X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Auberge Bishop Reviews

1445 rue Bishop, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
486 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very clean, friendly staff, and perfect located in downtown! Recommendable!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The Hostel is in a good location. But the restrooms are very dirty, if you plan to rest, this is not a good option. People party a lot.


100%

Wonderful, friendly folks and quiet bedroom.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The Auberge Bishop is right in the Rue St.Catherine downtown corridor — a great location. The building has character and is comfortable, and it's a great value. Although I had read that guests were sometimes partying all night there, when I went it was very quiet all night, even though the hostel was full. The only downside: the shower heads point right out the opening of the shower stalls, so it's almost impossible to keep water from pooling on the floor — and not everyone even tries.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Alright hostel, but nothing outstanding. Aircon was fixed on a certain temperature which you could'nt change in the room. Location was alright, room and building were very nice. Bathrooms were mixed and not always clean. Staff was nice.


94%

This hostel was just two blocks from the metro, Bishop Street is filled with awesome pubs, and the staff here is awesome. Upon check-in we learned that they don't have a computer for guests, but the guy at reception let us use his own laptop to check our email. They were super nice! We had a private double room on the third floor and the bed was very comfortable, we were close to the bathroom, but not too close and we even had a thermostat remote for the room. We were very impressed here.


94%

Loved it here! Great location and staff!! Had so much fun I stayed for another two days! Water pressure is great in the showers, just make sure the curtain is completely closed or you'll flood the floors! :-) can't wait to come back!


69%

Very good located, right in the center of the city. Staff is nice and the place is pretty safe. But beds are unbelievably uncomfortable and the toilets and showers were rather dirty.


91%

Stayed here just one night on august long, 30$ for the night. Amazing location, was just off the Main Street with all the shopping and plenty of restraunt options. And was only 2 blocks away from the 747 bus stop (10$ , straight ride from airport) Staff were nice and helpful, doors locked, clean bathrooms, good neighbourhood, will definately be staying here again and 100% recommend!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I cannot talk enough about how wonderful our stay was at Auberge Bishop! The hostel seemed like it was brand new and the rooms/facilities reflected that. Everything was amazingly clean! The location could not have been more perfect - right in the heart of downtown Montreal! Anyone who is going to Montreal and staying the hostel route should check out this place!


86%

I would reccommend to have some more lockes for the boxes in the rooms, maybe against let´s say 5-10 CanD deposit. In my case - nothing was lost despite having my box unlocked for several days. One more remark: there were all lights on during the whole day (non-stop) and it was not possible to switch off the lights. Isn´t it too expensive?


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in :)


80%

No problems. Nice location for walking/biking/metro to get around town. Fair price for Montreal. Nice communal space and eating area to meet people. Showers could have been a little bit cleaner, kinda looked like my freshman year bathroom with a brown water line and a little sliminess. But overall, a good visit to Montreal and Auberge Bishop.


89%

Staff were friendly and helpful; readily spoke English with non-francophones. 3rd floor stairwell needs ventilation in summer (very hot early in trip). 3rd floor kitchen could function better. Suggestions: 1) provide a drawer to organize & store flatware & utensils, 2) improve organization of plates, saucers, & glasses in cabinets; same for spices & condiments, 3) provide pens & labels to label food in fridge, 4) clean & discard fridge contents on regular schedule (say, every 7-10 days).

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

If you don't care about dust the place is fine. The breakfast is good and the staff kind, sometimes you don't know if the person is part of the staff or a client. If drink and smoke bothers you better choose another place. Very good place for young people traveling. There's always people drinking and smoking at the aubergue's entrance. Summarizing, the price is fair. Enjoy your trip.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

My friend and I stayed for a couple nights in a mixed dorm. The guy working at the front desk was very helpful and friendly and we had some great conversations with him and other travelers. The location was also great, about a block away from the Museum of Fine Arts and some restaurants and bars close by. The only thing I would have to complain about was the sad old man sleeping in our dorm all day. He wreaked of alcohol and we never saw him leave. Other than that we had a great stay!

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent located hostel in downtown Montreal. The staff are very friendly and they will try their best to help you. Close to two metro stations, the fine arts museum, and the mont royal park.


89%

Surprisingly close to hubs of activity, yet the street is quiet. Certainly a plus if you're trying to escape from the noise.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location, great beautiful historical building, delicious breakfast, and the most helpful of staff.


89%

It was a very pleasant stay : people were very nice even if i didn't talk to everyone but the atmosphere was very cool. The staff was nice and the location is just perfect (Ste-Catherine/Peel/McGill + lots of pubs and bars nearby).

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback