X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aussie Way Hostel Reviews

34 Cricket Street, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
364 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Awesome Hostel! Really nice Staff, clean & a good Atmosphere. Nice rooms with enough space. Lockers available. If you need a lock, they sell it for 5 Bucks. Had an awesome room next to the balcony. Would love to come back again!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean and quiet! I would stay there again anytime. Like it very much!


86%

Friendly staff. The room, the bathroom and the common room all celan and tidy. I like this place because it's so quite and no party at the hostel. Definitely recommend this hostel.


80%

AUSSIE WAY MAKES YOU FEEL AT HOME. THERE AREN'T MANY PEOPLE AT THE HOSTEL, BUT EVERYONE GETS TOGETHER SINCE IT IS SUCH A SMALL PLACE. KITCHEN IS SMALL BUT GOOD. THERES A COLES NEARBY. FREE COFFEE AND WIFI (EVEN THO IT DIDNT WORK ON MY MAC).


80%

You get the feeling of a halfway house because most bunkers are working but it's honestly a great community love! The perfect hostel to feel "at home" in my opinion. If you're not much of a partier or need a quiet night this is the best place to stay. The kitchen hours were disappointingly short, if you work late don't expect to eat dinner. But the atmosphere & balcony views are wonderful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shelby, thank you for your kind review. We're really glad that you enjoyed the general atmosphere as well as the quietness that we try to provide. We wish that you had come to talk to our staff about your late working hours though, as we might've been able to make an arrangement. All the best with your future travels!

69%

Good overall hostel but a few downsides. The Wifi is often overcrowded or unavailable so don't expect to use it on peak hours. Small kitchen for that many people. You have to go ask to get a few basic things (like a blanket).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Yes, the Wifi is overcrowded at times, that's the downside to it being free. As far as we're aware, there is nothing we can do about it, except for asking money for internet-use. We're sorry that you had to come and ask for a thicker blanket. During the winter-months we do offer them to every guest, so this was likely an isolated mistake by a staff-member. Great to hear that you liked it overall though!

69%

It was the quietest backpackers I have ever been to. The bed sheets were laundered but the sheet had chewing gum stuck to it. The floors were resonably clean, and the building was showing its age. the staf were pleasent enough, and the toilet and mens shower were really clean. I would stay there again Cheers, Ashley

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We're really sorry about your sheet! This must've been overlooked whilst washing and folding, so we hope that you asked for a new sheet upon discovery. Glad to read that the rest of your experience was good. You are most certainly welcome to stay here again.

80%

Nice,quiet hostel. Backyard and pool area are nice.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the lovely feedback, Leeni!

71%

Not that special hostel but the atmosphere is good laid back atmosphere. After 10 P.M.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Budi, thank you for leaving a review. Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere,- but that is less our doing than the guests' that stay here (although staff really tries to make things pleasant!). Obviously, we can't screen the laid-back personalities from other ones or discriminate on them, so sometimes you have to take what you get.

94%

Loved the relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Great place to explore Brisbane and close to bus terminal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. The lovely feedback is much appreciated!

86%

Only stayed one night, but this place got the job done. Quiet and clean with a working air conditioner in the room, but all of the facilities are quite run down. The other guests were courteous and the one employee I dealt with was helpful. There was a kitchen, although I didn't use it. Liked that they kept my bags for me after checkout so I could wander around town a bit without them. No complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback, thank you. Feel free to come by anytime.



View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback