Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avenues Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2017
8.0

Second time there. For the most part we loved it. Walking distance to the Salt Palace. Repairs need done in the bathroom in bathrooms and other places. Staff seemed overworked. I would definitely go back again. I recommend this to someone wanting to save money while they sight see or go to a conference in SLC. There is an equipped kitchen on each floor with food offered by the hostel on the first floor to cook yourself. Refrigerators for your own food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
8.3

I met some great people and had a really good time, but it does kind of feel like a homeless shelter. Nevertheless, the staff was very accomadating, everybody was very friendly and the property was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
6.9

The staff are almost never in their office, so you have to call them and wait for them to show up. Some staff are knowledgeable but one guy left out important information when he checked me in (didn't show me where anything was, didn't tell me the combo to the front door, etc). A positive is that there was plenty of vacancies, even on a holiday weekend. My dorm had 6 bunks and I was the only one there. The showers were also touchy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rodriguezleslie5634
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2017
9.1

Beautiful neighborhood and scrupulously clean. The kitchens are well-equipped and there's no shortage of hot water, which isn't guaranteed in a hostel! It's a 20 minute walk or short bus ride to downtown SLC. The only problem with this place is the noise. Sound carries very clearly within the building, and it was extremely hard to sleep with alarms going off, staff having disputes, and people walking on the wooden floors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd May 2017
6.3

There are a lot of really weird people in the hostel. They looked like homeless guys. Just men and really weird. Someone told me these are people who stay a longterm. I just stayed one night and changed the hostel. I didn't felt really comfortable. But it was clean (the ladies facilities) and the breakfast was more than I expected.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
8.9

The room is way too small for 4 peeps. But the breakfast is amazing. It is close enough to take a stroll downtown. The ad says they have transport from the airport for $5 less than a taxi. But they don't have that service in actuality. It's a toss up people. You might find it to suit you, you might not.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
8.0

They charge you for a towel, they charge you for a blanket, and they began by scolding me for arriving only 40 minutes before their 10:30pm cutoff. Despite that awful first impression, their facilities are solid and spotless, and breakfast was really great. But there's just a special place in hell for hostels that try to charge for a towel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
10.0

it is not only a hostel, but also a home! fantastic hostel ! i would like to stay there agian if I visti SLC again! We can have a lot choices to eat, they offer nice breakfast and fancy dinner. Everyone is so friendly! bed is comfortable, location is very convenient,walking distance to downtown. quiet and safe!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
4.3

The reviews I read before have nothing to do with the reality, the hostel itself is not bad, but the atmosphere is terrible, a lot of unfrendly and weird people that made the time there really unpleasant.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.9

Great hostel, close to downtown! The guy at the reception was great and the room was very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.