Hostelworld.com

Avalon House

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 6,836 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 6,836 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
Avalon House Located at 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Avalon House
Ireland
Dublin 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2
82% 6836
53.3394193 -6.2661767
Avalon House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kfahey
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
5.4

Overall, the cleanliness was lacking a lot. Garbage was never changed and there was not hand soap in the bathroom. Room was also very cold. Great staff and good security! We felt very safe! Breakfast was terrible, the yogurt was spoiled.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Good Hostel , Great location , Amazing staff , clean facilities .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
10.0

Good experience , friendly staff , clean rooms .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

While the hostel is well located and seems fairly secure, there was a definite issue with the maintenance of the 4-bed ensuite room in which I stayed. The bathroom was not cleaned and it was difficult to get issues attended to. Furthermore, there was no space to securely store valuables in-room and the only alternative was a pay-by-day locker system which seemed to be a bit of a racket.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous123321123321
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
4.3

Ensuite: train cabin size, fresh oil paint odor (unacceptable really!!), kitchen odor coming up from beneath the window, noisy all day long.. No soap in the toilet.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.0

Had a few problems with my stay, the toilet was leaking and would spill water all over the floor whenever flushed. This was quickly fixed after i reported it to the reception tho. Also the shower was stuck in blazing hot mode and, no matter how I turned the dials, I was unable to regulate it to a lower temperature (ensuite shower). Still, to be fair, i have stayed here without any major problems before. Other than that, can't complain, it's great value for money and the location is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
7.4

I've never been in a hostel before. So, that was my first experience with that. I had some concerns about the safety of my luggage before the stay, that was for no reason, because they have a lot of big cages for the luggage on the ground floor. The employees are very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is a joke, but it's for free! The wifi was very slow! All in all I really recommend this hostel and I would come again with pleasure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.9

I'm not a fan of all the hidden fees. Extra money for a locker, to print paper etch. Older hostel with not a lot going on. Good location and helpful staff though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
6.6

The WiFi was absolutely horrid everywhere in the hostel. I was in a room with 24 beds which you can assume was very noisy, I suggest you avoid booking that room. Also, there are lockers for rent for €2 a day but they are far away from the habitations which worried me a bit. I also wish the staff had been friendlier but it was nice that they have 24 hour reception.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
10.0

I loved it! It was in the perfect location for me. The atmosphere was great and the staff was really helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.