Hostelworld.com

Asylum Sydney

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.4
Asylum Sydney Located at 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Asylum Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 201-203 Brougham St, Kings Cross
79% 967
-33.8745844 151.2212491
Asylum Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2016
8.6

Great bunch of people very scocial place to meet people. Staff super friendly and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel. In a good area located off the main road. Clean and tidy with friendly staff. Social area down stairs with Netflix and good wifi. Stayed in both dorm and private room and both times they were clean. Toilets were always clean. Good value for money, would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
9.4

Great location. Minutes from the station and the kings cross nightlife. Friendly and helpful staff. Common room with to and Netflix. Great view from the rooms of the opera house. Always something going on, would happily stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
9.4

Love this hostel, so much character! Lovely staff and in a great location, right next to the train station :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
9.1

Really nice environment, the hostel it's clean and the staff it's very friendly. I recommend you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Really great hostel with great people and right in the heart of kings cross! Bathrooms are always clean and amazing views of Sydney from the rooms. Would definitely recommend to anybody coming to the city. Awesome atmosphere and the pubs right next door!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
8.0

Great location just right around the corner from the King's Cross Station. Very nice people, special thanks to Anthony, very helpful, and a truly nice guy. I only stayed 2 nights, and spent very little time at the hostel. My only complaint is my room, which is really not the fault of the hostel but the occupants in the room. Like many other hostels, the long term guests live like pigs. The room was a mess, stuff all over the floor and roaches. Should provide separate long and short time rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel was hands down the best we have stayed at. I don't think it it possible to have a better view of Sydney than from our dorm room. The people are so nice and friendly, it's like getting guaranteed friends with your room. And the facilities are perfect... Great kitchen, outdoor bbq, loads of toilets and everything is cleaned daily so it's really clean. We booked two nights but ended up staying over a week. Best location, people and view. Will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
4.6

Staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful however there were 4 dead cockroaches in the room which is revolting and no lockers in rooms.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us, If there are dead cockroaches in the room this means our pest control is working, the rooms are cleaned everyday and as explained there is locker facilities in our reception for any imporant property. Thanks again Team Asylum.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Mar 2016
5.1

I told staff that I was checking in really late due to airplane problems. Even though I emailed as soon as I knew and was emailed back saying they understood and will be there late, he was still not there to check me in. Someone else had to call him in. Nobody was there when I was checking out either. A fellow patron gave me my key deposit "back." A member of the cleaning staff had had to use his own money to give someone else their deposit back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Even though I was not on the recption for your check in I was here for you within one minute. We have a 08:00 reception opening hours and a policy of checking you out the night before. this is noted on the recption door. I trust you enjoyed the quiet of the deluxe room and the million dollar views. Thanks and all the best Team Asylum

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.