Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Atawkama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

This is a really nice little hostel with a great vibe, kitchen and TV room. The dorms had single real beds, not bunks! Had lockers but not in the room. Staff were great, it's near the city and value is through the roof

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel to stay in Cusco. Good breakfast with variations every day. Beautiful yard and comfortable beds. Would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emmoreno
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

I definitely recommend! The breakfast was very good, including coffee & tea, breads, fruits, eggs, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with booking the 4day/3night jungle trek through them. I highly recommend this trek, definitely worth it. I do suggest to get more information on the transportation portion of the tour, before leaving. The showers were clean and warm. The rooms were nice, blankets were warm. The pillows were quite uncomfortable and hard. Overall, great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
7.1

This hostel will do the trick - it's nothing great, but it's not too bad either. The showers and toilets were okay, but some of the doors didn't lock and the showers only got warm(ish), not hot. I think the biggest downside to our stay at Atawkama was some staff. I didn't feel welcomed or helped upon arrival, it seemed they had better things to do then help their guests and because of this, I wouldn't recommend it. (The breakfast staff were awesome though and good breakfast!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
7.1

It was a pretty good stay! We had a mouse in our room but they helped us and we moved rooms right away. There was always hot water and the wifi was decent.. beds weren't the comfiest but it is just a hostel. Breakfast was good too. Location was close the San Pedro market, and not too far from the square either.. I saw people comment of its location on a hill.. almost all of Cusco is hills! So almost all places are on hills!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks you so much for your feedback, I heard about our little visitor, we didnt want to kills that poor creature so we close every single crack by which he could get into one of our rooms and we apologize for that it shouldnt happen again. And yes, Cusco if full of hills :). I just checked Google Maps and we are 1000m away from the Main Square.

16th Jan 2017
9.1

What a nice break from the mess of Wild Rover. Cheap, very clean, conveniently located to San Pedro and Sebastian. About 10-15 min from the Plaza de Armas. More of a quiet, chilled environment. If you any action, go to the Loki or Wild Rover hostels at night. Very nice personal beds here, hot showers, varying degrees of good breakfast, and decent wifi. I wholly recommend this spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jan 2017
5.7

Good breakfast and nice staff. Location is ok. 10minutes to walk to the city center. But, the cleanliness is really bad. We saw them using the bed sheets twice without washing them. The kitchen is really small and dirty too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello :). Our staff has clear instructions to wash the sheets everytime a guest uses it, we never had complaints about this issue. I will speak to the cleaning staff to see what happened in your particular case. Regarding the kitchen, the guests who use the dishes are responsbile to wash them but this is not always the case. We will make sure to check more often and clean the kitchen if necessary.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

Really nice chill hostel with loads of room in dorms. Great breakfast that changes every other day(eggs/pancakes). Friendly staff. Things to note: our washing came back smelling of mothballs!!, just do it up the road and round the corner just before you get to the next right - and it's half the price! only three hot showers, wifi is terrible, a little bit of a walk up hill but it's bad at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oh thank God for a second I thought Moth was an animal (english is not my native language :) ). We apologize for that weird smell again, we are always happy to do it again or compensate you for the inconvenience we dont like unhappy customers :). We have actually 5 hot showers, you missed the individual/private bathroom right by the entrance. We have the best Wifi (provider and speed) in the area :(. What I did on exactly 6 days ago was to order a second internet line only for the TV Room so it can easily reach the dorms as well, these should definetly improve things!!!. Take care

  • gwoods16423
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.3

Decent little hostel. Staff were helpful and were also 24hr. Clean and tidy but my goodness did the floorboards creak. Not ideal when you or other people are sneaking out for tours early. Everybody wakes up . Not much atmosphere but that's not what we were after. Perfect for people seeking a chilled hostel. Breakfast was basic but filling. We are 30 and 32

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.4

Great place. Friendly staff. Super safe. Not a party hostel but a great clean calm one

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.