Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Athens International Youth Hostel - Victor Hugo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2017
4.0

Wifi was slow and the 3 computers at the lobby didn't work, the building looks very old and creepy not like the photos shown on their page.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
6.6

For a few days our stay was great value for money. The bathroom really needs some renovation and it wasn't possible to take a shower without getting some of the bathroom wet. Staff was really friendly though and location good (close to Metro station & several bakeries/cafés). The room was big and had a balcony (double ensuite room). A good budget option if you are not too picky! 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
2.9

Stay here if you want to deal with cockroaches, indifferent staff, credit card difficulties, lack of a working A/C, no breakfast, bad wifi, a decaying building and a color of walls that will remind you of Chernobyl. All of this, in a sketchy neighborhood, with excellent views to nothing at all. But the Metro station is close, though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
8.0

Good for the money! Give it a try.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
6.0

Overall the hostel was ok. It was close to metro station and you could walk to city center. However, the area the hostel was in was a bit rough and felt kinda unsafe. The dorm room was small and a bit unclean but it had its own bathroom. Wifi worked good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
10.0

I was very happy with my stay at this hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great because it was close to the metro and The room was clean. What more could I ask for? I would most certainly stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
4.0

I recommend not going here. It's in a sketchy neighborhood, I was scared to walk alone, they say they take card but they don't, most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on at a hostel, you can only lock the room if you are the last person to leave because there is only 1 key, shower was extremely small, no soap to wash hands, it looks worse in real life than it does on the pictures, wifi worked pretty good though. I would never stay here again and I wish I would have stayed somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
8.6

It was a good, strong "Okay" as far as hostels go. Not at all exotic, but it got the job done.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
7.7

It definitely is not the nicest part of town. All the staff I had contact with seemed to rather be somewhere else. But were not outright rude. The room was clean and the bathroom floor flooded after every shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th May 2017
6.9

You get what you pay for. The rooms are not air conditioned but I found it fine with the balcony door open. Not a great place to chat to other travellers... at least that was my experience. It's good that there was a bathroom connected to my room so I did have to share with a whole floor. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.