Hostelworld.com

BB's Working Backpackers

  • 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia
Prices
map
reviews
5.1
Rating 442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Facilities 4.1
BOOK NOW
5.1
Rating 442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Facilities 4.1
BB's Working Backpackers Located at 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney.
BB's Working Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2039 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039
51% 442
-33.8640192 151.1696434
BB's Working Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
2.0

Basically a crack den

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
3.7

We had booked to stay here for four nights. We left after seeing the state of the place. The private room was ok, a bit smelly but ok. The bathroom and shower we had to share was filthy amongst other items there was dirty boxers on the floor. The kitchen was extremely dirty entire hostel is very old, dirty and smelly. We left after realizing just how dirty it was and felt having to pay for one night was worth leaving. I wouldn't have stayed there if it was free. Key didnt work on the door

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Nice lounge big tv with xbox an lots of games and movies. Two kitchen Comfi beds Secure carpark Very friendly stuff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.0

Stayed for four nights, very good value for money, kitchen facilities available, easy to get into town, is also located in a nice area of Sydney itself, opportunity to work at the hostel for a bit of extra money too which is good and there's a nice social atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! We are thrilled you had a great stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.3

Cheap price,free car park free WIFI and morning bread,two kitchens,daily cleaning job,best for young budget workhollyday people to stay,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thank you for the feedback we love being able to include free parking and WIFI for you guys! We have great guests!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th May 2016
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Lots of space on 14 bed dorm where I was staying. Bed was comfortable and did not squeak..:) Big garage area if people wants to stay up late without waking up others. Lots of bathrooms and toilets. Huge TV in dining area. 5-10 min by bus to get to the city. The only minus I could not connect to wifi it did not work on my phone. For what I have paid $14 per night I am really happy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th May 2016
5.7

Good value hostel if you need somewhere cheap that's easy to get to the city too, my room was good happy with that. The kitchen is really bad, dirty and very poorly equipped. Staffing is poor too I almost missed my flight because at 9am nobody was working and the night manager had gone walkabout, had to get my passport back from the office. Overall it's cheap and good for the price in Sydney

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.7

Brill Hostel. Read terrible reviews about this place but complete opposite. Met so many fabulous people here and ended up extending my stay. Rooms good size, nice social areas, and everyone makes you feel welcome. Arrived alone left with 4 other travellers (: staff helpful, good location, good mix of ages/genders/nationalities and nice vibes. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for your review! we are wrapped that you enjoyed your stay with us and met some great new friends! We really do have awesome guests and a great location:D

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Apr 2016
3.1

the only positive thing were friendly backpackers staying here too but other than that reeeealy horrible - it's a dirty and messy hole and also we had promised someone waiting for us when we arrive in the evening when we come from airport and we couldn't get in. luckily another backpacker opened for us when we stopped hoping to get in after 20min of ringing doorbell and knocking on door. and breakfast which is written on website that it's included in your stay? There isn't any breakfast..etc

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thank you for your feedback! We do have awesome backpackers staying at the hostel!!! There is a night manager to let you in until around 10.30pm. There is breakfast in the kitchens each morning for you.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
2.6

DO NOT GO THERE!!!! It's an awful place, the staff is made either of underpaid customers or of a rude, abusive manager who treats you decently only if you show some money. The toilets are filthy, the rooms are small and disgusting, with squeeky beds, broken, filthy furniture and limited hygene. The location is ok, with plenty of buses around, but GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!! Even the price is too high for this dump. For a few bucks more a day you can go to much better places.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for your feedback. We offer work for accommodation at the hostel which most backpackers love and really appreciate! The manager is always happy to help out in any way but as I am sure you understand people need to pay for accommodation in the hostel. We are in a great location and have great backpackers staying here!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.