Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BVJ Opera-Montmartre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.0

Nice place overall! The bathrooms smelled some but not a huge deal. Honestly the bad part was that electric outlets were not by the beds because that would make it a lot nicer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
8.6

This hostal is perfect for a quiet place to stay as a solo traveller. The one thing I found annoying was that you had to pay for wifi every 24hrs and share keys with everyone in the room. I wish it was cheaper as it is minimal but the location and staff are great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the perfect quiet hostel with great staff and location... in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... P.S. : For more service, just pay a bit more, to get a new all inclusive connected bed, with FREE SPEED Wi-Fi & private facilities !

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed staying here! The staff was very helpful. Chekere checked me in and was so helpful. He had a smile on his face and made me feel very welcome. Check in was easy and to top it off he upgraded me to an even better room. I had a little difficulty finding the place but I've never stayed in a hostel so I wasn't sure what to look for. Free breakfast was an amazing contribution. You pay for wifi but it was definitely worth it. Overall I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thaks for the very helpfull staff, amazing free early french breakfast... in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
6.0

Good location - within walking distance from Louvre and Sacre Coeur and right next to a metro station. Staff was helpful. The atmosphere was just okay - everyone in the room was quiet and didn't really talk. I had these inconsiderate Spanish/Latin American roommates who returned really late at night and chatted loudly regardless of others asleep. The shower was weird - overly hot water and nowhere to place your clothes while showering. Overall, its an okay for a bed but not anything else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the good location and the helpfull staff... to get a bed + a free early french breakfast, in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon !

27th Jan 2017
9.7

This hostel is very well-valued for the given price. Yes, the rooms and facilities are no-fuss as advertised (wifi 2 euros for 24h, bring your own towels and toiletries) but for included (simple) breakfast and good location, worth it! I traveled with five other friends (4 other females, 1 male) - we originally all booked the 10 bed mixed, but reception staff were kind enough to put us together in a 6 bed mixed. Even when I was checking out seperately, staff remembered us, a nice touch! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the good location, the free ealy french breakfast and nice staff in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon !

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.3

Really cheap hostel in a brilliant location. Good range of food for breakfast (but terrible coffee). The 10 bed female dorm was really nice and felt safe. The toilet rooms were decent and the shower rooms were very old with rotting doors but still suitable for the price. The people at reception were all very helpful, the manager in particular! My only real complaint was that I planned to buy a towel when I arrived then was told they had none, which was very difficult.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the cheap hostel on a brilliant location, the nice dorm, the helpfull staff... in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon !

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
7.4

The location is convenient, only takes 2mins walk to the nearest metro station. BUT !!! I can't even feel the heat in room, I don't think their heating appliances work. It's really cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for convenient location, the great staff and atmosphere... in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... (P.S. : Sorry but for the heaten, just turn the button... or ask us, at the reception open 24h non stop)

  • bexhazard6720
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Staff was very lovely and helpful, especially when helping with last minute train ticket problems at 2 in the morning. Shared dorms had a friendly atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was appropriate for price and satisfactory with a range of breads & spreads, yoghurt, cereal, fruit salad, and drinks. Location also convenient with useful metro lines near by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the lovely & helpfull staff, the friendly atmosphere you found, the great free early french breakfast on a convenient location... in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon...

18th Jan 2017
9.7

Was pretty decent compared to some of the other hostels I've been to. The building has a historic appeal and the staff was super friendly. I got to meet a lot of friendly and young travelers. Quite a lot of touristic attractions accessible within walking distance from the hostel. I'd definitely recommend the hostel for young travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the historic buidling, the super friendly staff, the amazing location... for in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon !

15th Jan 2017
8.0

It's very well situated and staff was friendly, free breakfast is definitely a plus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the very well situated hostel, the friendly staff, the free breakfast... in the 1st historicall hostel of Paris, private parisian mansion house of the 18th century, offered by the Emperor Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars, managed by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to get a cheap bed with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre with Sacré-Coeur, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge a street closed to the hostel... Hope to see you soon...

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.