Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Atawkama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th May 2017
6.0

The hostel is suppose to have 24 hour receptionist the 2 nights we stayed there this wasn't the case, the staff fall asleep and lock the door with a padlock not allowing anyone to leave. We spent all of 40 minutes one night trying to wake her up, the second night another couple had booked a trek and at 3am we could hear them knocking on the door. They confused our door then with the reception and kicked out door in. The rooms are also cold. Only plus side they had a TV with movies to watch.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
8.3

Hostel was great, reception friendly and breakfast was great. A bonus is being able to use the kitchen. Showers are hot , except water pressure is gone when more than one person is using them. Quiet , chill. No indoor places to relax when the weather is miserable but overall very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.4

The staff was really nice and the kitchen was clean and not too terribly crowded. They have cameras and lockers in an entertainment room which were feee and felt secure. The location was sort of odd and the street not super safe at night but very close to the San Pedro market and not very far from the Plaza de Armas. I loved the atmosphere and the beds were comfy, showers hot and good vibes all around. I'd love to stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
10.0

Awesome place, clean rooms, showers are warm, good common area. Staff is super friendly, close to all things, fast Wi-Fi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stelcs6183
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th May 2017
8.3

It was a great quiet place to stay. Had a good nights rest here. They serve breakfast in the morning, bread, eggs, coffee and tea. Was a nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.9

Great helpful staff. Recommended. Services delivered as advertised

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd May 2017
7.7

The board said free wine but it was never offered. The atmosphere would have been better if they encouraged evening activities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Apr 2017
6.0

Don't stay here if you need any form of flexibility in terms of your booking. Our bus was delayed in puno so didn't get in until 3:30, we asked if we could have a later check out (by an hour) and got told no , check out was at 10:00- when I argued it said 10:30 online . They guy replied 'but yeah It would be better if you could check out earlier as we need your room' The floors are creaky and they're aren't that many bathrooms

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for your feedback, the check out time is officially at 10:30am, due to the large amount of passengers my personal tends to be a little strict with the check out/in rules; however, I already spoke to them and ask them to be flexible in some cases like yours, sorry about that i wont happen again. The house is a colonial house with more than 300 years and we beleive that is part of our charm :). We do not have bunkbeds because we want to have a good guest/bathroom ratio and we never had lines or issues yet.

22nd Apr 2017
4.0

Unfriendly staff who was unwilling to reimburse the entirety of the remainder of our stay after we found a rat in our room going through our things. Poor wifi. Barely any cooking equipment (1 pan for entire hostel). Given the many hostel options in Cusco, it's not worth staying here. We moved to VIP House Hostel and it was much better. Only positive here is the breakfast (which we were charged for on our first day).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I heard about the incident, it is the second time that has happen to us in 4 years and it was a mouse, there is a big difference. We have the best WIFI that we could get in the area, we have 2 separate dedicate lines to provide a better quality there is nothing else i can do about that. If you arrived very early and have not checked in, the breakfast is not included yet as in every hotel that i know. thanks for your feedback!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 56 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.9

Solid hostel! Bathrooms were always very clean, beds comfy and breakfast totally fine (not as great as described in some reviews though), nice livingroom with movies. Rooms are very squeaky because of the wooden floor which is annoying as people get up early for tours. Also, hostel is set mostly outside, you could get really cold on the way to the toilet. A little outside the main town but you get used to walking. We booked a great Salkantay tour with them. Overall good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.