Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Atawkama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ertancetinkaya
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.0

We just were there for a night. The breakfast was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2017
5.7

Really safe, nice atmosphere. Unfortunately their promise of 24 hours hot showers is total rubbish, I only had 1 shower that was mildly hot and it only lasted a few minutes and the water pressure was horrendous. Also there is a power generator that goes off every half a hour that is really noisy!! Would not recommend this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jul 2017
7.7

Very nice hostel with hot showers, good communal spaces, brilliant breakfast (with table service!!) Only negatives were there were no lockers in the rooms and the luggage storage could be accessed by anyone so we didn't feel our things were well protected and ended up carrying important things on us. It's a very cold hostel but there were lots of blankets and showers were good so not a major problem. Would recommend as a budget option in Cusco!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
8.6

Atawkama is a nice, small, and quiet hostel great for those who aren't looking for a party atmosphere. (+) Our bed was comfortable, they had a fully equipped kitchen, had a computer free for use, free storage, and a great breakfast that offered more than the usual bread and jam fare(!). On the downside; hot water wasn't a guarantee, anyone could enter through the front door, it was a bit of a walk away and in a less touristy alley of Cusco. Overall, great value for Cusco!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
9.1

Great kitchen! Staff is super nice if you make an effort to get to know them, which you should. The location is fine but a little out of the way of the plaza compared to other hostels. It is super close to the supermarket though, so it's perfect if you are on a budget and want to cook your own meals. Lots of cool travelers here :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
8.3

I have never stayed in a hostel prior to the days I stayed here for a brief tour. Overall, I am impressed with the comfort of this hostel and its cleanliness given its affordable price. Also, I really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning and the friendliness of the staff. To top it off, my friends and I were allowed to leave some of our luggage in the hostel while we spent the day touring, which was super helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
8.0

Atawkama is a great place to stay if you're looking to have a quiet hostel in Cusco. Not much of a social scene. The staff is friendly and breakfast comes with some pancake, fruit, cereal, and yogurt plus the standard bread/butter/jam! The showers have rarely been hot and the rooms are cold but the blankets are super warm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.4

Near of San Pedro market, 15 minutes walk to Plaza de Armas. Staff nice, clean rooms, small kitchen and very few stuff to make food. Bathroom is far from the bedrooms, it´s quite boring to wake up late at night and walk a lot until get there...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jul 2017
7.4

We don't recommend you this hostel during the winter period in Peru because almost everything is outside and without any insulation. We travelled there in July and it was super cold in the room and in the bathroom (moreover water was tepid). Breakfast and wifi were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.9

This was a really good hostel, one of the best deals in Cusco. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was delicious. Showers were hot and the wifi worked well. It was really nice not having to climb up into a bunk bed as well. The atmosphere is very chill. Only small downside is that there are no security lockers in the rooms so you just have to leave your bag out in the open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.