X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Athenstyle Reviews

Agias Theklas 10, Monastiraki, Athens, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1579 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

the hostel is amazing, they offer luggage saving before check-in. and the view in the roof-top is great as well. the atmosphere is so great in their common area. however wifi could not be used in the dorm is kind of bothering, need to go to the common...


89%

I stayed in Athenstyle for two nights and the hostel is in an excellent location and the staff is great. The rooftop bar is a very good place to have a good time and some beers with a good view of the city. The only thing is that my bathroom (whicch were two in my room) were really really really small and the water coming out of the shower was horrible, it came out like 5 drops of water by the minute, horrible and you have to press a button many times so it comes out. the rest was good.


49%

When booked in sent to room in building next door which was like a run down apartment block. All the facilities were next door. Bathroom in room never seemed clean, shower curtain too short, lock on toilet door broken, and a window in the shower door which is in the middle of the dorm. I don't like making eye contacts with ransoms while drying myself. Receptionist wasn't friendly. Can only eat in a tiny kitchen, not in common area. No wifi in rooms. Only good thing was the location.


94%

Great location, super friendly staff, extremely comfortable beds, fast internet. Also has free walking tours every morning! Right near the Acropolis and the metro :)


91%

Amazing location for tourists, you can walk to acropolis in a short time!


69%

Breakfast is awfull, we skipped it after trying it once. If you get there early with luggages, you'll have to pay for lockers. Staff is friendly but unhelpfull, they won't guide you for your first steps in the city. Rooftop bar is nice and not expensive but very noisy at night, even weekdays. Wifi is slow, and only accessible from the hostel's entrance, where there's an annoying whistling noise coming from soundspeakers. Cheap hostel, ok if you're travelling on a budget.


71%

* Reception staff friendly * Bed comfortable and clean * Nice view from roof bar (although bar itself small) * Dorm room (105) was damp with mould above the window * Shower in bathroom slow draining - caused a bad smell * Bathroom cramped with insufficient ventilation * Extra shower cubicle opening direct into dorm room (?!?) * Card for lights in shared dorm room stupid idea (people stuck in bathroom in dark!) * Hostel mainly occupied by large groups rather than independent travelers


97%

AthenStyle was excellent. Great location, very close to the metro and the touristy part of Athens, but a short drive/walk to all the major sites. I felt very safe and was comfortable enough to leave my possessions in my room while we went out for the day. My room was very clean and had a gorgeous view of the Acropolis. I enjoyed the free breakfast every day and the staff was most helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall a good hostel, but was let down by a couple of major points. Booked hostel based on rooftop bar (which was AMAZING), but also on kitchen facilities (stove was not working whilst there, and even then you have to eat in the cramped kitchen) and the pool table (also out of order). Couldn't understand why this rule was in place. But worse was the mould in our room - if you get room 105, run. Apart from this, loved the hostel, particularly roof top bar and bar staff!


83%

Hostel was nice and in a fantastic location. Bathrooms were quite cramped though. Every bed had its own power outlet and reading light. WiFi only available in the common area, and for some reason the WiFi refused to connect to people's email accounts. There are laundry facilities, but they cost 10 Euros to wash and dry, which seems pretty unreasonable. Reception seemed nicer to people who spoke Greek or Spanish, then English. Over all stay was fine though.


80%

Very organised,central,clean and informative. Communal kitchen is a bit dingy and I can't imagine anyone paying 10 euros to watch a DVD on the home cinema, but the facilities are there. Be aware that you can only eat and drink your own food in the kitchen.


94%

The location is PERFECT,i would definately stay there again.


94%

Enjoyed everything while staying here especially the location so handy!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice atmosphere, kind staff, cosy kitchen, very clean. Breakfast included in price and beautiful rooftop bar. What else can you pretend?


97%

Thanks for the unforgettable stay!


91%

The position was great! It is 1 minute walk from Monastiraki square, the heart of the city. The room (double) was very large, clean and confortable. Tne rooftop is amazing: enjoy a beer looking right at the Pantheon.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Well it was really what I hoped it would be, our room was very nice, very clean, we had a very nice view to the acropolis, the breakfast was ok, the staff were really friendly and helpfull and the location its very good since you have everything really close, you can go anywhere walking or if you want to go a little far away you can take the subway that its very close too I definitly recommend this hostel :)


83%

Had a great time; well located in the city and the hostel had a great roof top bar!


69%

Wifi was only provided in the lobby (not in the individual rooms), which was a bit of a hassle. Additionally, in order to have the lights on, you needed to place your key card in the light switch. Then, when someone left, the lights would turn off. The steps were very poorly lit, and they were a bit hard to navigate in the dark. There were not enough outlets in the room for each person to be charging at the same time. Overall, though, an average experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WiFi is provided for free in common areas so we encourage everyone not to lock themselves up in their rooms! Still you can buy a code and work from your room if you need to. Key card operated power is common in most hotels of the world that have a green policy, and we are happy to be one of them! To switch the light on the steps you need to press the switch, sorry you didnt see it - switches are lit in the dark. And we have one plug for each bed in all rooms, sorry you didnt see them. Ask us!

94%

The shower curtain in the room was far too short and the bathroom floor was always wet. Other than that, Athenstyle hostel may be the best hostel I've ever stayed at in the 21 countries I've visited. Great location, great value for money and awesome rooftop bar


(62 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback