Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Athens Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 6023 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 6023 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

Was given an upgrade and got a place at Athens studios instead. Great places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
4.6

For being double the price of other Athens hostels I was expecting better facilities and cleanliness. For the price they could have also provided free towels. Small improvemets such as new trash cans without broken step pedals, or shower curtains that don't smell like mildew, or front desk staff who smile and are welcoming when you arrive. I chose to stay here because I had less than 24 hours in Athens. I've stayed in hostels around the world over the past 15 years so I have a basis of comparison.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
9.7

Athens backpackers is the perfect place to stay in Athens! It is easy to travel to and from the airport and it is about 20 minutes walking from most major attractions. The rooms are spacious and mine even had a deck! The free breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hostel! I would absolutely recommend that you stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.1

Six bed dorm with three power points in a room that should have been four share sized.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th May 2017
4.9

Very dissappointing. No atmosphere. Rooftop bar v.expensive and only open between 6-10pm. No activities and recommendations given when asked. Hostel notice board not changed in 4 days I was there (it highlighted things to do in the rain = museums, but it stopped raining day 1). No privacy in staying more than one day as cleaners make alot of noise and had a full loud conversation when I was trying to sleep during the day. However the hostel is spotless and fine to use as for 1 night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sydneynrosenthal4132
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
6.3

Great staff! Super helpful. Breakfast is okay, nothing special. Beds were fine. Bathroom isn't the nicest but does the job. The extra sink in the 6 person rooms was super helpful. Athens Sports Bar was super cool and so was the rooftop bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
6.9

Mixed bag with this hostel. We stayed in a private room, technically called a "Studio." There were two single beds, and the staff informed us that the beds could be moved together with a special sheet but that was never done for us - not a big deal but they did promise it. One big concern was that the cleaning crew left one of our balcony door open - not cool. This is a big security downside, as leaving a door open is completely unacceptable. The rest of the facilities and location were great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • BethMurray
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th May 2017
6.9

In a great location, but the layout was very weird with the kitchen in the rooms, also barely any space to prepare food sadly. But I loved their free breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
10.0

I stayed at Athens Studios, the partner hostel of Athens Backpackers. Athens Studios is excellent. The location is superb, very close to the Acropolis. Breakfast is complementary until 9:30am, and there is a Sports Bar downstairs. Athens Backpackers has a fantastic and quaint rooftop bar that guests of both hostels are invited to with happy hour from 7-8pm. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
9.7

Centrally located. Conducive to meeting fellow travelers! Breakfast was solid. Only complaint was room was super hot at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.