Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Athens Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5,634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5,634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
Athens Backpackers Located at 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens.
Athens Backpackers
Greece
Athens 12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens
88% 5634
37.9688060 23.7304794
Athens Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Perfect location in Plaka! Had a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Tillietally
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.9

The rooftop bar was so relaxing and offered a beautiful view. We spent most nights just enjoying the view of the city and Acropolis. There were quite a few people up there, but not especially easy to meet others, especially if you get up there late. The rooms were clean, and so were the bathrooms. The shower would flood the bathroom floors though, which was a bit annoying. The private desks were nice for fresh air, but terrible views. Discount on food nearby + free shot! Nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.0

Really good location, great atmosphere and majority of the staff were really nice and helpful. Wifi was really bad and would drop out every few minutes..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Open shower makes the entire bathroom wet, but other than that, it's fantastic. One other small thing: had booked at Athens Backpackers but was boarded in the second location at Athens Studios. It's not a big thing and there's nothing wrong with Studios (except the shower thing), but would have been nice to know a) that I was actually at Studios, and b) that Studios even existed. Staff is great, knowledgable and very helpful, place is clean, great location. Just a great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice hostel but they put me in the studios which have virtually no atmosphere and you have to walk over to the main hostel. Watch out for this as I didn't book this other hostel. Otherwise it's clean and nice and the rooftop bar is a good spot to meet people. Kind of too expensive though while I was there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
10.0

This was the nicest hostel we stayed in our whole EuroTrip. We actually stayed in the "Backpackers Studios" location that was about 2 blocks away from the main one, but it seemed like it was the nicer/newer facility. The rooftop bar was really cool and the location was so close to the Acropolis! They really want you to have a nice stay, and everything is clean/nice/new and we had a fantastic time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved our stay here! The rooms and facilities were clean and well maintained and the staff were very friendly. Very well located as well - just a short walk to the Acropolis, Plaka and Monastiraki and a subway station about a minute away. Also located close to a very busy restaurant strip so plenty of choice for food. Lovely views from the rooftop and really recommend the strawberry mojitos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
9.4

This place was great. AMAZING LOCATION! Right next to everything! There are 2 locations, not far from each other, so make sure you know which you are staying at. My onlt issue was that the Wifi was poor in the room. Kept cutting out and had speed issues when connected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.9

The staff are so helpful, gave me a fold out bed as they were full and I had the incorrect date booked. Nice bar up top too! Thanks guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.0

There was practically no internet/wifi connection. The hostel policy are profit making not friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.