Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • angr
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
8.0

Perfect location, the only con is that is not clean. Beds and instalations are old. Worthy if you're travelling on a budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jun 2017
2.0

This hostel is the worst I've been in Australia. Please don't believe the feedback. People are paid for put good ones. They never clean and sheets/blankets are dirty. The moquette is so dirty, you can't say the original colour.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
5.7

Accessible and centralised. Concern about the side road to reach the hostel. Dirty and lack of locked cabinets for items. Sheets and blankets were dusty and need to be requested for them to be given. Surprised that it had such high ratings when majority of the people in my room felt that the standard was really low. Only one bathroom with hot water despite it being winter.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
4.3

This was by far the dirtiest hostel I ever stayed in. Rooms had dirty carpets, non closing windows and really uncomfortable beds. Breakfast consisted in bread and jam and hot water for showers was only available in 1 bathroom. When we told this to the manager,a 5 dollar discount was offered for a good review, the only reason I can understand why this hostel has such good reviews.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sarahjane917
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2017
7.7

The staff and guests were friendly, but I just felt I didn't fit in. My room had a bunch of cliquey girls who all lived in the hostel. They were sort of friendly, but not exactly the type of people that might help a solo traveler see the city! The hostel was also not very clean. The room was super cluttered with barely any spot on the floor for my suitcase. The bathrooms were sometimes ok, but every shower I saw could have used a scrub. Ok for they money, but maybe the wrong choice for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel i've stayed at round Australia! Staff are always happy and helpful. Great area for transport in and out of Sydney. Good room prices. Cant go wrong staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2017
10.0

Genuinely couldn't have chosen a better hostel to stay in. The location is perfect as it's only a short walk to the city centre, with the train station round the corner. The hostel itself has such a homey vibe to it that you can't help but feel welcomed and comfortable. The staff are amazing as well, Harun (the manager) and Rhys are always there to help you if you need something. They're always smiling and greet you as if you're an old friend. 100% will recommend this hostel to everyone I know!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2017
5.7

I didn't meet any other travelling backpackers here, only older people on working visas who had lived there for months. The promised organised evening trips to bars didn't happen so was at a loss with how to make friends. My room was not clean when I arrived due to the live in nature of long term residents, plus my showers always got cold. Would be fun if you plan to work in Sydney and want to be amongst other working young people. Would not recommend for travellers on their own

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
5.4

change carpet please. ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
6.9

Great location so close to the train station Run down facilities but great staff So for my one night thru sydney was good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.