X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

B Hotel & Hostel Reviews

341 Broadway, Brooklyn, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
605 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Really good place to stay. Only a few steps to the subway station and just a few stops to times square, 5th Ave etc. the bathrooms were modern but not really private and not always clean, but it's a hostel so sth you should expect. I enjoyed staying there but due to no airconditioning not a descion for your stay during the summer months!


74%

Hostel is quite nice, very expensive for a backpacker though, but so is everything in New York. I really don't get why there are so many people complaining about the lower walls that makes it possible to hear noises outside the room. It is the same as if you stayed in a big dorm, when every time there is someone getting in and out. The difference is that it is a better version of that, since you may also get the privacy of a 2-bed room, if you know what I mean...


83%

Like all comments said, make sure to bring some ear plugs and an eye mask because the walls don't get to the ceiling. Other than that, the staff was suoer helpful and the location next to Marcy Av. Station is great.


91%

Only problem was traveling late night to the hostel, since the M line closes and the J didnt pass very often. The facilities were great, good atmosphere for cooking, chilling and siting for a chat with other travelers. The room was perfect. Having a card with only 2 people with access gives it an extra security level. Every location was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions and recommmendations. The soda dispensers were broken!

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The "B" is very well located next to a Subway station (Marcy Av.), the ride to Manhattan takes approx. 10 minutes. The downside is that the Subway runs elevated which makes it quite loud. Also, none of the rooms have their own ceiling, the floors are basically separated only by high walls. So you have privacy but might hear the other guests. Otherwise the hostel was very new and clean and the staff helpful. There are more than enough sockets but too few restrooms, a supermarket is nearby.


54%

This hostel is very poorly designed. The rooms are tiny, maybe about 9ft by 7ft and the walls do not meet the ceiling to allow for air ducts etc. This means that your are quite cramped and the noise that travels across the entire floor is insane. On one night I couldn't sleep because of the amount of snoring (in other rooms). Its kept quite clean and the facilities etc are not bad. The location is good beside the subway (again the noise is crazy as the line passes right in front of the windows)

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

If you want to sleep, try another place. You have the subway right outside the door and the walls don't get to the ceiling so you can hear every little noise in your floor. The restrooms are uncomfortable, no paper or anything to dry your hands and no hangers in the toilets. The lockers in the room are tiny, the size of a purse...Silly details that would change a lot! The hostel in general is nice, clean and with good decoration...but not very functional in some aspects.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was good hostel with good possition for visit Manhattan.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Best hostel I have stayed at in NY. Although it is located in Brooklyn, it's located right near a metro station that is a short ride into the city. Rooms are a little weird, they have open ceilings so you can hear everything on the entire floor. Bathrooms were great and i especially like the pool and table tennis tables.


77%

When you book a single room, you don't really get a single room, but end up in a giant dorm with sight protection. Meaning that you have your own space, but the room is open towards the cealing. This practically means that you cannot turn on the lights at night, if you don't want to wake up anybody, or you cannot listen to music, watch films etc..

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The rooms had no ceilings and so I heard EVERYTHING that was going on in the other rooms. The bathroom doors are TOO transparent, made me very uncomfortable.


83%

The hostel is in a great location as you can walk to Manhattan over the bridge. You are also near the subway and shops. There is a great cafe and everything is kept clean. I would say the only thing I found odd is that I wasn't sleeping in a room it was more of a cubicle and you can pretty much hear everything your neighbours are saying as the "walls" don't go all the way up to the ceiling. I would recommend for a short stay!


80%

there should be an access to kitchen area within the building.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Although the passing subway was extremely noisy and annoying, the staff provided free earplugs to remedy this situation. I felt safe here, and the location was close to the subway. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating!! :) SUPER CLEAN!!! I liked the cafe area and the supplies it provided as well as AMPLE space to cook. Perhaps try to do something to create more of an atmosphere for interaction between those who are staying.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

The room don't have the close wall so you can hear everything happened on the floor. Stay there for 4 night i can not sleep.it's is the worth hostel in my life.


94%

B Hostel is really close to Manhattan and in a nice part of Williamsburg. But as my room lay directly next to the subway I would have wished to get some ear plugs

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The window in my room was only yards away from a raised subway line, with trains running through the night. This made it really noisy - I hardly slept for 2 nights, even using earplugs. I think the other rooms would've been loud too. A shame because I liked the place otherwise - nicely and newly refurbished, with good facilities, and pretty good value.


60%

I booked a 2-bed-dorm and was looking forward to pass a quiet night.... It turned out that the walls of all 2-bed-dorms of the floor do NOT reach the ceiling and you listen everything happening on your floor. So its a dorm of 60 people with a little bit more privacy of being seen. I dont have a problem with people watching me. I think everybody books a small dorm because he is not intrested in the noises other people. In addition the subway passes in front of the window on a highline....

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Hostel was neat and well furbished. People werent really interactig with each other though. Rooms are small and the walls dont go up until the ceiling. The neighbourhood wasn't special, but it was easy to travel to manhattan.


100%

Hostel is located in a good place, near the subway station. What more, there is subway J, which goes directly to the AirTrain -> JFK. So it was very helpful for us. And even at night it was pretty ok to get there by subway. Hostel is very clean, bathrooms are pretty and clean too and there is a locker at room for free, u just need your own lock. I can recommend this hostel.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(93 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback