Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BB's Working Backpackers

  • 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 534 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 534 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 4.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
5.7

I stayed here three nights with my boyfriend in a private room. There was not enough cutlery and dishes/bowls and all the kitchen facilities were unclean. Worst of all, we had both giant cockroaches and bugs in our room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
2.0

Arrived at 10pm. I had CALLED earlier to MAKE SURE that someone would be there to check us in. HOWEVER upon arrival, waited OUTSIDE for 10 minutes after calling the number and ringing the doorbell. We were answered NOT by an employee or manager, but by a RANDO GUEST staying there. Facility was SKETCHY AF..narrow hallway, DARK, smoky! The Random Guest let us in, however one of us stayed near the doorway because we felt UNSAFE. NEVER found the DESK OR MANAGER. LEFT to find accommodation ELSEWHERE!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
4.9

In the eighties I lived in squats, this place reminded me I those times although the squats were a bit cleaner than this.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
3.4

No locks at all on the rooms and a simple code to get into the building. No doors on the common rooms and it's freezing all over the hostel. Faulty oven and hob, where guests have to turn it on and then off at the circuit breaker. I had clothes lost/stolen after I was told I could use the dryer, and the staff wasn't interested in helping. I've not seen them since.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere, people and location. The place itself has improved lots since I first arrived here months ago. They have been doing lots of cleaning and general tidy up. The staff are amazing especially Nick, Dylan, Jess, Yuri etc. Definitely recommend this place if you want somewhere chill and to meet awesome people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.3

I was originally going to stay two nights and almost cancelled on first appearance. I have been here four months now and im sad to say goodbye. The hostel itself is very simple (with limited forks :P ) however the amazing travelers, helpful friendly staff and lovely location (only 20 min bus into city, or 40 min walk if your up for it) make up for it. Its become a lot cleaner and enjoyable to hang out in under new managment, with regular deep cleans (offering work for accom) and pest control.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.0

Friendly staff,good location 10 min for CBD,amazing value. It is good for young travelers who are on a buget and want to meet good people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
9.1

very close to the CBD, Dylan and Nick are great, friendly people, great value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

Friendly staff,good location 10 mins from the CBD good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
7.7

I stay hostel few times,everything is good for budget and working holiday young person.the best work is that the management do the pest control regular ly, make the hostel cheap,clean safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.