Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Athens House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.2
  • Location 5.5
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.2
  • Location 5.5
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
3.1

The host was very nice, but the place was more than dirty. Sorry for the bad review, but I hope that you'll manage to improve this.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2017
6.9

Fans but no air conditioning. The staff were locals and gave good pieces of advice. Very helpful. The facilities were not really satisfactory but ok to use and working.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ashevans411
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
4.0

Hard to review as we didn't end up staying there- she had our booking in her booking screen but they must not have had it in their system and subsequently were full & had no room for us. Utter nightmare at 10pm at night in Athens, in an incredibly rough area. Not once did they admit they had mucked our booking up let alone apologize, instead the owner walked us 5 mins to a completely different hostel which was a complete s**t hole so we left and stayed at a hotel. Not a good start to Athens!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2017
8.6

Very friendly staff. The rooms were nice with a nice balcony view. Location is a bit iffy if you're a solo female traveler but only if you're walking super late at night. 20 min walk to the Acropolis . It's also near very cool artsy district. There's no lockers. Bathrooms are around the hallway but the hot water works great. Recommend for budget traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
4.6

We were a group of 10 people with a booking at Athens House Hostel for a night. When we reached, it was difficult for us to locate the hostel from the street, the signs being not clear at all. When we showed up, we were informed that no rooms are available, to our great dismay. The hostel manager was very rude and refused to believe that the amount for the stay was already deducted from my card, despite showing him the SMS from my bank. We were finally given a room at a nearby hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2017
6.0

It's not a hostel as one would expect in Europe, Athens can't be that outdated. There's space and a little surfing to see how other hostels work could go a long way.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
2.6

The only nice thing about this hostel were the travellers passing by. At 10€ a night I did not expect luxury but this was awful.I booked a room for 3 and was put in a room of 5, changed rooms a total of 3 times in a week and I don't believe that the beds were even cleaned. The receptionist gave a bed to another traveller without changing the sheets (another girl used that bed earlier. )The kitchen has absolutely nothing to cook with and the stove doesn't work, food in fridge is never thrown out

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
3.7

I am by no means a picky traveler, I have stayed in many hoostels over the years a very rarely do I complain. However, the staff of this hostel did not make me feel comfortable. The first night we arrive they were not prepared for us, and 2 other bookings even though we could see our names in their reservation book. He had to take us down the road in the middle of the night to another hostel where we had to stay that night. Then we had to check out and check back into Athens house in the morning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
2.6

Very dangerous part of town, bathroom was very gross. Recommend not staying in this general area at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.