, from Taiwan

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really welcoming and actually got a tour of the place by the owner instead of trying to find things by myself. Also nice little balcony to sit out on of an evening!


83%

The hostel is on the whole well run; reception staff are helpful and friendly. Unfortunately some guests did not wash up dishes after use and many left cups and glasses, bottles and leftover food everywhere. T he hostel is close to Kings Cross, an area famed for night life and alcohol. The hostel allows guests to drink on the premises ( Many public places are out of bounds for drinkers). But guests, from Europe particularly, made too much noise in the common room at the basement .


83%

Asylum Sydney is a good social backpackers only a short walk from the Kingscross station. The rooms are good and clean and so are the bathrooms. There is a good social atmosphere as there is no bar so you can bring your own drinks and have a few drinks out back.


94%

Friendly staff, family atmosphere & rooms are clean! Great location on Brougham street- just off King's cross so not as noisy as the main strip but still close to everything

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed here for 2 weeks but enjoyed my stay there because I was lucky to get a good view of the city. It's quiet too as it's located in a backstreet a minute walk away from the station which is actually good as it's quieter compared to the hostels around the main strret of kings cross. Definitely coming back.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Really good hostel! Great people working and staying there plus on the doorstep of everything, bars, shops you can walk to the city centre.


100%

Everyone who works here is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and have a fridge in them which is great. The beds are comfy and there is adaquate storage space. The facilities are good, the toilets are cleaned regularly, and the common area is a great place to chill out and watch tv, The outside are is nice. The hostel is in a great location just 2 min from kings cross station. All in all this is a great hostel with a great atmosphere and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place for a party on the weekend and chilled during the week. Short walk from the city centre and across the street from Kings Cross station. The guys and girls behind the desk are awesome, friendly and super helpful. Wish WiFi was free, but you can't have everything.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

best staff ever!!


94%

Should stay only a week been in this hostel for a month at this end1 Peoples are really friendly, shower and toilet always clean, 2 min from the station, Only bad point the kitchen close at 10pm.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very pleasant staff and great location for getting about although kings cross does have a reputation, if you're not bothered about being in a posh area it's perfect. Facilities are a bit out dated but it's a hostel not a hotel and that's fine and exactly why us backpackers don't pay hotel prices! Highly recommended just for a place to crash your head if that's all you're after.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location close to Kings Cross and walking distance to major Sydney attractions. Conveniently located near bus stops and train station. Carpet is old and worn out and no heating in my single room but it's a spacious room with own sink which is convenient. Bed is comfortable and great view of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House from bedroom window. Very friendly staff and guests, so it's very easy to make friends. It's an old mansion turned hostel so feel more like a home than hostel.


94%

I loved my stay here, every employee was cool and helpful. They def will tell you about cheap pub eats and how to get to places. I would very much recommend this Hostel to my friends.


100%

the hostel got a really good location: 10mins walking from central Sydney, 10mins walking from the Bay. Its really clean and there is more than enough bathroom. The staff is always friendly welcoming and helpful. And the price is really fair compare to the other hostel I've been to. Honestly it's the best hostel I never found in Sydney and around

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback