Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 7,070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 7,070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Avalon House Located at 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Avalon House
Ireland
Dublin 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2
82% 7070
53.3394193 -6.2661767
Avalon House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
6.9

Clean with good amenities, a well located hostel, though slightly disappointing attitude from staff. Slightly rude and left uncomfortable after requesting the room code and being told I'd been given it earlier (er no) and being called out for my money in a room full of people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Coldtrailing
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jul 2016
5.4

Wasn't a terrible place, but likely would not stay again. Rooms were extremely hot and stuffy and lacked electrical outlets. Room bathrooms okay but small with no hot water during stay. Lots of street noise but can't be helped as it is a busy part of town. Hall bathrooms often dirty (found sinks clogged w/ puke and hair). Wifi useless around 40% of the time. No room lockers, only lockers in hostel had to be rented daily. Staff was friendly, good location with some great cheap(er) pubs nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
9.4

Great spot. Fantastic amenities for a hostel. No complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

“Great Value” We were traveling as a couple and looking for last minute accommodation in Dublin, so decided to give this hostel a go as the price and location could not be beaten. We booked a double room with en-suite and ended up getting a bunk bed with double on the bottom and single on top. This was great because the room was very small, so the spare bed on top gave us additional room for our luggage. The rooms were very basic and clean , standard hostel accommodation. Staff is friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

“Great place” This was the first time that I stayed in a hostel so I was a bit afraid of it, but as I found it out later there was no reason for it. I slept in a room with 6 beds and a private bathroom. The whole place was clean, I have to say that the sheets and the bathroom were spotless. My room was at the end of the lobby and it was really quiet. The staff was helpful and there were loads of leaflets and information about Dublin in the guest a

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
6.0

I feel like Avalon House needs some updates such as: lockers in the rooms (like most hostels these days), get rid of the push button showers, provide pillows that don't resemble flat pancakes, and have friendlier front desk staff. Breakfast was nice in the coffee shop, but overall I feel like the whole hostel needs some TLC.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • alexandra_hilliard4718
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.3

Had a private room with ensuite bathroom, which was absolutely fine - clean, secure & comfortable, but spartan. For one night, it was very convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
5.7

There was no opportunity offered to meet other guests, which I have been offered at other hostels I've stayed at. For example, the Spire Hostel in Dublin offered free alcohol and game nights where the guests came together and got acquainted with each other.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.7

Excellent hostel right in the middle of everything. Walking distance to Trinity College, St. Stephens Green, Temple Bar and lots of shopping, pubs and restaurants. Continental breakfast provided which was a nice perk! Self service kitchen for making your own meals, pool table and free wifi. Nice areas to hangout. Lovely little room had two single beds instead of bunks which was nice. Cafe onsite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Lovely travel with friends It was a really good stay at your hostel! We had a lot of fun and many services were offer , free breakfast , free wifi in the rooms , discounted rates for food and coffee , free maps . It was near the main activities we wanted to do. The reception staff was really nice and helped us to find what we would like to do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.