X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
6126 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good location with an easy walk to anything in Dublin. The breakfast is really lacking and with only bread, granola, and coffee. The showers are like warm water only but the bathrooms are kept clean. It's not the best place to meet people but overall it's not bad place to sleep -but that's it.


89%

The Avalon House is a very good hostel, polite and friendly staff, located in the city centre and very cleaned. Wifi working in every area.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Out of all of the hostels I stayed at in Dublin, Avalon House had the kindest staff, cleanest rooms, best breakfast and best overall atmosphere. I also liked that it's not in the center of downtown because you are closer to cool spots like whelans and other places that are less touristy.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Shower facilities were horrible. Paying for two people ended up costing the same as the three star hotel we stayed in the previous night .

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel has great employees but the bathrooms are completely outdated and dirty. The room was very small and 52 euros was just too much for one night.


86%

This place is for an older crowd. It lacks a bit of atmosphere however it is in such a great location you can find a bar anywhere. The facilities are great, everything is clean and comfy.


100%

Good value , central location , clean rooms and friendly atmosphere

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is nice and have a good facilities. Only the room is very small. And the common room is not very clean because everyone use it, of course. But the location is perfect! Easy to go out. It's perfect for short stay!

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This was our first hostel of the trip and we were somewhat disappointed with it. The bathrooms were dirty and our room had a weird smell. Also, there is no drinking allowed which was not mentioned before booking. Having a beer or two before going out is nice way to save money when travelling on a budget and a good way to meet fellow travellers. Avalon was not conducive to meeting people. Small showers took ages to heat and required constant button pressing to maintain water flow. :(

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

All in all the best hostel I have ever been to

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Fire alarm worked 4 times at the first night ... As result - i was absolutely destroyed next day. I changed hotel, because i didnt want to spend some more similar nights

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

this hostel is good:it's very big with much room an common place,clean is ok ,the position is good...i mean that for the place(dublin is not little) is ok,just 10 minutes from by walk from Temple and other main attractions


69%

Decent hostel. Nice people. Good location, close to center. Cons: Decently clean bathrooms, but showers had a bit of mold. Wifi was a bit slow, no lockers in the room - had to rent one just off the lobby for an extra fee -super annoying! Pro: cool common room/cafe, decent location, nice staff


74%

Nice staff, a little bit harsh that you cannot drink there. Very impressed with the cleanliness, although the kitchen could ne a bit cleaner. Fix that elevator!!! And do something about the alarm going off all the time.


69%

We had originally booked 5beds for 2nights and had to cancel one bed for the 2nd night, which was apparently too complicated so they had to split our booking into 2separate bookings. The problem was that we had to check out after the first night to check in again the same afternoon - which was really annoying because we had to pack all of our things, put them in a locker, change rooms etc. The upside was that they upgraded us in a private dorm for the 2nd night. Also - toilets weren't very clean

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

First stay of my trip and had a great time. Solid breakfast, good facilities, and helpful staff. What more can you ask for?


74%

3 toilets for the whole floor, no AC in the rooms, and no lockers in the rooms themselves. Pretty far from everything. The place was well maintained and had friendly staff though.


100%

Love , love , love this place The staff is lovely and the place is nice decorated , funky style . The corridors are lovely and the posters are amazing . The rooms are clean and tidy , fresh look . Great atmosphere and good location

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Probably one of the most terrible bed I ever sleep in.


63%

The best thing about this Hostel is the Location. The shared kitchen is disgusting but they do have a staff member come in once a day to try to make it useable I have NEVER encountered such thoughtless travelers before who walk out of the kitchen leaving their dirty dishes piled in the sinks. But what was really disappointing was that when I arrived 50 minutes early for the 2 pm check in I was told I would have to pay for a locker if I wanted to leave my luggage until check in.


(160 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback