Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 7,531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 7,531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Avalon House Located at 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin.
Avalon House
Ireland
Dublin 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2
81% 7531
53.3394193 -6.2661767
Avalon House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Avalon House is in a great location for the city centre. Very clean and efficiently run.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.1

I stayed in one of the single rooms. For the most part it is what you expect, the hoatel is excellently located and quiet for such a big hostel. However, to be greeted with the smell of bleach, a drafty coldness, flakey wifi and a pillow which was less a pillow and more of a pancake was disappointing for €30 a night. The attached cafe is very nice but I would probably look elsewhere next time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
7.4

Don't stay in a hostel in a party district on a Saturday night if you want sleep. I don't know why they had to play the flute and sing and shout at 3 am

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Good overnight stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.4

The Avalon House is a very good place to stay in for some nights. There is a cheap locker where you can put your luggage. Our roommates were very friendly and the room itself was very comfortable and big enough. The hostel is clean and you can even have some free breakfast in the morning. The staff was so kind and explained us ways to go to the bus station or what to do in Dublin. I strongly recommend this hostel - I am sure that I am going to stay in on another time again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Wonderful location and staff on hand to always help!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
8.9

Everyone was very nice. I wish I had known that the bathrooms weren´t working on my floor though because I had to search for them and when I finally fund them, there was anot saying it wasnt working and to use the 3rd floor bathroom which is kind of annoying and more of a walk that I want waking up in the middle of the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
7.7

It is near the center by foot or by bus, the location is clean and warm, very good the breakfast and the wi-fi connection. The room are small but there is bathroom with shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
10.0

I was totally glad to stay in the avalon house

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
6.9

Avalon has a lovely, helpful staff and lots of cool people! However, the hostel itself is a little lacking. The rooms are tiny, and mine had a rotting smell to it the whole time. The women's restroom was completely out of toilet paper several times. There are no lockers available in the rooms, just ones to pay for far away from your sleeping space, which is pretty inconvenient. The location is walking distance to everything without being perfectly central so I did like that!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.