X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aussie Way Hostel Reviews

34 Cricket Street, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
381 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

We loved the quiet environment of the hostel. There was free unlimited internet although it worked better at sometimes than others and generally did not work in the rooms. We stayed in our room for 7 days and although the garbage was taken out, no other cleaning was done and the floors were extremly dirty. We also did not like the bathroom to guest ratio. There are two bathrooms (2 toilets and 2 showers) upstairs and two bathrooms downstairs. There is often a line for the bathroom or the shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate this. Indeed, internet tends to be slower when lots of people are using it, and unfortunately there is very little that we can do about that. It is free however. We generally try to clean rooms (we spring clean them every couple of weeks), however this is not always possible due to personal belongings being spread out. We'll take your comments into consideration though. Our bathrooms are at the legal ratio though. Glad you enjoyed our atmosphere!

83%

This was a nice little hostel. The staff were friendly and the bathrooms are nice. The suburb it is in is also pretty cool

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay!

63%

Avoid this Hostel during Winter. This is a very quiet, very clean hostel. The staff es really friendly (the girls, at least). BUT it seems to be an OK hostel for summer, no for winter. The rooms are very cold, and so is the lounge. The male shower in the first floor is really bad: if there is more than one shower being used, its impossible to regulate the temperature. If no one else es using the other showers, then they are good. Notice: Kitchen closes at 9pm Sharp.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a thorough review and for bringing up the issue of the showers. We will check for any solutions. Unfortunately, this has been a unusually cold winter. I think that most houses in Brisbane were very cold as we simply aren't geared for such circumstances. Our staff has put the heater in the lounge on cold mornings and evenings though. If this was not the case, you should've felt free to ask staff to turn it on.

91%

I appreciate that this hostel isn't a party hostel It was everything well. Friendly staff, no noise and good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly! We're glad that you appreciated our atmosphere and staff. Feel free to return any time!

89%

friendly staff, cleaning environment, great atmosphere to chat but tiny kitchen.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! Unfortunately there is not much that we can do about the kitchen, however things always tend to work out and people are considerate of others. It's great to hear though that you appreciated our clean hostel as well as our staff, as we try very hard to please people in those areas.

69%

Me and my partner stayed at Aussie Way for 2 weeks. Some of which time we spent in a private room and some of the time in a 4 bed dorm. The hotel is clean, quiet and a girl on the desk called Danielle was very helpful. In the dorms you have to make your own bed with bed sheets that are really thin and very dated. I think new ones would be a good idea!The cleaner was on your back about dishes before you had chance to clean them and i thought her partner was rude when I asked him a simple question


97%

Awesome Hostel! Really nice Staff, clean & a good Atmosphere. Nice rooms with enough space. Lockers available. If you need a lock, they sell it for 5 Bucks. Had an awesome room next to the balcony. Would love to come back again!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and you're very welcome to return here.

94%

Very clean and quiet! I would stay there again anytime. Like it very much!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. Feel free to come back anytime!

86%

Friendly staff. The room, the bathroom and the common room all celan and tidy. I like this place because it's so quite and no party at the hostel. Definitely recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review! We really try hard to keep things clean and to be friendly, so we really appreciate the positive feedback.

83%

It would have been nice to have heat in bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Yes, I understand that that would've been nice. I see that you were here by the end of June, right when we had an unusual cold-wave here in Brisbane. Unfortunately there is little that we can do about it, mainly because it simply rarely gets very cold. I think that this is common in most houses in Queensland... We did turn heaters on during the cold mornings and evenings in the lounge, so I hope that you took advantage of that!

80%

AUSSIE WAY MAKES YOU FEEL AT HOME. THERE AREN'T MANY PEOPLE AT THE HOSTEL, BUT EVERYONE GETS TOGETHER SINCE IT IS SUCH A SMALL PLACE. KITCHEN IS SMALL BUT GOOD. THERES A COLES NEARBY. FREE COFFEE AND WIFI (EVEN THO IT DIDNT WORK ON MY MAC).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review. We are indeed a small and quiet hostel that tries to make you feel comfortable. We're sorry to hear though that our WiFi did not work on your laptop. Did you ask staff to help you? If you did, it must be a very unfortunate issue as we rarely get people who can't connect at all... Sorry about that. All the best!

80%

You get the feeling of a halfway house because most bunkers are working but it's honestly a great community love! The perfect hostel to feel "at home" in my opinion. If you're not much of a partier or need a quiet night this is the best place to stay. The kitchen hours were disappointingly short, if you work late don't expect to eat dinner. But the atmosphere & balcony views are wonderful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shelby, thank you for your kind review. We're really glad that you enjoyed the general atmosphere as well as the quietness that we try to provide. We wish that you had come to talk to our staff about your late working hours though, as we might've been able to make an arrangement. All the best with your future travels!

69%

Good overall hostel but a few downsides. The Wifi is often overcrowded or unavailable so don't expect to use it on peak hours. Small kitchen for that many people. You have to go ask to get a few basic things (like a blanket).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Yes, the Wifi is overcrowded at times, that's the downside to it being free. As far as we're aware, there is nothing we can do about it, except for asking money for internet-use. We're sorry that you had to come and ask for a thicker blanket. During the winter-months we do offer them to every guest, so this was likely an isolated mistake by a staff-member. Great to hear that you liked it overall though!

69%

It was the quietest backpackers I have ever been to. The bed sheets were laundered but the sheet had chewing gum stuck to it. The floors were resonably clean, and the building was showing its age. the staf were pleasent enough, and the toilet and mens shower were really clean. I would stay there again Cheers, Ashley

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We're really sorry about your sheet! This must've been overlooked whilst washing and folding, so we hope that you asked for a new sheet upon discovery. Glad to read that the rest of your experience was good. You are most certainly welcome to stay here again.

80%

Nice,quiet hostel. Backyard and pool area are nice.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the lovely feedback, Leeni!

71%

Not that special hostel but the atmosphere is good laid back atmosphere. After 10 P.M.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Budi, thank you for leaving a review. Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere,- but that is less our doing than the guests' that stay here (although staff really tries to make things pleasant!). Obviously, we can't screen the laid-back personalities from other ones or discriminate on them, so sometimes you have to take what you get.



View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback