Hostelworld.com

Athens Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Athens Backpackers Located at 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens.
Athens Backpackers
Greece
Athens 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens
87% 5477
37.9688060 23.7304794
Athens Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.3

I didn't stay for long but the place seemed nice and really close to the Acropolis too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
6.6

The overall place seemed a little grungy. The sheets and towels were clean, the bathroom and shower were not. Seemed like a place for a younger crowd.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed at the Athens Studios. Room was good, staff helpful and good WiFi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.6

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly Scottish man who told us where to go and what to see! Amazing location for the Acropolis and a metro very close. Ideal for solo and small groups. Lovely rooftop bar with good drinks and a friendly atmosphere. All in all the stay was excellent and we would return. P.S don't trust their taxi quote. Always cheaper to Rafina port using the metre (cost us nearly double!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
10.0

The reviews are correct- this is a great place for the solo traveler, and anyone looking to meet others along the road! I stayed here for my birthday and had a wonderful time. Good location and rooftop bar with a view of the Acropolis. Friendly and accommodating staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
9.7

Bathroom in the dorm had all sorts of problems but otherwise am amazing hostel with an awesome rooftop bar

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
8.3

didnt really deal with the staff too much as I was only there for two nights but were helpful when I asked questions. The 6 bed dorm room I was in was spacious and good size lockers though the bathroom got dirty quickly though that's no fault of the staff. Location was great, less then 5 min walk to Acropolis and plenty of places for food and drink. Roof top bar was great to meet people. Close to metro and bus as well. If im back in Athens again one day I'll stay here that's for sure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
5.4

This wasn't the kind of hostel I was expecting. There was no area in which to socialize with the other guests. Events like the walking tour were cancelled several times. The staff (except for one person) were not helpful at all not welcoming. On the bright side it's situated really close to the touristic center of the city, it's very clean and the breakfast is nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
8.3

Can't beat the view from the rooftop bar! And the staff are all so friendly and helpful. The facilities are decently clean - but our bathroom had a door that didn't lock properly and a shower head that was on the verge of falling down. The bar is a great place to meet people and enjoy the views of the city. Incredible location for what you're paying!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
8.9

Had a great time at here, Perfect location, right next to the Acropolis and all the major ruins. Lockers are available in the room, but they are small. WiFi is some of the absolute worst I've ever dealt with. Staff is friendly and helpful. Very clean and well kept. No complaints aside from the wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.