Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Athens Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 5,545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 5,545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Athens Backpackers Located at 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens.
Athens Backpackers
Greece
Athens 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens
87% 5545
37.9688060 23.7304794
Athens Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing place to stay! Great atmosphere Easy to meet people Awesome rooftop bar and spots bar Great locations Friendly staff Would stay here again in a heartbeat

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
6.6

Bathroom can get really dirty and theres no lockers, other than that its a pretty decent place to stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
8.9

Great overall

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

I stayed at Athens Studios, which was nice, clean and modern. They had super clean washrooms which was a nice change from most hostels. The staff was also super nice and welcoming, especially at the sports bar. Location is also very central for seeing the tourist sights, walking distance to most places. Probably the best hostel I stayed at during my Europe trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
6.6

Warning, this place is the master of fine print. It has 2 locations and will randomly assign you regardless of what you book. If they switch your booking, they will make you walk to the other one at 2am alone in the dark even if you have just arrived in Greece and are a solo female traveler. Not the most social place, the reception staff is minimally helpful (other staff is amazing so just ask them for help). Would definitely not book again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nickgibbins
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Excellently located hostel. Staff were friendly and the rooms were remarkably tidy. Quite expensive but considering that it is Athens it was justifiable. Only issue I had is that the wifi was a bit difficult sometimes. Always very busy and the discounts for the bar and fish and chip shop next door are much appreciated. Also a free ouzo shot as a welcome is great. Would stay again for sure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
10.0

We loved staying here! Super conveniently located with helpful staff and nice rooms with air conditioning! Hope to stay here again next time we visit Athens.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
8.0

Amazing location! Comfortable :) But it feels like sonething is missing... I would stay there again anyway hihi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
6.6

The same company owns the Backpackers Athens hostel and the Athens Apartments. And they sell rooms from each other in both hostelworld pages, so you may end, as me, thinking that you are booking a room in the backpackers hostel but when you got there they say that you have to go to the other building. The apartments building has no backpackers atmosphere, no common spaces and the information in the desk is partial, only recommending their own bars.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
8.3

Booked private studio which is at a different location than the hostel. We had a fantastic room, extremely spacious with 2 balconies. It's smack dab in the middle of the city, so keep that in mind if you don't want noise at night. Being a 10 min walk to the Acropolis and right around the corner from the metro was a big plus. One downfall was the wifi was extremely spotty. Reception said this happens when they're full and everyone is on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.