Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

At Baan Khun Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.0
At Baan Khun Hostel Located at 119/10 Thapae Road, Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai.
At Baan Khun Hostel
Thailand
Chiang Mai 50100 119/10 Thapae Road, Changklan Muang
75% 643
18.7880339 98.9971157
At Baan Khun Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
10.0

We only stayed there for one night but it was a pretty nice hostel. The rooms had a decent size and they have several conmon areas to hang out incl. a rooftop. It's also conveniently located close to several restaurants and motorcycle rent places. The staff was also very friendly. After all the other reviews talking about this one grumpy receptionist we were kind of disappointed we didn't get to meet him. Usually though, there are several staff members there who can check you in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Chill place to go visit & see for your self.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samuelswann
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.6

Not sure why this place as so many bad recent reviews. This hostel is great! Air con rooms are lovely and cold at night. Wifi is generally pretty good. Free tea, coffee and bananas. Nice location in between the night market and old town. Cleaned and swept often around the hostel. Lovely chilled out common area and rooftop for socialising and all for around 100baht a night. Incredible! No complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.1

loved this hostel - there was a great social area and the staff were so lovely and helpful. it's great because downstairs there is so much info for trips and you can book things such as elephant jungle sanctuary through them. great location right near the night bazaar

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
7.4

Only stayed to sleep there. We arrived late and left early. Solid location. Free bananas!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
10.0

At Baan Khun 2 is the best hostel I've stayed in Thailand! Nu, Ging and Bang... You're all legends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
31st May 2016
6.0

Wifi at this hostel was terrible! The rooms and bathrooms also smelt really bad (like dirty wet concrete) and the air conditioning was turned down so low that it was absolutely freezing at night (I even went to bed with an extra blanket, a cardigan, thick socks and GLOVES on!). The staff were friendly enough though and I guess the rooms are quite cheap compared to other places, so it's expected that there would be some faults.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
8.3

Amazing hostel that was definitely worth the $3 per night I paid and then some! It was pretty basic but the staff were super helpful with answering my questions and helping me to book activities. The atmosphere was also great as everyone was pretty social and the common areas on the second floor and rooftop were really fun! Great location near the walled city, too. Definitely stay here if you are coming through Chiang Mai and want a no frills, chill place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Clarie88
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2016
6.9

Overall a cheap clean place. The 8 bed dorms are pretty cramped and you can't really fit 8 people plus luggage. Staff were friendly enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2016
8.0

For the price you can't really complain. It is clean and has NO bed bugs. What more would you want?! Free tea, coffee and bananas, plus a fridge to put your own beer and food in. Rooms are basic, beds are very hard but I managed to sleep ok. Air con works very well and the wifi is good. Staff aren't overly friendly or keen to get to know you but they aren't unfriendly. It's just not a homely type hostel. For the price and good location I would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.