X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

B Hotel & Hostel Reviews

341 Broadway, Brooklyn, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
605 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

An ok stay. My friend and I booked two beds in a 6 bed room and got a room with only one bunk. In some ways that was good but the rooms weren't fully closed to the top so the wall didn't go up all the way to the ceiling. The whole floor was like that so you could have been done "room hopping" over the top of the room. Pretty creepy. Also it was really hot on the whole floor. But other than that everything was fine.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Exactly how everyone else describes it. It's not that bad, for how much it costs. I was only there for 12 hours, and it was exactly what I needed. It's close to a subway station, has clean bathrooms, and there's a bed.... pretty basic, but covers the essentials.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Personally I didn't think this place was all that great for the money but then what is in NYC, super easy to get into the city from Brooklyn as there's a train right above which does get a little annoying trying to sleep


69%

The open ceiling kind of kills many features. It causes noise, security and other issues. It was clean but the room was small. The security locker was small. Bathroom was clean, and so as bath towel, and bed.


83%

The subway is at third floor level so the hostel is VERY noisy. The rooms only have partition walls that do not go all the way to the ceiling so you hear every snore and sneeze from everyone else. I am practically deaf and sleep like a log, so I had a great stay but my friend did not sleep a wink and found it quite stressful.


40%

Lack of locks in bathrooms and toilets(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) , one toilet and basin for men on entire floor is a joke, walls ending under ceiling so that one can hear everybody, every 10 min a loud train passing by, rooms in size if a corporate cubicle and all that under the name of a luxiourius room......


89%

The place was very clean. . But being next to the train was annoying with one rumbling by every 15mins... and once you get used to that, there is some jackass fooling around in the halls and people keyring the doors slam. You can hear all of this because the rooms aren't fully private. The walls are open at the top, so you hear every little thing.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was very clean and repainted recently but the fact that the walls are not closed in the private for 2 bedrooms is annoying, because you can hear everyone in the other rooms or even in the hallway. It was ok for one night but I wouldn't have stayed more....

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel, although located right next to Williamsburg bridge & therefore a walk away from Bedford Av and Manhattan, was in a really sketchy part of town. The place was clean & the facilities adequate but my most resounding memory from this place will always be that the walls do not go upto the ceiling in any of the rooms & therefore whenever someone spoke/turned on the light/coughed/snored it would be heard across the entire floor. Also the train track & highway were next door. No sleep for me

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Events with the hostel were great! If you like drinking its the place to be. The staff are very accommodating, definitely enjoyed my stay. If i ever come back this will definitely be where i stay. Only Negatives is really the wifi is only available in the common room, plus when we checked in we didnt have beds till later in the night. If you dont go for the city go for Omar!

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

I have reserved this hostel. (friday up to tuesday) I sent an email on Thursday morning (on the 2 emails adresses including hostelworld!) telling them about our flight that was cancelled and that we would check-in on Saturday for sure. Reality check : We arrived on Saturday night and we were told that all rooms have been sold! Conclusion : No refund what so ever, no backup solution... I hope to get some news from Hostelworld especially that i have contracted the insurance and still didn't get a

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A little noisy because even when the rooms are separated, the walls do not go to the roof and there is an space so you can hear whats happenning outside its like being on a bathroom because of the walls

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff were very kind. The only issue I had was with the sleeping arrangements, Although the rooms are separated into groups of 2-4 or 6? You end up hearing everyone on the floor as the wall separator does not go all the way up to the ceiling.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Dont stay here. Ive stayed in a lot of hostels and chose to cut my stay short here. It's not a comfortable place. Incredibly noisy, bathrooms are really awkard. The staff aren't very nice and are clueless. They dont care if you have an issue. They dont actually have the dorms they advertise. Just a bunk bed or two practically in a closet. Also not on the best subway line and theres no good food around. Has a very sterile enviroment it doesnt feel like a hostel. Its hard to meet people.


77%

The 2 bed rooms are very compact but for the price thats to be expected. The showers and bathroom stalls are clouded glass, so when you are in the showers others will see you naked. If you dont mind, the place is cool but if you like you're privacy while naked this place is not for you.


60%

Just know the walls don't go up to the ceiling and are paper thin so if you book a private room it's not going to be private! You can hear everything and see lights go on and off. You'll be fine as long as you're a heavy sleeper and don't need much space. Good location for lower manhattan and williamsburg and much cheaper than manhattan hostels.


80%

Extremely noisy, the rooms have no ceiling so you hear everything which happens on the floor. the bathroom is quite small but okay. Has a nice lounge / kitchen area. Location is pretty good, JZM subways are just one block.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

If you want to sleep, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. Stayed 3 nights, hardly any sleep even with hard core ear plugs. The room are cubicles, like in a office the walls dont go all the way to the ceiling. YOU HEAR YOUR NEIGHBOR FART. 72 beds at one floor = it is a 72 bed dormitory you are sleeping in even if you pay for a "private room for 2", you dont see the others but you HEAR ALL OF THEM . Same goes for the lights, when neighbors are on, your room is lit as well. Worst place I ever stayed at.


51%

I was very disappointed that the lounge area was in a different building and that you had to go outside to get to it. I thought it would be like other hostels where there would be a convenient social area to hang out, but it wasn't. I'm also so disappointed by the fact that the walls aren't actual walls that go to the ceiling. I could deal with the subway noise, but it literally sounds like the person in the next room is in your room and that's both annoying and scary at the same time.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is pretty good. It's in Brooklyn but only 1 stop outside of Manhattan (Marcy Ave.). I liked that it was pretty clean. The rooms are VERY small but since it's also very affordable for NYC, that's alright. The only problem is: The "walls" around the rooms don't go up to the ceiling so you still hear everything from all the other rooms: snorring, music, hair drying (if they don't do it in the bathroom) and everything else. So bring your ear plugs and you're fine.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback