Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 7,311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 7,311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Avalon House Located at 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Avalon House
Ireland
Dublin 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2
81% 7311
53.3394193 -6.2661767
Avalon House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
4.6

Upon entering the hostel, I was welcomed by a strong odor that was rather unpleasant. After checking in, I found that every floor and/or room that I entered would greet me with another unfriendly odor, which was not pleasing. The wifi was poor, if it even existed and comparable to that of the connection available in the dark ages. The staff had little knowledge of the city and how to get around. Didn't seem eager to help. The locker layout was poor/dirty. Wouldn't put my gerbil in it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
9.7

Very reasonably priced hostel with a great location. Within 7 mins of wall of many attractions and bars. Small but clean rooms and great value for money, we loved our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
10.0

Best holiday hostel , Helpful and friendly staff , the breakfast is basic but you can have a delicious Irish breakfast in the coffee shop for less then a €10 . Rooms and bathrooms are cleaned , they use air freshers that smell very good .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
10.0

Cool Staff and clean rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
6.0

Common areas were cozy and accommodating. Breakfast was toast and cereal. Clean bedsheets, pillow non-existent, 2 electric outlets in room for 4 people. I was placed in room with 3 guys, as a single female, NOT comfortable. The guys turned out to be alright, but I ran into 2 other guys in the elevator, drunk out of their mind, and I would not sleep in the same room with them. When I brought this up I was told the computer does the allocation. That's it. I would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
10.0

Super friendly staff , clean beds and very nice breakfast . The cages under the bed is not a good idea , if the person is doing the check-out in the middle of the night .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • omermozdemir1214
  • Turkey, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

I think hostel manegement had better put a bag cage under doorm bed like sohostel london. Also breakfast has no diversity. I think its breakfast is really weak. Bed and room were confortable eventhough 8-person doorm room. Totaly its fine but there are something to improve a little bit more. Thats all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

I understand it´s a big operation and therefore a bit mechanical but apart from one or two very staff members I found it very impersonal. They were reeming off the same blurb to everyone in the queue in a monotonous way. The room was tiny and the beds not great for the money you pay which is more than I´´ve ever paid for a hostel (granted it`´´s Ireland). It´s a good location, it´s safe, it´s clean, it´s fine but not cosy in my opinion. Maybe that´s impòssible for a hostel of it´s size.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

The Best Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
7.1

It was a great hostel, staff were all super nice. No lockers in the rooms though. They were all down in the game room area.. Which didn't make sense to me. Super chill in the hostel was real nice for my last few days in Dublin

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.