X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
6189 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent location and great value for Dublin city

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

As a person that travels quite often and has stayed at many hostels I have become fairly good at doing my research and figuring out what I will be getting with each stay. The reviews and ratings for this hostel were completely off it seems. I was so disappointed with the staff and cleanliness. The bathrooms were atrocious; the first thing I walked into was bloody napkins all over the floor that were still there 12hours later. Two of the doors to the shower stalls did not work. The staff was rude


97%

I couldn't find the shower room but that is my only complaint.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

All that counts works well at Avalon House. It acts as a seamless introduction to Ireland as an entity to be reasoned with forever. Even the clientele here are all well behaved! The deal maker right from the start is that #16 city bus at Dublin International Airport there to drop you off right in front of Avalon Hostel, like the start of a well thought out episode of televised series Good Wife! .


54%

When we arrived, we decided we wanted to upgrade from a 24 bed room to a 4 bed room. The staff wouldn't allow us to do this without completely canceling our old reservation, charging us the full price for it, and then charging us the full price for the new, 4 bed booking. In the end, we opted to stay in the 24 bed room which was mysteriously stuffy AND chilly at the same time, the rickety bunkbeds shook like in an earthquake every time you moved, and the metal drawers got stuck under the beds.


100%

Great free waking tour , cool rooms , clean facilitis , helpful staff

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We had a very pleasurable stay at the hostel, good value for money. Didn't realise breakfast was included until we checked in on the day, so we were very happy upon learning this! Would definitely stay here again!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We are four men and stayed in a dorm for four people with en suite. The room was exactly what we were looking for and was as good as staying in a hotel room. The free breakfast items were pretty basic, but the full Irish was worth paying extra for.


69%

The location is great and it's a big hostel. The breakfast is bread and granola - it could stand to be upgraded. The shower and press buttons and have warm water at best. The rooms are very cramped with no place to leave your belongings unless you pay a couple euro to rent a locker downstairs near reception. The atmosphere is more along the lines of a hotel. Best if you're looking for a clean place to stay while in Dublin.


100%

Really friendly staff, they made me feel at home.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay. Had not been there for 20 years. Excellent then and now!


60%

Staff was pretty rude


80%

Good location with an easy walk to anything in Dublin. The breakfast is really lacking and with only bread, granola, and coffee. The showers are like warm water only but the bathrooms are kept clean. It's not the best place to meet people but overall it's not bad place to sleep -but that's it.


89%

The Avalon House is a very good hostel, polite and friendly staff, located in the city centre and very cleaned. Wifi working in every area.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Out of all of the hostels I stayed at in Dublin, Avalon House had the kindest staff, cleanest rooms, best breakfast and best overall atmosphere. I also liked that it's not in the center of downtown because you are closer to cool spots like whelans and other places that are less touristy.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Shower facilities were horrible. Paying for two people ended up costing the same as the three star hotel we stayed in the previous night .

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel has great employees but the bathrooms are completely outdated and dirty. The room was very small and 52 euros was just too much for one night.


86%

This place is for an older crowd. It lacks a bit of atmosphere however it is in such a great location you can find a bar anywhere. The facilities are great, everything is clean and comfy.


100%

Good value , central location , clean rooms and friendly atmosphere

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is nice and have a good facilities. Only the room is very small. And the common room is not very clean because everyone use it, of course. But the location is perfect! Easy to go out. It's perfect for short stay!

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(175 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback