X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

B Hotel & Hostel Reviews

341 Broadway, Brooklyn, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
623 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The staff were very kind. The only issue I had was with the sleeping arrangements, Although the rooms are separated into groups of 2-4 or 6? You end up hearing everyone on the floor as the wall separator does not go all the way up to the ceiling.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Dont stay here. Ive stayed in a lot of hostels and chose to cut my stay short here. It's not a comfortable place. Incredibly noisy, bathrooms are really awkard. The staff aren't very nice and are clueless. They dont care if you have an issue. They dont actually have the dorms they advertise. Just a bunk bed or two practically in a closet. Also not on the best subway line and theres no good food around. Has a very sterile enviroment it doesnt feel like a hostel. Its hard to meet people.


77%

The 2 bed rooms are very compact but for the price thats to be expected. The showers and bathroom stalls are clouded glass, so when you are in the showers others will see you naked. If you dont mind, the place is cool but if you like you're privacy while naked this place is not for you.


60%

Just know the walls don't go up to the ceiling and are paper thin so if you book a private room it's not going to be private! You can hear everything and see lights go on and off. You'll be fine as long as you're a heavy sleeper and don't need much space. Good location for lower manhattan and williamsburg and much cheaper than manhattan hostels.


80%

Extremely noisy, the rooms have no ceiling so you hear everything which happens on the floor. the bathroom is quite small but okay. Has a nice lounge / kitchen area. Location is pretty good, JZM subways are just one block.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

If you want to sleep, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. Stayed 3 nights, hardly any sleep even with hard core ear plugs. The room are cubicles, like in a office the walls dont go all the way to the ceiling. YOU HEAR YOUR NEIGHBOR FART. 72 beds at one floor = it is a 72 bed dormitory you are sleeping in even if you pay for a "private room for 2", you dont see the others but you HEAR ALL OF THEM . Same goes for the lights, when neighbors are on, your room is lit as well. Worst place I ever stayed at.


51%

I was very disappointed that the lounge area was in a different building and that you had to go outside to get to it. I thought it would be like other hostels where there would be a convenient social area to hang out, but it wasn't. I'm also so disappointed by the fact that the walls aren't actual walls that go to the ceiling. I could deal with the subway noise, but it literally sounds like the person in the next room is in your room and that's both annoying and scary at the same time.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is pretty good. It's in Brooklyn but only 1 stop outside of Manhattan (Marcy Ave.). I liked that it was pretty clean. The rooms are VERY small but since it's also very affordable for NYC, that's alright. The only problem is: The "walls" around the rooms don't go up to the ceiling so you still hear everything from all the other rooms: snorring, music, hair drying (if they don't do it in the bathroom) and everything else. So bring your ear plugs and you're fine.


83%

Really good place to stay. Only a few steps to the subway station and just a few stops to times square, 5th Ave etc. the bathrooms were modern but not really private and not always clean, but it's a hostel so sth you should expect. I enjoyed staying there but due to no airconditioning not a descion for your stay during the summer months!


74%

Hostel is quite nice, very expensive for a backpacker though, but so is everything in New York. I really don't get why there are so many people complaining about the lower walls that makes it possible to hear noises outside the room. It is the same as if you stayed in a big dorm, when every time there is someone getting in and out. The difference is that it is a better version of that, since you may also get the privacy of a 2-bed room, if you know what I mean...


83%

Like all comments said, make sure to bring some ear plugs and an eye mask because the walls don't get to the ceiling. Other than that, the staff was suoer helpful and the location next to Marcy Av. Station is great.


91%

Only problem was traveling late night to the hostel, since the M line closes and the J didnt pass very often. The facilities were great, good atmosphere for cooking, chilling and siting for a chat with other travelers. The room was perfect. Having a card with only 2 people with access gives it an extra security level. Every location was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions and recommmendations. The soda dispensers were broken!

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The "B" is very well located next to a Subway station (Marcy Av.), the ride to Manhattan takes approx. 10 minutes. The downside is that the Subway runs elevated which makes it quite loud. Also, none of the rooms have their own ceiling, the floors are basically separated only by high walls. So you have privacy but might hear the other guests. Otherwise the hostel was very new and clean and the staff helpful. There are more than enough sockets but too few restrooms, a supermarket is nearby.


54%

This hostel is very poorly designed. The rooms are tiny, maybe about 9ft by 7ft and the walls do not meet the ceiling to allow for air ducts etc. This means that your are quite cramped and the noise that travels across the entire floor is insane. On one night I couldn't sleep because of the amount of snoring (in other rooms). Its kept quite clean and the facilities etc are not bad. The location is good beside the subway (again the noise is crazy as the line passes right in front of the windows)

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

If you want to sleep, try another place. You have the subway right outside the door and the walls don't get to the ceiling so you can hear every little noise in your floor. The restrooms are uncomfortable, no paper or anything to dry your hands and no hangers in the toilets. The lockers in the room are tiny, the size of a purse...Silly details that would change a lot! The hostel in general is nice, clean and with good decoration...but not very functional in some aspects.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was good hostel with good possition for visit Manhattan.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Best hostel I have stayed at in NY. Although it is located in Brooklyn, it's located right near a metro station that is a short ride into the city. Rooms are a little weird, they have open ceilings so you can hear everything on the entire floor. Bathrooms were great and i especially like the pool and table tennis tables.


77%

When you book a single room, you don't really get a single room, but end up in a giant dorm with sight protection. Meaning that you have your own space, but the room is open towards the cealing. This practically means that you cannot turn on the lights at night, if you don't want to wake up anybody, or you cannot listen to music, watch films etc..

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The rooms had no ceilings and so I heard EVERYTHING that was going on in the other rooms. The bathroom doors are TOO transparent, made me very uncomfortable.


83%

The hostel is in a great location as you can walk to Manhattan over the bridge. You are also near the subway and shops. There is a great cafe and everything is kept clean. I would say the only thing I found odd is that I wasn't sleeping in a room it was more of a cubicle and you can pretty much hear everything your neighbours are saying as the "walls" don't go all the way up to the ceiling. I would recommend for a short stay!


(74 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback