X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

B Hotel & Hostel Reviews

341 Broadway, Brooklyn, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
537 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I thought the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was great - right by the train station. It was noisy, but that's NY. Very nice kitchen where you can prepare you meals. Bathrooms were clean. Bring ear plugs - it can be noisy at night.


77%

I was here for work and the "open" rooms made it impossible to sleep before 1 am...

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely stay. Recommend the ear plugs as noise travels in that place but very clean and secure in a good location. I recommend taco Santana just around the corner and knife just off keap stray for the best sandwich of your life.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice location in Brooklyn, the area is fantastic


51%

If you are a light to medium-light sleeper, do not stay here. The walls do not go up to the ceilings because of some kind of NYC fire code. You can see the lights of your neighbors, and hear them even if they are speaking quietly (and even if they are a few doors down). I even got to smell the farts of my neighbor the entire night, which was great. Now if you are one of those people who can sleep through a tornado, then go ahead. The location is great, and the kitchen/lounge is nice.


51%

Good location, but that's about it. If you expect a budget hotel experience booking the private single, DON'T! I've been to loads of hostels in my life, but this was by far the worst value for money. The single room is a two bed dorm that you occupy on your own. It has only 3/4 high walls, not reaching up to the ceiling, so basically you are in a huge dorm that's sectionalized cubicle style.. Not worth the money. Furthermore there was an empty pizza box and empty toiletry packaging under my bed.


80%

The walls did not go all the way to the ceiling, so you could hear the entire floor. It wouldn't be too bad, except people would have conversations at full volume well after midnight. You can hear the M train go by, but it wasn't loud enough to keep me up. The rooms aren't large, but good enough to sleep in. A locker is provided in the room (you must have your own lock or buy one for $5), but it is hardly big enough to put anything in.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This was my second stay at this hostel. My favorite thing about it is its cleanliness. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. However both of my stays have been in the summer it does does get hot as there is no AC, windows, or fans in the rooms. There is also no ceilings to the rooms (think cubicles with very high walls ). This isnt really a problem except you can hear every noise from the rooms surrounding you. So it can get a little noisy. Besides that I think the value for money is good here


31%

I'm a very low-maintenence traveler, but this was the worst hostel experience I ever had. They don't note on their website that the walls don't go all the way to the ceiling, so there's zero privacy (it's effectively a fifty-bed dorm). The washroom and shower facilities are creepy: the partitions are transparent glass and don't lock. This is particularly troublesome because some bathrooms are unisex. We were booked for two nights, but ate the cost of the second and left after one. Awful.


31%

Very very nosiy! I booked private romm but i felt like in dorm! there are now walls between rooms. Very dissapointed.


77%

This is a very clean hostel well pretty good wifi and close proximity to the train station. The rooms however, are tiny, our 2-bed "dorm" was about 1.5m by 3m. Its fine if you only want to sleep there, except the air conditioning is very poor. The common area is great though and the kitchen fully stocked with all the equipment etc you'd need. Staff are helpful and friendly. We found the crowd to be pretty uninviting and insular. not a party hostel.


74%

This is a very good choice for the price. The staff is very accommodating, and the facilities are clean. The hostel is right off of the M train, which is great for getting around, but I could hear the train pass every 10 minutes from my bed on the third floor. The walls in the rooms didn't connect to the ceiling, so I could also hear everyone throughout the floor, but people were generally respectful. It's not a very social hostel, but provides a nice stay in a convenient Brooklyn location.


71%

For place to stay in New York and not paing to much, this is a good pick. The walls for the room don't go entirely up to the roof and it was quite annoying to listen to a conversation the entire night in another room. Even after asking they didn't really shut up. Nevertheless, are earplugs helpfull and can give you a good night (also because the hosltel is right next to the metro).


86%

The location was great! Easy acces to the metro but. You can leave your luggage at reception before your checkout, that ls good too. The problem the metro is so close to the hostel that u can hear the noise all day and all night but u can live with that, except if u want to be quiet

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

We booked a private room thinking it would be just that. But the walls don't go up to the ceiling meaning that you can hear every word that the 30 or so other people on the floor are saying. Zero privacy. We checked straight out and the staff wouldn't give us a full refund, despite the fact the wall situation isn't mentioned on the website. It's a really clean place though, I'm sure it would have been great if we weren't looking for a bit of privacy.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Extremely clean and well-located for travel into Manhattan and around Brooklyn. The layout of the dorms is a bit peculiar - the walls do not go all the way to the ceiling, so there is limited privacy/ quietness.


83%

They should have all the ceilings closed as there is no privacy and everyone can hear everyone's conversation.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The bathrooms were sparkling clean! Common room was always lively, but if you wanted to do your own thing, that worked too. Front desk workers were always sweet and helpful. The cubicle feel of the rooms was a little weird, but just bring ear plugs if you're sensitive to that and it's no problem.


77%

The B is perfect for travellers who don't necessarily need their accomodation to be luxurious, quiet, and right in the middle of all the major attractions, but _do_ want it to be clean, hospitable, and with easy access to public transport. Despite being in Brooklyn, the B is only two metro stops away from Manhattan, with three lines branching out into different directions once they have crossed the East River, thus making it easy to reach differents parts of Manhattan without transfers.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff is so good and friendly !!! But the room is not private. You can hear guess in the room next to you talk telephone or whisper and you can see the light from other room !!! I choose private room for single person and the room has a funny smell and very very very small. Imagine you can't put 2 big baggage in the room !!!! How small it is !!!! Well I choose here just for sleep and train cos it's easy to go anywhere !!! If you're looking for room like a hotel. This isn't your choice.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(134 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback