Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House KTM

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Avalon House is amazing! The rooms are clean & there is a great atmosphere sitting up on the rooftop, we spent a lot of time up there! It is in the busy Thamel area but is set back on a quieter street so you can escape the noise while you're there. I really appreciated the security guard who keeps the entrance secure, and the staff are helpful & great to chat with! I would absolutely stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danbutler
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.9

Airport pick up was very helpful and did not pay until we checked out. Clean, reliable and secure. You need to cross the main street to get into thamel which takes a few mins but very secure and quiet. We didn't see any other guests during our stay, although it is off season. Fantastic roof terrace where we had breakfast every morning. Recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.9

Great location right near Thamel but away from the hustle and bustle. Clean, spacious room with lovely views over the valley. Beds were very comfortable. Quiet enough in the hostel when we stayed. Staff were pleasant, though not overly enthusiastic. More needed in terms of advice of what to do, maps at the desk etc. Nonetheless, a lovely place to stay which we would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
10.0

It's great place for traveller's on a budget yet with good comfort, staff, and a peaceful atmosphere. The roof top view isn't really something!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Everything about this place was fantastic! The location is approximately 4 minutes away from Thamel and away from the main street. There is a security guard that always greets us with a friendly smile and is always present in the building. The staff and Saput goes above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as they possibly can. The atmosphere is pretty quiet and occasionally ate breakfast privately on the roof top (view was great). Overall, this place is 10/10 and would love to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
7.1

Had an airport pickup, only to find a random begger not affiliated with hostel held my name sign then demanded money from me, then the driver couldn't find the hostel... owner very helpful with setting up activities. Great balcony. Absolutely no atmosphere what so ever! Very good security guard tho at the hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
8.3

Pros and Cons Pros Great value for money. You would be mad/silly not to stay there. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Close to amenities. 24hour security makes you feel a lot safer! Good breakfast. Cons Wifi didn't work in my room at all but I just went down to reception when ever I needed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
6.9

Avalon is a practical place fantastic location few minute walk out of busy and noisy Thamel. Beautiful roof top terrace to relax on. Stayed here twice before and after trek was able to leave a bag in between. Staff are friendly especially the security doorman! Owner offers airport pick up service for €6 could cost you more ! The guys at the airport want a massive tip for holding a sign with your name on it ! (They don't let you leave without it). Basic rooms tidy, few stains here and there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Wonderful, clean, safe hotel with fantastic rooftop terrace. Extremely efficient and kind staff. Best hotel in Thamel in this price range, very good value. Thank you Avalon team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.1

clean and modern, friendly and accomadating staff nice roof terrace close to Thamel located in a quieter back street allowing for a good nights sleep ! A great place to begin your adventure in Nepal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.