Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BB's Working Backpackers

  • 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 465 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 465 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.3
BB's Working Backpackers Located at 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney.
BB's Working Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2039 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039
64% 465
-33.8640192 151.1696434
BB's Working Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Sep 2016
4.6

You get what you pay for at this hostel. Bathrooms were awful with mold everywhere. Unless you are staying for a long time and looking for some place cheap, I'd look elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • callumlallison
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Sep 2016
6.9

Look for all the people saying bad things about this place, what in the hell were you expecting from a hostel at $12 in a good enough location? I mean seriously this hostel is not the dirtiest, not the worst atmosphere and not that bad in general. It is what it is. A hostel at $12 in a massive city like Sydney is a steal. The staff were nice (night guy was a bit strange), the location was manageable from because of buses and all in all there wasn't anything particularly bad about the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! We are wrapped that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have heaps of great people staying in the hostel and cleaning is done several times a day to make it nice and comfortable for you! We all love a bargain!!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
6.3

You pay for what you get. Don't expect much. People there are friendly. Toilets are dirty and in bad condition. But still usable. They do clean it daily but...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! Yes some things are a bit old but the hostel has a great homely atmosphere and there are plenty of people to make friends with! Its cheap and cheerful!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
3.7

The only thing good about it has parking for cars.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed the FREE car parking! I am sure you also enjoyed the FREE breakfast and wifi.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
9.7

Perfect stay! Cheapest in town with complete fasilities. Great manager and staff are really helpfull and friendly. BBQ weekend is awesome! Enjoy and great atmosphere ! Strongly recommended stay and value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving great feedback we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We always make sure we have the best rates, great atmosphere and lot of fun and great memories!!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2016
2.6

So dirty and horrible place. Sorry

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.1

Cheap, cheerful, great location and if you're looking for work, it's the best place to stay. Keep up the good work BB's. 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We have jobs coming in and really enjoy making your time in Sydney great!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Had An excellent stay, The rates are brilliant and had all the faculties that i required, the staff where helpful and friendly, and there was a great atmosphere! i would strongly recommend staying and extending!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! We are so happy you had a great stay! We love to help you find work and have great guests in the hostel and a wonderful atmosphere!!

25th Jun 2016
2.0

Basically a crack den

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
3.7

We had booked to stay here for four nights. We left after seeing the state of the place. The private room was ok, a bit smelly but ok. The bathroom and shower we had to share was filthy amongst other items there was dirty boxers on the floor. The kitchen was extremely dirty entire hostel is very old, dirty and smelly. We left after realizing just how dirty it was and felt having to pay for one night was worth leaving. I wouldn't have stayed there if it was free. Key didnt work on the door

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback, It is a pity you had not stayed as the private rooms are really nice with large windows and new floors and good sized space, and all the keys work as we value security. The hostel is cleaned several times a day and we have a great location and guests!!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.