Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aussie Woolshed

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Feb 2017
7.1

We only used this as a stopover after going to Fraser Island. Our room was boiling hot all night long - almost too hot to sleep. The hostel was practically empty but the staff seemed friendly and dropped you off for the greyhound bus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.6

We stayed here for 3 nights in total and the first night was spent in a private room. There was a locked door in the room which we could not open and we left alone. In the morning before we were awake someone came through the door which was very unsettling and made us feel totally unsafe. The dorm room for the second and third night was not great. There were cockroaches in the room. Positives are that the kitchen is good. The showers were tired and the drains got blocked easily - they smelt.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.7

Great little hostel, however each element was additional charged. Air-conditioning and lockers. Our food was either thrown or eaten by another when left in the fridge. Wifi was free up to a certain limit however signal was weak and kept dropping out and very slow. Free greyhound transfer is available at at the Torquay end of Hervey bay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. If you book a tour at our tour desk aircon and overnight luggage storage is free!! We also offer great value accommodation and tour packages!! Aircon and luggage storage is an optional service and if guests choose to use them the charges are minimal to help us cover the cost of insurance for luggage and extra power usage from the aircon. Day storage is free however we do have a $3 to $5 use of facilities fguest are catching a night bus and wish to stay at the hostel for the day. Again this is free if you book a tour. We offer all guests 1GB for 1 -2 days and are happy to top this up if your staying longer. Just let us know your arrival time and we'll collect you from Torquay bus stop!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.4

We stayed here for 3 nights and was very enjoyable! The owner is very welcoming and makes you feel part of his home! The dorms are spacious with their own bathrooms! The living area and kitchen looks like an old pub it had a lovely feel! This hostel is very chilled and right near the beach! They offer a shuttle to and from the Torquay stop, our greyhound was late so we missed ours but that was so fault of the hostels and was only a short walk anyway! It also has free wifi which is always good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback and we're glad you had a great time. Happy Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
5.7

the hostel has a nice garden. It is quite far from the next supermarket (30 minutes walk), it is quiet. Big disadvantage were the fact that there were only 3 toilets and showers for the entire hostel. I had to queue even at 7 am in the morning. Same goes for Kitchen where there was not enough equipment for everyone to cook. they take a high credit card fee of 2.5% if you pay by card so best to bring cash.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Clean, quiet and exactly what we wanted before Fraser!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.3

Staff were really helpful and friendly. Was nice to be able to just chill in the hammocks in the nice garden. The pickup and drop off service for the greyhound was very useful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

So calm and chill, thanks to Scottish girl in reception, probably friendliest so far. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.7

Love this place. So chilled out, exactly what I needed at the time! Beautiful hostel although no air con in the room on a hot night but we had a fan which did the job!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • silversurfer97
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Sehr hübsche Anlage, die Atmosphäre ist super entspannt. Als ich da war, war das Hostel die meiste Zeit sehr leer, viele bleiben nur für eine Nacht vor ihrer Fraser Island Tour. Alles ist sauber und ordentlich, es gibt jede Menge Platz. WLAN ist leider sehr schwach, die Küche klein, aber insgesamt stört das wenig. Für 25$ in Hervey Bay eine gute Wahl.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.