Hostelworld.com

At Baan Khun Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9
At Baan Khun Hostel Located at 119/10 Thapae Road, Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai.
At Baan Khun Hostel
Thailand
Chiang Mai 50100 119/10 Thapae Road, Changklan Muang
75% 626
18.7880339 98.9971157
At Baan Khun Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Clarie88
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2016
6.9

Overall a cheap clean place. The 8 bed dorms are pretty cramped and you can't really fit 8 people plus luggage. Staff were friendly enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Zachmisk
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
6.9

Chilled atmosphere, very clean and good location. The staff are all lovely except for the one man on reception who was absolutely horrible, so rude. At first I thought maybe he was just having a bad day but it was consistent the whole trip, wasn't helpful at all even asking for water he made it seem like we were being a huge inconvenience to him. Other then him the rest of the staff were great organising buses and cooking classes ect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

I had a great stay at At Baan Khun. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was clean and had hot water (if you want), and it was lovely to have tea, coffee and bananas whenever you wanted. I liked the location, very close to the eastern gate of he old city. Very short and easy walk to the night bazaar. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend to anyone else visiting Chaing Mai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
4.6

Location is good, however clean toilet & shower will be great help

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.9

Very social hostel, recommend to solo travellers. Dorm was a decent size and lockers were good. Staff were helpful with booking tours, especially the elephant sanctuary. The rooftop was a good place to socialise as was the first floor with a nice cushioned seating area. Really good value and everything we required within walking distance. Only faults were the lack of plug sockets and cleanliness of showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Mar 2016
6.9

Not the best hostel I have seen. I was unlucky at my arrival as I was greeted with a not-so-friendly person. The dorm room wasn't clean. There were mosquitoes. It was very very loud. Bring earplugs! I managed for 5 nights but would rather find a quieter and cleaner place next time I visit Chiang Mai. Beautiful city and area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • simmi8perjer4868
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.7

The hostel is located in the great area near the market and few minutes walk to the Thapae gate. They have the mezzanine that you can relax, watch TV, or take a nap there. I love that area very much. I also like the decoration of the hostel. As for the staffs, They seem to be friendly with foreigners but I am Thai so I had some feeling that they treated me differently. it's nice though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Mar 2016
6.6

Overall this was a good hostel to stay in. The rooms however are quite small so not much space for your bags and the door is never locked even though they give you a key so it seems a bit risky. There was a nice comfy place to relax though and the free bananas were a nice touch. The greeting by the staff was also lovely. I would stay here again as it was cheap but facilities are just your average hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2016
6.9

As this was the first hostel we has stayed at in Thailand we had little expectations but were pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the hostel and friendliness of the staff. Was a little dirty but for £3 a night, can't complain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th Mar 2016
5.1

The hostel did the job but location saved all the other downfalls to be honest. Beds are ROCK HARD and staff were either rude or unavailable. There isn't a great social area and both times I asked to be put in mixed rooms in was put in all girls dorms. Not the cleanest place but it did the job.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.