Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House KTM

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Apr 2017
7.1

Had an airport pickup, only to find a random begger not affiliated with hostel held my name sign then demanded money from me, then the driver couldn't find the hostel... owner very helpful with setting up activities. Great balcony. Absolutely no atmosphere what so ever! Very good security guard tho at the hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
8.3

Pros and Cons Pros Great value for money. You would be mad/silly not to stay there. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Close to amenities. 24hour security makes you feel a lot safer! Good breakfast. Cons Wifi didn't work in my room at all but I just went down to reception when ever I needed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
6.9

Avalon is a practical place fantastic location few minute walk out of busy and noisy Thamel. Beautiful roof top terrace to relax on. Stayed here twice before and after trek was able to leave a bag in between. Staff are friendly especially the security doorman! Owner offers airport pick up service for €6 could cost you more ! The guys at the airport want a massive tip for holding a sign with your name on it ! (They don't let you leave without it). Basic rooms tidy, few stains here and there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Wonderful, clean, safe hotel with fantastic rooftop terrace. Extremely efficient and kind staff. Best hotel in Thamel in this price range, very good value. Thank you Avalon team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.1

clean and modern, friendly and accomadating staff nice roof terrace close to Thamel located in a quieter back street allowing for a good nights sleep ! A great place to begin your adventure in Nepal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice hotel, room was very clean and big with hot water and tv. Mr. Sapout, the owner is very nice man and helped us to organize our trip. Breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.1

Comfortable accomodation near Thamel. Continental breakfast and hot shower. Superb staff - very friendly and always helpful. You will get all information you need. The hotel is secured 24/7 but still it is situated in a quiet location. You will sleep tightly here. So if you look for above-average quality for a reasonable price, or if you just want to go for sure when new in Nepal, Avalon House is a good choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.9

I had a relaxing time during my stay at the Avalon. The staffs were helpful, especially Mr. Saput ,who went above and beyond to assist my basic needs. The place is located on a quiet street half a block from busy Thamel market place. The roof deck terrace is nice for a beer or two. I highly recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
7.4

Personal was good except the night one. The last night I stayed I wanted to take a shower but there was not hot water. The staff of the night didn't even try to solve this problem. He told me to wait until next morning but there wasn't.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
8.6

Staff was very helpful and kind. All in all it was good the room was really cold. I did ask for a second blanket which helped a lot. Hot water yes and wifi was reliable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.