Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BVJ Opera-Montmartre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
2.3

When we arrived we were met with rude, disorganised, unhelpful front desk staff. They finally took us to the room but we discovered there was no beds. We told the reception but they insisted there was beds & told us to go away & on our return there would be beds. There wasn't. They tried to split us up, but finally put us in a room, with 13 other people! I paid for a 10 bed! The showers were disgusting, the toilets were a mess, there was no water, and the staff blaimed me for there being no beds

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
2.3

Do NOT stay at this hostel it is the absolute worst i have ever stayed at. There is no wifi, no A/C, no lockers, only 1 key per 10 (13) person room and it is SO dirty. The showers would flood with brown water every time you turned it on. DISGUSTING And the 10 person all female dorm I booked ended up being 13 people with 3 beds thrown on the floor. Which after talking to a few other people happened in other rooms also. I and 10 others had to wait 1 hour to check in. Staff is rude. Horrible hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
2.6

Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. No idea how this has such a good overall rating. Very unfriendly staff, no air con, dirty showers and toilets, stains on bed sheets, rats in courtyard, ants in room, no lock on luggage store room, only 1 key to share for 10 bed dorm room, squeaky beds. The only good thing about the hostel is the location. I would highly recommend people to NOT stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2017
2.0

I couldn't see any good services from the employees.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry, but we can't share your point of view. Just remind for a balance of 20 euros, you choosed a bed + a free early french breakfast on an amazing location, in a stunning building : the 18th century private parisian mansion house, built by the explorer Bougainville, offered by Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars... nowadays the 1st historical hostel of Paris, managed by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to provide a cheap bed + a free early french breakfast, on a stunning location : just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre, with Sacré-Coeur, Moulin Rouge & Pigalle a street closed to the Hostel...

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
7.1

This place is a perfectly good place to spend a couple of days. A metro ride away from the center of Paris, but a short walk away from a metro stop. Moulin Rouge and the Sacre Coer are walking distance. The wifi only worked 1 of the nights of my stay. It was good enough to watch Netflix on when its available, at least in my experience. Place was pretty clean. Room was spacious. Though your room stayed unlocked through the night I never felt anything but safe. Security of the place is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice place, the staff was helpful and kind. Wifi was very good for 2 euros for 24 hrs. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the nice place, the helpfull & kind staff in the 18th century private parisian mansion house, built by the explorer Bougainville, offered by Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars... nowadays the 1st historical hostel of Paris, managed by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to provide a cheap bed + a free early french breakfast, on a stunning location : just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre, with Sacré-Coeur, Moulin Rouge & Pigalle a street closed to the Hostel...

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

It is a very nice hostel. Clean and comfortable. We were lucky enough to be on the ground floor so we really liked it. I'm not sure how we would have felt if we were on the top floor. The location is great, it's close to the metro. You have to pay extra for the wifi and the wifi isn't great :/ It's a beautiful building, especially the lobby. They brag about the free french breakfast, but it's just cornflakes and bread. Very helpful and friendly staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
7.1

It was a nice place to stay. The wifi was not free and had to buy it every 24 hours and it hardly worked. Other than that they had breakfast and the rooms were pretty nice and clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the nice stay, the great free early french breakfast + the nice and calm dorms, in the 18th century private parisian mansion house, built by the explorer Bougainville, offered by Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars... nowadays the 1st historical hostel of Paris, managed by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to provide a cheap bed + a free early french breakfast, on a stunning location : just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre, with Sacré-Coeur, Moulin Rouge & Pigalle a street closed to the Hostel..

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
5.4

The front room of this Hostel looks amazing but beyond it not so much. When we arrived we were told to take the free beds in our room which we did, afterwards we left for the day. When we returned we realised all the beds were taken apart from 1 on the floor. The hostel overbooked the room and we had to move to a mixed dorm. The beds were dirty and we believe a person in our room had not paid. The positives were the breakfast and location were really good. You get what you pay for at this hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the amazing lobby + the really good location + the really good free early french breakfast, in the 18th century private parisian mansion house, built by the explorer Bougainville, offered by Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars... nowadays the 1st historical hostel of Paris, managed by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to provide a cheap bed + a free early french breakfast, on a stunning location : just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre, with Sacré-Coeur, Moulin Rouge & Pigalle a street closed to the Hostel... (P.S. : we are very sorry, but we can't guaranty the civism of your roomate, and in case linen, blanckets, pillows are change on 1st request at the reception desk open 24h non stop)

15th Jun 2017
8.0

Good location and atmosphere. I felt very well being there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the good location & atmosphere, in the 18th century private parisian mansion house, built by the explorer Bougainville, offered by Napoleon to the actress Mlle Mars... nowadays the 1st historical hostel of Paris, managed by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, to provide a cheap bed + a free early french breakfast, on a stunning location : just between the vibrant shopping district of the National Opera House and Montmartre, with Sacré-Coeur, Moulin Rouge & Pigalle a street closed to the Hostel..

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.