Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House KTM

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Wonderful, clean, safe hotel with fantastic rooftop terrace. Extremely efficient and kind staff. Best hotel in Thamel in this price range, very good value. Thank you Avalon team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice hotel, room was very clean and big with hot water and tv. Mr. Sapout, the owner is very nice man and helped us to organize our trip. Breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.1

Comfortable accomodation near Thamel. Continental breakfast and hot shower. Superb staff - very friendly and always helpful. You will get all information you need. The hotel is secured 24/7 but still it is situated in a quiet location. You will sleep tightly here. So if you look for above-average quality for a reasonable price, or if you just want to go for sure when new in Nepal, Avalon House is a good choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.9

I had a relaxing time during my stay at the Avalon. The staffs were helpful, especially Mr. Saput ,who went above and beyond to assist my basic needs. The place is located on a quiet street half a block from busy Thamel market place. The roof deck terrace is nice for a beer or two. I highly recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
7.4

Personal was good except the night one. The last night I stayed I wanted to take a shower but there was not hot water. The staff of the night didn't even try to solve this problem. He told me to wait until next morning but there wasn't.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
8.6

Staff was very helpful and kind. All in all it was good the room was really cold. I did ask for a second blanket which helped a lot. Hot water yes and wifi was reliable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

I really loved the stay. The rooftop view with free breakfast is the best thing I enjoyed everyday. I asked them for the airport pickup, but then I got lost in the airport, and they waited for me 1hr 30min!!! T.T Mr.Sajut is so welcoming and he managed me taxi to bahktapur. If you are looking for a stay in Kathmandu, you should really stay in Avalon hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Avalon was a wonderful accommodation. A peaceful refuge from the buzz of Thamel. The view from the terrace is breathtaking- an inspiring to think, relax and read. The staff were very accommodating and warm, they made me feel very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
9.4

perfect Hostel; friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Thank you for a lovely stay! The hostel is very clean with great modern facilities. The staff were very welcoming and hospitable - I especially thank them for preparing an early breakfast for us when we had to catch the early tourist bus... they even brought it up to our room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.