Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Atlas House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 417 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Mar 2017
10.0

Clean kitchen and bathrooms, super nice staff, and amazing pancake breakfast! Just hoping that there are supermarkets closer to the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

The staff was awesome and the people I met there were super friendly. Located in Garden District, it gives you the opportunity to go in the opposite direction of Party Land (Bourbon St. reachable in a 20 min. walk or Street Car 12 thru Saint Charles St.) and discover the southwest part of New Orleans. During Mardi Gras season you may have a not-as-crowded view of the Parades at a 5 min. walk toward Saint Charles St. In summary, it is a relaxed hostel with a family-type atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

The Atlas House truly made me feel like I was staying wth friends! The communal feel of the rooms, kitchen and outdoor patio made for a friendly atmosphere and comfortable stay. The rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean and the staff are friendly and very helpful. They organized a pub crawl to Frenchmen street which made my last night filled with music and dancing! I HIGHLY recommend this hostel to anybody traveling to New Orleans!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

My time at Atlas House was enjoyable. The guests and staff were bright and fun and kind and we had a good time getting acquainted. The location couldn't have been better. Just an FYI the 'twin beds' in one of the private rooms was bunk beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
6.3

The hostel had all the basics, but wasn't very nice. I stayed in the back house which had a non-working kitchen and really dirty bathroom. Some of the beds weren't even in a bedroom and were just out in a main room that everyone had to walk through. I didn't feel completely safe because the bedroom that I was in had an open window on the ground floor. The staff was nice and helpful and made a nice pancake breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for staying with us and really sorry we did not meet your expectations! All of our rooms have windows in them and close and lock from the inside. When the weather is nice, guests usually like to open the window but you are more than welcome to close and lock these at anytime. The kitchen in the dorm room is just used for any guest groceries that you would like to store in the fridge near your bed but all cooking is done in the main kitchen so that the dorm guests are not disturbed. I will immediately address the staff on cleaning the bathroom better - really sorry for that. If you are ever in New Orleans again, pleases contact me and I will definitely offer you a special rate to make up for your bad experience. Thanks again for everything : )

1st Feb 2017
10.0

It was my first hostel in the states. It was really great!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review! We really enjoyed meeting you and hope to have you in Nola again.

26th Jan 2017
9.4

I had a great stay with Atlas House. The staff was the best and always there to answer some questions to get around NOLA. The other biggest plus was the distance to the St. Charles trolley, short walk and ride right to the French Quarter and Tulane when I needed to visit there. The Garden District is also well worth the exploration. It doesn't look it right off the bat but being on Magazine street is a beautiful walk with shops and check out District Donuts. I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
8.6

Atlas House is a very nice hostel in the Garden District in NOLA. It's just far enough away from the hectic tourist centers of the city to be it's own experience, with plenty to see, eat, and drink nearby. While the house can creak and seem old at night, as long as you don't mind being occasionally woken up by passerbys and late night revelers returning form the bars, it's great. Free breakfast in the morning is also a nice addition.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Great location, great staff, had a wonderful stay. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Both the manager Jessica and the front desk staff were amazing. They were extremely accommodating and timely answering all of my questions. They run a great house!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.