Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

At Baan Khun Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jul 2017
6.9

the good: cheap! had a great time meeting fellow travellers here and you can bring your own beer to the common area, which is comfy. also rooftop is a nice place to chillout alone. the bad: the aircon was turned off at around 10am and then the rooms become too hot to sleep. also the reception is very strange. there are like 8 people working for the elephant camp downstairs on computers but you dont really know who to ask for advice or laundry or to check in. id stay again good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Jul 2017
7.1

This hostel is just 5 minutes walk from the very city center. It is older but has atmosphere and a lot of travelers even during low season, we met a lot of nice people that we spent time with in Chiangmai. Our room had broken AC (room 301). Overall the cleanliness could be improved, especially the showers. The staff does not speak English that good so if you ask for help, they give you poor directions and advise (they are polite thought). Free tea, coffee and bananas 24/7 are a nice bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kempe
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th May 2017
10.0

I loved this hostel! They gave you free bananas and tea and coffee. Staff were lovely and it was the agency for the elephant jungle sanctuary so you can book it directly there. Beds were hard but haven't had one in Thailand that isn't and if you go to Zoe yellow and get back late you don't even notice the beds x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
10.0

Truly recommend for everyone! Employees are very friendly, especially the front desk has AC condition on, which you can chill and relax beside in your room. Most important is the bathroom was super clean!!! I gave them 5 stars!!! Overall, great customer service!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
6.6

Wanted to cut this hostel short but didn't use non-flexible booking. Washrooms we're pretty dirty. Ants were all over the toilets, trash, and floor. The hostel has this open concept so Mosquitos were everywhere. Constantly getting bit. Staff weren't very friendly, they just deal with money then done with you. My friend had dirty sheets the first night and slept on her towel. Laundry lady was nice and let us hang our stuff with hers. They also have tea, coffee and bananas available 24 hours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.3

Nice clean rooms, good aircon, there's a shower and double toilet for each floor, not a hinge are to hang, just some bean bag chairs on one floor, but still cool. Really close to the old bit of Chiang Mai and right on a very lively street of town. Staff was nice, but very hard to walk in the reception area with all the travel desks. Would totally stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.7

Was nice and clean. Also doubles as a booking office which seems to be the importance. Great price for what you get!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
7.4

Value for money!! Crazy cheap and good air con. At this price I don't think you'll find a better place if you're on a real budget. No real atmosphere, but if you're just looking for a bed to crash on stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

This brand new hostel is one of the best quality-price ratio I've met here in Thailand. The atmosphere is cosy and modern. The staff is absolutely fantastic: friendly, very nice & helpful! I was their first "Hostelworld's guest" and they offered me a coke for the occasion. The room was big and clean. I really loved the bathroom: clean, hot water, and with a big mirror! Tea, hot and cold water and bananas all day long available for free in the common area. I do recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
8.9

Super clean, great Wi-Fi, functional air conditioning and about a 10 minute walk from the old city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.