X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
6144 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very friendly staff....great location


83%

It's not too expensive for where it is. Maybe a 10 minute walk or so to the Temple Bar Area and the River just north of it. Tablets are available for use in the lobby an there is ping pong as well as foosball in the basement area. There is a pub crawl for 12€ that leaves from the hostel every night around 19:30 and a walking tour that leaves at 10:30 every morning. The staff is plenty friendly. The breakfast in the morning is the typical hostel breakfast (cereal & milk, bread, etc.).

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed in a private en suite room. Certainly worth the premium over the rooms without the en suite.


57%

Staff was unfriendly overall. Security was outdated and nearly non existent. Rooms were small, cramped, and in need of an update. Playing music in the lobby 24/7 that could be heard throughout the facility was more baffling than annoying, but also annoying.


83%

Great place to stay! I would recommend putting a window or air conditioning into the bigger rooms though, because it was hot in there.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely helpful staff: Great hostel:


63%

Th door to my room was broken. The key didnt work, but the door didn't lock anyway. The bathrooms didn't hav anywhere to put your things while you shower. Overall, it wasn't a comfortable place for me to stay


89%

All in this hostil was excellent, however my bed sheet had cigarette burns, which bears the question had the bed actually been changed and new sheets put on????

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Has a nice free breakfast and an amazing kitchen. Only stayed here for a night but I felt at home.


100%

Amazing location , clean rooms , helpful staff , friendly atmosphere . We stayed in the new rooms ( Kinlay Pod ) , ''the vikings show us the way'' , we enjoyed the hostel , is a very nice place to stay if you are a backpacker and you want to meed people .

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly, absolutely clean and cosy hostel! The location is perfect to discover all of Dublins sights and the perfect starting point for a crazy night out at Temple Bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms and bathrooms are totally clean, and people staying there create the perfect backpacking vibe. Also, they have free breakfast - which you can actually eat!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Provide more hooks in your shower areas and shelves to place soap or shampoo. Otherwise where do you put your soap down?

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was great, but the staff was amazing!


71%

Elevator was not working the majority of the time. Stood on the 4th(5th) floor for ages, and finally walked down. Desk staff were very helpful. Good location right on bus line from airport.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Simply perfect : Friendly & helpful Staff, excellent commune areas , amazing & convenient location, clean rooms.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Twin room was VERY tiny, bathroom bad and shower extremely noisy, washbasin tab did not work. You could hear every sound from neighboring rooms-shower, bed etc. Nevertheless bed was comfortably and clean as were towels. Good location and kind staff.


97%

Excellent location and great value for Dublin city

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

As a person that travels quite often and has stayed at many hostels I have become fairly good at doing my research and figuring out what I will be getting with each stay. The reviews and ratings for this hostel were completely off it seems. I was so disappointed with the staff and cleanliness. The bathrooms were atrocious; the first thing I walked into was bloody napkins all over the floor that were still there 12hours later. Two of the doors to the shower stalls did not work. The staff was rude


97%

I couldn't find the shower room but that is my only complaint.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

All that counts works well at Avalon House. It acts as a seamless introduction to Ireland as an entity to be reasoned with forever. Even the clientele here are all well behaved! The deal maker right from the start is that #16 city bus at Dublin International Airport there to drop you off right in front of Avalon Hostel, like the start of a well thought out episode of televised series Good Wife! .


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(166 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback