X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Athenstyle Reviews

Agias Theklas 10, Monastiraki, Athens, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1506 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Amazing location for tourists, you can walk to acropolis in a short time!


71%

* Reception staff friendly * Bed comfortable and clean * Nice view from roof bar (although bar itself small) * Dorm room (105) was damp with mould above the window * Shower in bathroom slow draining - caused a bad smell * Bathroom cramped with insufficient ventilation * Extra shower cubicle opening direct into dorm room (?!?) * Card for lights in shared dorm room stupid idea (people stuck in bathroom in dark!) * Hostel mainly occupied by large groups rather than independent travelers


97%

AthenStyle was excellent. Great location, very close to the metro and the touristy part of Athens, but a short drive/walk to all the major sites. I felt very safe and was comfortable enough to leave my possessions in my room while we went out for the day. My room was very clean and had a gorgeous view of the Acropolis. I enjoyed the free breakfast every day and the staff was most helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall a good hostel, but was let down by a couple of major points. Booked hostel based on rooftop bar (which was AMAZING), but also on kitchen facilities (stove was not working whilst there, and even then you have to eat in the cramped kitchen) and the pool table (also out of order). Couldn't understand why this rule was in place. But worse was the mould in our room - if you get room 105, run. Apart from this, loved the hostel, particularly roof top bar and bar staff!


83%

Hostel was nice and in a fantastic location. Bathrooms were quite cramped though. Every bed had its own power outlet and reading light. WiFi only available in the common area, and for some reason the WiFi refused to connect to people's email accounts. There are laundry facilities, but they cost 10 Euros to wash and dry, which seems pretty unreasonable. Reception seemed nicer to people who spoke Greek or Spanish, then English. Over all stay was fine though.


80%

Very organised,central,clean and informative. Communal kitchen is a bit dingy and I can't imagine anyone paying 10 euros to watch a DVD on the home cinema, but the facilities are there. Be aware that you can only eat and drink your own food in the kitchen.


94%

The location is PERFECT,i would definately stay there again.


94%

Enjoyed everything while staying here especially the location so handy!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice atmosphere, kind staff, cosy kitchen, very clean. Breakfast included in price and beautiful rooftop bar. What else can you pretend?


97%

Thanks for the unforgettable stay!


91%

The position was great! It is 1 minute walk from Monastiraki square, the heart of the city. The room (double) was very large, clean and confortable. Tne rooftop is amazing: enjoy a beer looking right at the Pantheon.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Well it was really what I hoped it would be, our room was very nice, very clean, we had a very nice view to the acropolis, the breakfast was ok, the staff were really friendly and helpfull and the location its very good since you have everything really close, you can go anywhere walking or if you want to go a little far away you can take the subway that its very close too I definitly recommend this hostel :)


83%

Had a great time; well located in the city and the hostel had a great roof top bar!


69%

Wifi was only provided in the lobby (not in the individual rooms), which was a bit of a hassle. Additionally, in order to have the lights on, you needed to place your key card in the light switch. Then, when someone left, the lights would turn off. The steps were very poorly lit, and they were a bit hard to navigate in the dark. There were not enough outlets in the room for each person to be charging at the same time. Overall, though, an average experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WiFi is provided for free in common areas so we encourage everyone not to lock themselves up in their rooms! Still you can buy a code and work from your room if you need to. Key card operated power is common in most hotels of the world that have a green policy, and we are happy to be one of them! To switch the light on the steps you need to press the switch, sorry you didnt see it - switches are lit in the dark. And we have one plug for each bed in all rooms, sorry you didnt see them. Ask us!

94%

The shower curtain in the room was far too short and the bathroom floor was always wet. Other than that, Athenstyle hostel may be the best hostel I've ever stayed at in the 21 countries I've visited. Great location, great value for money and awesome rooftop bar


100%

There was a really great atmosphere in the hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was perfect and the hostel was so central it was easy to walk to all the major sites.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff are the real heart of Athenstyle. They we're warm, knowledgable, fun and made us feel like a family. The facilities we're great, bar was cheap and great view! Expensive laundry and a few goofy rules (like no food anywhere except the kitchen). Trust your AMAZING staff. But overall, loved our stay, the tour leaves directly from door and great restaurants nearby! You may even meet your new best bud.


94%

Great roof top bar to meet people.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing location, just in a middle of everything, clean, friendly, with a roof terrace with a view to acropolis


97%

Perfect location in down town Athens, close to acropolis etc. Staff and facilities all excellent. Couples room was Hugh with its own balcony looking at the Acropolis! Huge lockers €2 per day, close to metro direct to and from airport. Wifi only in lobby but worked well even with lots of others using it.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback