Hostelworld.com

Avenue Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.0
Avenue Hostel Located at Oktogon tér 4., , Budapest.
Avenue Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 1067 Oktogon tér 4.
90% 1283
47.5055352 19.0633955
Avenue Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
10.0

Avenue was so much more than I expected getting for how good of a deal it was! Such a welcoming, comfortable atmosphere and somehow I felt like there was much privacy even when in a 16 bed room. Best hostel I've stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
9.4

Avenue Hostel was a decent place to stay during my time in Budapest. I only have one complaint though: there aren't individual locks for each room, so anyone in the hostel can go into any room. I also had people in my room leave the door open, even at night, so I would have to get up and shut it. That's just something to be aware of in case you are interested in staying at Avenue Hostel. Also, it provides free breakfast, but if you want eggs you have to cook them yourself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

The main storage locker for my bag was broken and not fixed during my stay. Thankfully there was a smaller locker so my most important things could be locked away. Padlock, towel and adapter were provided. Power cut on last day which lasted hours. Bathrooms clean but often smelling of sulfur/damp due to lack of ventilation. Fantastic central location but very noisy at night due to the trams and road so take ear plugs. Somewhat subdued atmosphere where people generally kept to themselves.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice hostel in handy location. Would have liked a lock on the bedroom door in addition to the lockers. Breakfast of eggs, veg, bread and cereal was better than expected although seating area was quite cramped at busy times. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.9

Good location, comfortable bed, and they offer free locker, also have sockets and lamp on every bed! Public area is clean. Staffs are nice and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sending thank and hugs to Taiwan! Thank you our guest! Wishing you all the best traveling experience! :)

  • CHoneyman
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.7

Really great place! Comfy beds, good wifi, good common areas! Staff really friendly and helpful. As soon as I arrived the guy showed me all the best places to go etc! Really really good location right in the centre metro literally on your doorstop! Would recommend to anyone! Top job Avenue Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you traveler! Such a pleasure to receive your review! Inspires and gives us energy! Hope to check you in at Avenue very - very soon! Have a safe and amazing journey! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.4

Located in the intersection of two very important avenues in the Pest side of the city, Avenue Hostel was a great choice both for convenience and price. The staff was nice and helpful and the overall atmosphere is welcoming and safe. The only flaw in my POV is that the breakfast area is kinda small and it gets really crowded in the morning when everybody need to use the stove, the sink and the tables at the same time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
6.9

The place was in a good location but bathrooms were very gross. Almost like they never get cleaned. Also the rooms don't lock so anyone can just walk into your room. I found it bizarre that the rooms don't lock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Let us apologize for the showers. There is not a single day when the showers aren’t cleaned for at least several times a day, so we are really disappointed to hear that. Let us ask for an opportunity to make up for it in the nearest future. The locking system offer our guests unlimited locked storage place in the boxes next to the bed, but will be improved and completely changed eventually. Thank you.

14th Apr 2016
6.9

Wasn't that impressed with this place. Sheets were stained upon arrival. They obviously have retrofitted too many water lines for the building's capacity as while you use the shower or sink, temperature and water pressure is constantly changing. No locks on your door which made it questionable to leave anything out of your locker while out for the day. I skipped the free breakfast cause there are way too many people in there during the free hours. Probably would not stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear traveller, we understand your opinion about the locks and the breakfast. For these reasons we provide all our guests with as many free locks, for the boxes to storage the luggage, as needed. The breakfast is being longer than at any other hostel making it being available for everybody. Sorry you found it at the crowded time, we will try to come up with some solution for it. Anyway, thank you for choosing us and writing about all your doubts, it helps us improving ourselves. All the best.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel! AWESOME free breakfast, great location, everyone very friendly. The only thing that I felt iffy about was that there are no locks on the doors. The staff are great in that they give you a free padlock to use for the lockers if you don't had your own (most other hostels charge) so your belongings are still safe if you lock them in the locker. But yeah anyone can wander into the room and it felt a bit strange.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.