Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BB's Working Backpackers

  • 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
4.9

In the eighties I lived in squats, this place reminded me I those times although the squats were a bit cleaner than this.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
3.4

No locks at all on the rooms and a simple code to get into the building. No doors on the common rooms and it's freezing all over the hostel. Faulty oven and hob, where guests have to turn it on and then off at the circuit breaker. I had clothes lost/stolen after I was told I could use the dryer, and the staff wasn't interested in helping. I've not seen them since.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.3

I was originally going to stay two nights and almost cancelled on first appearance. I have been here four months now and im sad to say goodbye. The hostel itself is very simple (with limited forks :P ) however the amazing travelers, helpful friendly staff and lovely location (only 20 min bus into city, or 40 min walk if your up for it) make up for it. Its become a lot cleaner and enjoyable to hang out in under new managment, with regular deep cleans (offering work for accom) and pest control.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.0

Friendly staff,good location 10 min for CBD,amazing value. It is good for young travelers who are on a buget and want to meet good people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
9.1

very close to the CBD, Dylan and Nick are great, friendly people, great value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

Friendly staff,good location 10 mins from the CBD good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
7.7

I stay hostel few times,everything is good for budget and working holiday young person.the best work is that the management do the pest control regular ly, make the hostel cheap,clean safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Mar 2017
2.9

I stayed just one night and lost my money for the rest. Dorms without door, bathroom close to the room didn't work, everything was dirty! The smell is horrible I am not sure if it could be worse. This should be free and even being free is not a good place to stay. The only good point was the receptionist, she is an old woman that will try to help you and will apologise for the status of the hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I'm really sorry you had a bad experience. We are under new management now.. We are taking feedback very seriously and are improving every day. I'd like to offer you to come and stay again for a couple of nights on us. Let's see if we can change you mind :) Hope to see you again, The BB's team

  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
4.3

Do not stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I'm really sorry you had a bad experience. We are under new management now. Please feel free to email us a more detailed account of how you think we could improve. You left without seeing us to express your dissatisfaction. At checkout you appeared to be very happy. We are taking feedback very seriously and are improving every day. I'd like to offer you to come and stay again for a couple of nights on us. Let's see if we can change you mind :) Hope to see you again, The BB's team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
5.4

Very very dirty, office close too early, strange people linving there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I'm really sorry you had an average experience. We are under new management now and a lot of our previous guests have moved on. Regarding reception times, with the rates we offer a 24 hour reception is not possible. The is however a person on site always to help with check in and general inquiries. Hope to see you again, The BB's team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.