X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Auberge Bagatelle Reviews

25 allées Antoine Pinay, Ile de la Barthelasse, Avignon, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
929 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Clean and cozy hostel. I didn't expect this hostel to be comfortable. But it really was

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Basic facilities but clean - great location - within a camping ground...certainly not expensive - there was god live music at the cafe/ restaurant which is the reception office - also a bonus.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Correct for the price, but no services, no kitchen, no living room where to meet other travelers, the rooms are quite ok, could be cleaner, and the toilets too, but could be cleaner too. The good thing are the prices.


63%

Staff were a bit and a bit lacking, but functional and good as a budget bed for a night.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Lots of people hanging out outside by the river all night,loud music and shouting. Other than that, great value for money


66%

Not as bad as we were expecting! We stayed in the hostel just one night as we were passing through Avignon. Beds are comfy, rooms are clean, and it's cheap which is what we wanted. Really close to the historical city. Have to rent a locker which is a bit of a pain. I think this is great for one night but if I wouldn't recommend if you were staying longer - there is no vibe, it's mostly just a campsite. Only place to hang out is by the cafe and the wifi is pretty bad.


69%

This place is ideal for 1 or 2 nights, because of its affordability and location, but any longer than that, and the lack of wifi, kitchen/fridge or lockers will become an issue. The staff speak little English, and aren't the friendliest, but they're not flat out rude or anything. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the bathrooms are adequate. And is only a short walk across the bridge to old town. Perfect for a short stay.


80%

The location of this hostel is great- by the river with a view of the St Benezet bridge and Popes palace and only a 5 minute walk into the city walls. The rooms, toilets and showers are spotlessly clean, but the shower was not great and tiny... the pressure was too powerful without an adjustable head so everywhere got soaked. There was also no air con or fan in the little rooms so we boiled! You have to pay for wifi per person and it doesn't even work in the rooms, only the cafe so not worth it!


91%

It was a surprising excellent stay in the hot weather of Avignon two steps in front of the its hotest and most famous bridge. Best location ever ! J'aime ces vitraux au-dessus du bar et des charmants réceptionnistes/barwomen :)


51%

Would not recommend this hostel unless you are really strapped for cash and/or will only be here for 1 night TOPS. I found staff slightly rude. Wifi was not working so I inquired about paying for wifi and was told "...if you pay, it may or may not work, but it should be ok." Security I rate low because the balcony which leads to your exterior door leads to other dorms, there is no lock on your exterior door so people can just randomly walk in.


74%

Bit far from the train station if you're simply looking for an overnight stop whilst travelling. We had to leave before reception opened so the reception lady said my I.D (deposit) would be available at the gate. There was some confusion and unnecessary stress getting it back, but other than that, the stay was quite pleasant

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, always inform the reception, for any check out before reception opening (7:30 am), in order to organize the departure with the security man. if client or receptionist forget, little stress and around 5-10 minutes reactive time for the security man to call the night emergency contact, and to the person in charge to come and give back deposits (money or documents) kept in security.

77%

Cheap, basic and convenient . Somewhere to sit, apart from the restaurant or floor would have a bonus


63%

The best part is the location... it's a quick walk to Avignon center as it's just over the bridge. The other thing is that there's only 2 or 3 hostels in Avignon and this one was the best value for money by far. The worst part, well, a few: it's in a campsite, so it's campsite-y. Facilities are just OK. The staff is basically nonexistent, felt like reception was open 2h/day in the AM, barely spoke English. The free wifi in the lobby doesn't work. Fire alarm went off for hours at night w/ no fix.


86%

Everything was really wonderful except for the fact that there was no air conditioning and I had to sleep on the floor because it was so hot. Also no wifi which was a disappointment ! But overall experience was sweet! Loved the location and the view of Avignon !


63%

Very poor internet and very strange price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, strange price ? no : 15.60 € for the bed. However the additiona ,l city tax implemented by the city is 039 €

83%

It's clean and close to the city center. It does not offer common area that you could stay and chat with other backpackers, no free WIFI neither(6 euros for 24 hr.) And it's a bit far from the train station, 20-25 mins by foot. But if you're just looking for a clean, simple and cheap bed in Avignon for night, this is a good option.:)


46%

This is probably one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed at... good location but facility is so limited: no kitchen, no fridge to keep food, no fan (and it was very hot in July), internet is extremely slow and most of all, the staff doesn't really know what they are doing, very unhelpful... The front desk girl forgot to give me a security hand band so I I can come back to the hostel after 10pm. How am I supposed to know their policies?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Security band given for security agents to recognize clients, during festival time (from July 5th). On your arrival July 1st, we did not receive them yet, and started to deliver on july 3rd, only. Not cause the staff forgot or does not know what they are doing! We cannot provide fridges for 160 persons in the hostel / hotel No air conditionning, cheap hostel. you paid a bed 15.60 euros in a dormitory with shower. Don't find this price anywhere in Avignon during the festival

89%

The staff at the bar/reception Audrey is a very nice and patient girl. She helped me book the taxi and let me use the phone for some emergency calls--always smiling and friendly. Thank you Audrey! The place is just at the entrance of the old town with the very beautiful view of Pont d'Avignon and the river. The room was always cleaned when we were back. The only problem was the connection of WiFi---very poor signal so if you are looking for a non-disturbing holiday here it is!

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The restaurant is awesome!! The food is so delicious and the staffs are kind. And most of all, there're several lovely cats to be companies.


80%

Pros: Value for money is good, staff speak English mostly. A general store is available that sells most things, although odd opening hours. the one huge selling point is the location, you walk out of the campground and it's just this gorgeous view of the Palais des Papes. There is as well a nice promenade on the dike. Cons: no kitchen, no real social area,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, glad you appreciated your stay in Bagatelle. Shop opening hours from 8:00 to 12:00 morning for morning purchase (bread.... and people before departure or excursions ) and 17:00 to 20:00 evening (for people who arriving later in the camping and hostel) 7 days including sunday. It covers main expectations of the clients. During the festival in july, this time table is a bit extended Cordially

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Avignon Hostels

Please give us your feedback