X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aussie Woolshed Reviews

181 Torquay Road, Hervey Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
545 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

very nice people, very helpful, very clean, very good. i can recommend the place.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay. The family that run it were never too busy to help you and you always got the impression that they were honest with you about activities and value for money. They have good connections throughout the area in terms of skydives, Fraser Island days etc. I can't speak highly enough of the family that runs it. A basic hostel no bells or whistles just a great chilled out place to be and what you see is what you get!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Me and my partner stayed in a 4 bed dorm, it was just us for the 3 nights we stayed, we found the woolshed so quiet and relaxing, the cleanness was unreliable you could smell how clean the place was, good value for money, would recommend staying here, we defiantly will be staying again :)


60%

Private rooms seem to be made from cardboard, you hear everything what your neighbours do and it's cold during the night... also no towels. And if you want to use a bathroom uou need to go trough outside yard... anyway, very nice and communicative staff!


94%

Very good hostel, with very nice staff. The hostel was really clean, calm and chill out, just 5 min walk to the beach. You can hire bikes for free to discover the city. You can also enjoy some internet data for free. I recommend this hostel for your stay in Hervey Bay.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really cool unique set up. Friendly staff. Accomadated my late check in


89%

Cute hostel with kitchen & lounge area as well as hammocks outside and a cooking area outside. Good showers etc. and close to Scarness beach - free transfer to bus was good


86%

Small and quiet place Beach is close, supermarket far ,wifi slow


100%

Fab hostel - really clean, good kitchen and communal areas, powerful showers, friendly staff and good location. Would definitely recommend.


37%

No atmosphere place was dead! Got so bored here to walk into town it's like at good 30min walk! Reception person was sometimes not their!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments. I agree, May and June are definitely the quietest months of the year for tourism in Queensland. Here in Hervey Bay it gives us a bit of time to catch our breath, catch up with maintenance etc and get ready for the full on rush of Whale Watch season again come mid July...

100%

This is the best hostel I have been to in Australia! The rooms are nice, cosy and clean. In the well-equipped and tidy kitchen and in the common room there is lots of space and you'll find everything you need. The showers and toilets are superclean and there is nothing to complain about. One of the highlights is the big garden with hammocks and plenty of room to relax and enjoy your day - or night with dinner from the big BBQ.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This has been my absolut favorit spot and hostel in Australia. It was well worth the money, beautiful, peaceful and over all really high standards. The hostel has a really nice courtyard which is a great place to hang out and relax. It is close to the beach but a bit far away from town. Problem solved through cheap bikehire. In addition really friendly and helpful staff.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It`s the best hostel that you can find in all Australia. It`s like been in our own place or your home. The staff was great. The room was wonderful.


69%

We enjoyed our stay here, the authentic woodshed style gives it a nice vibe. Make sure that if you are getting the bus to the main bus station, you arrange your own transport to and from, as the hostel will only give you a transfer if it is at a certain time. The wifi was good and the hammocks very comfortable! Our room was nice, and the showers were big- always a positive!


97%

Super friendly staff greet you when you arrive and remember who you are throughout your stay (and if you come back!). Very clean, great showers (large, good water pressure and hot water). Quite far from the bus station, but a free shuttle is provided to and from to help.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great time at this gorgeous, laid back hostel before and after our weekend camping on Fraser Island. Brent was amazingly helpful with advice on all our options for seeing the island even though we showed up the night before we were hoping to go with no solid plans. Then after our trip, they recognised my name from before and realised that I had booked the wrong type of room and provided us with an extra bed free of charge so my friend and I wouldn't be sharing a double.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel! Nice staf, clean and good facilities.


91%

Amazing place! Short walk from the beautiful beach which has a small pier where we saw a sea turtle in the sea. Log cabin style kitchen which is very homely. Friendly staff. Would recommend to stay here :)


97%

The guy at the front desk was super nice, and when we came down to book more nights, he offered us air conditioning for the rest of our stay (6 days) for the price of one night (5 dollars). He also gave us another gig of free wifi when we ran out the first time. Although it's a pretty far walk to woolworths, you can arrange for them to pick you up or drop you off when they make greyhound runs.


97%

This hostel is fantastic! It was the prefect ending to our fraser island trip and to make things better we were upgraded to a twin room when we arrived, no charge! The owners were really friendly and so helpful! Definitely recommend, one of best hostels I've stayed in Oz! :)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Hervey Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback