Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Augarten Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 162 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 162 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jul 2017
6.0

A quiet location, so a bit far from the center of the city. Room, although, OK, was rather stuffy. Staff could have given more information. I didn't know there was a member's kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
9.1

The staff here were incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms were compact but fine and clean. It's a little distance from the centre but you can be on the metro and in the centre in no time and with the size of Vienna I would definitely suggest getting a travel card for your stay. So the distance wasn't really an issue! An enjoyable stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2017
4.6

Really do not rate this hostel. Has an abandoned motel kind of feel to it. Zero atmosphere, would not recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.6

Nice place. My guess they have converted the hotel into a hostel. Rooms are big with a microwave and a small fridge - it was very nice. Beds were super comfy with great bedding just like in a hotel. The location was not that bad close to public transportation and walking distance to the historical area of the city. It was a quiet stay - and that was I was looking for, to have a good night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
5.1

This place had no atmosphere and the staff were less than helpful. The rooms were tiny, filled with unnecessary furniture, and had only two working plugs which were behind two beds for the 4 people in the door. The shower smelled like mold and the either bathroom needed a good cleaning. Although it was close to the U it was a far walk to everything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
8.9

Nice place. It feels more like an old hotel that never went through an upgrade. The lobby has that old grand feel. The lobby has AC but the rooms do not. It was kind of hot but the staff gave me an extra fan for my room. The bathroom was not the greatest. Also the room was a bit stuffy as they provide big desks that take up space. There's no hostel atmosphere here so if you're a solo traveler you likely will not meet people. But good if you want a quiet place for sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
4.9

Expensive for what you get. No shared spaces and you have to leave a deposit for kitchen use. Was very hot and there was one small standing fan for a room with four people in it. Wi-Fi was spotty, even in the lobby. Wouldn't stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
5.1

Subpar hostel. Pictures of the lobby are deceptive, it is not very social at all. Staff was nice but completely unhelpful. Kitchen facility did not have pans that worked with their induction stoves, so bring your own pan if you plan on cooking to a sound overpriced Viennese food. Whole hostel gives off a weird vibe

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.0

Overall, good hostel to stay for a night or two. Not at all great for solo travellers as it is difficult to meet people. Room was ok, had everything I needed. Was very hot during the day/night and noisy if the windows were open. Free tea and coffee was nice, but the kitchen lacked basic cooking utensils and the lady at reception didn't know how to turn the oven hobs on as I had difficulty cooking. Good location and basic rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
26th Jun 2017
7.7

The atmosphere is low because it is more like a hotel, and this means there are no bunk beds. But also means there is no lockers. The location is away from the centre of town but only takes half an hour to walk or it's close to 2 underground lines and an above ground also. But it is close to the lovely Augarten and Prater. Has kitchen facilities available too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.