Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,009 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,009 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Asylum Sydney Located at 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Asylum Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross
83% 1009
-33.8745844 151.2212491
Asylum Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.4

I had such a good time at this hostel. There are a lot of people that stay here more long term and plan parties and always have fun things going on. Everyone was so nice and welcoming. While it wasn't spotless, it was pretty clean as far as hostels go and staff would clean the rooms every day. I definitely enjoyed my stay here and met people that I will always remember (lookin' at you Sev, Emma, and Caroline :) I only stayed a week and wish I had more time, this hostel was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
7.1

Absolutely marvelous location. Not recommended for travelers who don't love to party.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Had a great time here at Asylum a even though I was only there for a short period of time, everyone I met was so friendly and very open. Location was the best - bustling street and rail station nearby. Toilets were clean, bed was comfortable, rooms were what you pay for: very university dorm-like, and the mess is that of the residents rather than the hostel's so no worries. Was welcomed at the front desk by Rhys, what a lad, and honestly I'd definitely come back next time I'm in Sydney! Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

I planned to stay in this hostel for one week only, but extended my stay for almost 3 weeks. The hostel is just 15 walking minutes to the city centre and has markets, restaurants and bars in a short range. It has a good kitchen, a very confortable common area (outdoors), TV room, loundry/dryer machines, several bathrooms, among others... You can really feel at home and take advantage of its conveniences. Staff is quite attentive and always try to help you. I strongly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kaleigh_miles
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.1

Booked a 6 bed dorm and got upgraded to a private double room, staff really friendly and helpful. Could do with an all round touch up but feels very homely. Gets cleaned a few times a day. Can get busy in common areas and the kitchen as they are only small. Overall a great stay 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Booked for 1 week but decided to make it my home for a while. Really friendly staff and good fun people who are easy to get along with living here. Nice and clean with a great well equipt kitchen area! Would recommend Asylum to friends! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
13th Jul 2016
7.7

The staff at reception is really friendly and helpful. Free wifi and hot water are good. However,the room is a bit messy and dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
10.0

I've been staying at asylum now for 2 weeks and couldn't have asked for a more accommodating hostel. Value for money it is the best in the area. With the Sydney opera house and harbour bridge within walking distance, you're never far from the sites of Sydney! Atmosphere is a must for me and hard to come by in a lot of hostels. But with regular beer pong games and a sociable common room where there's always someone around to chat to, asylum ticks all the boxes. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.9

Great location. Close to shops, bars and so on. Staff is very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2016
9.4

Genuinly nice place to stay, great location and staff were amazing they did everything they could to help me. The people that stay there are very sociable and welcoming. If ur looking for a good cheap place to stay close to cbd then this is the one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.