X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
6199 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I arrived late at night - 1:00 am - and I couldn't easily find the hostel. I did find the Avalon Bar (closed), but I was not that clever to look up in the small street on the right, where the entrance of the hostel is :) you should maybe put a luminous indication above the entrance, so that tired backpackers find it more easily:)

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was great! Really helpful!!!! And kind! The hostel is a very comfortable place to stay! And not at all pretentious! What you see is what you get! It is clean! The breakfast that was included in the price was nutritious, plenty and there was some variety contrary to other hostels that I stayed at! Well done! Very nice people!

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean, safe rooms with very friendly staff. I only stayed a few days--my first time at a hostel--and was really impressed. If I hadn't caught a cold on the train to Dublin, I would have stayed longer. Avalon house is a very cool place :)

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly staff....great location


100%

The best hostel for backpackers , the prices are good , rooms are ok , clean beds , clean facilities , helpful staff , a very nice hostel in the city center .

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

A nice, typical hostel in a very good location. The rooms are quite small, but for 1-2 nights fine. Breakfast was only sweet, meat, cheese and sandwiches were for extra money.


83%

It's not too expensive for where it is. Maybe a 10 minute walk or so to the Temple Bar Area and the River just north of it. Tablets are available for use in the lobby an there is ping pong as well as foosball in the basement area. There is a pub crawl for 12€ that leaves from the hostel every night around 19:30 and a walking tour that leaves at 10:30 every morning. The staff is plenty friendly. The breakfast in the morning is the typical hostel breakfast (cereal & milk, bread, etc.).


89%

I stayed in a private en suite room. Certainly worth the premium over the rooms without the en suite.


100%

Avalon house was cool. It was fun being in a large two story dorm. The beds were really comfy! Staff was very nice, open kitchen, good location and clean facilities. Great price! I would recommend.


57%

Staff was unfriendly overall. Security was outdated and nearly non existent. Rooms were small, cramped, and in need of an update. Playing music in the lobby 24/7 that could be heard throughout the facility was more baffling than annoying, but also annoying.


100%

I was very well in that hostel, more than hostel looks like a home, people very familiar and friendly, you have a lot of facilities. It's the perfect place to sleep if you come Dublin.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I had a good stay, the hostel is in a very good location for night life, but not for those who want to rest at night...very noisy at all time!


83%

Great place to stay! I would recommend putting a window or air conditioning into the bigger rooms though, because it was hot in there.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely helpful staff: Great hostel:


63%

Th door to my room was broken. The key didnt work, but the door didn't lock anyway. The bathrooms didn't hav anywhere to put your things while you shower. Overall, it wasn't a comfortable place for me to stay


89%

All in this hostil was excellent, however my bed sheet had cigarette burns, which bears the question had the bed actually been changed and new sheets put on????

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Has a nice free breakfast and an amazing kitchen. Only stayed here for a night but I felt at home.


100%

Amazing location , clean rooms , helpful staff , friendly atmosphere . We stayed in the new rooms ( Kinlay Pod ) , ''the vikings show us the way'' , we enjoyed the hostel , is a very nice place to stay if you are a backpacker and you want to meed people .

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was clean and well organized, the staff was friendly. The only negative aspect is the breakfast, very poor.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly, absolutely clean and cosy hostel! The location is perfect to discover all of Dublins sights and the perfect starting point for a crazy night out at Temple Bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms and bathrooms are totally clean, and people staying there create the perfect backpacking vibe. Also, they have free breakfast - which you can actually eat!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(176 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback