Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1117 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1117 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Asylum is my favourite hostel of all time. The staff are awesome and the atmosphere is great. Days can be spent socialising in the courtyard or chilled evenings watching films together in the common room. Would recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.9

Good all round hostel would visit again. Not too far from the cbd either

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.1

A nice hostel, great staff but more suited to long term lodgers. Hostel has a lot of long term bag packers and are not the friendliest bunch. Difficult to meet new people if you are travelling alone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Awuor
  • Kenya, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
8.6

This is a great hostel for new comers in Sydney. Great location and very helpful staff. I ended up extending my stay by 10 days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.6

A very friendly hostel. stopped here before and would recommend it. One of the better kings x hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

I've stayed at this hostel on and off travelling over the past 4 years and never found one quite as unique as Asylum (Sydney). Harun and Anthony the staff can't do enough for you really friendly helpful people. Each time I have visited back you always meet a great bunch of people Real good family atmosphere. Great hostel if your travelling alone. Social and friendly I'll be back again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Really friendly, great staff and amazing location. Couldn't have picked a better hostel in Sydney. Free pancakes don't hurt either!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mmarkk
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels ive stayed in!! Ive been back here several times because i love it so much. Everyone is very friendly, it always attracts a great bunch of people, very social and clean. They have bbqs every friday, organised nights out, beer pong in the courtyard outback and if you love dogs (who doesnt) they even have their own hostel dog called Bella!! Great location in the city you can walk to the city in 10 minutes or catch the train which is 30 seconds away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Great location by the station and easy enough to walk anywhere worth going. Plenty of stuff getting a fresh lick of paint during my stay, had a bit of a feel of a student house (contrary to reviews calling it dirty etc.). Good vibe - always a game of goon pong going on in the evening - and friendly staff and other travellers. Also has a big TV with Netflix. Only downsides were wifi was inconsistent and showers weren't always hot. Try not to get stuck there for weeks it's easily done.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.6

Perfect location, friendly staff, comfy beds, cute dog, lots of excitement

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.