Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BVJ Opera-Montmartre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 724 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 724 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.5
BVJ Opera-Montmartre Located at 1, Rue de la Tour des Dames, 75009 , Paris.
BVJ Opera-Montmartre
France
Paris France 75009 1, Rue de la Tour des Dames, 75009
74% 724
48.8777582 2.3343042
BVJ Opera-Montmartre
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
3.4

Absolute dive. My pillow was stained and my blanket was full of someone else's hairs. I've been itching since I left. The toilets had no seats, were freezing cold and the inside of the cubicles dirty. The shower was feeble and went cold after a few minutes. there is 1 key per room so you can't lock the door from inside unless you want to keep getting up to let others in. Men shouting in the street outside until 3am. Rudimentary breakfast served with a frown. Extremely substandard. AVOID

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry, but as informed twice : linen, pillow, blankets are changed on 1st request at the reception desk open 24h non stop // 1 resident card per person + 1 key per room to share with your roomate // rudimentary breakfast with tea, coffee, chocolat, milk, 2 kinds of cereals, american toast, biscottes, cake, bread of the baker, 7 flavours of jam, honey, nutella, fruit salad, orange juice, appe juice, 3 types of chease, yogurt... sorry we can't do better for a free early french breakfast in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon....

19th Nov 2016
8.6

Second time staying here, and my room was much nicer! Despite requesting a 10 bed room I was placed in a 6 bed room for the same price, and it turned out to be considerably cleaner with nicer shower/toilet facilities. Not sure how that happened but it was much appreciated! I love the neighborhood, lots of cafés in the area, and the Galeries Lafayette, Palais Garnier, and Sacré Coeur are all within easy walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the perfect location and value, the very good staff, atmosphere and value the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon....

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
4.6

This hostel was not worth the money - a few things: you have to pay for Wifi/computer use, there are plugs/lights in the rooms but only in the middle of the room not at your bed, you don't get a key for your room, you share it with the other guests - which means if your roommate forgets to drop the key at the desk your belongings are locked in the room unless you can track down a staff member (very annoying and insecure). The luggage storage room is also extremely insecure, anyone can walk in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You reserved one of the cheapest bed in a simple and basic dorm for 20 euros in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Next time for more service, just pay a bit more to get what you wish : a private room, with private facilities !

11th Nov 2016
6.6

Unfortunately I can't to talk more about this hostel because I just spleep there for some hours.....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the very good value of the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon....

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2016
9.1

Had a very nice stay here! The hostel was clean and the staff very friendly. A short walk to opera and montmatre as well. Beds were comfy and has a very nice courtyard which is very relaxed. I would definitely stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for the very nice stay, the clean hostel, the very friendly staff, the comfy beds, the nice court yard... in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon...

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
8.9

BVJ Odeon provided a wonderful haven for me and my four friends stranded in Paris by a technical fault on EuroStar. The building is amazing, the staff warm and friendly and the facilities spotless and comfortable. For the price, we hardly expected breakfast to be included, but so it was and a generous one at that. Hamid, the manager, gave us a quick low down on the history of the building before we left and, again, was the perfect host! Aim for a room at the top - the Mlle Mars suite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the amazing building, the warm and friendly staff, with a great free early french breakfast in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon...

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Oct 2016
3.1

Booked a twin room. Upon arrival, was told all twins were taken, so we were offered a single room with a pull out bed. Got charged for a twin until I had to argue with manager the next day. Got partial refund in the end, which we appreciated. Room is filthy, someone else's hair on sheets, crumbs in pull out bed. No soap by sink, but nowhere to wash hands in bathroom down the hall. Really loud when other guests come in drunk at 1am. Rude staff. Overall, worst hostel experience I've had yet.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We don't share at all your point of view... Our reality is different : our receptionnist propose 3 options, you visit and choosed the twin you wish, our manager made a gift but for sure, with the price you paid : shower kit as an option to buy for 5 euros at the reception desk, linen are changed on 1st request at the reception desk... Overall the worst guest we ever had yet !

16th Oct 2016
3.1

- Very bad Staff . - Not Clean at all - Breakfast is bad Sorry but it was a very bad experince . I know that it's just 15 euros , but they can be more professional

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hopefully, closed to 80 % of our guest don't share your point of view... Don't complain, just come to work with us for free, we'll be happy to see how much you can improve the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, since 1948 !

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.9

No lockers in the room. Next to the subway, restaurants, supermarkets and stores. It is possible to see some nice places by foot. Free breakfast. The hostel is very beautiful, but not very clean. Bathrooms are really far from the bedrooms. Pay everyday for wifi. I had two big luggages and needed to get some money in the bank just around the corner to pay the booking and needed to start a discussion with the staff to leave my luggage only for 5 minutes in the reception while I was in the bank!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great location, the beautifull hostel with lockers at disposall in the lugage room for 2 euros per use, with the cheapest bed in the cheapest dorm you choosed Wi-Fi as an extra option for 2 euros the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon...

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
5.4

As a hostel this place kinda sucked. No vibe at all and staff so unhelpful they might not even be there. I did however have a really comfortable and clean bedroom and nice shower and bathroom, no toilet seats tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the really confortabe and clean bedroom, the nice shower and bathroom in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian Mansion House of the 18h century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the french actress Mlle Mars with a stunning lobby, a cute court yard... managed since 1948, by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with very simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast, on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre, with Sacré Cœur, Moulin Rouge and Pigalle a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon....

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.