Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2017
5.7

I didn't meet any other travelling backpackers here, only older people on working visas who had lived there for months. The promised organised evening trips to bars didn't happen so was at a loss with how to make friends. My room was not clean when I arrived due to the live in nature of long term residents, plus my showers always got cold. Would be fun if you plan to work in Sydney and want to be amongst other working young people. Would not recommend for travellers on their own

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
5.4

change carpet please. ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
6.9

Great location so close to the train station Run down facilities but great staff So for my one night thru sydney was good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • KevinCovone
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.6

Probably one of the better hostels I've been in on my trip so far (~10). Pros: Excellent staff(like many others have mentioned), Netflix, computer, cheap, 4 bed rooms, very decent location, "social", very secure building, free BBQ sometimes. Cons: No lockers, poor wifi (which is the case for 5/6 hostels I've stayed at in AUS so can't really drop too much hate on them). Overall: Best hostel for the price. Definitely recommend staying there especially if you're planning on working in Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
4.0

Anthony (the manager I believe) was not only extremely unhelpful but also very rude to us upon our arrival. Beware, this hostel lowers the price for one night, so it appears in Hostel Worlds budget searches and then ups the price the night after that so we got stung despite staying in the same room. Overpriced for what it is. This hostel is full of full timers so not very backpacker friendly. Staff walk in and out of dorm rooms as they please so don't expect much privacy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2017
7.4

A lot of long term residents and they all know each other so not really the best place for backpackers. The room was soooo messy with the long termers stuff there was barely space for our bags even though the room was very spacious. Staff was nice and helpful and the location was nice, next to the trainstation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Asylum is my favourite hostel of all time. The staff are awesome and the atmosphere is great. Days can be spent socialising in the courtyard or chilled evenings watching films together in the common room. Would recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.9

Good all round hostel would visit again. Not too far from the cbd either

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.1

A nice hostel, great staff but more suited to long term lodgers. Hostel has a lot of long term bag packers and are not the friendliest bunch. Difficult to meet new people if you are travelling alone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Good atmosphere but not very clean. Had netflix tho😁

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.