Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Auberge Bagatelle

  • 25 allées Antoine Pinay, Ile de la Barthelasse, Avignon, France

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1071 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1071 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
4.6

if you want wi fi you have to PAY for that staff dont even speak english so it was hard to communicate with them, they wouldnt be able to help you if u need. the outside space is nice but the hostel is really badly located

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

At the hostel reception, only manager (me) and my colleague make the check-in and check out. Both of us speak fluently english .... surprised to read your comment.

  • markoticpaul9483
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.4

When you see the 7,4 it may seem bad, but I mean it isn't like that if your just a traveler who needs a place to stay for a night. But there's no lockers (you can leave valuable stuff on the reception but it's not open the whole night) and it's just mediocre. But as I said, if you just want to leave your stuff somewhere, explore to city and just come back to sleep then it's worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your feedback - Valuable are taken at reception but kept in the management safe. Access only by direction. You can take your valuable back from 7:30 to 14:00 and from 17:00 to 22:00 for the minimum (as during festival, we finish much later than that.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
7.7

Pretty much as bare-bones as advertised in these reviews: bring your own soap; there's a shared safe but no security lockers; linens not included; WiFI isn't free. But I didn't see evidence of any of the scary/gross stuff I read on here about roaches & dirtiness, and I found the staff super nice. Basically like camping with a roof & running water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your fair review, and happy to read that our staff have make you felt welcomed. Hope having the pleasure of welcoming you again.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
6.6

Location is great but requires 15-20 minutes walk from the city centre. It is a very simple hostel so if you are looking for a budget place, then this might be your choice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you to post your comment. We are located on the island at 5 minutes walking distance from the city (just cross half of the bridge and you are at the "porte de l'Oulle" on the square "Crillon" + 5 minutes walking distance to the historical center (total 10 minutes from hostel to the historical center), and 15-20 minutes according to the luggage from the hostel to the city train station. The city is surrounded by walls, with several doors "portes" so less or more distance, according to where you want to go in the city.

  • mickiac7998
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Jun 2017
3.1

Don't go here. No air con. No cooking facilities. Guests treated like paypigs. Avoid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • immy_b3105
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
3.4

Gross room. Felt unsafe, had gangs outside our window banging on our doors and playing weird rap music at 3am. Pillows crinkled. Wouldn't be surprised if I end up with tinea from the floor. No soap anywhere. Do not go. Ever.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bonjour, sorry to read you have not been satisfied. In the private rooms everything is provided, but in the dormitory, you have to bring your own soap. There is a security man turning whole night from 20:00 to 7:00 am in the morning, and in july during the festival 2 security agents per night. unfortunately, we are not responsible for the music outside our establishment. We will check other information you provided. Cordially.

1st Apr 2017
4.9

Absolutely no atmosphere. Literally just a place to drop bags and sleep. No value added anywhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bonjour, we are upset to read your comment. Your were attributed a private triple room with shower for the price of 3 beds in dormitory, so we are surprised to see you give 4.9 for value for money, and you write that there is no value added anywhere. we are closed to the city center, - 10 minutes walking distance, along the river, facing the historical monument, shop, cafe, restaurant, - too global comment to understand where we can improve.

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.6

It was not as bad as some reviews I had read. Quite clean and location is very convenient. I had a nice stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bonjour, thank you for your nice comment. We are glad that you have appreciated your stay. Hoping having pleasure to welcome you again.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2017
4.6

Very bare, worn out hostel. Was very dirty-hairs on floor and bed, a dead cockroach in my room and old chewing gum on the bed post. Didnt have much of an atmosphere at all, there's no place in the hostel to meet other guess and had a very impersonal, cold check in. The bathroom facilities were old and the showers lukewarm and no hand soap by any of the sinks. The hostel is in a very good position with a great view of the pont sur Avignon, with a bit of work it could be much better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bonjour, we are very confused to read your comment. We will control what happened in your room. You can meet other guests in the "café" or its terrace, without obligation of purchase. Nevertherless february is not the highest touristic season to meet lots of other persons. We are regularly renewing our facilities,and one female bathroom block has been totally renovated, and is brand new now. Price of dorm is very low (14.57 euros VAT included / 13.12 euros out of the taxes, guests have to bring their own soap and towels, (except in the private rooms with ensuite). We prefer to keep low prices for low budgets.) - Cordially

8th Feb 2017
5.4

This hostel is just fine. It's a bit creepy, located in the middle of a camp ground. It's a 10 minute walk or so deeply the city center which isn't ideal but manageable. There's not really much of a conman area at all so really difficult to meet people as a solo traveler. Not the worst place I've stayed in but I would say be prepared for the creepy vibe, and pretty awful shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hostel is quite in winter, that is why there are not many tourists to meet. You can meet in the "café", no obligation of drinking or eating, can bring and eat your own, inside or on the terrace. As it was quite you were given a private single room with its own shower in the small hotel for the same price (14.57 euros VAT included + city tax), instead of a bed in a shared dormitory in the youth hostel. We thought you would be very pleased with this higher standing. And even if you dislike, the value for money was really there. Hotel and the room you had was recently renovated, I am very surprised to read that you find the hotel creepy and the shower awful.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.