X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Athenstyle Reviews

Agias Theklas 10, Monastiraki, Athens, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1982 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff answered all questions immediately. The location is amazing, literally two minutes (with a massive backpack) from Monastraki Metro station, Hadrien's library and other ruins. The roof top bar is a great place to go even if you just want to watch the sun set over Athens.


77%

The check out it s so early. We have to pay to let the luggage. No heaten in bedroom

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. Our check out time is at 10am, this is in order to give time to our team of cleaners to clean and prepare all the rooms for the future guests to check in by 2pm. We provide lockers in our basement where you can store your luggage for hours or day. The cost to use these lockers is 0.20 cents per hour for a small luggage or 0.50 cents per hour for a big luggage. All our rooms have heating, if the heating was not on in your room, you simply had to inform the receptionist and we would turn it on for you. Happy Travels, AthenStyle.

71%

The staff were great, location good. I gave very poor for the facilities because the owners' obvious focus on making money. The internet was absolutely terrible. A lot of sites just wouldn't load, like trip advisor, hostelworld....well half of all google searches, really. Want to send a photo on Whatsapp? Forget it! They obviously know this and don't care. No outside food or drinks, annoying 10 am checkout, token breakfast of only a 2 hour period, just felt greedy. Wouldn't stay there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you were not well informed about how the hostel works. Our free wifi works well in the lobby, in case too many people are connected at one point in time, it is normal for the speed to go down. However, for people who need to use a faster internet connection we also have desktops in our basement available for use. Food bought from the outside can be stored, cooked or consumed in the common kitchen. We have a kitchen in the ground floor so that our guests can prepare fresh meals. Check out time is at 10am so that our team of cleaners can assure that all rooms will be cleaned and ready for future guests to check in by 2pm. Last but not least, we offer free continental breakfast from 8am-10am, with freshly baked bread, fruit and cereal. Happy Travels, AthenStyle.

89%

Breakfast was simple. It's nice the common rooms aren't on the same floors as the rooms so you aren't bothered of you want to go to bed early. Most of the staff was great, but had a few members who were not very helpful or didn't speak English well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. Our free continental breakfast is served every day with freshly baked bread and fruit. Our team does their best to serve you well and if you have some difficulties to communicate with one member of staff there are others that can help you with anything you may need. Happy Travels, AthenStyle.

100%

I've worked there for a while 6 years ago so not very objective, but this hostel has the best location, staff and facilities i've ever seen in a hostel. The rooftop bar with view on the acropolis is not only cheap but also offers the best view of athens, and you can meet really cool people there. They have every sort of room you could wish for, so just head up and book it :) Very central, direct from the airport by metro (45 minutes) and yeah just cool :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking some time to review our hostel. It's always great to welcome back an old friend. We hope to be able to welcome you and all other visitors or former workers for many more years. See you soon, AthenStyle.

94%

The staff here are friendly and really helpful. The location is easy to find and central enjoyed the walking tour. The wifi is a little bit of a nuisance. I will be back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking some time to review our hostel. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay at AthenStyle. Our free wifi works currently only in the lobby but will expand in the future to all rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Happy Travels, AthenStyle

74%

It is frustrating that the kitchen closes at nine... And you can't eat your ow food in the common areas. It's clear they want you to buy their food at the bar but as a long term traveler that's very frustrating. The rooms were a bit small as well but worth it for the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, First of all, thank you for staying with us. Our kitchen is open for 13 hours from 8:00am until 9:00pm . We close it at 9, because it has to be cleaned for the next day. As for the common areas, we do it for health reasons and also because some people don't like the smell of food when they are sitting in the lobby. We give you the option to consume your own food in the kitchen. Thank you for the understanding and we hope to see you again! AthenStyle team

100%

My travel group and I stayed in Athens style one night then used their automated lockers for a weekend. Everything was awesome. The front desk was helpful, helped us print flight documents, get a cab, and provided maps. Room was clean. Wifi worked great and the rooftop bar is AWESOME. Spectacular views of the acropolis and literally a block away from the main square and train station. If I go back to Athens I will stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveller, First of all thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We are always trying our best to keep our customers satisfied and provide high levels of customer service. We hope to see you again in our hostel and the city of Athens and we wish you safe travels. Kind regards, Athenstyle

80%

Great location! Staff was very helpful. I was there during the off-season so it wasn't too lively of a place but I'm sure otherwise it's a more energetic atmosphere. Roof top bar had great views and I really liked that they made it "winter friendly". My only complaint is that the wifi sucks. When using my phone even in the main area it was extremely slow and I wasn't able to access anything other than fb messenger and email. No web-brower or google. Others had the same problem.


77%

Good place great personal but showers dirty, mold in the walls and curtains and way too much mosquitos because of the dirty bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveller, First of all, thank you for staying with us. Sometimes, because of the high levels of humidity we experience here in Greece, mold is appearing in the bathrooms but we get to remove it immediately. Mosquitoes are also part of the humid climate and they have nothing to do with dirtiness . They could have appeared everywhere if you leave the windows open. Thank you for the understanding and we wish you safe travels. AthenStyle team

74%

Excellent location..very close to main market - monasraki and acropolis and othet tourist locations

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We are located right in the center of Athens within walking distance of the main archaeological sites. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels, AthenStyle

97%

it was fine

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us! Happy Travels, AthenStyle.

80%

Very good location but the rooms are pretty small. The wifi is not always reliable. Bathroom is also very small. Probably would opt for one of the private rooms to make it more comfortable if you are planning to stay for a while. The best part is the rooftop bar with incredible views of the Acropolis.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We have other types of rooms such as Studios (3 or 4 people) with and without Acropolis view, Doubles as well as the Dorms. Check out our new Deluxe Double rooms too! Happy Travels, AthenStyle.

40%

Yikes. This place had mold in the shower and the 4 person room they put me in was so small I could reach out and touch the person next to me while laying down. The walls were paper thin so you could hear all the street noise and people coming back at 3am. Great location is the only reason to stay here. Would definitely book somewhere else in the same area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Mary, I am very sorry to hear that. I have to admit that we never had any complains about the size of the rooms (especially for the 4 bed dorms). Also, we check every room one by one on a regular basis to see if everything meets our cleaning standards.,In this specific case mold was immediately removed. As for the noise, we are located in the heart of the city so sometimes it gets noisy.

97%

the best spot in athens in the middle of busy area... resto shopping tourist attraction... roofbar is the must with amazing staff and the view of athens in the day for brunch or at night time is a must see discount for 3nights is pretty cool and the staff at the reception helps with smile nothing to say except see u next time


69%

The hostel was located really center, easy for airport, easy for museum, and acropolis also to just get around in genral. The rooftopbar is also a great view, and happy hour. The only problem is the internet, it cuts you off and then you have to login with a password and it just quit annoying. But once your logged in, it works well. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking some time to review our hostel. We take into consideration all the comments made by our guests. We would like to inform you that we are now in process of installing free Wifi in all rooms. Besides the free wifi, we also have computers available for guests who wish to have a faster cable connection. Happy Travels, AthenStyle.

80%

This hostel was super cute! Really nice common area but the rooftop bar area is much smaller than suggested online. The bar was very weird and the woman working at the bar along with the group of solely middle aged men chilling in there was super uncomfortable. I decided not to go back. Cheap happy hour but if you're alone i wouldn't suggest this place or Athens in general.. As a young woman walking alone I didn't feel safe at all. cool sights though


97%

doesn't look anything like the pictures.


80%

Very friendly & welcoming staff


83%

Perfect location to visit the best parts of the city.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback