Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Athens Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5,716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5,716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Athens Backpackers Located at 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens.
Athens Backpackers
Greece
Athens 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens
87% 5716
37.9688060 23.7304794
Athens Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
10.0

Great place, really helped make my journey. Right in the centre off the Metro, next to main street and atrtactions. Met some amazing people here, rooftop bar & dining area are good places to congregate, rooms have lockers you can use your own padlock, clean bathroom, a lift to each level, helpful reception staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nataliehenshall7395
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.6

This hostel is really well located for visiting the Acropolis. Beds are comfortable and rooms clean. Breakfast included although I missed it being too tired from my flight. Can't comment on atmosphere as I only stayed 1 night. Minor annoyances like no plug sockets, reading light or shelf next to bed. You need your own lock for the locker in the room. Also our air conditioning didn't seem to work. We left the window open & it was quiet & temperature ok in September.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Very close to the Parthenon and a beautiful view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar! Staff was helpful and an easy place to meet people. We would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.7

Staff and other hostel-goers are so friendly!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.7

Very good hostel. I felt like I was in a hotel in the bedroom and the facilities are amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • judithbrummer5632
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
5.4

The great part about this place is its location, and for that reason, I would stay again. It's within walking distance of all the Acropolis stuff. Other than that tho, I have some complaints. We got there late at night and the guy who was supposed to be working at the desk just wasn't there. We had to call the number...no answer, until he finally showed up like 20 minutes later with no explanation or apology. The room is very expensive for what you get. It's very old and bare. The breakfast - ok

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.4

They need more wall plugs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.0

Great and convenient location with lots of cafes and restaurants around the corner and right by the Acropolis metro stop. spacious lockers in the rooms but the showers were less than ideal. Free breakfast is decent (bread cucumber tomato and an egg) and the wifi was reliable. €6 walking tour was cancelled ten minutes before it was meant to depart so that wasted my time a bit. The breakfast kitchen ladies were very grumpy towards those who showed up ten minutes before closing time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
6.9

Wasn't happy about luggage security or luggage storage. I came before checkin and the best they could do was tell me to set my luggage down in a storage room that was full of shady characters.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Stayed here twice during our Europe trip, first time in the main hostel then in the studios! Both great location, clean and spacious rooms! Preferred the vibe at the hostel with the roof top bar! Staff were okay and a bit stand offish

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.