Hostelworld.com

Asylum Sydney

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 981 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 981 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.4
Asylum Sydney Located at 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Asylum Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross
80% 981
-33.8745844 151.2212491
Asylum Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
8.3

Thank you so much ! I stayed there for 2nights . Pretty good . The manager on the desk is amazing guy !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
9.4

I stayed here for just over a week and the place is incredibly homely. There's always someone to chat to in the communal garden, Netflix in the common room is a great treat on a lazy day and the kitchen is very well stocked. The dorms and bathrooms are kept clean at all times and my room even had a fridge and sink! I would not even consider staying anywhere else in Sydney, thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
5.7

Very dingy. Reception hours were not at all what was posted--I could not check in until late in the day. Atmosphere was mediocre--the common area was in a basement, and people just sat staring at the tv without socializing at all hours. Impossible to use the washer or dryer--the hostel uses them to wash the sheets literally all day! To top it all off, I was greeted by a huge poop on the landing outside my room! I hope it was dog poop, but you never know. Go somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, in reply reception hours are 08:00- 13:00 5:00-10:00 also we have a doorbell and we are available 24/7. We worked around you allowing you to pay for 1 night instead of your 5 night booking as you wanted 1 night and to return a week later. The common area is not a basement but the strret level, inc common room t.v and computers, the kichen, free breakfast, daily soup and pancakes on Sunday, Plus the outdoor area, BBQ and Laundry, and yes we do wash the sheets !! I knew this wasn't going to be a good review because of the person, and it is the person not the place as we have so many good reviews saying the oppisite to yours, And if it was so bad why did you return :) But Thanks anyway. Team Asylum

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st May 2016
8.3

Very good location and very nice staff. The kitchen is very small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the good notable points being location and staff, We are a character team and we usually get character guests :)

  • ilopes2216
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th May 2016
6.0

The whole place is carpeted with lots of stains, the long termers just throw their stuff everywhere - it's a complete mess! Staff is nice however and it's close to the metro station. I would recommend spending a few extra $ and staying elsewhere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us at the Asylum, You were upgraded to the female dorm which is a very spacious room inc shower, bathrrom, balcony and full size fridge freezer. I checked the room and yes there is a girl that has some of her stuff on the floor around her bed, sometimes girls can be messy too !! From experience its the people who stay the minimum 2 nights only and are not here to socialize or meet people are the ones that complain about things such as carpet, which was new and replaced not that long ago. All the best. Team Asylum.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
8.0

A nice and cheap hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katiezack25
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2016
10.0

Amazing atmosphere, a stones throw away from kings cross station an the staff are very fun and helpful. Don't make any plans after Sydney because you will end up extending! I will no doubt stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks alot, we try to be real and fun, thats what traveling should be :) Extending the stay is normal here as people book 2 nights, love it here, then stay a bit or alot longer. Team Asylum

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.9

If your going to be staying in Kings Cross this is the perfect hostel. It's located a minute walk from the train station. It is also a minute walk to Coles and the liquor store. The staff here are super friendly. Due to the smaller size of the hostel it makes for meeting people easier. It helps that there is a good tv room and back porch area to hangout. If you want to be in the center of the party scene in Sidney check this place out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Perfect desciptive comments for The Asylum !! Thank you Antony Team Asylum Sydney

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2016
8.6

Great bunch of people very scocial place to meet people. Staff super friendly and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel. In a good area located off the main road. Clean and tidy with friendly staff. Social area down stairs with Netflix and good wifi. Stayed in both dorm and private room and both times they were clean. Toilets were always clean. Good value for money, would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.