X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Auberge Bagatelle Reviews

25 allées Antoine Pinay, Ile de la Barthelasse, Avignon, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
788 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It was really really hot inside the room, i guess they had a problem with the climatization.


83%

Had a shop in the premises. Next to the river. A 10-minute walk to the centre.


71%

Too much mosquitoes in the night and nearly cannot sleep! Need to wrap myself completely. Remember to bring repellent if you are afraid of mosquitoes.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Attached to a campground on an island in the Rhone. Mattresses were nothing to write home about and the room had few power points. Location was isolated but an easy 10 minute walk into town. Poor security: no lockers in the room, multiple rooms sharing a single porch.


57%

You get what you pay for. It's a hike outside the city, no place to store belongings in the room, but you can put you stuff in the safe at the front desk. No kitchen and you have to pay for wifi.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

When we arrived the staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful in helping us to find where to check in. When they took a passport as a key deposit (despite us offering money instead) they simply left it on the counter in the middle of the restaurant rather than putting it safely. There was no way to leave our stuff in our rooms securely and no air conditioning in the boiling room. We were only staying for one night but the whole experience was something we wouldn't want to repeat.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

No free wifi, no kitchen, which is a dis-merit. But the location is nice in the sense that you can look at the castle and the bridge from the other side of the Rhone river, very beautiful. It does not makes me feel too secure. Staff are mostly friendly and speaks a little bit English. Not much atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
1 Security man every night from 8:00 pm to 7.:00 am out of the festival / 2 security men every night + 1 each day during july. colour bracelet different for camping, hostel individual and hostel group. Therefore you can feel secure ! out of season wifi, when you were here in june : 1.50 € for 24 hours, its not a huge dismerit - Cordially

31%

The toilets and sinks were gross, there were no lockers and the staff wasn't very helpful. The place lacks atmosphere of any sort and can probably get away with the bad service because it's the only hostel in town. And, wifi really is a must, we're in the 21st century after all...


71%

The lady who works in the shops was quite rude in the morning when I entered the shop before it had 'officially opened'.


57%

I didn't expect much for the low price (13.50€/night), and I was right. No kitchen or fridge for guests and uncomfortable beds. Otherwise nice location and again, you get what you paid for.


80%

Good for staying for 1-2 nights as the cost is extremely low. Not enough electrical sockets in dorms is problematic. They also want to keep your passport as a deposit of the key which is not a very good practice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, thanks for comment, lot of ploughs in the cafe, for free. guarantee for the key : 2 solutions : id card or 15 € to be reimbursed at the departure, with the key back

91%

Terrific value for money if you're after a quiet, family-friendly hostel. Located right next to the river, a short walk from the historic sights of the city. The building itself is a bit sparse and soulless, but at this price I really can't complain.


83%

Good hostel, I liked that it was out of town and by the river.. the round were very hot and there were no screens on the windows, do you couldn't open them without getting buds. Otherwise excellent


66%

It's a little far from Avignon station by walk. There are no blanket. But staff is very kind.




View all Avignon Hostels

Please give us your feedback