Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Auberge Bagatelle

  • 25 allées Antoine Pinay, Ile de la Barthelasse, Avignon, France

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.1
Auberge Bagatelle Located at 25 allées Antoine Pinay, Ile de la Barthelasse, Avignon.
Auberge Bagatelle
France
Avignon Vaucluse 84000 25 allées Antoine Pinay, Ile de la Barthelasse
67% 1028
43.9527877 4.7991800
Auberge Bagatelle
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2016
6.0

Hostel Auberge-Bagatelle was a decent experience. The office is located in a restaurant Bagatelle, next-door to the hostel, and they are a bit short-staffed (took a while to help us). Their breakfast is 5 euro and you get a croissant, bread, juice, and coffee. The beds were a bit uncomfortable but we had very nice roommates so it made up for the uncomfortability. The bathrooms are a bit old but they were fairly well-kept. It was a very cheap stay, so if you're trying to save money, I'd try it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are aware for improvement requests and will try to keep low prices and make a few improvements. Breakfast is 5 euros and proposes, warm drink + juice or fruit + croissant or cereals + bread + butter + jam.

13th Aug 2016
6.6

The hostel is a little creepy, is really really basic hostel just to sleep and thats it. No lockers in the room, check-in after 17h, 10 min walking to the cente. What you pay is what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your realistic feedback. no individual lockers in the room, but general locker kept in the safe of the direction. Try to improve during the coming winter.

  • tamarah016742
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
2.0

Do not stay here! I have stayed all around the world. There is woman there who is sooooo rude. I will not say her name. But, she refused to help me with some basic things. Showers and bathroom is very dirty. Building smells musty and looks like a prison. Go to pop hostel if you are not camping. You are warned. My one sheet was very clean.lol

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to read your review on the different media (HW / tripadvisor...., you have widely diffused) that you have been so disappointed. Our reception team is composed of 5 persons, and 3 of them speak fluent english. The lady who received you did not intend to be rude but does not speak much english (despite english courses provided).She stressed, as you were speaking very quickly in english. Therefore we do apology if she has not been able to inform you correctly on miscellaneous subjects. In addition of the rooms cleaned from 9:00 to 16:45 by our room team, the washrooms are cleaned from 7:00 to 9:00 am and from 11:00 to 12:00 am and from 6:00 to 7:30 pm. Of course you can always find better but 10 euros more per person is important amount for very tight budgets. Our hostel does not look like a prison ! it is much exagerated, even "diffamatoire".

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
6.6

Location and hospitality of staff is fine, but all is pretty basic! Does what it says on the tin.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. We are aware it it is basic, but we try to keep low prices the tight budgets. We are trying to progress, as much as possible

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.0

Perfect place to spend a couple of nights in Avignone. The position is Great and the staff was very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you appreciated your stay with us. Hoping to have pleasure of welcoming you at another time.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.3

Cheap and clean only real problems where a ten to 15 minute walk in to town and no security lockers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
6.9

Everything was clean although they don't provide any linen. The staff were quite rude and unfriendly. You can easily walk to the center of Avignon, although it is a bit difficult to find. Good thing was that breakfast was included in the price, and it was good food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your impartial feedback. Happy you find the rooms clean and the food good. Bottom sheet provided for hygiene matters, but top sheet not. We prefer to keep prices as low as possible for very tight budgets. Possible to rent on spot or to bring your own sheet. However the information is given on the site. Sorry if staff not as friendly as you wish. Crowdy in july, and someetimes we have just no time to spend much time with clients. We'll try to do better in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
3.7

This hostel is really not a very inviting place in the slightest. the staff is not helpful and rude and there are hardly any signs to show you what to do when you get in the hostel. the rooms are creepy and dark all the time and the bathrooms are so disgusting we didn't even use them. we had a room with a door to the outside that was definitely not secure. the front door to the hostel was left wide open at all times. the whole place gave the feeling of staying in an abandoned warehouse.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you did not appreciate your stay. We have a staff cleaning team, from 6:00 am to 16:45 and from 18:: to 21:00 to clean it, it's a crowdy period, and we cannot be behind each shower in permanence. Your room (nr 10) was effectively not very bright, as the new neighbour building )is hiding a lot of the clarty. However the room was completely renovated at the end of last month, and painted : ceiling in white and walls in light turquoise colour, and the wardrobe is brand new. In the corridors there are "pastel colours" and bright paintings, it is regularly renovated. Therefore, pretending that this room is "creepy" is much exagerated and unfair. Your door has a key, and if you close the outdoor to the balcony thoroughly, I don't understand what is insecure. Only girls rooms on this balcony. In addition, we hire 2 safety men per night and 1 safety man during the day, turning around and controlling the accesses at the entrance and inside the establishment (bracelets given to each client to allow that) during the famous Avignon theater and dance festival, which is A THE MOST FAMOUS AND CROWDY EVENT IN THE YEAR, We can listen attentively to clients feedbacks to make better, however your feeling of staying in an abandoned warehouse during festival, drives me very perplex (whole day non stop clients "défilé" - 1000 clients per day between camping + hotel + hostel + restaurants !)

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Très bien placé et bien accueillie

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2016
5.1

no room key because it was lost, no wi-fi, bathrooms smelt funky, overall an average hostel in a caravan park. don't stay for too long.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a pity to reduce such a nice location (hotel / youth hostel / camping (for tents as for camping cars) / restaurants place / little supermarket) along the river, facing historical monuments, shaded by century "platane" trees, in a green surrounding to a simple" tarmac" caravan park ! If people forget to get the key back or lose it. as we are in full season, all the keys are given, We cannot chase the clients to take the keys back, or change the locks rapidly. . We'll try to do better for bathrooms despite a cleaning team present from 6:00 to 16:45 and from 18:: to 21:00.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.