X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Avalon House Reviews

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
6606 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Payed 160 euro for 4 of us. Which was very expensive . Should of being only 80 room s where tiny .

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall a good hostel but probably will not stay here again due to distance and price. Pros- Bathrooms/beds are clean and Internet connection is good. Cons- Distance, price, and no lockers in room.


71%

The most expensive hostel room I 've ever stayed in (twin) €80 is way too much. Shared bathroom facilities really need updating. The showers may be great water savers but they were really annoying pushing a button every 20 seconds. The crappy foam matresses on the bed were nicely contoured out and uncomfortable. Room were clean and a towel was supplied. Breakfast simply but fine. Kitchen was locked before and after times allocated which was inconvenient.


77%

Pretty cool place and great location but you may get stuck in the lift and have employees pry the doors open. Hopefully you don't have to pee.


71%

The location is good and convince to pubs and restaurants. The room is clean and facilities are fine. Staffs are very nice and helpful. I've had a good stay here. This is a nice hostel to choose.


97%

very happy

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It would be nice to have somewhere to put your glasses and book on the upper level of the bunk bed. Breakfast could provide something without sugar in it, like cheese or salami. (A: excellent, E: very poor) Security: C, you sleep with strange people in a room. Location: A, near the city center. Staff: B, helpful and friendly, but they want money for small services (locker for storing luggage for just 4 hours). Atmosphere: C, a bit shabby Cleanliness: C, a bit shabby Facilities: B, ok

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We've been here before and knew what to expect. The place is friendly, tidy and very good value for Dublin. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate and you can eat as much as you like. The dining area where you take it is very pleasant. The hostel itself is on the south side of the city where there are a good number of attractions in close proximity.


100%

The coffee and the food is delicious ,the staff is friendly and helpful . The location is perfect and the rooms are clean . I stayed last year as well and i like the new look , i love the new painting and and the colors , very good idea for improvement. See you next year ...

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This place was really clean and, to me, in an ideal location. It is steps away shops, bars, and restaurants, but is nicely tucked away on a quiet street away from traffic and noise. The lockers were good, although it was inconvenient having to go up and down to grab your things. The staff is great and really helpful, so always ask them for where to go and what to see. One downside was the unreliable wifi. Overall, if you're looking for a clean and conveniently located hostel that is it!


71%

Staff were friendly, bathrooms were acceptably clean. Breakfast was plain but good. Bed frames were ridiculously squeaky, and prices were much more than I've ever spent in Dublin.


71%

Clean and nice rooms, though they were lacking in space for luggage. had to vault over my roommates giant bag to make it to my top bunk. Otherwise, had a good experience, and the free breakfasts were a bonus.


77%

Twin room, small but met our requirements. Building plumbing was especially noisey, 3am wake up call every morning.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We had a nice stay here. Breakfast spread filled the belly. Cold milk machine for cereal! Shower wasn't great or particularly hot. In a great location- 5 to 10 mins walk into the main section of the city.


100%

The coffee is the best and the food is delicious , amazing idea open your own coffee shop . The hostel is central located , with clean rooms and helpful staff . Good luck and hope to come back soon

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

We rented a twin room for tonight, we paid 40€ per person per night for a room which contains just enough place for the two beds, it does not worth that price at all. We were really disappointed, even the breakfast was really simple. It is not a bad hostel but definitively not worth that price maybe 15€ per night that is it.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

For a first time traveling alone i discovered that the backpacker life is easy when you have a clean room and a fresh bed . Nice staff, very listening; good beds; and a free breakfast. The people I met there was really interesting, and i definitely enjoyed my stay at the Hostel. I can't wait to travel again, and coming back !

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Some guests don't understand that the quiet time at 2300 hrs in the sleeping areas applies to them. Loud laughter, other guests visiting other guests, loud talk in the hall. This occurred on the 2nd floor where I was. Hadn't decided whether to ring the reception or talk to the partiers. Then I heard someone nicely tell them they were being loud. That helped somewhat. I think a review of the policy to everyone who checks in might help. Maybe a cartoon drawing contest with the quiet rule as theme


49%

Only good thing about this hostel was location, away from temple bar and lots to do. Everything else pretty awful, bathrooms were moldy, doors were broken, everything was very run down. It's such a big hostel you have little interaction with others. Worst thing is you had to rent lockers to store your stuff, no storage in room it was all downstairs. I felt was just a ploy to get more money. Would not recommend.


54%

The single room even ensuite is too expensive for its size and quality of furniture. There were only a single bad quality bed and a super old chai. The variety in breakfast is extremely poor as well.


(143 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback