Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BB's Working Backpackers

  • 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.7
BB's Working Backpackers Located at 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney.
BB's Working Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2039 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039
59% 482
-33.8640192 151.1696434
BB's Working Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
4.9

The hostel is really dirty, is a shame cause is quite near to the cbd, like 10 minutes by bus... is disgusting, the smells of the doorms are terrible!! but are good people over there.. but if you can go to another place i would recomeded you

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.9

Awesome people!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
4.6

The Location is great, but over all cleanliness is far from expected, our sheets were filthy, pillows stained and yellow, cupboard in the room was broken, the floor and walls were filthy, Parking lot is filled with junk and debris with wires hanging down from the ceiling and the washing machine electrocutes you. Staff were friendly but all made up of guests bar the two day managers, passports left out in the open by night manager upon check in, was not pleased with this.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
3.4

This place is way below the standard expected. We paid in advance but left after 1 night. Money down the drain. Whilst the staff were pleasant, the hostel itself is wholly inadequate. The cleanliness of the showed leaves you feeling dirtier than when you stepped in. There is a stench in the air that is completely indescribable. The kitchen itself shouldn't even be advertised as a kitchen. Draws are full of old wiring, broken bits of plaster and random plastic bags. Just plain dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
2.0

they don't accept Australian passport holders

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for feedback. We welcome everyone however Australians can only stay in private rooms.

26th Oct 2016
5.4

The facility was the most disgusting thing I've ever seen in a hostel. Mold in all the showers, whole area smelt all musky and moldy with no air flow. Disgusting. Common rooms and patios weren't bad, kitchen was kinda gross but made it work. Only two good things I can say are that it's the cheapest and the atmosphere was really good. The night manager was really rude too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback. If you need anything just come and see reception and we can resolve any issues for you. The hostel is cleaned several times each day and we do have a great atmosphere with plenty of things provided for free. We are glad that you love our cheap rates and great location!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Oct 2016
3.4

Managers hours are unsuitable for backpackers. We stayed 3 nights and did not see the manager. Bedroom door would not lock, this was a huge security issues because our room was directly beside the kitchen. Hostel advertised free parking but when we arrived we were told the car park was full, only four spaces and the absent manager always has one reserved.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the review. We have shorter manager hours to keep our rates nice and cheap and you are able to call and make arrangements, however we have a night manager to help with anything needed outside reception hours. Room keys are available for 6 share and smaller rooms and happy to keep valuables in office free of charge or lockers are also available. We have plenty of car parking available and also advise where you can park on the street for free.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Oct 2016
4.0

DISGUSTING hostel. The kitchen is impossible to use, as it has not been cleaned in ages and none of the guests clean up after themselves. There was mold and beer cans in the showers. No security in the rooms. I read the bad reviews on hostel world, but figured I could suck it up for a few days and was sorely wrong. There are other hostels comparable in price with much better value. Do not stay here!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
2.6

An absolute disgrace i booked for 3 nights but did even stay one and booked into a hotel which was a massive expense but would rather be safe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback even though very disappointing since you where fully refunded. I am aware you booked a 4 share and we had a problem with the allocation but we fixed it all up for you.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Sep 2016
4.6

You get what you pay for at this hostel. Bathrooms were awful with mold everywhere. Unless you are staying for a long time and looking for some place cheap, I'd look elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback. We love our cheap rates and FREE inclusions! The hostel is cleaned several times a day, if you have any concern with the cleaning come and let reception know so we can do something to address your concerns instead of bagging the hostel. We want everyone to be comfortable and have a good stay!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.