X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
6601 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Decent place to stay, the beds weren't great as I didn't feel safe on the top bunk always felt I was going to fall off, showers weren't hot

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very comfortable and nice deco. Friendly staff, especially Kiko, the spanish guy. Good breakfast. Clean rooms.


51%

my bedroom had a bad smell

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was not very warm and was a little dated . One of the windows did not close properly and came very cold. Scarce hot water in the showers.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was clean and the staff was very helpful and nice. It was located in a decent area. Only negative was the breakfast which we did not particularly like and had a limited selection of food.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

excellent staff and location


60%

We had a great time in Dublin, being close to Temple bar was amazing and easy to get to the other sights. But we found bugs in our beds a couple of times and the shower in our room didn't have a shower head so it didn't work properly, and the heaters were turned up crazy hot at all hours. Staff was friendly and helpful.


60%

Hostel looks great, and is professionaly run. A bit too professional, no alcohol allowed so the beautiful common areas are almost empty. Owner needs to understand that alcohol is the lubracating oil of social interaction with strangers! A lot of facilities, but you have to pay for every little thing. Uninterested staff, expect for the big blonde girl that normally does groupbookings, she is amazing!

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I thnk one of the best hostel in dublin ...staff nd atmosphere is pretty cool

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were very helpful


91%

Loved the location!

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel with great caffeteria, lots of facilities for your use. The only minus - it was really cold ( January ) in the room :/ Guess it should be more heated


77%

Loved the staff. I can't remember her name but the girl at the front desk was so friendly and helpful! One complaint I have is just how freaky the beds and floors are as you can hear every little move made which can be disruptive when people are sleeping.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Nice staff and a decent place to stay with a cheaper weekly rate. The staff were willing to help if I ever needed anything. However, the hostel could be quite a bit cleaner, and the showers were not great (took a long time to heat up and they stay on only for very short time periods.) In addition, there were no waste baskets in the bathrooms. In summary, the reception staff were really good, but the hostel was otherwise pretty average.


80%

There was a guy staying in the room and he had the worst smelly feet. Can't believe I had to endure the smell for the night. Disgusting....

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

There is no secure storage in the rooms so if you want your stuff to be secure you must pay to hire a locker which are not easily access able to store your belongings in. Was fine for a single room, but the 4 room you could not move in to have you luggage with you and was almost costrophobic when full. T

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Awkward communal loos and no noise control

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Perfect location right in the heart of Dublin city. Staff easily booked day trips/activities and transport for us. Good value for money.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Avalon House and would recommend anyone looking for a hostel in Dublin to stay at this one!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The doors could use some oil, so we don't wake roommates and neighbors. It would be nice for the other if our late arrival was paired with others arriving at thr same late time, so we don't bother the others too much. The staff were friendly, cafe was pricey but tasty, the lounge areas were comfortable and the washing drying were useful. The hostel is well kept up and the city is very friendly.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(142 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback