Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aussie Woolshed

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
Aussie Woolshed Located at 181 Torquay Road, , Hervey Bay.
Aussie Woolshed
Australia
Hervey Bay Queensland 4655 181 Torquay Road
86% 791
-25.2870763 152.8577399
Aussie Woolshed
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

So calm and chill, thanks to Scottish girl in reception, probably friendliest so far. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • silversurfer97
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Sehr hübsche Anlage, die Atmosphäre ist super entspannt. Als ich da war, war das Hostel die meiste Zeit sehr leer, viele bleiben nur für eine Nacht vor ihrer Fraser Island Tour. Alles ist sauber und ordentlich, es gibt jede Menge Platz. WLAN ist leider sehr schwach, die Küche klein, aber insgesamt stört das wenig. Für 25$ in Hervey Bay eine gute Wahl.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel. Very comfortable, chilled and clean. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
7.4

A nice stop over before or after a Fraser Island trip. The room was really nice however only 2 showers/ toilets for a while block of people's (maybe I missed something). Really nice kitchen and great staff. There is a free shuttle to the Torquay Greyhound stop if you book it the night before. Be warned though, there are no supermarkets nearby. The closest is a 25-30 minute walk away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Dec 2016
7.4

Overall good hostel. You had to pay a charge of 5 dollar per day for aircon usage... We'd rented a bike for 10 dollara for 6 hours, which was great. Not that much to see in Hervey Bay, no surfing and the ugliest beach I've seen along the east coast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
9.1

The hostel is a gateway to Fraser Island but unfortunately there is not much else about in Hervey Bay! However the hostel itself is friendly and has a really relaxed feel and the staff when I visited; Dara and Adam, were exceptional!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
6.3

We literally booked this as an overnight stop with the potential if it was any good to book another night. We checked in very late and were in room 4. There's was a constant droning noise, like from a noisy air con. It went on for hours till about 1.30am. We eventually got some sleep but woke up with the sun streaming through the badly hung curtains. Toilets and shower were clean and tidy and the staff were nice, no discount offered for the droning noise which I mentioned on check out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately wall mounted air conditioners do make a sound and due to our buildings being made of wood, they are not 100% sound proof and the windows are not double glazed. i would suggest travelling with ear plugs. This is the first complaint we've had about the curtains so we will have a look and make improvements where needed. We would have happily moved you to a different room and offered a discount if you had stayed another night.Happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.9

it is a lovely and really relaxed and familiar hostel. nice and friendly staff and clean kitchen and bathrooms. some people might miss lockers but I did not feel like they are that much of a necessity.. all in all I'd stay again! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback.We provide lockers in all our dorm rooms and have secure day and overnight storage in reception and the kitchen. We look forward to seeing you again one day.

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

Chilled, relaxed atmosphere. Lovely staff wishing to go the extra mile so that their guests are enjoying their time there. A little bit far from different places of interest, but that did not bother me much as I like to walk anyways. Would love to come back. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We also have bikes for hire if you want to get around with more pace. Our local bus service is also helping out with a day pass for tourists.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Nov 2016
4.9

Loads of hidden costs like if you have a night bus and want to hang around at the hostel you have to pay. They say to use the facilities even though there isn't much there. Then before I got my bus they locked my bag in the reception without asking me. Would recommend staying elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback but we feel if you had read the information we provide your experience would have been different. Any extra service fees are displayed on the counter in reception and inside the info booklets in every room therefore they are not hidden and it is your choice if you choose to stay on after check out.Our facilities are kitchen which uses water and gas, bathroom which use water and gas and wifi which we provide for free only while you are staying with us. Use of facilities fee only applies if guests want to stay in the hostel after midday after they have checked out. There are no fees when you book a tour through our tour desk.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.