X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Auberge Bishop Reviews

1445 rue Bishop, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
514 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very convenient location, metro just right across the street! Beautiful building close to Catherine Street.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

J'ai eu l'occasion de faire une bonne quinzaine d'auberges a travers tout le Canada, Je n'ai jamais vue une bonne ambiance comme ici. On se sent directement chez soit, le I had the chance to try a lot of hostels in the Canada and I have never seen a athmosphere like this one. The STAFF is very friendly and make you feel directly like at home. Location and breakfast are perfect and the charm of the building make this hostel unique. I recommand the place for all the packpackers.


69%

Nice place to stay, close to shops and restaurants. Not too clean, not too dirty. Private rooms are good.


89%

The building is amazing, everything was very clean. I would stay here again!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The place was perfect. Downtown, super close to the Bell Center, Museum of Fine Arts, tons of Bars and restaurants and shops. Quiet at night, even with the windows open. Friendly staff. Friendly guests. Affordable prices. Comfortable bed. Functioning lockers. Clean bathrooms, though they crammed a lot of stalls in there (logically). Most folks staying there were 20s and 30s. Easy to find, cheap parking a block and a half away (2 minute walk, $25 for 24 hours), close to a couple metro stations.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great co-ed hostel. Shared a 4 bed room with 2 strangers. They were nice but we all slept at different times. Great price for value, location, and facilities.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, friendly staff, however they let long term guests sit and get drunk at the front door which creates a very bad first impression


94%

Loved the place. Our room, bathroom and kitchen were much more cleaner than what I usually find in hostels, the staff was very nice and welcoming and the overall atmosphere of the place was super happy-lets-party, which was exactly what we were looking for since we went to Montreal to party, drink and check out the pubs/clubs.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean, friendly staff, and perfect located in downtown! Recommendable!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The Hostel is in a good location. But the restrooms are very dirty, if you plan to rest, this is not a good option. People party a lot.


100%

Wonderful, friendly folks and quiet bedroom.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The Auberge Bishop is right in the Rue St.Catherine downtown corridor — a great location. The building has character and is comfortable, and it's a great value. Although I had read that guests were sometimes partying all night there, when I went it was very quiet all night, even though the hostel was full. The only downside: the shower heads point right out the opening of the shower stalls, so it's almost impossible to keep water from pooling on the floor — and not everyone even tries.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Alright hostel, but nothing outstanding. Aircon was fixed on a certain temperature which you could'nt change in the room. Location was alright, room and building were very nice. Bathrooms were mixed and not always clean. Staff was nice.


94%

This hostel was just two blocks from the metro, Bishop Street is filled with awesome pubs, and the staff here is awesome. Upon check-in we learned that they don't have a computer for guests, but the guy at reception let us use his own laptop to check our email. They were super nice! We had a private double room on the third floor and the bed was very comfortable, we were close to the bathroom, but not too close and we even had a thermostat remote for the room. We were very impressed here.


94%

Loved it here! Great location and staff!! Had so much fun I stayed for another two days! Water pressure is great in the showers, just make sure the curtain is completely closed or you'll flood the floors! :-) can't wait to come back!


69%

Very good located, right in the center of the city. Staff is nice and the place is pretty safe. But beds are unbelievably uncomfortable and the toilets and showers were rather dirty.


91%

Stayed here just one night on august long, 30$ for the night. Amazing location, was just off the Main Street with all the shopping and plenty of restraunt options. And was only 2 blocks away from the 747 bus stop (10$ , straight ride from airport) Staff were nice and helpful, doors locked, clean bathrooms, good neighbourhood, will definately be staying here again and 100% recommend!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I cannot talk enough about how wonderful our stay was at Auberge Bishop! The hostel seemed like it was brand new and the rooms/facilities reflected that. Everything was amazingly clean! The location could not have been more perfect - right in the heart of downtown Montreal! Anyone who is going to Montreal and staying the hostel route should check out this place!


86%

I would reccommend to have some more lockes for the boxes in the rooms, maybe against let´s say 5-10 CanD deposit. In my case - nothing was lost despite having my box unlocked for several days. One more remark: there were all lights on during the whole day (non-stop) and it was not possible to switch off the lights. Isn´t it too expensive?


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in :)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback