Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aviemore Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Aug 2017
7.4

The hostel is a short walk from the train station, really nice building in a beautiful environment, with spacious rooms, common rooms and kitchen - comfortable beds, enough number of bathrooms, separate drying room and storage, so all very convenient. The only recommendation that more sockets would be needed in the rooms (there were only 2 for 6 people) and some lights at the beds - or fix the one over the sink.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
10.0

A clean safe place to stay with all the basic facilities needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel. Very convenient to walk to town and as a jumping off place to visit Cairngorms. Great facilities. Clean, very comfortable. Definitely recommend highly for singles, couples or family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
8.9

SYHA always has very suitable hostels. Another great stay with SYHA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
9.7

The best youth hostel I've ever stayed in. Love the common room. And the staff are really knowledgeable about the trails around the Cairngorms, ask them for tips!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
6.9

Huge hostel, classic YHA. Not much of an atmosphere but it is right in the Caringorms and lots of good advice if you want to hike.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.0

In an amazing location, found staff lovely and very helpful! rooms and bathrooms kept lovely and clean only thing I didn't like was no lockable lockers. However they will keep things behind reception desk if you ask.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Really nice and comfortable Hostel surrounded by nature. The facilities were very good! Big kitchen and a very nice common room with cozy sofas, TV and games. The bedrooms were quite small though. I would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Apr 2017
6.6

The rooms themselves don't have lockers, there are however eight at the entrance in the hallway. The kitchen is closed between 10-14.00 for cleaning, but it is big and clean . The mayority of the showers are campingshowers, meaning you need to press a button and it turns on (one temperature). If you search you will find one 'normal' shower. The tv room and lounge are awesome, the dinner room was straight out of a sterile hospital cafeteria. I would stay here again, but not for long.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2017
7.4

This hostel is in such a beautiful location on the edge of the mountains! Great hiking and biking around. I arrived at 1:58 (Check-in is at 2) and the man at the front desk was quite rude to me about being early for check-in... I was a solo traveler, and it was really not the warm "welcome to the hostel" I had been expecting... Other staff at the front desk were not very kind either. Other than the rude staff- I loved this hostel! Amazing common area, nice showers, comfy beds, great kitchen!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.