Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 7810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 7810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.3

Staff are smiley. The beds are comfy and guests are very quiet after 11 PM. Breakfast are huge and yogurt and honey are part of it. Internet is working well but sometimes very slow but still manageable. I was expecting more cleanliness especially in the toilette. The comfort room is for both men and women but of course the bathroom is gender specific. Showers sometimes very hot and sometimes cold but not a major complaint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel to stay in, great location. Nipping cleaning. Would come back. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.7

Ok hostel. It was clean and location was great. There are no lockers in the rooms, you have to pay to get one and they are on the first floor. Too big, it's hard to connect with other travelers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2017
7.4

Cleaning of room was fine. But the shared toilets and shower were quite unclean most of the day. As they do the cleaning only once a day. Part of the staff was helpful and friendly but not all of them. Breakfast, which was included, was quite abundant. Location was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2017
9.4

No double rooms so we had to have a triple and pay for 3 people. Staff tried to compensate a bit by giving free locker usage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
8.6

The staff is great, location great, was a lot quieter than I expected! Nice that they supply Sheets , pillows, towels and even Duvet!!! Just thought !100+ for two twin beds with a sink was a bit high! But having said that they do seem to go above many other hostel I have looked into! Also breakfast in the morning is a nice touch!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
7.7

Pros: very centrally located, kitchen, free breakfast, helpful staff. Cons: Basic, basic basic. No charm. Key cards to get everywhere, pay for security cages nowhere near the rooms. Old building that traps smells (usually a mixture of floor cleaner, sewer gas and cigarettes) noisy but a lot of that was due to fellow travelers who don't know hostel etiquette. Takeaway: I don't blame the hostel; it was about as underwhelming as Dublin itself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
8.0

Great part of town.. very basic hostel. Maybe I was spoiled with the ports directly on your beds. Overall I wouldn't "not" recommend it. Staff friendly, etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • litingg
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.0

Great hostel to stay in. Very clean and pleasant,just that the wifi seems weak in our room perhaps due to older building as there is one newer building which is the main lobby n receptionist sitted.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2017
8.9

Location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.