Hostelworld.com

Avalon House KTM

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Avalon House KTM Located at Lekhnath Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu.
Avalon House KTM
Nepal
Kathmandu Bagmati 44600 Lekhnath Marg, Thamel
91% 356
27.7184659 85.3116917
Avalon House KTM
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Apr 2016
9.4

I stayed both here and Elbrus Home and both were very similar and enjoyable! Both are about the same distance from the center of Thamel (Elbrus a tiny but further), both offered the same breakfast which is my favorite, both had hot showers and wifi, both had very nice and helpful staff. I preferred Elbrus out of the two even thought the Avalon House is newer and nicer. Elbrus staff made me feel a little bit more welcome and it had a more popular communal space for meeting other travelers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay and recommend it for you on this basis: The staff were exceptional. My flight was terribly delayed but they were still able to pick me up. It was too amazing! For me it felt like a hotel and not at all like a hostel. Which left me longing for travel companions. Even when the power was out for extended periods of time the wifi was on and the water was hot. Priorities on point! Good breakfast and fast quality laundry service. Thanks for everything Avalon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.7

This place is really nice! the rooms are big you have your own bathroom and the staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. Great breakfast included as well. It is well located next to Thamel and has a beautiful terrace from which you can see the Monkey Temple from the distance. In terms of security the staff is extremely reliable, you can leave your things with them if you are planning on doing a long trek.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.9

Great rooftop view, very safe place to store bags for a long trek, helpful staff (booked bus to Pokhara for me), poor wifi, not the best atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2016
10.0

From airport pickup, to helping me with the organising of parks passes and trekking. I found the staff of Avalon House amazingly friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning on the roof is a treat, and the location is just far enough away from the noise, but a 2 min walk to the centre of Thamel tourist district. It will be my first place to stay when I'm in Kathmandu again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing value, friendly staff and greys location. Not really a hostel more like a hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Mar 2016
9.7

I'd recommend Avalon house for staying at. It's close to everything yet not in the middle of it and the staff are very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
10.0

Actually, it was more like a Hotel than a Hostel, the room was super clean with a private Toilet and a hot shower. The Owners were so welcoming and nice. Also, you can have a breakfast in the roof with an amazing view of the mountains and Kathmandu. I highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
8.9

If you are looking for peace you will definitely find it here! The rooms are massive and fresh and clean and the staff are welcoming and lovely. I didn't want a hostel vibe and it's just perfect as you are a stones throw away from all the action anyway and can just head back to the quiet very easily. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Feb 2016
9.1

Very helpful and Kindly Staff. Good security. Tidy room with good view. Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.