Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aussie Woolshed

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
7.4

The reception is open only till 7pm. Not sure how ppl check in if they arrive later. The night I was there power went off. It didn't bother me too much as I went to bed early. But I heard some other guests tried calling the owner and he didn't even answer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.9

The perfect hostel if you are staying pre-Fraser island. Really simple check-in process if you are checking in late due to a night coach. Free shuttle to the coach terminal. Fraser tours know about the hostel about pick-up for that was easy too. Very chilled hostel, clean, friendly staff. Book 10 bed dorm for space and your own plug, you don't necessarily get this in smaller ones. 5 others I met on my Fraser tour stayed here the night after too, very popular and great if lone traveller like me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Mar 2017
9.4

Cutest little hostel, the guy that worked on reception was lovely and really helpful. Right next to the beach which is great, and big social areas to chill out in. And toilets, showers and rooms are clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

This is a super cute hostel, has a garden area with hammocks to relax in. They had a free barbecue for us the night I was there. I would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Stayed here before and after Fraser Island (did the cool dingo tour and couldn't recommend it more highly). We got picked up and dropped off from the greyhound bus stop with no hassle at all. The staff were really friendly, in particular the owner. The rooms are really clean and well presented. Really relaxed atmosphere for pre and post Fraser! We got upgraded, not once but twice. Shop and bottle shop were really close, as well as the bus stop. We wished we had stayed here for longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
8.3

Cool little hostel about 15 mins from the beach. They have a cute dog walking around. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
9.4

A really nice family run hostel, kitchen is nice and big BBQ area with good wifi! Rooms are clean and have aircon for an additional $5 per room! Would stay again defs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. Our Kitchen/Common room has such character and atmosphere. We even eat and entertain here ourselves! We have adopted a user pays system for air/con. We feel this is the fairest way for all our guests as a lot do not want it and hence they don not have to pay for it with increased room rates. We try our best to keep our basic rates as low as possible! Safe travels!

25th Feb 2017
7.1

We only used this as a stopover after going to Fraser Island. Our room was boiling hot all night long - almost too hot to sleep. The hostel was practically empty but the staff seemed friendly and dropped you off for the greyhound bus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. We base our budget dorm rooms on keeping the rates as low as possible, hence no air/con. Plenty of fans though! We do have dorm rooms that have air/con and beds would've been available in one of these rooms if it was a quiet night for us. If air/con is going to make the difference between a good stay and a great stay, just check the facilities of the room you book to make sure that option is available. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

Great stay here! The kitchen/common area was so clean and nice!! Had a great TV, board games, and a dart board. Wonderfully kind and friendly staff, made my one night in Hervey Bay very pleasant!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
8.9

Clean, comfortable hostel with lots of character. Has a ceiling fan, but air con is pay only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.