Hostelworld.com

Avalon House

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 6,913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 6,913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
Avalon House Located at 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Avalon House
Ireland
Dublin 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2
81% 6913
53.3394193 -6.2661767
Avalon House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
5.4

Was not happy with my stay here... arrive two hours before check in, but they want to charge me €10 to store my bags where every other place ive stayed offer free storage. Then my last day, i read the information card in my room. It says currency exchange is offered there. I come back at the end of the day and ask the staff about it. I am basically laughed at and told they havnt had that service in about 5 years! Maybe provide up to date info for customers (it also said free luggage storage)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
6.0

Pros: Friendly staff, very clean. Cons: Facilities need SERIOUS updating. The beds are narrow even for hostel standards, no security bars on top bunks, extremely squeaky. Shower was the absolute worst: No running water, only a button that you must hold down with one hand. Otherwise the water stops after about 8 seconds. Despite what the sheet in the room says, THE WATER DOES NOT GET WARM, even after holding button down for some minutes. I took two icy showers. Not worth it for the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th May 2016
9.7

Solid hostel. Was only in town for one night but it served us well. Comfortable beds. Very busy in the morning with breakfast, but free breakfast! Decent too. Helpful staff. Good value for money. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
7.7

Nice place in decent location. Staff could be a bit snappy. Wifi also could be in and out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
10.0

Clean and cheerful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2016
5.7

Rooms are very small and the beds are almost squished together. Staff weren't that friendly or helpful. Location was okay. A bit far from tourist hot spots but very close to local bars. Lockers to lock up belongings were a good size though. The free breakfast was horrendous - worse than most free breakfasts at hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
10.0

Wonderful place. After stayng in few hostels before this was by far the cleanest hostel i have stayed. Good wifi is a plus to the facilities. Pleasant staff makes your stay realy confortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
7.4

We stayed in a private room for 2 and it was ridiculously small! There was hardly enough room for the two of us. The location is prime though despite the tiny room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
4.3

WiFi didn't work. Couldn't check in until 2pm. I arrived at 1.57 and was still told to wait. I sat at the wrong table in the breakfast area and was shouted at by a very rude and unnecessarily aggressive cafe manager. The "breakfast" is hard cereal and a jar of instant coffee. The carpet in the room was filthy and very old. I felt itchy all night. All other guests looked unhappy to be there The only thing this hostel has going for it is the central location. Otherwise it is not worth

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
8.0

This is a large, centrally located hostel. My room was comfy and fortunately in a quiet area so Inslept well. Staff were friendly & helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.