Hostelworld.com

Avalon House

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 7,016 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 7,016 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Avalon House Located at 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Avalon House
Ireland
Dublin 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2
82% 7016
53.3394193 -6.2661767
Avalon House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.6

Cool place to stay, very good location. I didn't like the fact that you have to pay for leave your luggage and you don't have any locker in the room, the wifi didn't work most of the time. Staff are really nice and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jomacsweeneyis3915
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.4

Super location and a great cafe on site. Good linen and good bed. Great: towels are included. Not so great: lockers have to be paid for AND are downstairs in the common area Would recommend though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kuwait, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable , the kitchen is old ,needs an upgrade . Receptionists are helpful and the cafe area is nice . Prices are good and the location is central .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Great Location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jun 2016
6.6

The location was great and the wifi was quick. That being said, we stayed on the 3rd floor and the smell coming out of the drains in the bathroom was so bad that we couldn't even use our own bathroom. There are also no lockers in the rooms to lock your bags up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.4

First stayed here in the 1990s. It's gotten bigger since then, with more options, but still a fantastic location and great price. The "water saving" faucets don't seem to be doing their jobs, but otherwise, no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

I was fully satisfied with my stay. I will definitely pay a visit back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Republic of South Sudan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
10.0

Friendly and Nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
7.1

Got in pretty late to Avalon room to find someone sleeping in my bed, Likely terrified the girl. Fairly quickly got her moved and changed the sheets. Wasn't told that there was any locking storage in the room so I rented a locker, which is on the ground floor, so not very useful for clothes and such. Later discovered that there are locking drawers in the room under the beds. Fairly standard alarms going off and being ignored and people being way too loud way too early in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
7.4

Although the building was interesting and staff were friendly and helpful, I had a hard time getting over the smell of the place. There wasn't a great communal space. Floors and walls were very creaky. However the location was great which made up for a lot of the negatives.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.