Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Athens International Youth Hostel - Victor Hugo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 884 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 884 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
2.6

The worst hostel between many others, the staff was really rude not respected or helpfull at all, the rooms were very small ,dirty and dark. There were not any hot water at the shower.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2017
8.6

We came in may, very nice staff and clean room. We found it was clean and very good value for the money. It's 5 minuts walking distance to the beautiful city center. Would revommend it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
7.7

Very descent hostel with a good value for money. The person working in the evening (Greek guy) is very knowledgeable and super friendly - go to him for your questions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
7.7

The staff are super nice here! The room was clean but unfortunately the beds were terrible. Mine sunk right by my neck so it made for a terrible sleep. Also the showers didn't drain so you have to shower very very quickly if you want to at all or else it'll flood the floor. The location was okay, the metro station was very close which was perfect, but don't go out at night. And there was no air conditioning so I was dying at night. Very nice people though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
9.1

The location is good, you can reach the metro line or catch a bus within 5 minutes walk, or less actually. Good and cheap greek restaurant around the corner. One can actually walk to any point in the centre of Athens from there. Best is the staff, really easy going, always willing to help and answer any questions. I recommend it 100%.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th May 2017
8.6

The hostel is really great. Friendly staff, good at helping out with any questions. The location is a bit far from the city center, but the walking is not so bad. The rooms are cleaned every day with your own locker. Would definitely recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th May 2017
2.0

Smoking in the reception all the time. The neighborhood it's doesn't feel safe at all, there are NO good common areas, and f they are the staff it's smoking, NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL, pay but more for something decent.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
4.0

hostel has no AC. The wifi conks out every half hour. the manager didn't really care. The room was pitch black and he didn't tell us how to get power, the kitchen had really bad appliances so when we plugged in the microwave the entire basement or maybe whole hostel's power went out. Then one traveller got fully electrocuted by the plug to which the manager didn't acknowledge. The shower is shoulder width. Atmosphere is non-existent. I'd only recommend this place to my worst enemy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
7.7

The hostel looked a little bit old. The worst thing was that the shower head couldn't be hang from anywhere on the wall. Therefore having a shower was a pain. Apart from that my stay was pleasant and the staff quite helpful. Good to stay for a short time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
7.7

Somewhat shady area (Homeless people did ask me for money on the way from Syntagma Square) but I never felt unsafe in the neighborhood. Not sure if the system they have for giving keys is completely secure. Location only a mile away from city center and Acropolis so you don't really need public transport to see that. Staff are hardworking, helpful, and friendly! Easy to make acquaintances of fellow travelers. Some surfaces in rooms are dusty but otherwise clean. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.