Hostelworld.com

Asylum Sydney

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Feb 2017
8.6

A very friendly hostel. stopped here before and would recommend it. One of the better kings x hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

I've stayed at this hostel on and off travelling over the past 4 years and never found one quite as unique as Asylum (Sydney). Harun and Anthony the staff can't do enough for you really friendly helpful people. Each time I have visited back you always meet a great bunch of people Real good family atmosphere. Great hostel if your travelling alone. Social and friendly I'll be back again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Really friendly, great staff and amazing location. Couldn't have picked a better hostel in Sydney. Free pancakes don't hurt either!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mmarkk
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels ive stayed in!! Ive been back here several times because i love it so much. Everyone is very friendly, it always attracts a great bunch of people, very social and clean. They have bbqs every friday, organised nights out, beer pong in the courtyard outback and if you love dogs (who doesnt) they even have their own hostel dog called Bella!! Great location in the city you can walk to the city in 10 minutes or catch the train which is 30 seconds away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Great location by the station and easy enough to walk anywhere worth going. Plenty of stuff getting a fresh lick of paint during my stay, had a bit of a feel of a student house (contrary to reviews calling it dirty etc.). Good vibe - always a game of goon pong going on in the evening - and friendly staff and other travellers. Also has a big TV with Netflix. Only downsides were wifi was inconsistent and showers weren't always hot. Try not to get stuck there for weeks it's easily done.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
8.6

Perfect location, friendly staff, comfy beds, cute dog, lots of excitement

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Asylum Sydney was the first hostel I've ever stayed in and what a fantastic experience it was! We had originally booked to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying a week!! Antony and his staff (and of course Bella) looked after us so well and were very friendly and happy to offer advice etc as we had just arrived in Sydney. We loved the atmosphere of the place and there's a great back courtyard for socialising. We miss it already and will defiantly be back :) x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice little hostel, really enjoyed my time here so far. The staff are really friendly and try to do everything to make you have an awesome stay. Located next to the train station, you can go everywhere easily, and you can even walk into the city centre in no time. The people staying here are like a big family, always doing stuff together. And for the animal lovers there even is a hostel dog!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • RossMurch
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

Can't fault the place! Also the hostel has so much character that never bores.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Great place to stay... very close to the tube and excellent night life and a huge thanks to the amazing staff !! I will be coming back in the future for sure !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.