Hostelworld.com

Athens Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5,397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5,397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
Athens Backpackers Located at 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens.
Athens Backpackers
Greece
Athens 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens
87% 5397
37.9688060 23.7304794
Athens Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hermionewc
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.7

Great hostel in a great location with knowledgable staff. Only negative for me was that there are 2 buildings and only one seems to have any atmosphere (can obviously go across and join the other when you work this out)!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
9.1

Athens Backpackers is in the best location, it's a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis and is less than a half a block from the pedestrian streets in front of the Acropolis museum. My only "complaint" is that when we booked we did not know the roof top bar was closed for maintenance, but it worked out fine because the staff told us of a vista all the locals go to for the sunset.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
9.7

One of my favorite hostels in Europe! Staff was so friendly and helpful and the owner was fantastic. He actually applauded me and a buddy I met at the hostel for organizing our own party on the balcony since their rooftop bar was under construction! Everyone I met there was great and you can't beat the location (5 minute walk to Acropolis and Temple of Zeus). Only negative would be that everytime you shower, the water seeped onto the floor. A couple wet socks never hurt anybody.lol

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.0

The location of this hostel is perfect- it is in a safe area and seconds from the Acropolis. The rooms were nice and even had a balcony. The bathrooms weren't so nice.. The shower overflowed that I had to turn it off mid shower to let the water drain. Be aware that the rooftop patio is not open during the off season.. This was not advertised and we were disappointed when we arrived. However overall if I were to return to Athens I would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
8.9

Awesome hostel!! Ended up hosting a party on the 5th floor balcony and in morning accidently told the owner about it (didn't know he was owner till after he asked what we did last night and him saying "I'm the owner btw"). Owner was happy we threw a party! He told us he built the hostel for backpackers to party. So party on friends! Party on!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hlopezrizzo2886
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.0

This hostel is a 'little bit' expensive considering all we get. Positive points: Location (5/5), Safety (4/5), Cleanliness (4/5). You have close-by bars and restaurants (5/5), Kitchen space (5/5). Negative points; it's true what it indicated in other comments, the water temperature (shower 2/5) it could pass from ice-cold to burning-hot in seconds. The breakfast (2/5), it's just some slices of tomato, cucumber, small bread and boiled egg. Everyday same menu. Roof terrace out of service (2/5)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
8.9

This hostel is located just a block and a half from the metro. Within walking distance of the major sites. The neighborhood has everything you will need, great food, stores, ATM's, post office. Great location for first time Athens visitors,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
10.0

Comfy beds, clean showers, nice (free!) breakfast, beautiful view from the roof. Staff was helpful and accommodating. Bartenders were fun! (Free refills on soda!) Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amanda_carter857533
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 68 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.0

Great location, can walk to all main sites. It was very easy to just walk in and no one would ask if you stayed there. We left our bags for the day and the luggage room isn't locked. There are lockers in the rooms so bring a padlock. Breakfast included: cucumber, tomatoe, hard boiled egg, one bun. One toilet and shower for the floor of 3 rooms. Tried going to another floor to use the facilities but was told 'not suppose to do so'. Good enough hostel for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Apr 2016
7.7

Good location. Breakfast was basic but included in the price. My room was ensuite which was good. One major problem was there wasn't a plug socket by every bed which was annoying. Also, there was a rooftop bar but it isn't open until may so you couldn't really hang out there much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.