Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Atawkama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Atawkama Hostel Located at Calle Fierro 534, , Cusco.
Atawkama Hostel
Peru
Cusco Calle Fierro 534
82% 493
-13.5165650 -71.9859945
Atawkama Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
10.0

I had a great time in ATAWKAMA, thank you very much Rony, I arrived early to the hostel, and they received me very kindly, it was very cold but Rony offered me a coca tea which was great ... I forget my phone in the taxi but helped me find it again... I recommend ATAWKAMA HOSTEL

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.7

Had a wonderful few days at Atawkama. Really loved the central garden area, was a very nice place to relax, and the rooms are both much larger than other hostels I stayed at on the area, and much comfier with a quirky style. It was also nice they offer omelets for only two soles - I took them up on that every day I was there! Would highly recommend the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.6

The hostel was very helpful, looking after our bags whilst we went on the Machu Picchu trek. The rooms were spacious, albeit a bit cold in the evenings, and the bathrooms were of a decent standard. The inclusive breakast consisted of bread, jam and tea but eggs could be purchased for an additional few soles. Overall this hostel was lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Jul 2016
7.1

Really nice place to stay but not much of a 'communal' vibe. Great spot easy walking distance to the main square. Has a kitchen but it's teeny and the oven is locked shut.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Very friendly hostel staff, clean, spacious rooms and free breakfast in a great location in Cusco. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is a short walk to the main square. Blankets are warm and my bed was comfortable, so no sore back. Grocery store near by and the hostel has a kitchen for guests to use. This is a nice hostel for relaxing and meeting like-minded travellers. If you are looking for a party you won't find it here, people still congregate for drinks and conversation, but they also respect quiet time from 11pm onward. I recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • michellouise
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

Cute, homely place with comfy and warm beds. Simple breakfast but you can add eggs cooked to your liking for 1 sole. The staff who do breakfast always add a fruit juice or fruit bowl so it's not just bread and jam every day. Great for what you pay! Free baggage storage is awesome if you're trekking or doing tours. The courtyard is a nice hangout during the day. Bathrooms were always clean and showers hot, a must in Cusco!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
6.3

This is a a bit of a walk from the main plaza. The place itself was cool however a little bit rowdy for our liking. We didn't always have hot water and there was a lot of people so showers weren't always available. Wifi was also iffy in our room. Staff was really rude in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aaronricewilliams1216
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
27th Jun 2016
6.0

First of the good parts are the location being close to everything, and nice enough staff. My issues however are the fact the blankets never got cleaned between guests, and as a result I'm now covered in bites from what I expect are possibly fleas. The fast internet they advertise isn't real, and it's as slow as you should expect of Cusco. Confusion with checkin also as my deposit wasn't completely taken off the total, which seemed odd.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We always change the blankets of everyguest that checks out, it should have been an misunderstanding. We dont beleive we have fleas, however, after your comments, we fumuigated the room involved in the issue just in case. We have two of the best routers and the fastest internet available in Cusco, but the internet company has limitations as you know. Regarding the deposit, i wished you had brought it up to the manager, we will never denied you a refund or hold your deposit for no reason. Thanks for the comments they help us improve!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2016
4.9

The room was very cold (with no possibility to heat it) and had a stench/bad smell in it we couldn't get out. One shower couldn't be locked, the other one was extremely filthy. Sometimes the wifi was down. We booked for 3 nights but ended up staying only one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

As much as we want to and as you probably saw in the hostels in South America, and independent heating system in each room would not be economically feasible for a $8 dorm.; however, we make sure we provide enough blankets (feather and wool) so you can have a pleasant night. The bathrooms are clean in a constant basis from 7am. Thank you for the feedback!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.