Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 7,474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 7,474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Avalon House Located at 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Avalon House
Ireland
Dublin 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2
81% 7474
53.3394193 -6.2661767
Avalon House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
5.7

Our stay was not one of the best. The facilities were old and falling apart. Our water did not work in our private apartment. The sheets had hair on them. We couldn't control the heater. It was definitely not the best hostel I have stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

Comfortable beds, good atmosphere and friendly staff, but would not recommend if you have astma, allergies or similar health issues.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Some of the staff members are amazing and supportive . The environment,facilities and location is amazing. Except one incident where a female roommate complained falsely about me by taking photos of pee in the washroom which was actually done by her .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.7

I don't stay in hostels any more, but made an exception last month and then returned again this month. As good as it gets for a hostel! Recommended for those who would quite like a room in a hotel, but find hotels too expensive: take the 4 bed en-suite and you will be surprised how good it is!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Nov 2016
7.1

Overall impression was good, but was certainly unhappy about the odd smell in the room and corridor, cracking floor (quite noisy during the night) and very few toilets per floor. Having said that, the hostel was clean and had a nice atmosphere to it, it's also a short walk from Temple Bar and right next to a grocery store and some restaurants.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
5.1

When we went inside, bathroom stank of urine. Asked staff if they could clean it again, nothing happened. Slept in a room smelling like urine. Couldn't get decent sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel easy walk to various attractions as well as the bar and restaurant districts for the evenings. Cafe downstairs so you can have the included breakfast, or buy a treat, and you can grab an espresso coffee on your way out the door! Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Nov 2016
3.1

DO NOT STAY HERE! The price is over rated considering they will try and charge you for anything and everything on top of what is quoted. NEVER in my travels have I ever been forced to pay for luggage storage at a hostel during my stay. They do not provide lockers, you have to pay for them DAILY. The staff are rude and uninterested and the place smells horrible and the showers are cold ALL DAY!! There is not enough power points in the rooms and you need to hire an extension cord. TERRIBLE!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Staff at the front desk not the most welcoming. Room (private) was clean and functional - don't think it justified the high price though. Overpowering small of bleach when we arrived. Great location. Late checkout for an extra €5 was a welcome option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jordan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
9.1

Beautiful, warm and cosy hostel. Lovely helpful staff and a very comfortable place to stay at in the heart of dublin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.