Hostelworld.com

BB's Working Backpackers

  • 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia
Prices
map
reviews
4.5
Rating 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.9
  • Security 4.2
  • Location 4.9
  • Staff 5.0
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 3.5
  • Facilities 3.8
BOOK NOW
4.5
Rating 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.9
  • Security 4.2
  • Location 4.9
  • Staff 5.0
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 3.5
  • Facilities 3.8
BB's Working Backpackers Located at 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney.
BB's Working Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2039 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039
45% 427
-33.8640192 151.1696434
BB's Working Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
2.6

DO NOT GO THERE!!!! It's an awful place, the staff is made either of underpaid customers or of a rude, abusive manager who treats you decently only if you show some money. The toilets are filthy, the rooms are small and disgusting, with squeeky beds, broken, filthy furniture and limited hygene. The location is ok, with plenty of buses around, but GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!! Even the price is too high for this dump. For a few bucks more a day you can go to much better places.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
5.4

Cheap, that's it cheap...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
2.0

This hostel is extremely dirty, did not stay for the intended period booked.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. The hostel is cleaned several times each day, please let staff know if something has been missed.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2016
2.0

This is the worst hostel I have ever seen. I have seen better hostels in the slums of Colombia and Africa. The woman at reception not only refused me entry but charged me for a nights accommodation for late cancellation when I arrived. Service totally unsatisfactory. Take note of the reviews, this place really is a total bomb. Sleep in the park instead.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • lizeggs4274
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Mar 2016
2.0

As other reviewers have mentioned, the social area is a cold garage, and this is the only place with any wifi, though of course you wouldn't want to spend any time there. Our private room was small with a broken bed and a broken curtain. I really wouldn't have minded any of this except that the staff took from me a hefty key deposit which when checking out, I was unable to get back because the reception was closed. This hostel has ignored all my emails asking for the money. Absolutely disgusting

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback. I am surprised at your change of mind as you extended your stay and personally told me what a great time you where having!!! When reception is closed simply make arrangements the day prior or email or leave your account details and we will refund the key deposit. This works for everyone else.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
4.3

Best crack den I've ever stayed in

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, the hostel is cleaned several times each day. If something needs attention please let staff know so that it can be taken care of.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2016
2.6

I stayed here during the 10$ per night promotion, and honestly, I felt I had paid too much at that point. It reminded me of a dungeon, something was continually biting me of a night and staff were no where to be found. Wifi is not available in the rooms, only in the garage where rats run wild. Location is out of the city, and there is nothing within the area. For the regular price they charge, I would recommend staying in a different hostel in the city for the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the review. It would have been good to speak to staff during your stay if you where not happy as we can always do something to help. There is loads of things to do in the area- great cafe's and pubs a awesome waterfront reserve and great shopping!! Its is only a short bus ride to the city center. We have Free Wifi is in the lounge areas for your convenience.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2016
10.0

I am relax , enjoy !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mirkosaiu2023
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
2.0

Security: no boxes to lock your staff; they gave me the key of my room after 3 days Location: far from the city: what you save you spend in public transportation Staff: no staff at all, just the backpackers who works for the hostel Atmosphere: the hostel looks also terrible; you don't have the possibility to stay relaxed and away from music and high chatting noise (which last until late in the night) Cleanliness: room very dirty and stinky; even sheets weren't clean

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for your feedback. We have security lockers for hire so you could have hired a locker for your stay. We are proud of the fact that we help backpackers with work and we also think its great to have a fun atmosphere where people play music, talk and socialize. The hostel is cleaned every day several times but some rooms do get a bit messy if they have messy guests in them.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
2.0

1believe a rating of 2 is even to high.... do not stay here even if it's a last resort ( like it was for me) , I would have much rather slept in a park, Or better yet a beach. Probably would have been clean and not bitten as badly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for your feedback. Its great staying at the beach but we have a great location too! Darling st has wonderful shops, cafe's and pubs and the beautiful waterfront park just down the road. In summer you should always use mosquito repellent in the evenings- just a tip for you!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.