Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Asylum Sydney Located at 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Asylum Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross
81% 1041
-33.8745844 151.2212491
Asylum Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
6.6

Free BBQ and beer for a rating on Hostel World.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your short stay with us,I noticed that you were upgraded to a 4 bed dorm with panoramic views of Sydney skyline the opera house and harbour bridge. This room has a tiled floor to be cooler in summer and is pretty much immaculate so a rating of 2 for cleanliness is a mystery. I saw a sign requesting reviews in another hostel recently and thought it was a good idea. Thank you for noticing this but failing to see the one that says please wash and dry your dishes :)

24th Nov 2016
8.9

Very friendly helpful and flexible staff. Position in Kings Cross was great. Off the main streets but close enough to them to get there easily. Plus easy walk downtown or to bay area But for me the staff set the tone and they were great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to meet you, have you here and adjust to your needs. The best part of this job is meeting new people everyday, making you laugh, having those late night chats and ensuring you make the most out of your stay with us here in Asylum and Sydney city. Cheers. Antony Team Asylum

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

Asylum is a giant sharehouse or family, where each time you go you will be greeted by long staying but welcoming friends who were there before & new people. Every night ppl gather outside to share a BYO drink and food, people will be similarly hanging in the common area, weekends = party, Fri = BBQ. Liveliest in warm months. You can get a late checkout. Right next to Kings Cross stn so location wise is great. The only place I stay in Syd &I'm remembered every time I return, by guests and staff .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
7.7

I booked last minute due to the city being full the price was reasonable the location convenient and only needed short term accommodation. The facilities needed some TLC but the staff were friendly the atmosphere was good and got a decent sleep (though some ac would have been nice). PS thought the inhouse art was cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Two minutes walk from train station, supermarket, pharmacy, local shops, bars and restaurants -- and within walking distance of the city and darling harbor. Everyone really friendly like a big family. BBQ every Friday and pub quiz on Wednesdays. Good times good times

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
7.7

Get your party face on! "Come on over and take the risk!" Great place for a solo traveller to meet lots of party people. On arrival I was greeted by friendly staff. Anthony the hostel manager advised me how to make the most of my stay. Good location in the heart of Sydney. With Kings Cross station around the corner. I left Sydney truly satisfied. Beautiful babe, Bella the hostel dog. An added pleasure!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
9.1

Great place, perfect for those who enjoy a sesh and is walking distance from train station, cheap supermarket and mr liquor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Oct 2016
8.9

Feels like home. If you're a solo traveller and want to have a good time, make loads of mates and have a wicked time stay here. Best hostel Ive stayed in in Australia. Sad to be leaving but will definitely visit again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
9.4

It's a home away from home! Very well stocked kitchen and all the staff and residents we met were all awesome! There wasn't much storage in our room but it was pretty big so we still had room to move around. There's a train station and supermarket very close along with take outs, bottleshops and anything else you might need. I'll definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
5.4

Ok if you're staying long term but the place is pretty dingy and not a place you'd want to relax in - I made sure I had stuff to do 24/7 so I didn't have to spend time there. Most long termers so hard to meet similar backpackers if that's what you're looking to do. Kitchen small but surprisingly well equipped and free breakfast was a plus. Was ok but better places to stay in Sydney

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.