Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aussie Woolshed

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I stayed in my whole 8 months travelling! Friendly staff, nice dorm and kitchen. No party in the hostel really calm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Aug 2017
8.3

Lovely hostel, very chilled. Good facilities and really liked the decor/vibe of the place. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
10.0

One of my favourite hostels. Beautiful place in a great location and the staff can't help you enough. Would definitely come back if I was ever around Hervey Bay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback and we're glad we met your expectations!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
8.9

Loved this unique, chilled place. Was very comfortable. The kitchen area was lovely, and the facilities were great. Loads of information on the local area too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.1

I really liked this hostel. Its clean and the kitchen is well equipt. If you like a chilled out hostel where you make friends while watching a movie and cooking you will love it here. Very helpful and friendly staff. The only tiny thing is the pillows are very flat and rock hard, maybe they could be chucked and new ones (that dont make your ear go numb) used instead? I wish i could stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback and sorry about the numb ear! if you had told reception we would have replaced it for you. All pillows have been checked for rocks and replaced where needed.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Jul 2017
8.9

Not a big atmosphere at all as most people are using it to go to and from Fraser Island trips but it's really nice, kitchen and chill out spaces are good, easy to walk to the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! The atmosphere changes daily depending on plans made. Some come and go quickly and others stay and play for while. There's heaps to do in Hervey Bay so we advise asking reception and reading the room guides to make your stay in Hervey Bay and the Fraser Coast a memorable one!

  • charlie-calver8670
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2017
7.7

Lovely place very quiet not much going on.. but the staff are so lovely and helpful picked us up from the bus stop and took us back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. June is our quietest month of the year for backpackers visiting. The calm before the mighty Humpback Whales arrive in July!! Ask reception or read the room guides for ideas on how to fill your days with fun and adventure 12 months of the year!!

20th Jun 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel with great staff, would definitely stay again!! Perfect location also.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! Our cheapest room is $25 per night, however if you book a tour or stay for a week we do offer awesome discounts! All dorms have lockers and we also have security cameras at entry and exit points! See you next time!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.7

Best Australian hostel I've stayed in so far! Really relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Very clean in all areas of the hostel. Staff are really helpful and the free shuttle service to and from the Greyhound stop is super useful. Was originally going to stay 2 nights but extended to 7 as I loved the vibe of this place so much! Would highly recommend staying in this hostel during your time in Hervey Bay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow thanks best hostel in Australia!!! Its nice to know we are on the right track and you enjoyed your week exploring our beautiful city. Life long friends are regularly made when staying at the Woolshed. Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon!

14th Jun 2017
4.3

The kitchen is small and seriously equipped. There is a big TV in the common room and a lot of dvds but not a DVD player (why??). Bad wifi but free. Out of 2 computers 1 barley worked. The stuff is nice but not very helpful, the usual answer I got was either a flyer or "Google it". The reception is barely open, and sometimes closed before closeing time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I have checked our security camera's and reception was never closed early, unless your referring to the back in 15 minutes sign we put up when we are doing transfers to and from the bus stop. Wifi can be slow during peak time we suggest using during off peak for fast results. My staff spent a long time giving you all your options to Fraser Island but you had decided to try and find guests from the Woolshed to fill your own private 4wd. Due to insurance requirements we are not allowed to organise private groups who don't know each to travel in private cars. I believe this review reflects your personal frustrations about your unrealistic expectations of travelling to Fraser and you've unfairly taken it out on us.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.