Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 7952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 7952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2017
3.7

Unfortunately, this was my second time staying at Avalon House. It's budget and that's exactly how it comes off. If you show up before check in and need to drop your stuff, you'll pay to store it in a crusty cage, even if it's only for 5 minutes. Staff just deliver the rules, no charm. They have some incorrect info about getting there that they haven't updated because I'm guessing they don't care. And that about sums up the experience. Deal with it or move on. Security is an issue too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
10.0

all was perfect except fire alarm went off at 5am and went on for about 30 mins (false alarm) i though they would give me discount for the inconvnience but not even an apology. that besides, great place, i highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Good location , 10 minutes walking to temple bar area, trinity college and a few more minutes to O'Connell street , 20 to 25 minutes to the Guinness storehouse which is a nice walk cause there are churches and catherdrals along the way Very simple breakfast. facility is clean and friendly staff. But lack of atmosphere , not much a social hostel . for family and groups , that's a pretty good value . The only downside is the noise at night from door closing . I would stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
5.4

Probably a rather standard hostel for Dublin standards, still a rather mediocre hostel and the most expensive dorm bed I've ever slept in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • pccmboo19924849
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
10.0

I was more than pleasantly surprised at Avalon House. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the facilities bright and clean. Had a private room that was comfortable and perfect for the one night I stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
8.6

Very good location, easily reachable from airport, cheap (which is good for students), and a nice atmosphere even in 12-bed dorms. I would definitely recommend a stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
7.7

The hostel did not allow alcohol consumption. The kitchen was closed from 22:00 to 07:00 daily, which was not helpful to anyone trying to prepare their own food. Several of the bunk bed frames were squeaky. There was an extra charge (I think 2 euros / day) for use of the lockers (which are in the common area). There were no lockers available in the dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
6.9

I stayed in a private 4 bunk room. It was incredibly small with only room to stand between the bunks. There wasn't anywhere to put our bags in the room so it was a mess and we had to share a bathroom with 2 other rooms which was a nightmare in the mornings. We stayed for two nights and on the first night we were woken up by other guests returning late, the walls are very thin so the noise of the toilet flushing, shower or guests using the toilet can be heard through the walls.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Would suggest this spot for anyone heading to Dublin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
6.9

Avalon house was very loud as it is in the heart of Dublin. We heard drinks all night. Also the in room bathrooms were sketchy and the rooms were dormatory feeling. The main bathrooms were large and clean though. Wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again, but I also wouldn't refuse to go again if needed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.