Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Asylum Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,001 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,001 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.5
Asylum Sydney Located at 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Asylum Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross
80% 1001
-33.8745844 151.2212491
Asylum Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Booked for 1 week but decided to make it my home for a while. Really friendly staff and good fun people who are easy to get along with living here. Nice and clean with a great well equipt kitchen area! Would recommend Asylum to friends! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th Jul 2016
7.7

The staff at reception is really friendly and helpful. Free wifi and hot water are good. However,the room is a bit messy and dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
10.0

I've been staying at asylum now for 2 weeks and couldn't have asked for a more accommodating hostel. Value for money it is the best in the area. With the Sydney opera house and harbour bridge within walking distance, you're never far from the sites of Sydney! Atmosphere is a must for me and hard to come by in a lot of hostels. But with regular beer pong games and a sociable common room where there's always someone around to chat to, asylum ticks all the boxes. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2016
9.4

Genuinly nice place to stay, great location and staff were amazing they did everything they could to help me. The people that stay there are very sociable and welcoming. If ur looking for a good cheap place to stay close to cbd then this is the one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.7

This place is absolutely AMAZING,the manager ROCKS! I highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.3

A great place to be!!! They should have a bigger kitchen but is a grat place...so good that I'm still here!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
6.9

the rooms and bathrooms are really gross. the sheets are questionable as well. the staff was very friendly and helpful. just around the corner from Kings Cross so that was very convenient. didn't use the kitchen but it looked sparse. the other backpackers were very friendly as well. overall, it's a cheap hostel with no major pros or cons (except the cleanliness). I'd possibly stay here again though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
8.3

Thank you so much ! I stayed there for 2nights . Pretty good . The manager on the desk is amazing guy !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.4

Great location, staff who couldn't do more for you, really friendly happy stay, I would go back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
9.4

I stayed here for just over a week and the place is incredibly homely. There's always someone to chat to in the communal garden, Netflix in the common room is a great treat on a lazy day and the kitchen is very well stocked. The dorms and bathrooms are kept clean at all times and my room even had a fridge and sink! I would not even consider staying anywhere else in Sydney, thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.