X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Auberge Bagatelle Reviews

25 allées Antoine Pinay, Ile de la Barthelasse, Avignon, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
844 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

its very cheap price, nothing more. and there have wifi, 4euro per week.


97%

We had a great stay in the hostel, the staff is very, very friendly! The location is great, on the island, and it's close to the city center. You have also a great view on the city, especially by night! I can really recommand this hostel!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It was clean but the building smelled really bad and you could see a lot of mould in the room (12a) on the ceiling.


97%

good value and have wifi.


74%

you get a nice view of the city on the riverside. its a pretty cold and clinic atmosphere. no couches no chilling area. u re in ur room or u are out of the hostel. not far from the city center (quite far from the train station)


46%

If you like to stay away to hole night and bring guys back in girlsdorms it is the place for you. Much noice from other people troughout the night, couldnt sleep well. There is also no free Wi-Fi and if you go dont forget your own sheeds they are not profided. I dont recommend going there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
it was a mistake (guests make mistakes in reserving males or females dorms by internet. It's not as if it was usual) for 11€ out of taxes, you have a bed, bottom sheet, pillow case, blanket, electricity, hot shower, householdprovided. Top sheet is additional at 2.90€. For sure, you can find better place, but not at this price.

80%

This hostel is located over the river from Avignon, in the middle of a camp. There were no problems with the staff, only bathroom sometimes lacked of warm water and WIFI was 6 euros per day, but the signal was very poor, so we had to use it outside the house. Otherwise, beautiful location, kind staff... Bar and shop are located next door and are camp priced...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Wifi in high season (july 1st to August 17th was more expensive, as unaccessible if too many users. Presently from August 18th : 24 hours = 1.50 euro / 3 days = 2.50 euros / 7 days = 4 euros. Cordially,

86%

it was a really nice surprise we booked the double room for just 20,- p.P. and it was similar to a hotel room with your own bathroom. really clean and next to a camping station a bit hard to find but just 15 minutes from the city centre. the only problem, the reception is only opened at a certain time so you have to plan ahead and calculate waiting time. there is also a small shop and a restaurant. pictures are worse than the place itself.


37%

people are rude and don't give information and are never helpfull


83%

It was really really hot inside the room, i guess they had a problem with the climatization.


83%

Had a shop in the premises. Next to the river. A 10-minute walk to the centre.


71%

Too much mosquitoes in the night and nearly cannot sleep! Need to wrap myself completely. Remember to bring repellent if you are afraid of mosquitoes.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Attached to a campground on an island in the Rhone. Mattresses were nothing to write home about and the room had few power points. Location was isolated but an easy 10 minute walk into town. Poor security: no lockers in the room, multiple rooms sharing a single porch.


57%

You get what you pay for. It's a hike outside the city, no place to store belongings in the room, but you can put you stuff in the safe at the front desk. No kitchen and you have to pay for wifi.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

When we arrived the staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful in helping us to find where to check in. When they took a passport as a key deposit (despite us offering money instead) they simply left it on the counter in the middle of the restaurant rather than putting it safely. There was no way to leave our stuff in our rooms securely and no air conditioning in the boiling room. We were only staying for one night but the whole experience was something we wouldn't want to repeat.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

No free wifi, no kitchen, which is a dis-merit. But the location is nice in the sense that you can look at the castle and the bridge from the other side of the Rhone river, very beautiful. It does not makes me feel too secure. Staff are mostly friendly and speaks a little bit English. Not much atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
1 Security man every night from 8:00 pm to 7.:00 am out of the festival / 2 security men every night + 1 each day during july. colour bracelet different for camping, hostel individual and hostel group. Therefore you can feel secure ! out of season wifi, when you were here in june : 1.50 € for 24 hours, its not a huge dismerit - Cordially

31%

The toilets and sinks were gross, there were no lockers and the staff wasn't very helpful. The place lacks atmosphere of any sort and can probably get away with the bad service because it's the only hostel in town. And, wifi really is a must, we're in the 21st century after all...


71%

The lady who works in the shops was quite rude in the morning when I entered the shop before it had 'officially opened'.




View all Avignon Hostels

Please give us your feedback