Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Auberge de la Paix Québec

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
Auberge de la Paix Québec Located at 31, Rue Couillard, , Quebec.
Auberge de la Paix Québec
Canada
Quebec Quebec G1R 3T4 31, Rue Couillard
80% 458
46.8150619 -71.2087842
Auberge de la Paix Québec
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.0

Good location in the downtown, close to metro. Could have been a little cleaner w/ better quality sheets, but it's an amazing value for the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
6th Jul 2016
6.9

A decent hostel with an average of kitchen equipment nd moderate friendly to stressed out stuff. Everything, from the bathrooms to the cooking area to the rooms feels narrow and small, but the price and location is alright. A bit irritating is that there are no keys to the main doors, floors or rooms available / required so everyone including stragery can come and go whenever the want. Probably they are trusting here of the general safe and friendly canadian culture but it feels bit wired..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate hearing any comments from our guests about the quality of their stay! Just a note on the security, we do maintain a very relaxed atmosphere because we are a small hostel. That being said, the main door of the hostel is locked at night, anyone who enters must ring a door bell and be let in by the receptionist (there is someone at the reception 24 hours a day). We do rounds of all the floors through the night, and we also have security camera on every floor (though not in the rooms!) that are monitored at the front desk. Every bed has a large locker, and we sell pad locks at the reception for $3. We do have a narrow building! It is an historic building in the heart of old Quebec. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope the rest of your travels went well and to see you again if you ever come back to Quebec City!

1st Jul 2016
10.0

Beautiful! Simply Beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
5.7

No keys but still had to pay a deposit at check in? There is no atmosphere and the staff were all very distant. They never smiled! The beds are super uncomfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay at our hostel! We would just like to let you know that the deposit you left was actually for the sheets. We are a small hostel with very few staff and do not have the man power to clear the sheets from all the beds everyday. We ask for a $5 deposit at check in to ensure that our guests bring their sheets back to be washed when they check out, we give them back the $5 deposit at this time. We apologize for any confusion! We would like to apologize as well if you did not feel that your welcome was very warm. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how you feel! Hopefully we will see you if you pass through Quebec City again!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
5.4

The bad news: The room has no air conditioning OR fans so being on the top floor during these summer nights was absolutely awful. The staff was also less than helpful. The good news: You cannot beat the location. It's so close to everything that's fantastic about the old city. It was also super close to a Parking garage which was nice!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about the quality of your stay with us! We are so sorry that it was so hot in your dorm! It is true that it can get quite warm. Luckily in Quebec City we only get few days a year that are that hot. If you ever stay with us again we invite you to let us know that you are uncomfortable and we will be happy to try and provide you with a fan. We agree that the location is great, w are very lucky to be situated in the heart of beautiful Old Quebec. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to see you again if you ever come back to Quebec City!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.0

While the location is perfect to visit Quebec City by foot, we were not really satisfied considering what we each paid for a basic mixed-dorm bed. The mattress is pretty bad, wrapped in plastic and repaired with duct tape, and the fitting sheets just don't fit well. This makes it very uncomfortable in a hot summer night! The breakfast is minimal: bread (white and brown), cheap jam, margarine and peanut butter, and coffee seems to be diluted 10 times. The overall cleanliness is satisfactory.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ppigeon817370
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Jun 2016
6.6

Localisation is great, the hostel is in the heart of Québec city. There is no key to access the rooms, so don't forget your locker. The mattress was awful, it was very hot in the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
7.1

Terrible terrible bathroom situation, and the hostel charges for participating in hostel events but the staff are lovely and the rooms clean and tidy. Good security and location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for your feedback. Just a note, we believe you must be referring to another hostel because we do not organise events, nor charge for anything happening here. We do appreciate hearing from our guests about their stay at our hostel, thank you again for taking the time to write a review!

  • kendemonium3993
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Small friendly hostel in the heart of Qubec city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Jun 2016
7.1

Nice hostel in an excelent location. The one thing that was surprisingly bad was the security. They don't give you any keys, since to get to your dorm, all doors you open are unlocked at any time. The only "security" you have in the hostel is a locker in your room. I think this should be drastically improved, at least adding keys to the dorms!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your feelings about your stay at our hostel! We appreciate hearing from the guests about their experience with us. We appreciate your concerns about the security here, we do have a very small hostel and try to maintain a relaxed atmosphere. Some things you may not have noticed though. We lock the front door at night, anyone entering must ring a doorbell and is let in by the receptionist (there is someone at the reception 24 hours a day). Our night workers do rounds of all the floors during the night. We also have security cameras on all the floor (though not in the rooms) which are monitored 24 hours a day at the front desk. We also provide large lockers for every bed, and in case you are not travelling with a padlock for the locker we sell them at the front desk. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and to see you again if you ever return to Quebec City!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.