Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Athens Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5,833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5,833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Athens Backpackers Located at 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens.
Athens Backpackers
Greece
Athens 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens
87% 5833
37.9688060 23.7304794
Athens Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Nov 2016
9.7

Perfect location!! (Right beside the acropolis)! Awesome atmosphere with a kitchen! Would definetly recommend.😊 Good for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
9.1

The hostel was very good. It's location is great to see the most famous ruins in Athens. However there isn't much nightlife nearby. I was there in the winter when the roof top bar was closed so we had to walk a bit to get to the sister hostel's bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bhendo27452717
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
20th Nov 2016
9.4

The hostel is extremely well located and easy to find with the directions provided. I stayed in the 6 bed delux dorm which had excellent space, and a kitchenette. It was veryt clean and the bunk beds were good. Note the price varies from weekday to weekend, which makes it a little expensive on the weekends. The hostel also charges 3 euro for overnight bag storage - which frankly I think is very poor. Breakfast is plate with bread roll, a small salad and a boiled egg; plus tea or coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
7.7

The shower wasn't designed real well-gets the whole floor wet. Maybe a longer shower curtains would help keep things clean? Otherwise, it was a decent experience. Great location just not the most friendly and inviting vibe. Free breakfast was nice👍🏼 It was instant coffee tho=/

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Moses_Garrett4100
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Nov 2016
7.4

While they don't list it, this location and Athens Studio are the same company. You may be placed in either one based on capacity. The hostel is extremely well located, clean, and secure. Sadly, I also see it as part of a disappointing trend of hostels trying to become more like hotels and losing a bit of their soul. It doesn't have a hostel feel. They charge for almost everything: towels, locks for the locker, a ridiculous amount for laundry. They also push their side businesses as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
8.6

Stayed here for a few nights, was a great location - 2 mins walk from the Acropolis. Staff were helpful, although the only issue was the shower next to my dorm. The continual wavering temperature ranged from freezing cold to dangerously hot, this posed a very challenging shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
8.3

Stayed 2 nights, first night was terrible, but not hostels fault, someone stole our my bed and it was tough figuring it out but they upgraded us to a better room where we had great roommates. Good rating because the location is great and it's a good value. Bathrooms are kinda messy, but beds are pretty good. Wifi is dead slow tho. Incredible view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pucas2443
  • Lithuania, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.7

Although hostel is clean and tidy there is not enough sockets. I and my mate shared one socket which was by the end of the room, which was annoying. I asked receptionist for help but they were not able to organise extension or something similar to that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.7

Actually, i didnt stay at athens backpackers. They made a mistake with my reservation and there was no place for me and my boyfriend. So they sent us to Athens Studios, which was great! they gave us a room just for us. It WAS AWESOME! So if they make a mistake, they know how to fix it really fast! Also, we arrive really early in the morning, and they let us sleep in a couch. It was really nice of them let us do that, we were so tired! By the way, the should improve the breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to crash. Made friends in my room, sights near by. Great cheap food near by, and nice restaurants near by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.