X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
6597 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

Nickel & diming modus operandi of this hostel ,Rude staff. I've been traveling a lot and I've never seen a hostel try to pack up some many beds into a single minuscule room. Awful showers . Probably the worst hostel I've stayed at in the last 9 months


86%

Met some great people at the hostel, but it was pretty cramped so I guess you really didn't have a choice. It's in a great location within the Latin Quarter and there's a great vibe about the people there.


100%

Friendly and helpful staff , clean rooms , good location .

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely stay at Avalon. Everything was clean, the staff is great, the breakfast is good.. we really enjoyed our stay there !!


86%

The internet connection kept going off and on for me for some reason. I've seen much cheaper hostels in my life. 50 euro for 1 night is a bit expensive but it was also one of the cheapest in Dublin overall so I guess it's just Dublin city that is expensive.

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Short walk to the temple bar area with Dunnes store on the way (2.5 Euro for a delicious breakfast roll). Nice vibe at the hostel.


100%

The best hostel i've ever been in my entire life

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

and helpful

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The only thing that desturb us, that Fire Alarm at Midnight. Uncomfortable Bed

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Lukewarm showers, staff put in little effort and have little regard for guests. Only stay if there is nothing else in Dublin amd don't bother with the cafe


100%

Second time staying at Avalon, will definitely stay again

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The location was good, the staff were friendly and good about directions and recommendations. The bed wasn't very comfortable, but the room was adequate. The shower took a while to warm up, but once it did it was fine. Having to press the button every few seconds to keep the water flowing wasn't ideal, but a minor inconvenience. I elected to purchase breakfast instead of taking advantage of the free breakfast, the coffee shop was nice.

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice, clean, comfortable facilities. I like that it was a cafe up front.


100%

Great hostel

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Payed 160 euro for 4 of us. Which was very expensive . Should of being only 80 room s where tiny .

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall a good hostel but probably will not stay here again due to distance and price. Pros- Bathrooms/beds are clean and Internet connection is good. Cons- Distance, price, and no lockers in room.


71%

The most expensive hostel room I 've ever stayed in (twin) €80 is way too much. Shared bathroom facilities really need updating. The showers may be great water savers but they were really annoying pushing a button every 20 seconds. The crappy foam matresses on the bed were nicely contoured out and uncomfortable. Room were clean and a towel was supplied. Breakfast simply but fine. Kitchen was locked before and after times allocated which was inconvenient.


77%

Pretty cool place and great location but you may get stuck in the lift and have employees pry the doors open. Hopefully you don't have to pee.


71%

The location is good and convince to pubs and restaurants. The room is clean and facilities are fine. Staffs are very nice and helpful. I've had a good stay here. This is a nice hostel to choose.


97%

very happy

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(148 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback