Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BB's Working Backpackers

  • 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney, Australia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.2
Rating 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 3.3
  • Facilities 3.9
BOOK NOW
5.2
Rating 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 3.3
  • Facilities 3.9
BB's Working Backpackers Located at 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039, Sydney.
BB's Working Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2039 677 Darling Street (corner Victoria Road), Balmain 2039
52% 497
-33.8640192 151.1696434
BB's Working Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
8.0

Cheap and affordable. The manager was lovely, the people were very friendly. Only 6 minutes on a bus to the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and yes we love our great location and cheap rates!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
2.9

I can safely say it was the most discussing, ill looking place I've ever been in. Let alone paying for spending the night there ! At first glance I thought it was an abandoned building then realised it was the hostel. We walked in through the front door, as someone had let us in. Basically no security. Then walked through a rabbit warren of stinky, dirty corridors which eventually led to rooms. One of the chill out areas was two sofas in a garage which had an overpowering smell of cat wee!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
4.3

Very dirty with poor facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
4.0

there is so much better place to be in sydney for pretty much the same price. Pro: -probabably the cheapest in sydney -guest are really friendly Cons: -display they have acces to wifi wich dosent work -display they have included breakfast wich consist of a loaf of toast that they put on the counter so your never sure if its the loaf of a guest. -no keys to get inside you can only get in by a code witch they often change without warning then you have to call them to get it but they dont answer.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback we are the cheapest hostel in Sydney and have a great vibe, wifi is for guests and is FREE, breakfast is available every morning and is FREE, keys are available however most people prefer not to use them so up to each guest.

14th Dec 2016
3.4

Plane arrived late so I had to check in after 5pm. I didn't get "checked-in" but saw the night manager who took my passport for collateral since he couldn't charge me for my stay and since my room didn't have a lock I just walked in. Although that originally upset me since I couldn't go anywhere and purchase alcohol, not having paid for all four nights made it an easier decision in the morning to bail after one night. Couldn't keep track how many roaches in my room were dead vs alive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the feedback. We are relaxed and cheap hostel who like to offer work to backpackers. If you want a door man stay at the Hilton! Our 14 share dorms don't have keys, if you let us know your concern we could have put you in a smaller room with a key. The hostel is sprayed regularly and roaches are a part of Sydney even though I hate them too!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
4.9

The hostel is really dirty, is a shame cause is quite near to the cbd, like 10 minutes by bus... is disgusting, the smells of the doorms are terrible!! but are good people over there.. but if you can go to another place i would recomeded you

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.9

Awesome people!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
4.6

The Location is great, but over all cleanliness is far from expected, our sheets were filthy, pillows stained and yellow, cupboard in the room was broken, the floor and walls were filthy, Parking lot is filled with junk and debris with wires hanging down from the ceiling and the washing machine electrocutes you. Staff were friendly but all made up of guests bar the two day managers, passports left out in the open by night manager upon check in, was not pleased with this.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
4.3

Smells terrible dirty facility bathrooms are appalling kitchen is a mess and last but not least the living room is in a really dirty basement

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
3.4

This place is way below the standard expected. We paid in advance but left after 1 night. Money down the drain. Whilst the staff were pleasant, the hostel itself is wholly inadequate. The cleanliness of the showed leaves you feeling dirtier than when you stepped in. There is a stench in the air that is completely indescribable. The kitchen itself shouldn't even be advertised as a kitchen. Draws are full of old wiring, broken bits of plaster and random plastic bags. Just plain dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.