X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Auberge Bishop Reviews

1445 rue Bishop, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
530 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff at the counter was really friendly, and we even got clean towels which I didn't expect. With the money I spent, I'm completely satisfied!


69%

- Wifi was spotty at best - Shower curtain fell on me, but bathrooms were otherwise clean - Fridge needed to be cleaned out BADLY and the kitchen needed a good scrub! - Cool building and convenient location in a cool neighborhood downtown -The staff member who checked us in was definitely high, and the hostel had a pretty weird vibe--it seemed like everyone sitting in the lobby was always stoned - Bar was pretty terrible-- only had PBR - Hostel-provided towels had urine and blood stains


100%

Great stay, nice staff, central location, clean space. I would certainly return!

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Showers cold in minutes. Wifi undependable. Kitchen cold; building chilly. No dryer in at least one bathroom; wipe your wet hands on your pants. Bathrooms smelled, sometimes not clean. Common room small, at the front door; not cozy, people coming and going constantly. Not enough chairs. A strip of space connect the top & bottom locker; drop something in that space it will be trapped in the bottom locker. Bathrooms/showers for both genders together (tiny stalls). No locked luggage storage.


63%

Kitchen en bathroom were not that clean. Small kitchen, not great to cook.


89%

Great location dt Montreal for a good price. Grab a couple beers in the common room before hitting the town.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very convenient location, metro just right across the street! Beautiful building close to Catherine Street.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

J'ai eu l'occasion de faire une bonne quinzaine d'auberges a travers tout le Canada, Je n'ai jamais vue une bonne ambiance comme ici. On se sent directement chez soit, le I had the chance to try a lot of hostels in the Canada and I have never seen a athmosphere like this one. The STAFF is very friendly and make you feel directly like at home. Location and breakfast are perfect and the charm of the building make this hostel unique. I recommand the place for all the packpackers.


69%

Nice place to stay, close to shops and restaurants. Not too clean, not too dirty. Private rooms are good.


89%

The building is amazing, everything was very clean. I would stay here again!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The place was perfect. Downtown, super close to the Bell Center, Museum of Fine Arts, tons of Bars and restaurants and shops. Quiet at night, even with the windows open. Friendly staff. Friendly guests. Affordable prices. Comfortable bed. Functioning lockers. Clean bathrooms, though they crammed a lot of stalls in there (logically). Most folks staying there were 20s and 30s. Easy to find, cheap parking a block and a half away (2 minute walk, $25 for 24 hours), close to a couple metro stations.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great co-ed hostel. Shared a 4 bed room with 2 strangers. They were nice but we all slept at different times. Great price for value, location, and facilities.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, friendly staff, however they let long term guests sit and get drunk at the front door which creates a very bad first impression


94%

Loved the place. Our room, bathroom and kitchen were much more cleaner than what I usually find in hostels, the staff was very nice and welcoming and the overall atmosphere of the place was super happy-lets-party, which was exactly what we were looking for since we went to Montreal to party, drink and check out the pubs/clubs.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean, friendly staff, and perfect located in downtown! Recommendable!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The Hostel is in a good location. But the restrooms are very dirty, if you plan to rest, this is not a good option. People party a lot.


100%

Wonderful, friendly folks and quiet bedroom.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The Auberge Bishop is right in the Rue St.Catherine downtown corridor — a great location. The building has character and is comfortable, and it's a great value. Although I had read that guests were sometimes partying all night there, when I went it was very quiet all night, even though the hostel was full. The only downside: the shower heads point right out the opening of the shower stalls, so it's almost impossible to keep water from pooling on the floor — and not everyone even tries.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Alright hostel, but nothing outstanding. Aircon was fixed on a certain temperature which you could'nt change in the room. Location was alright, room and building were very nice. Bathrooms were mixed and not always clean. Staff was nice.


94%

This hostel was just two blocks from the metro, Bishop Street is filled with awesome pubs, and the staff here is awesome. Upon check-in we learned that they don't have a computer for guests, but the guy at reception let us use his own laptop to check our email. They were super nice! We had a private double room on the third floor and the bed was very comfortable, we were close to the bathroom, but not too close and we even had a thermostat remote for the room. We were very impressed here.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback