X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Atawkama Hostel Reviews

Calle Fierro 534, Cusco, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
277 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really great hostel, 5 min walk from the hussel and bussel of the squares. So homely and warm, basic brekki but sufficient. Stayed twice


60%

I didn't enjoy the atmosphere during my stay. Also one morning I was refused/ ignored for breakfast as the lady thought I had already had it. Poor wifi connection & strange showers in one of the bathrooms - just a curtain. Positives - single bed/ no bunks, lots of blankets which are needed, full length mirror and plug sockets! Pretty cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, I wish you could explain better what was wrong with the atmosphere so we can I improve it. I am sure the kitchen incident was not on purpose. Regarding the internet, on May 20th, 2015, we rewired the internet connection to the second floor it seemed that the cable was damaged and so far the internet has been working well. Regards!

94%

This hostel is awesome! It's clean, good shower, good bed, and most importantly very friendly and helpful staff! The atmosphere is really good especially if you want to escape from touristic town. Talk to the staff, they know a lot what to recommend if you want to experience the local culture.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was great! All our beds were really comfy and warm. It is not a party hostel, but that is not what we were looking for, so we were happy. The wifi was spotty at times, but overall, I would recommend the hostel to anyone going to Cuzco for the city and not to party.


100%

Muy buen hostel precio calidad excelente ,ubicación buena , agua calientes todo el día ,desayuno incluido y muy buena señal de internet el personal es muy amigable y servicial , también ofrecen tours a Machupicchu 100 % recomendable .

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Overall great hostel with friendly staff. We booked our Salkantay Trek to Machu Picchu here for a great price and very accurate info. Booked an extra 2 nights here for when we returned from hiking but when we returned they only had us for 1 night. Fortunately they had space in another room. They only have small lockers for your valuables. We were told we couldn't use the storage since we had a dorm. Nothing was stolen, it was just strange that there was no option to lock up our packs.


100%

Though you should remember to bring your warm clothes, the atmosphere here is absolutely lovely. When you come into Atawkama a sunny idyllic patio opens up, with the rooms and bathrooms placed around it. I even saw a kolobri in the courtyard tree! If you have a room off the balcony you have a view straight out over the low Cusco rooftops, which definitely made me feel at home. There are games and movies and wifi in the living room so you've got something to do while adjusting to the height.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Runa05
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome chilled hostel! Good value for money! Comfortable beds and good showers! Good dvd choice as well!


94%

This was a lovely place to stay with everything you would look for in a hostel. The staff were very present and attentive. We were a short ten minute walk from the central market, which is why we gave location a good rating instead of excellent. But the location was just fine and easy to get to all destinations from the hostel.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Comfortable beds, quiet, friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms are unisex which was a bit awkward for showering as some of the doors do not lock. Other than that we all enjoyed our stay.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Amazing backyard with flowers and greens and always colibries flying around. Cold at night and we had some problems closing the door in the first room we stayed in, making it even colder. Breakfast the least impressive during 4 months travelling, would love some fresh fruits. Now it's bread, jam and one cup of coffee. The kitchen is small and lack utensils. Very nice living room area where you can watch movies and play games. Showers and bathrooms outside so always freezing after showering.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Regarding our breakfast, in March we started serving fresh juices (100% fruit) from Monday to Friday and on the weekends we give a whole fruit along with the usual bread, butter, jam, milk,cofee and any other hot beverage that you like. It seems strange that you did not mentioned that, if you have any suggestions please let us know. Thanks !

77%

Nice hostel neer the city centre, 5 to 10 minutes walk. Very nice building, it's clean and there are a lot of extra services. For braksfast they serve coffee/tea with bread and jam and some nice juice.


77%

Good value for money, 10 min walk to plaza de armas. Pretty quiet area. Good wifi and helpful staff. The bathrooms are basically outside and the hot water wasn't great, so showering and returning to an U heated room can be very, very cold and unpleasant, especially in the evening.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments, regarding the hot water issue, this past Monday (27-04-2015) we installed our second Gas Heater with unlimited supply of hot water 24 hours a day. The issue with the older heater was that it was electric so it had a limited amount of hot water. We continue to improve so we appreciate your feedback!

77%

Considering how expensive some accommodation in cusco can be this hostel is very reasonably priced! But you get what you pay for. Bedrooms were fine, though beds weren't the comfiest and rooms got very cold at night. Common area is quite nice and the wifi was good for the most part. However there was only one shower with hot water and the kitchen facilities were atrocious. No plates, cups, glasses, just a few dirty plastic bowls to eat out of! It was ok but that's it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Almost 3 weeks ago (April 26th), we installed our second gas heater that will allow to have unlimited hot water 24 hours. Before we had electric heaters and they run out of hot water. Our kitchen is fully equipped and it has a new kitchen, 2 refrigerators, and utensils. Some of the glasses and cups (not plastic) are in a locked shelf, you just have to ask in receptions for the keys. I am going to make sure everybody knows that when checking in. Thanks for the feedback!

66%

There is no warm water (even though it's advertised). Cold showers are not the best way to end a long day in a cold city as cusco is. btw: Rooms do not have a heater .... which makes showering cold even more painful :-(.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This was a recurrent issue so on April 26th, we installed our second gas heater that will allow to have unlimited hot water 24 hours. Before we had electric heaters and they run out of hot water if too many people showered but not anymore :) . Thank you for your comments they allow us to keep improving!!

100%

Very good hostel ! Cheap and very clean. Hot water all day, breakfast included, and very good internet. Staff is very friendly.


97%

What a wonderful place to stay... all the staff were always helpful with bookings, directions and sights around the city to see. The hostel its self is located just enough away from the city center to avoid all the traffic noise, polution and the hussel and bussel of everyday life. The beds were very comfortable... the hostel was pretty quiet at night so one was able to get a good rest. Breakfast was good tea or coffee, two fresh buns, freshly blended juice and butter/jam. Gail loves you all.


71%

Nice little hostel with friendly helpful staff, good wifi and luggage storage for machu picchu. However, the toilets were always dirty, the kitchen was literally 3 square metres, breakfast was only 2 bread rolls per person, and there was no atmosphere really.


91%

Great hostel especially for couples! Cheap and not for from the so called center of the little cusco. Amazing wifi! Showers are a bit weird, not always working well.


89%

We liked staying there a lot. The staff was really helpful. Especially the rooms in the back are really nice and quiet. It is a nice 10minutes walk to Plaza de Armas which is the mainsquare.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Cusco Hostels

Please give us your feedback