Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Atawkama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Atawkama Hostel Located at Calle Fierro 534, , Cusco.
Atawkama Hostel
Peru
Cusco Calle Fierro 534
82% 541
-13.5165650 -71.9859945
Atawkama Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
4.9

Location was ok although further from the plaza de armas than most of the suggested hostels. However, despite not considering ourselves as being particularly fussy, we were quite disappointed - half of the showers have hot water, wifi doesn't work in the rooms, very unfriendly staff, cold draft in the room as door didn't shut properly and most of all, very unclean. Our only bad experience in Peru.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry you had such a bad experience. All our showers work with gas so there should be hot instant water 24/7. The wifi is the best we can get in Cusco, we even change router a month ago. I will talk fo the staff in order to improve the cleaning. Thanks for the feedback it allow to continue improving

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.0

Good value budget accommodation in Cusco which includes a good breakfast compared to a lot of hostels. They provide free luggage storage for treks and the staff are helpful. Dorm rooms are a good size and they have lockers in the common area to store your valuables. Bathrooms did vary in cleanliness and you do have to cross the courtyard from your room which isn't ideal at night or early morning when it is cold. Wifi could also be a bit temperamental. Overall a good value budget option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.1

Stayed around 2 weeks on and off during our stay in Cusco and it's definitely worth the money. Rooms were large and comfortable with single beds (not bunks!). The kitchen could get crowded at times because it is quite small, but they have everything you need. Also the free tea is great. The bathrooms ALWAYS had nice hot water. 5 minute walk from San Pedro market and Orion super market, so going to eat a very cheap meal or buying groceries is a breeze. 10 min walk from Armas! Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Aug 2016
7.4

Close to a supermarket and 10-15 minutes from the main square. Lovely hostel with good outside area and lounge room. No lockers in the rooms but plenty in the communal area. Stored our luggage for free during our 4 day Machu Picchu trek. Basic kitchen but good wifi and really hot showers. Floorboards extremely creaky in rooms so very disturbing when people were getting up early for treks! Lots of warm bedding, essential in Cusco! Not a party hostel but sociable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
8.3

Very reasonably priced hostel, perfect for chilling at before and after my Machu Picchu trek. They were accommodating with us arriving early in the morning. Breakfast was good with a little pancake and fruit salad. Good wifi and TV room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

Cusco was a hub for my travels through Peru, and Atawkama was my home there. Atawkama was the place I always looked forward to landing at after a 12 hour night bus back to Cusco. The staff is incredibly kind and welcoming. They are flexible with their availability and offer a free bag deposit. The hostel is perfect for groups or for individuals, with a mellow but sociable crowd that often hangs out in the indoor and outdoor common spaces. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.7

We have really enjoyed our stay at Atawkama Hostel. We have stayed two nights in one of their private double rooms. The room was huge, with plenty of space to lay your things out. The showers were always hot which has been a real treat after a few hostels with hit and miss showers. Showers also had plenty of space inside to put your things and hooks away from water to hand towel and clothes. Breakfast was good and close to everything we needed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • matthew_lambert6666073
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.6

The hostel was more of a trek than the others around, which given the altitude made it feel like a trek at times. Toilets and Showers were all across the courtyard, some of which had no place to safely leave your belongings when showering. The room I had didn't have any security measure, with no lockers provided within the rooms, there were small lockers in the communal space. The power sockets in the room were very temperamental. More issues... not enough space to write!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
6.9

This hostel was okay for a budget hostel. The rooms are very drafty and the doors don't close all the way, so they get very cold. My friends were staying in a 4 person dorm and they were not given any key or other way to lock the door. The staff were friendly enough, with a few exceptions. The water was hot, but all the bathrooms are shared and are outside the rooms. They offered me a free taxi ride to write a good review, so I would be wary of reviews for this hostel :/

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
8.9

Great staff! Someone was always cleaning somewhere. Loads of people use it as a hop on/off point for MP. Great value for a minor inconvenience of a walk. I recommend using them to book your Salkantay trek and MP. Greatest prices around and great guide "Clema" Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.