X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
6605 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I had an excellent stay at the hostel, the Staff was very helpful, the room was clean and really nice. If i come back to Dublin in future I will definitely stay again here.


94%

very good hostel, although the shower came out abit slow and not so powerful but other than that it was great, would defo return! Thanks to francisco and everyone else there.

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Decent place to stay, the beds weren't great as I didn't feel safe on the top bunk always felt I was going to fall off, showers weren't hot

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The shower water for girls washroom was very cold

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very comfortable and nice deco. Friendly staff, especially Kiko, the spanish guy. Good breakfast. Clean rooms.


51%

my bedroom had a bad smell

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall, I really liked the hostel. It was nice and clean and the facilities were good. My only complaint would be the noise. It is located on a fairly busy street, so there is a lot of noise (both from cars and foot traffic) especially on the weekends. However, this is kind of a sacrifice you make for having such a good location. It is under a ten minute walk from the Temple Bar area, so its in a great location.


49%

The room was not very warm and was a little dated . One of the windows did not close properly and came very cold. Scarce hot water in the showers.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was clean and the staff was very helpful and nice. It was located in a decent area. Only negative was the breakfast which we did not particularly like and had a limited selection of food.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

excellent staff and location


60%

We had a great time in Dublin, being close to Temple bar was amazing and easy to get to the other sights. But we found bugs in our beds a couple of times and the shower in our room didn't have a shower head so it didn't work properly, and the heaters were turned up crazy hot at all hours. Staff was friendly and helpful.


60%

Hostel looks great, and is professionaly run. A bit too professional, no alcohol allowed so the beautiful common areas are almost empty. Owner needs to understand that alcohol is the lubracating oil of social interaction with strangers! A lot of facilities, but you have to pay for every little thing. Uninterested staff, expect for the big blonde girl that normally does groupbookings, she is amazing!

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I thnk one of the best hostel in dublin ...staff nd atmosphere is pretty cool

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were very helpful


91%

Loved the location!

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel with great caffeteria, lots of facilities for your use. The only minus - it was really cold ( January ) in the room :/ Guess it should be more heated


77%

Loved the staff. I can't remember her name but the girl at the front desk was so friendly and helpful! One complaint I have is just how freaky the beds and floors are as you can hear every little move made which can be disruptive when people are sleeping.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Nice staff and a decent place to stay with a cheaper weekly rate. The staff were willing to help if I ever needed anything. However, the hostel could be quite a bit cleaner, and the showers were not great (took a long time to heat up and they stay on only for very short time periods.) In addition, there were no waste baskets in the bathrooms. In summary, the reception staff were really good, but the hostel was otherwise pretty average.


80%

There was a guy staying in the room and he had the worst smelly feet. Can't believe I had to endure the smell for the night. Disgusting....

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

There is no secure storage in the rooms so if you want your stuff to be secure you must pay to hire a locker which are not easily access able to store your belongings in. Was fine for a single room, but the 4 room you could not move in to have you luggage with you and was almost costrophobic when full. T

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(144 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback