Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Avenue Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
Avenue Hostel Located at Oktogon tér 4., , Budapest.
Avenue Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 1067 Oktogon tér 4.
88% 1484
47.5055352 19.0633955
Avenue Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
8.0

Not a bad place to stay for a night or two. PROS: nice 24 hour helpful staff, free breakfast, good location walking to most attractions and food CONS: rooms are hot and small, bathrooms are dirty and showers have bad water pressure, security lacking (no keys to building or rooms). Probably would try a different hostel next time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Greetings!  Thanks for your time taken. We are working on improving the showers and the water pressure issue. There are two codes for entering the building: one on the main door from the street and another to the hostel itself. In our opinion it makes it more secure than guests losing the keys during those crazy and fun nights Budapest offers. Sorry for any inconvenience. Sincerely Yours, Avenue Hostel Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Such a good hostel if you want to meet people, and it's also not a loud one, because they're quite strict with it being quiet after 10, really good location, you're in walking distance from pretty much everything you could need while staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Jul 2016
5.4

Ok location. Safe due to building itself, but big bags don't fit in lockers. Bathrooms flooded. Very basic breakfast (bread, jam, 2 cereals). Lots of noise from street below. Staff ok, but not overly willing to help. No laundry facilities as advertised. Beds have curtain and individual power socket which is good. It's cheap for Budapest, but you get what you pay for. Wasn't awful, but I wouldn't rush back there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear traveler, guest and reviewer! We appreciate your writing us about your concerns and downs. We are very disappointed to read you weren’t satisfied with the work of the staff. In 98 cases from 100 people love their hard work. Please accept our deepest apologies for the bathrooms. We do work hard to keep them in a good condition 24 hours a day, but in a rush hour it may happen that not enough attention is sometimes paid for those. Regarding the breakfast, here, unfortunately, we don’t share your opinion. Avenue is one of those very few free breakfast accommodations which provides eggs, veggies, fruits, cereals, milk, jam, bread, coffee, tea, butter in the morning and this - for more than two hours. Sorry you didn’t find this enough for a free of charge hostel meal. Kind regards.

16th Jul 2016
10.0

They have air conditioning. The rooms are nice. Right next to metro and tram. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed in- staff were incredible, atmosphere was really good/social/friendly and the people we met were rally good fun. The activities the staff recommended were some of the best nights out I've had, and the free breakfast is such a money saver; would 100% stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So wonderful to hear you enjoyed it at Avenue so much! Our receptionist will be pleased to receive such a compliment as they always make an effort to be in the center of all events happening around the city, and as you may have noticed there are so many of them! Crazy! :) Thank you so so much! Hugs! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
7.4

Advertised air-conditioning, but i think they just meant WINDOWS. My 8 bed mixed dorm was unbearably hot and stuffy and hard to move around due to the position of the beds. Staff were friendly enough, wifi was very very bad. Bedding was awful, my pillow was falling apart inside the case. Towel smelled bad, bring your own! Good free breakfast. Some showers are awfully grim, but the shower room attached to the kitchen was a hidden gem of cleanliness! Great location for sightseeing and nightlife.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, dear traveler! Thank you for your understanding and the feedback written. We do have some problems with air conditioning, though it is above our controlling and abilities, as the issue occurred due to the over use of the electricity on the district level. The solution is about to come. Our apologizes for the showers. We try to control the cleanliness of those whole day long. Sorry to hear your comments. Will be working on that. Yours, Avenue Hostel Team.

12th Jul 2016
3.7

Security: you can't lock the door of you room, the locker is so easy to break; Location: above a lousy cross, can't sleep with windows open; Staff: either tired or just does't care; Atmosphere: breakfast time is chaos, dinner is too small, unwashed dishes full the sink; Cleanliness: unknown stain and odd smell on bed; VFM: can't sleep for two nights; Facilities: AC is bullshit; When you try to pay with cards, they ask you to play a dice game! WTF, I am staying a hostel not a casino!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yeah! Less words but strong 10! :) Millions of thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
4.0

I would recommend this to my ex-girlfriend, who hurt my feelings and I want revenge!!! :))). As vrea sa-i văd fata dupa ce folosește prosoapele de la acest hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we would highly appreciate if you could provide us with some reasons which leaded to words like these. Otherwise, we are not able to improve and to make the place to be suitable for you and your needs. Hope you understand us and please let us know what unsatisfied you. Yours, Avenue Hostel Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
7.1

Great location, near lots of the ruin bars and opposite the metro station. Clean hostel, comfortable beds and helpful staff. However if you're looking for a more sociable vibe to meet people I wouldn't recommend this hostel, but it's a nice place nonetheless

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! :) Thank you for your time and choice made for Avenue hostel! We are very thankful for your opinion. Can't agree of not providing a sociable vibe, but as many people as many visions, Enjoy your traveling!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.